yes, therapy helps!
Visual agnosia: the inability to understand visual stimuli

Visual agnosia: the inability to understand visual stimuli

October 28, 2020

I had stopped at a florist's shop on the way to his apartment and had bought me a red rose a bit extravagant for the lapel buttonhole. I took it off and I gave it to her. He took it as a botanist or a morphologist who is given a specimen, not as a person who is given a flower.

- "About six inches in length. A red rolled shape with a green linear addition. "

-"Yes. And what do you think you are? "

- "It's not easy to say. It lacks the simple symmetry of geometric shapes, although it may have a superior symmetry of its own ... it could be an inflorescence or a flower "

P. acted exactly as a machine acts. It was not just that he showed the same indifference as a computer towards the visual world but that he constructed the world as a computer builds it, through distinctive features and schematic relationships.


Start today's entry with this excerpt from a book by Oliver Sacks ("The man who confused his wife with a hat") in which he recounts a case of visual agnosia , which leads the protagonist of the story to a disintegrated vision of the world and to different situations that, although comical, result in a serious problem of visual recognition.

Visual agnosia: definition and explanation

Being the view our main sense, always hits us and impacts read alterations of something as basic as perception. The brain, through its main window to the world -the eyes-, shows us a simple and ordered image of the world around us.

This creation that our nervous system performs is shared, to a greater or lesser extent, by almost everyone. The bases of everything we call reality are in the light that hits our retinas and travels through the optic nerve in the form of nerve impulse, to synapse in the geniculate nucleus of the thalamus-a structure that we might consider a type of brain toll in the brain. that a large number of synapses are made- until we reach our primary visual cortex in the occipital lobe. But it would be a mistake to believe that this circuit, these three synapses, are what give meaning to the world in which we live. What makes us not live in a chaotic or fragmented world, as in the case of P., is the function of gnosis.


Gnosis, from Latin knowledge, refers to the ability to recognize objects, people, faces, spaces, etc. In addition, it is also the faculty that offers us a global and united perception of reality and not schematic or "in parts". So, the  visual agnosia is the loss of this ability . To better understand this process we will talk about the two main cerebral pathways that participate in this function. We will also talk about the types of agnosia most frequently described in the biographies

Visual perception: the way of what and where

As we said, the information of the retina reaches our primary visual cortex after having synapsed in the thalamus. But the primary visual cortex is not informative in itself as far as recognition is concerned. It only processes the physical characteristics of what the retina perceives. That is: light, contrast, visual field, visual acuity, etc.


Thus, the primary visual cortex, area 17 of Brodman, only possesses raw information. It does not tell us that we see a nice sunset or a dry leaf. So, What will it mean to recognize an object?  

Recognizing objects, faces, places ...

First, we must be able to see the object in question, making those three synapses in order to capture the physical information of the light that first hits the object and then in our retina. Secondly, d We must integrate all this information to perceive it as a whole . Finally, we will have to rescue from our memory the memory of that object already present in our memories and its name.

As we can see, this implies more than one source of information. In the brain, the cortex that is in charge of relating different types of information is called associative cortex. To perform the steps we have described, we will need associative cortex. Thus, the brain will need more synapses, and this will be when the ways of what and where come into play.

ID

The way of what, or ventrally, is directed towards the temporal lobe and is responsible for the recognition and identification of objects . It is the way, if for example we see in the middle of the desert a green thing, big and with thorns helps us to identify it as a cactus and not as a Hulk.

It is not surprising that this path is located in the temporal lobe if we think that it is the main one in charge of memory functions. Therefore the way of what they are nervous projections that unite the information of our retina with that of our memory. It is the synthesis of optical and limbic information.

Location

The way of where, or dorsal pathway, is projected to the parietal lobe. AND s the path responsible for locating objects in space ; perceive their movement and trajectory, and relate their location among them. Therefore, it is the way that allows us to direct our movements efficiently in a given space.

They are the neurons that allow us to follow with the view the direction taken by a tennis ball that is hit from one field to another. It is also the way that allows us to write a letter to a mailbox without making mistakes.

Different neurological disorders - infarcts, traumatic brain injuries, infections, tumors, etc. - may affect these pathways with expected deficits depending on the affected region. As usual, these brain regions will not only be affected if their cortex is damaged, but also if the fibers connecting these areas with the primary visual cortex are affected.

Perceptive visual agnosia

In this type of agnosia components of perception fail, and therefore, there is no recognition . Perception is the faculty that integrates the physical characteristics of an object so that we can capture them as a three-dimensional whole.

In the apperceptive visual agnosia this integration is severely affected and the patient shows deficits even in the recognition of the simplest forms. These patients, before the drawing of a hammer will not know how to recognize it as a hammer. Neither will they know how to copy it or pair it with another drawing of the same hammer. In spite of everything, the visual acuity is normal, as well as the perception of light, darkness, etc. In fact, patients can even avoid obstacles when they walk. However, the consequences for the patient are so nefarious that functionally they tend to be almost blind with serious problems in their level of independence.

Some authors, in a very opportune way, have paraphrased Saramago "there are blind people who do not see, and blind people who do not see". The case of a patient with apperceptive agnosia would be the second. These patients can recognize the object by means of another sensory modality such as touch-sometimes touching the different parts of the object in question-or with contextual clues or descriptions of the examiner. In addition, this type of actions by the examiner help to make a differential diagnosis and rule out that the anomie - inability to say the name of what is seen - is not due to a language deficit, for example.

It is a rare type of agnosia and has been described more frequently after bilateral infarcts of the regions of the posterior arteries, intoxications by carbon monoxide and in the later variant of Alzheimer's disease. So, s e produced by pathologies that affect occipitotemporal regions .

Associative visual agnosia

In this type of agnosia, in addition to visual acuity, perception of color, light, contrast ... the perception is also preserved . However, despite a normal perception, recognition is affected. As in the previous case, before the drawing of a hammer the subject will not know that it is a hammer, but in this case it will be able to match it with another drawing of a hammer. You can even copy the drawing or describe the object.

It is possible that they identify the drawing due to one of the details of the represented object. As a general rule, the objects are more difficult to identify than the real ones , possibly due to a contextual factor. Again the rest of sensory modalities can help its recognition.

Associative agnosia it seems to be due to the disconnection between the visual and limbic systems . The substrate can be the bilateral lesion of the white matter (inferior longitudinal fasciculus) from the occipital associative cortex to the middle temporal lobe, which involves a disconnection of the visual and memory systems. That is why this agnosia is also called amnesic agnosia. The causes are similar to the case of apperceptive agnosia.

Other types of agnosia

There are many more types of agnosia and disorders of perception . I will quote some of them below. I'm just going to make a small definition to identify the disorder,

Achromatopsia

It is the inability to distinguish colors. Patients who suffer from it see the world in gray tones. A bilateral lesion of the occipitotemporal region appears secondarily. There are very few registered cases. If the lesion is unilateral it will not cause symptoms. I highly recommend the reading of "Anthropologist on Mars" which tells the story of a case of achromatopsia. Also, reading Oliver Sacks is always a pleasure. I show you a fragment of this case which will be much more explanatory of the disorder than my definition:

"Mr. I.he could barely stand the way people now looked ("like gray and animated statues"), and he could not stand his own appearance in the mirror: he avoided social life, and sexual intercourse seemed impossible to him: he saw the flesh of people, the flesh of his wife, his own flesh, an abominable gray; the "flesh color" seemed "rat color" [. . .] I found the meals unpleasant due to its dull, grayish appearance, and I had to close my eyes to eat "

Prosopagnosia

It is the inability to recognize familiar faces, famous people previously known or even the face of oneself in the mirror

The prosopagnosia is a specific deficit of the recognition of faces and, therefore, we must discard other types of agnosias for its diagnosis. In general, other functions such as reading are not affected. They can also estimate whether they are human or primate faces and even recognize the emotional expression of the face in question. It should be noted that deficits are more evident when photographs are recognized than when the person in question is seen, since there will be other contextual clues such as the movement of the person. It is also very interesting the proposal of Damasio et al (1990) that would consider that prosopagnosia would not be so much a failure in the recognition of faces, but rather the inability to identify the individuality within a set of similar ones.

Acinetopsia

It is the inability to perceive objects in movements . It is frequently due to posterior occipitoparietal lesions. The first case of acinetopsia was described in 1983 in a 43-year-old woman who had suffered several bilateral cerebrovascular infarcts. The deficits seriously affected his level of independence. For example, I needed to touch the edge of the cup to know when I should serve coffee.

Some conclusions

I think it is not necessary to justify how basic the gnosis function is for our lives. In a way, our consciousness depends on what we see and the reality that makes up our brain . This "reality", manufactured by our circuits, possibly is far from what reality is as such. Let's think for a moment: when we see how someone speaks, we generally see what we see and what we hear has a synchronicity. That is to say, if a friend speaks to us we should not see that he first moves his mouth and then we hear the sound, as if it were a badly folded film. But, on the other hand, the speed of light and the speed of sound are very different.

The brain, in a way, integrates reality so that we understand it in an orderly and logical way . When this evil Cartesian genius fails the world can acquire a chaotic and aberrant tone. Like the fragmented world of P. or the absent world of color of I. But is your world more unreal than ours? I think not, we all somehow live cheated by our brain. As if we were in The Matrix. A Matrix created by ourselves.

Patients like P. or I. have contracted pathologies that have made them move away from the "reality" that we are used to sharing with other human beings. Although these specific cases had happy endings characterized by personal improvement, in the usual tone of Oliver Sacks, it should be noted that not all cases are equally beautiful. Neurologists and neuropsychologists only see clinical manifestations of these pathologies and, unfortunately, in many cases in these cases we are forced to adopt a "voyeur" attitude. That is to say, many times we can not do much more than follow the case and see how it evolves

Currently, pharmacological therapies for neurodegenerative disorders are of very limited use. Science must develop new drugs. But neuropsychologists must develop new non-pharmacological therapies beyond classical cognitive stimulation. In this, centers such as the Guttmann Institute, specialists in neurorehabilitation, are making great efforts and dedication. My subjective opinion is that perhaps new virtual reality therapies will mark the 21st century of neuropsychology. In any case we must work on this or other options and not be satisfied with the diagnosis only.

Text edited and edited by Frederic Muniente Peix

Bibliographic references:

Books that narrate cases of Agnosia and that I highly recommend reading:

  • Luriia, A., Lemos Giráldez, S., & Fernández-Valdés Roig-Gironella, J. (2010). Lost and recovered world. Oviedo: Krk Editions.
  • Sacks, O. (2010). The man who confused his wife with a hat. Barcelona: Anagram.
  • Sacks, O. An anthropologist on Mars. Barcelona: Anagram

Textbooks:

  • Arnedo A, Bembire J, Tiviño M (2012). Neuropsychology through clinical cases. Madrid: Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Junqué C (2014). Manual of Neuropsychology. Barcelona: Synthesis

Articles:

  • Álvarez, R. & Masjuan, J. (2016). Visual agnosias. Revista Clínica Española, 216 (2), 85-91. //dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.rce.2015.07.009

I highly recommend this article above. It is very well explained and is very clear and concise.

  • Barton, J. (1998). Higher cortical visual function.Current Opinion In Ophthalmology, 9 (6), 40-45. //dx.doi.org/10.1097/00055735-199812000-00007
  • Barton, J., Hanif, H., & Ashraf, S. (2009). Relating visual to verbal semantic knowledge: the evaluation of object recognition in prosopagnosia. Brain, 132 (12), 3456-3466. //dx.doi.org/10.1093/brain/awp252
  • Bouvier, S. (2005). Behavioral Deficits and Cortical Damage Loci in Cerebral Achromatopsia. Cerebral Cortex, 16 (2), 183-191. //dx.doi.org/10.1093/cercor/bhi096
  • Naccache, L. (2015). Visual consciousness explained by its impairments. Current Opinion In Neurology, 28 (1), 45-50. //dx.doi.org/10.1097/wco.0000000000000158
  • Riddoch, M. (1990). M.J. Farah, Visual agnosia: Disorders of object recognition and what they tell us about normal vision. Biological Psychology, 31 (3), 299-303. //dx.doi.org/10.1016/0301-0511(90)90068-8
  • Zeki, S. (1991). Cerebral Akinetopsia A Review.Brain, 114 (4), 2021-2021. //dx.doi.org/10.1093/brain/114.4.2021

AGNOSIA Symptoms, Causes & Treatments (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Agnosie visuelle: l'incapacité de comprendre les stimuli visuels

Agnosie visuelle: l'incapacité de comprendre les stimuli visuels

Mai 21, 2019

Je m'étais arrêté chez un fleuriste sur le chemin de son appartement et m'avais acheté une rose rouge un peu extravagante pour la boutonnière de revers. Je l'ai enlevé et je le lui ai donné. Il l'a pris en tant que botaniste ou morphologiste à qui on a donné un spécimen, pas en tant que personne à qui une fleur a été donnée.

- "Environ six pouces de longueur. Une forme roulée rouge avec une addition linéaire verte. "

- "Oui. Et que pensez-vous que vous êtes? "

- "Ce n'est pas facile à dire. Il lui manque la simple symétrie des formes géométriques, bien qu'il puisse avoir une symétrie supérieure qui lui est propre ... cela pourrait être une inflorescence ou une fleur "

P. a agi exactement comme une machine agit. Ce n’était pas simplement qu’il avait montré la même indifférence qu’un ordinateur à l’égard du monde visuel, mais qu’il avait construit le monde comme un ordinateur le construit, à travers des traits distinctifs et des relations schématiques.


Commencez l'entrée d'aujourd'hui avec cet extrait d'un livre d'Oliver Sacks ("L'homme qui a confondu sa femme avec un chapeau") dans lequel il raconte une affaire de agnosie visuelle , ce qui conduit le protagoniste de l’histoire à une vision désintégrée du monde et à différentes situations qui, bien que comiques, aboutissent à un grave problème de reconnaissance visuelle.

Agnosie visuelle: définition et explication

En tant que vision, notre sens principal nous frappe toujours et a un impact sur les modifications de lecture de quelque chose d'aussi fondamental que la perception. Le cerveau, à travers sa fenêtre principale sur le monde - les yeux - nous montre une image simple et ordonnée du monde qui nous entoure.

Cette création que réalise notre système nerveux est partagée, à un degré plus ou moins grand, par presque tout le monde. Les bases de tout ce que nous appelons la réalité sont la lumière qui frappe nos rétines et traverse le nerf optique sous forme d'impulsion nerveuse, pour se synapse dans le noyau géniculé du thalamus - une structure que nous pourrions considérer comme un type de dommage cérébral dans le cerveau. qu’un grand nombre de synapses sont fabriquées jusqu’à ce que nous atteignions notre cortex visuel principal dans le lobe occipital. Mais ce serait une erreur de croire que ce circuit, ces trois synapses, donne sa signification au monde dans lequel nous vivons. Ce qui fait que nous ne vivons pas dans un monde chaotique ou fragmenté, comme dans le cas de P., est la fonction de la gnose.


Gnose, de la connaissance latine, se réfère à la capacité de reconnaître des objets, des personnes, des visages, des espaces, etc. De plus, c’est aussi la faculté qui nous offre une perception globale et unifiée de la réalité et non pas schématique ou "en parties". Pourtant, le  agnosie visuelle est la perte de cette capacité . Pour mieux comprendre ce processus, nous allons parler des deux principales voies cérébrales qui participent à cette fonction. Nous parlerons également des types d'agnosie les plus fréquemment décrits dans les biographies

Perception visuelle: le chemin de quoi et où

Comme nous l'avons dit, l'information de la rétine atteint notre cortex visuel primaire après avoir été synapsisée dans le thalamus. Mais le cortex visuel primaire n’est pas informatif en soi en ce qui concerne la reconnaissance. Il traite uniquement les caractéristiques physiques de ce que la rétine perçoit. C'est-à-dire: lumière, contraste, champ visuel, acuité visuelle, etc.


Ainsi, le cortex visuel primaire, zone 17 de Brodman, ne possède que des informations brutes. Cela ne nous dit pas que nous voyons un beau coucher de soleil ou une feuille sèche. Ensuite, Qu'est-ce que cela signifie de reconnaître un objet?  

Reconnaître des objets, des visages, des lieux ...

Tout d'abord, nous devons être en mesure de voir l'objet en question, en réalisant ces trois synapses, afin de capturer les informations physiques de la lumière qui frappe d'abord l'objet, puis dans notre rétine. En second lieu, d Nous devons intégrer toutes ces informations pour les percevoir dans leur ensemble . Enfin, nous devrons sauver de notre mémoire la mémoire de cet objet déjà présent dans nos mémoires et son nom.

Comme on peut le constater, cela implique plus d’une source d’information. Dans le cerveau, le cortex chargé de relier différents types d'informations est appelé cortex associatif. Pour effectuer les étapes que nous avons décrites, nous aurons besoin du cortex associatif. Ainsi, le cerveau aura besoin de plus de synapses, et ce sera quand les manières de quoi et où entreront en jeu.

Identification

La voie de quoi, ou ventralement, est dirigée vers le lobe temporal et est responsable de la reconnaissance et de l'identification des objets . C'est le chemin, si par exemple nous voyons au milieu du désert une chose verte, grosse et avec des épines nous aide à l'identifier comme un cactus et non comme un Hulk.

Il n’est pas surprenant que ce chemin se situe dans le lobe temporal si nous pensons qu’il est le principal responsable des fonctions de la mémoire. Donc la manière de Quoi Ce sont des projections nerveuses qui unissent les informations de notre rétine à celles de notre mémoire. C'est la synthèse de l'information optique et limbique.

Emplacement

La manière de , ou voie dorsale, est projetée sur le lobe pariétal. E s le chemin responsable de la localisation d'objets dans l'espace ; perçoivent leur mouvement et leur trajectoire et relatent leur emplacement parmi eux. C'est donc la voie qui nous permet de diriger efficacement nos mouvements dans un espace donné.

Ce sont les neurones qui nous permettent de suivre de près la direction prise par une balle de tennis frappée d’un champ à l’autre. C’est aussi le moyen qui nous permet d’écrire une lettre dans une boîte aux lettres sans commettre d’erreur.

Différents troubles neurologiques - infarctus, lésions cérébrales traumatiques, infections, tumeurs, etc. - peuvent affecter ces voies avec des déficits prévisibles selon la région touchée. Comme d'habitude, ces régions du cerveau ne seront pas affectées si leur cortex est endommagé, mais également si les fibres reliant ces zones au cortex visuel primaire sont affectées.

Agnosie visuelle perceptive

Dans ce type d'agnosie composantes de la perception échouent et, par conséquent, il n'y a pas de reconnaissance . La perception est la faculté qui intègre les caractéristiques physiques d'un objet afin que nous puissions les capturer comme un tout en trois dimensions.

Dans l'agnosie visuelle perceptive, cette intégration est gravement affectée et le patient présente des déficits même dans la reconnaissance des formes les plus simples. Ces patients, avant le dessin d'un marteau, ne sauront pas le reconnaître comme un marteau. Ils ne sauront pas non plus comment le copier ou l'associer à un autre dessin du même marteau. Malgré tout, l'acuité visuelle est normale, de même que la perception de la lumière, des ténèbres, etc. En fait, les patients peuvent même éviter les obstacles lorsqu'ils marchent. Cependant, les conséquences pour le patient sont si néfastes que, sur le plan fonctionnel, ils ont tendance à être presque aveugles et ont de graves problèmes d’indépendance.

Certains auteurs, de manière très opportune, ont paraphrasé Saramago "il y a des aveugles qui ne voient pas et des aveugles qui ne voient pas". Le cas d'un patient présentant une agnosie perceptive serait le second. Ces patients peuvent reconnaître l'objet au moyen d'une autre modalité sensorielle, telle que le toucher, touchant parfois les différentes parties de l'objet en question, ou avec des indices contextuels ou des descriptions de l'examinateur. De plus, ce type d’actions de l’examinateur aide à établir un diagnostic différentiel et à exclure que l’anomie - l’incapacité de dire le nom de ce que l’on voit - ne soit pas due à un déficit de langue, par exemple.

C'est un type rare d'agnosie et a été décrit plus fréquemment après des infarctus bilatéraux des régions des artères postérieures, des intoxications par le monoxyde de carbone et le variant ultérieur de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Alors, s e produites par des pathologies affectant les régions occipitotemporales .

Agnosie visuelle associative

Dans ce type d'agnosie, outre l'acuité visuelle, la perception des couleurs, la lumière, le contraste ... la perception est également préservée . Cependant, malgré une perception normale, la reconnaissance est affectée. Comme dans le cas précédent, avant le dessin d'un marteau, le sujet ne saura pas qu'il s'agit d'un marteau, mais dans ce cas, il pourra l'associer à un autre dessin. Vous pouvez même copier le dessin ou décrire l'objet.

Il est possible qu’ils identifient le dessin en raison d’un des détails de l’objet représenté. En règle générale, les objets sont plus difficiles à identifier que les vrais , peut-être en raison d'un facteur contextuel. Encore une fois, le reste des modalités sensorielles peut aider à sa reconnaissance.

Agnosie associative il semble être dû à la déconnexion entre les systèmes visuel et limbique . Le substrat peut être la lésion bilatérale de la substance blanche (fascicule longitudinal inférieur) allant du cortex associatif occipital au lobe temporal moyen, ce qui implique une déconnexion des systèmes visuel et mémoriel. C'est pourquoi cette agnosie s'appelle également agnosie amnésique. Les causes sont similaires au cas de l'agnosie apperceptive.

Autres types d'agnosie

Il y a beaucoup plus de types d'agnosie et de troubles de la perception . J'en citerai quelques-unes ci-dessous. Je vais juste faire une petite définition pour identifier le trouble,

Achromatopsie

C'est l'impossibilité de distinguer les couleurs. Les patients qui en souffrent voient le monde en gris. Une lésion bilatérale de la région occipitotemporale apparaît secondairement. Il y a très peu de cas enregistrés. Si la lésion est unilatérale, elle ne provoquera pas de symptômes. Je recommande fortement la lecture de "Anthropologist on Mars" qui raconte l'histoire d'un cas d'achromatopsie. De plus, lire Oliver Sacks est toujours un plaisir. Je vous montre un fragment de cette affaire qui sera beaucoup plus explicatif de la maladie que ma définition:

"Monsieur I.il pouvait à peine supporter l'apparence actuelle des gens ("comme des statues grises et animées"), et il ne pouvait pas supporter sa propre apparence dans le miroir: il évitait la vie sociale et les rapports sexuels lui semblaient impossibles: il voyait la chair des gens, la chair de sa femme, sa propre chair, un gris abominable; la "couleur chair" semblait être "couleur rat" [. . .] J'ai trouvé les repas désagréables en raison de leur apparence terne et grisâtre, et j'ai dû fermer les yeux pour manger "

Prosopagnosie

C'est l'incapacité à reconnaître des visages familiers, des personnages célèbres précédemment connus ou même le visage de soi dans le miroir

La prosopagnosie est un déficit spécifique de la reconnaissance des visages et, par conséquent, nous devons écarter d'autres types d'agnosias pour son diagnostic. En général, d'autres fonctions telles que la lecture ne sont pas affectées. Ils peuvent également déterminer s'il s'agit de visages humains ou de primates et même reconnaître l'expression émotionnelle du visage en question. Il convient de noter que les déficits sont plus évidents lorsque les photographies sont reconnues que lorsque la personne en question est vue, car il y aura d'autres indices contextuels tels que le mouvement de la personne. Il est également très intéressant de voir la proposition de Damasio et al (1990) qui considérerait que la prosopagnosie ne serait pas un échec dans la reconnaissance des visages, mais plutôt l’impossibilité d’identifier l’individualité au sein d’un ensemble similaire.

Acinetopsie

C'est l'incapacité de percevoir des objets en mouvements . Il est fréquemment dû à des lésions occipitopariétales postérieures. Le premier cas d'acinétopsie a été décrit en 1983 chez une femme de 43 ans qui avait subi plusieurs infarctus cérébrovasculaires bilatéraux. Les déficits ont sérieusement affecté son niveau d'indépendance. Par exemple, je devais toucher le bord de la tasse pour savoir quand je devrais servir du café.

Quelques conclusions

Je pense qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de justifier à quel point la fonction de la gnose est fondamentale pour nos vies. D'une certaine façon, notre conscience dépend de ce que nous voyons et de la réalité qui compose notre cerveau . Cette "réalité", fabriquée par nos circuits, est probablement loin de ce que la réalité est en tant que telle. Pensons un instant: quand nous voyons comment quelqu'un parle, nous voyons généralement ce que nous voyons et ce que nous entendons a une synchronicité. C'est-à-dire que si un ami nous parle, nous ne devrions pas voir qu'il bouge d'abord la bouche, puis nous entendons le son, comme s'il s'agissait d'un film mal plié. Mais, d’autre part, la vitesse de la lumière et celle du son sont très différentes.

Le cerveau, en quelque sorte, intègre la réalité afin que nous la comprenions de manière ordonnée et logique . Lorsque ce mauvais génie cartésien échoue, le monde peut acquérir un ton chaotique et aberrant. Comme le monde fragmenté de P. ou le monde de couleur absent de I. Mais votre monde est-il plus irréel que le nôtre? Je pense que non, nous vivons tous en quelque sorte trichés par notre cerveau. Comme si nous étions dans la matrice. Une matrice créée par nous-mêmes.

Des patients comme P. ou I. ont contracté des pathologies qui les ont éloignés de la "réalité" que nous sommes habitués à partager avec d'autres êtres humains. Bien que ces cas spécifiques aient eu des résultats heureux caractérisés par une amélioration personnelle, dans le ton habituel d'Oliver Sacks, il convient de noter que tous les cas ne sont pas aussi beaux. Les neurologues et les neuropsychologues ne voient que les manifestations cliniques de ces pathologies et, malheureusement, dans de nombreux cas, nous sommes obligés d'adopter une attitude de "voyeur". C'est-à-dire, plusieurs fois, nous ne pouvons pas faire plus que suivre l'affaire et voir comment elle évolue

Actuellement, les thérapies pharmacologiques pour les troubles neurodégénératifs sont d'une utilité très limitée. La science doit développer de nouveaux médicaments. Mais les neuropsychologues doivent développer de nouvelles thérapies non pharmacologiques au-delà de la stimulation cognitive classique. Dans ce domaine, des centres tels que l’Institut Guttmann, spécialistes de la neurorééducation, font de grands efforts et s’engagent avec dévouement. Mon opinion subjective est que peut-être de nouvelles thérapies en réalité virtuelle marqueront le 21ème siècle de la neuropsychologie. Dans tous les cas, nous devons travailler sur cette option ou d’autres et ne pas nous contenter du diagnostic.

Texte édité et édité par Frederic Muniente Peix

Références bibliographiques:

Livres qui relatent des cas d’Agnosia et que je recommande vivement de lire:

  • Luriia, A., Lemos Giráldez, S. et Fernández-Valdés Roig-Gironella, J. (2010). Monde perdu et retrouvé. Oviedo: éditions de Krk.
  • Sacks, O. (2010). L'homme qui a confondu sa femme avec un chapeau. Barcelone: ​​Anagramme.
  • Sacks, O. Un anthropologue sur Mars. Barcelone: ​​Anagramme

Manuels scolaires:

  • Arnedo A, J Bembire, Tiviño M (2012). Neuropsychologie à travers des cas cliniques. Madrid: Maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Junqué C (2014). Manuel de neuropsychologie. Barcelone: ​​synthèse

Les articles:

  • Álvarez, R. & Masjuan, J. (2016). Agnosies visuelles. Revista Clínica Española, 216 (2), 85-91. //dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.rce.2015.07.009

Je recommande fortement cet article ci-dessus. C'est très bien expliqué et c'est très clair et concis.

  • Barton, J. (1998). Fonction visuelle corticale supérieure.Opinion actuelle dans l'ophtalmologie, 9 (6), 40-45. //dx.doi.org/10.1097/00055735-199812000-00007
  • Barton, J., Hanif, H. et Ashraf, S. (2009). Relier les connaissances sémantiques visuelles et verbales: l'évaluation de la reconnaissance d'objets dans la prosopagnosie. Cerveau, 132 (12), 3456-3466. //dx.doi.org/10.1093/brain/awp252
  • Bouvier, S. (2005). Déficits comportementaux et locus de lésions corticales dans l’achromatopsie cérébrale. Cortex cérébral, 16 (2), 183-191. //dx.doi.org/10.1093/cercor/bhi096
  • Naccache, L. (2015). Conscience visuelle expliquée par ses déficiences. Current Opinion In Neurology, 28 (1), 45-50. //dx.doi.org/10.1097/wco.0000000000000000158
  • Riddoch, M. (1990). M.J. Farah, agnosie visuelle: troubles de la reconnaissance d'objet et ce qu'ils nous disent de la vision normale. Biological Psychology, 31 (3), 299-303. //dx.doi.org/10.1016/0301-0511(90)90068-8
  • Zeki, S. (1991). Akinetopsia cérébrale A Review.Brain, 114 (4), 2021-2021. //dx.doi.org/10.1093/brain/114.4.2021

10 choses insensées que votre cerveau sait faire sans e-penser - Ep.20 - e-penser (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes