yes, therapy helps!
Where to train as a therapist? 6 recommendations to choose

Where to train as a therapist? 6 recommendations to choose

April 4, 2024

The learning trajectory necessary to engage in psychotherapy is not always clear. Depending on the place of residence of each one, the regulation in the exercise of the Psychology of each country, and the motivations and needs that move us, we must find a way to enter that professional field by going to the training centers that more match what we want to do.

It is not just a matter of studying hard and well; In addition, we must find a training institution that measures up to what we need to become the psychologists we want to become. So ... where to train as a therapist?

In this article we will see several tips on how to choose the centers in which to train to be psychotherapists, and the way in which we can estimate their quality.


  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Where to train as a therapist: how to choose where to study

Training to practice psychotherapy is not easy, especially considering the wide variety of knowledge and skills needed to work in this field of health. The type of training required to intervene psychologically in patients it must cover wide facets of human behavior and the mental processes involved in them, something that can hardly be achieved without the guidance and supervision of experts in the field.

On the other hand, it is precisely the fact that there is a wide range of knowledge to learn which makes many students feel lost at the time of proposing to progress in their training career. After all, among many thematic areas it is difficult to find a line to follow to go internalizing sequentially subjects that help us understand the functioning of psychological therapy, establishing new knowledge about those we have already made ours.


Fortunately, and although to get to dedicate to psychotherapy it is necessary to adapt the line of studies to the unique interests that define us as individuals, in general lines it is possible to find a series of criteria that can guide us when making decisions about where study to become a psychologist. These fundamental criteria are the following.

1. Check the clarity of the offered agenda

If a training center does not offer a summary of the contents that are going to be treated throughout its courses, that should be a first warning signal. Transparency regarding the type of subjects that will be taught in the classes it is something fundamental, and what we should support to know if that option is adapted to our needs.

2. Make sure they offer quality practices

It is essential not to limit oneself to learning in relation to theory. In something as changeable and flexible as human behavior, it takes much more than the knowledge obtained in books: you have to get used to carrying out practical cases that put our skills to the test in real time, in the most realistic contexts possible and more similar to the professional day to day that allows the formative context.


There are centers that offer practices by referring students to other organizations in which students can practice cases of psychological intervention on patients. However, in this aspect, the centers that make it possible to do internships without having to go to another center are even better; that is, with patients from the place where they are constantly learning. In this way, both theory and practice are better integrated , and a better correspondence is possible between what is explained and discussed in the classrooms and what is seen in the cases treated with real patients.

An example of this is the Master's Degree in Integrative Psychotherapy of the Mensalus Institute (Barcelona), which offers both internships with patients from the center itself and classes and observation in which psychotherapists attend these people who come to the consultation, with the students being placed behind a glass that hides them (in spite of that the patient knows he is being observed).

In these cases, several types of learning that have to do with solving real-time problems : one of them placing the students in the center of the action, and the other leaving them a space to consult about what they are seeing.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 35 psychological skills you should promote"

3. Pay attention to the paradigms that are part of

The training centers you go to must be based on a clearly scientific conception of what psychology is. That means that it is necessary that base their teachings on well-constructed research with the pretension to create knowledge applicable to many contexts and to prove falsifiable facts and easy to test from other research teams.

In this sense, it is important that the bulk of the contents to be learned be based on the cognitive-behavioral paradigm, which is the one with the most evidence of efficacy.

4. Review your student care options

It is very common that during a course there are incidents, doubts or small problems related to the availability to attend a class, the scoring system or the need to contact teachers to answer important questions.

For this reason, it is key to learn about the type of orientation to the students offered by the centers, especially through the Internet .

5. Check your schedule compatibility options

Especially in postgraduate studies, it is good to assess the possibility of studying these studies without schedules overlap with other things , in a way that adapts to the other responsibilities that students of this profile usually have. For example, if to attend class you have to go to class at widely separated times, investing almost all day in dedicating three hours of class, that will possibly wear us out and keep us away from the resolution of other needs.

6. Pay attention to the type of therapy in which it is formed

Do not get carried away by what others do: if you are interested in a specific type of therapeutic intervention, do not be afraid to choose a center that places more emphasis on that kind of training . Of course, assess the risks of learning only about one type of therapy, taking into account the context in which you plan to work and the amount of competition that will be. The ideal is not to lose a general perspective of psychotherapy applied to a certain variety of health alterations, even if the focus is on two or three specific problems.


What's the DIFFERENCE? Choosing YOUR Mental Health Professional (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Où se former en tant que thérapeute? 6 recommandations pour choisir

Où se former en tant que thérapeute? 6 recommandations pour choisir

Juillet 2, 2022

La trajectoire d'apprentissage nécessaire pour entreprendre une psychothérapie n'est pas toujours claire. Selon le lieu de résidence de chacun, la réglementation dans l'exercice de la psychologie de chaque pays, les motivations et les besoins qui nous animent, nous devons trouver un moyen d'entrer dans ce domaine professionnel en nous rendant dans les centres de formation qui: plus correspondre à ce que nous voulons faire.

Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'étudier fort et bien; En outre, nous devons trouver un établissement de formation à la hauteur de ce dont nous avons besoin pour devenir les psychologues que nous voulons devenir. Alors ... où se former en tant que thérapeute?

Dans cet article, nous verrons plusieurs conseils sur la manière de choisir les centres dans lesquels former des psychothérapeutes et sur la manière dont nous pouvons évaluer leur qualité.


  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Où se former en tant que thérapeute: comment choisir où étudier

Il n'est pas facile de s'entraîner à la psychothérapie, surtout si l'on considère la grande variété de connaissances et de compétences nécessaires pour travailler dans ce domaine de la santé. Le type de formation nécessaire pour intervenir psychologiquement chez les patients, elle doit couvrir de larges facettes du comportement humain et des processus mentaux qui y sont impliqués, ce qui est difficilement réalisable sans l'assistance et la supervision d'experts sur le terrain.

Par ailleurs, c’est précisément le fait qu’il existe un large éventail de connaissances à apprendre qui fait que de nombreux étudiants se sentent perdus au moment de proposer de progresser dans leur carrière de formateur. Après tout parmi de nombreux domaines thématiques, il est difficile de trouver une ligne à suivre aller en intériorisation séquentielle des sujets qui nous aident à comprendre le fonctionnement de la thérapie psychologique, en établissant de nouvelles connaissances sur celles que nous avons déjà créées.


Heureusement, et bien que pour pouvoir se consacrer à la psychothérapie, il est nécessaire d’adapter la ligne d’études aux intérêts uniques qui nous définissent en tant qu’individus, il est généralement possible de trouver une série de critères pouvant nous guider lors de la prise de décision. étudier pour devenir un psychologue. Ces critères fondamentaux sont les suivants.

1. Vérifier la clarté de l'agenda proposé

Si un centre de formation ne propose pas de résumé du contenu à traiter tout au long de son parcours, cela devrait constituer un premier signal d’avertissement. Transparence concernant le type de sujets qui seront enseignés dans les classes c’est quelque chose de fondamental et que nous devons aider à savoir si cette option est adaptée à nos besoins.

2. Assurez-vous qu'ils offrent des pratiques de qualité

Il est essentiel de ne pas se limiter à l'apprentissage en relation avec la théorie. Dans un comportement aussi changeant et flexible que le comportement humain, il faut beaucoup plus que les connaissances acquises dans les livres: il faut s'habituer à la réalisation de cas concrets mettant à l'épreuve nos compétences en temps réel plus semblable au quotidien professionnel qui permet le contexte formatif.


Il existe des centres qui proposent des pratiques en renvoyant les étudiants vers d'autres organisations dans lesquelles ils peuvent pratiquer des cas d'intervention psychologique sur des patients. Cependant, sous cet aspect, les centres qui permettent de faire des stages sans avoir à se rendre dans un autre centre sont encore meilleurs; c'est-à-dire avec les patients de l'endroit où ils apprennent constamment. De cette façon, la théorie et la pratique sont mieux intégrées , et une meilleure correspondance est possible entre ce qui est expliqué et discuté dans les salles de classe et ce qui est vu dans les cas traités avec des patients réels.

Un exemple de ceci est le Maîtrise en psychothérapie intégrative de l’Institut Mensalus (Barcelone), qui propose à la fois des stages aux patients du centre et des cours et des séances d’observation où des psychothérapeutes assistent ces personnes qui viennent à la consultation, les étudiants étant placés que le patient sache qu'il est observé).

Dans ces cas, plusieurs types d’apprentissage liés aux résoudre des problèmes en temps réel : l'un plaçant les étudiants au centre de l'action et l'autre leur laissant un espace de consultation sur ce qu'ils voient.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 35 compétences psychologiques à promouvoir"

3. Faites attention aux paradigmes qui font partie de

Les centres de formation auxquels vous vous adressez doivent reposer sur une conception clairement scientifique de la psychologie. Cela signifie qu'il est nécessaire qui basent leurs enseignements sur des recherches bien construites avec la prétention de créer des connaissances applicables dans de nombreux contextes et de prouver des faits falsifiables et faciles à tester par d'autres équipes de recherche.

En ce sens, il est important que l'essentiel des contenus à apprendre repose sur le paradigme cognitivo-comportemental, qui est celui qui présente le plus d'efficacité.

4. Passez en revue vos options de garde des étudiants

Il est très courant qu'au cours d'un cours, il y ait des incidents, des doutes ou de petits problèmes liés à la disponibilité à assister à un cours, au système de notation ou à la nécessité de contacter les enseignants pour répondre à des questions importantes.

Pour cette raison, il est essentiel de connaître le type d’orientation proposé aux étudiants par les centres, surtout par Internet .

5. Vérifiez les options de compatibilité de votre calendrier

En particulier dans les études de troisième cycle, il est bon d’évaluer la possibilité d’étudier ces études. sans horaires se chevauchent avec d'autres choses , d’une manière qui s’adapte aux autres responsabilités que les étudiants de ce profil ont habituellement. Par exemple, si vous devez assister à un cours, vous devez le faire à des moments très différents, en consacrant presque toute la journée à consacrer trois heures de cours, ce qui nous épuisera et nous éloignera de la résolution d’autres besoins.

6. Faites attention au type de thérapie dans lequel il est formé

Ne vous laissez pas emporter par ce que font les autres: si un type spécifique d’intervention thérapeutique vous intéresse, n’ayez pas peur de choisir un centre qui met davantage l'accent sur ce genre de formation . Bien sûr, évaluez les risques liés à l'apprentissage d'un seul type de thérapie, en tenant compte du contexte dans lequel vous envisagez de travailler et de l'ampleur de la concurrence. L'idéal est de ne pas perdre une perspective générale de la psychothérapie appliquée à une certaine variété de problèmes de santé, même si l'accent est mis sur deux ou trois problèmes spécifiques.


???? 9 pièges à éviter pour être HEUREUX (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes