yes, therapy helps!
20 recommended medicine books for curious

20 recommended medicine books for curious

May 19, 2024

We all worry about our health, and if we want to learn some basic basics about how our body works, Medicine books are a good way to get started on the subject .

Medicine has been one of the greatest participants in the improvement of life that we have experienced in recent centuries. It is so important for us that it is normal that we are curious to know about it, especially if we are interested in mental health. Medicine is a science that is closely linked to psychology, since health is both physical and mental . This list of medical books can satisfy the curiosity of people interested in this subject.


Recommended books on medicine and psychiatry, in Spanish

There is a multitude of literature about medicine and its various subdisciplines that study the human body, diseases and ways to cure them.

Here I have selected a series of texts and books that help to spread this science of health so that we all have access to this knowledge, without needing to have great bases on the subject. And all of them are medical books in Spanish, so as not to lose a single letter.

1. Be mortal. Medicine and what matters in the end (Atul Gawande)

We all agree that medicine is important to ensure our health, but what about our death? Atul Gawande, an eminent American surgeon, exposes in this medical book the limitations of the current health system that only worries about prolonging survival no matter what it costs, especially when death lurks.


An easy reading that becomes enjoyable, despite dealing with thorny issues such as the end of life.

  • On this page there is more information about the book.

2. Complications: Confessions of a surgeon about an imperfect science (Atul Gawande)

Another work by the surgeon Atul Gawande, but on this occasion he exposes real cases where medicine has not found an answer to what happened to the patient or errors have been made in the diagnosis. With a narrative of the most attractive, Dr. Gawande shows once again that medicine is not an exact science and life keeps surprises.

  • If you have interested, you can learn more at the following link.

3. The Emperor of all evils: A biography of cancer (Siddhartha Mukherjee)

Cancer, unfortunately, is an important part of our current affairs. With this book of medicine, the author presents with an informative style the history of oncology from its origins to the most modern treatments, as well as reflecting on the existing relationship around this set of diseases.


  • There is more information available about the book here.

4. The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks (Rebecca Skloot)

If I name Henrietta Lacks you may not know who she is, but if I mention "HeLa cell" the thing may change. This line of immortal cells have been very useful for medicine and, above all, in the fight against cancer They have a past. The writer Rebecca Skloot presents the life of this peasant woman, the history of her cells and the injustice built around them.

  • If you are attracted to the subject, you can find more information about the book in this link.

5. The man who confused his wife with a hat (Oliver Sacks)

A classic by Oliver Sacks, considered one of the great clinical writers of the twentieth century. In this book of medicine they are presented 20 real cases of person with strange or curious neurological diseases . A moving work, which aims to show how complicated and complex the human brain is.

  • In this link you have more information.

6. Cold cuts: the fascinating life of the corpses (Mary Roach)

The psychologist and journalist Mary Roach presents with this work what happens to our body once dead . A pleasant and enjoyable reading, despite the issue, which wants to convey the importance that cadavers have offered in the advancement of science, or how important is the donation of organs to save other lives.

  • You can find out more about the book by clicking here.

7. Hot zone (Richard Preston)

The award-winning Richard Preston wrote this book of medicine in 1994, novelizing facts that happened in a laboratory run by the US Army, where he studied with the Ebola virus. The title refers to what are called laboratories that work with viruses or bacteria of high lethality and high risk of infection.

He was the first writer informed the public about the dangers of this virus , which to this day, remains a major threat in the world.

  • If you want to know more, follow the following link.

8. A tribe of its own (Steve Silberman)

What is autism? This is how this work by the journalist Steve Silberman begins. He wants to bring the general public closer to this mental disorder, going through the history of his research, but also the importance of his presence in the scientific advance of our times.

  • On this page you will find more information.

9. First of all, do not hurt (Henry Marsh)

The autobiography of neurosurgeon Henry Marsh , is a way of seeing and feeling how a profession is as delicate as the one he has carried out throughout his life. Exposing different cases in which he has worked and the result of these, whether they were positive or negative, showing once again that medicine is made by humans, and that therefore it is not perfect.

  • You can find more information about the book here.

10. The demon of depression: an atlas of illness (Andrew Solomon)

Depression is one of the most common diseases today. This classic among the books of medicine and psychiatry presents the foundations to know everything that is known about the disease. The writer of the work, Andrew Solomon, exposes his experience in the fight against his own depression, as well as other real cases to contrast the information offered.

  • In this link you can see more text information.

11. To die young, at 140 (Maria A. Blasco and Mónica G. Salomé)

An interesting book about the aging process and death due to natural causes . Is living the same thing more than being younger for longer? How are our cells degrading? Is there a maximum age to die? In addition, it is a well-documented medical book.

  • You can read more about the book on this page.

12. Atlas of human anatomy (Frank H. Netter)

The knowledge of the structure of the human body is essential for medicine . One of the most used medicine books to learn about the subject is the human anatomy atlas of Frank H. Netter, for its ease of use and excellent illustrations that accompany the work.

  • If you want to know more, continue through this link.

15. Guyton and Hall. Treatise on Medical Physiology (John E. Hall)

The quintessential medicine manual for understanding and understanding human physiology . Originally written by the physiologist Arthur Guyton who suffered from poliomyelitis, wanting to leave testimony of all his knowledge to future generations that continue to be nurtured with the latest advances in physiology, although the original author is no longer among us.

  • You can know more about the work in the following link.

14. The obese monkey (José Enrique Campillo Álvarez)

Why is there so much obesity? Professor Campillo offers his answer in his essay. The text serves as a didactic introduction to the basic metabolic processes of the human being, also wants to demonstrate the relationship of our genes with obesity problems.

  • If you have interest in the book, here you will find more information.

15. Bad science (Ben Goldacre)

We are in a society that is obsessed with health and therefore we are susceptible to deception . In this book, the writer and psychiatrist Ben Goldacre dismantles with arguments the "miracle remedies" that they offer us every day, as well as explaining how we have come to believe in them and offer a tool to discover these fraudulent sciences that, in the case of science of health, they become especially dangerous.

  • In this link you will know more about the book.

16. Digestion is the issue (Giulia Enders)

The intestine is one of the most important organs of the human body , since almost all the nutrients that will be part of our body will pass through it. However, it is also the great forgotten, a component of our body that, in popular culture, is undervalued. This excellent book helps us to know him better and to know how to take care of him.

  • To read more about him, click here.

... and some medical books in other languages

Here you can find other recommended medicine books if the languages ​​are not a problem for you:

17. Trick or treatment (Edzard Ernst and Simon Singh)

A complete book that reviews the evidence behind alternative medicine proposals, what is true and what is a myth in them.

  • If you are interested, click here.

18. Good germs, bad germs (Jessica Snyder Sachs)

The simple use and development of antibiotics It is one of the main resources that has allowed us to extend our life expectancy and build healthier and more well-off societies. However, during the last decades our battle against the harmful microorganisms is taking a dramatic turn because of the resistance to these medicines that are developing certain microscopic life forms. This medical book explains the state of the matter in a clear, simple and entertaining way.

  • In this link you will find more information about the book.

19. Testing treatments (Imogen Evans, Hazel Thornton, Ian Chalmers)

An excellent book to better understand how treatment proposals are put to the test in the world of medicine, by reviewing the basic theory and using several case studies as examples.

  • To read more about it, click here.

20. What Doctors Feel (Danielle Ofri)

An interesting look at the psychology of health professionals - Although doctors and surgeons are reputed to be cold healing machines, the truth is that they must also manage their emotions (and their beliefs and thoughts) at work, and this interesting The book is full of fascinating research on this subject.

  • If you are interested, click here.

12 Scientific Discoveries That'll Send Chills Down Your Spine (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
20 livres de médecine recommandés pour curieux

20 livres de médecine recommandés pour curieux

Juin 13, 2021

Nous nous inquiétons tous de notre santé et si nous voulons apprendre quelques notions de base sur le fonctionnement de notre corps, Les livres de médecine sont un bon moyen de se lancer sur le sujet .

La médecine a été l’un des plus grands participants à l’amélioration de la vie que nous avons connue au cours des derniers siècles. Il est si important pour nous qu'il soit normal que nous soyons curieux de le savoir, surtout si nous nous intéressons à la santé mentale. La médecine est une science étroitement liée à la psychologie, car la santé est à la fois physique et mentale. . Cette liste de livres de médecine peut satisfaire la curiosité des personnes intéressées par ce sujet.


Livres recommandés sur la médecine et la psychiatrie, en espagnol

Il existe une multitude de publications sur la médecine et ses diverses sous-disciplines qui étudient le corps humain, les maladies et les moyens de les guérir.

Ici J'ai sélectionné une série de textes et de livres qui aident à diffuser cette science de la santé de sorte que nous ayons tous accès à ces connaissances sans avoir besoin de bases solides sur le sujet. Et tous sont des livres médicaux en espagnol, afin de ne pas perdre une seule lettre.

1. Soyez mortel. La médecine et ce qui compte à la fin (Atul Gawande)

Nous sommes tous d'accord pour dire que les médicaments sont importants pour notre santé, mais qu'en est-il de notre décès? Atul Gawande, un chirurgien américain éminent, expose dans ce livre de médecine les limites du système de santé actuel qui ne se préoccupe que de prolonger la survie à tout prix, en particulier lorsque la mort se cache.


Une lecture facile qui devient agréable, malgré le traitement de questions épineuses telles que la fin de vie.

  • Sur cette page, il y a plus d'informations sur le livre.

2. Complications: confessions d'un chirurgien au sujet d'une science imparfaite (Atul Gawande)

Un autre travail du chirurgien Atul Gawande, mais à cette occasion, il expose des cas réels où la médecine n'a pas trouvé de réponse à ce qui est arrivé au patient ou des erreurs ont été faites dans le diagnostic. Avec un récit des plus attrayants, le Dr Gawande montre une fois de plus que la médecine n’est pas une science exacte et que la vie réserve des surprises.

  • Si vous avez intéressé, vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le lien suivant.

3. L'empereur de tous les maux: biographie du cancer (Siddhartha Mukherjee)

Le cancer, malheureusement, est une partie importante de nos affaires courantes. Avec ce livre de médecine, l’auteur présente, dans un style informatif, l’histoire de la cancérologie, de ses origines aux traitements les plus modernes, ainsi qu’une réflexion sur les relations existantes autour de cet ensemble de maladies.


  • Il y a plus d'informations disponibles sur le livre ici.

4. La vie immortelle d'Henrietta Lacks (Rebecca Skloot)

Si je nomme Henrietta Lacks, vous ne savez peut-être pas qui elle est, mais si je mentionne "Cellule HeLa", la situation pourrait changer. Cette lignée de cellules immortelles a été très utile en médecine et, surtout, dans la lutte contre le cancer Ils ont un passé. L’écrivaine Rebecca Skloot présente la vie de cette paysanne, l’histoire de ses cellules et l’injustice qui les entoure.

  • Si vous êtes attiré par le sujet, vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations sur le livre dans ce lien.

5. L'homme qui a confondu sa femme avec un chapeau (Oliver Sacks)

Un classique d'Oliver Sacks, considéré comme l'un des plus grands auteurs cliniques du XXe siècle. Dans ce livre de médecine, ils sont présentés 20 cas réels de personnes atteintes de maladies neurologiques étranges ou curieuses . Un travail en mouvement, qui vise à montrer à quel point le cerveau humain est complexe et complexe.

  • Dans ce lien, vous avez plus d'informations.

6. Charcuterie: la vie fascinante des cadavres (Mary Roach)

La psychologue et journaliste Mary Roach présente avec ce travail ce qui arrive à notre corps une fois mort . Une lecture agréable et agréable, malgré le problème, qui veut exprimer l’importance que les cadavres ont accordée à l’avancement de la science ou l’importance du don d’organes pour sauver d’autres vies.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le livre en cliquant ici.

7. Zone chaude (Richard Preston)

Richard Preston, récipiendaire d'un prix, a écrit ce livre de médecine en 1994, relatant des faits nouveaux dans un laboratoire dirigé par l'armée américaine, où il a étudié le virus Ebola. Le titre fait référence à ce qu'on appelle des laboratoires qui travaillent avec des virus ou des bactéries de grande létalité et à haut risque d'infection.

Il était le premier écrivain a informé le public des dangers de ce virus qui, à ce jour, reste une menace majeure dans le monde.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus, suivez le lien suivant.

8. Une tribu à part (Steve Silberman)

Qu'est-ce que l'autisme? C’est ainsi que débute ce travail du journaliste Steve Silberman, qui souhaite rapprocher le grand public de ce trouble mental, en retraçant l’historique de ses recherches, mais aussi l’importance de sa présence dans les avancées scientifiques de notre temps.

  • Sur cette page, vous trouverez plus d'informations.

9. Tout d'abord, ne pas blesser (Henry Marsh)

L'autobiographie du neurochirurgien Henry Marsh , est une façon de voir et de sentir à quel point un métier est aussi délicat que celui qu’il a exercé tout au long de sa vie. Exposer différents cas dans lesquels il a travaillé et le résultat de ceux-ci, qu'ils soient positifs ou négatifs, montrant à nouveau que le médicament est fabriqué par des humains et qu'il n'est donc pas parfait.

  • Vous pouvez trouver plus d'informations sur le livre ici.

10. Le démon de la dépression: un atlas de la maladie (Andrew Solomon)

La dépression est l'une des maladies les plus courantes de nos jours. Ce classique parmi les livres de médecine et de psychiatrie présente les bases pour tout savoir de la maladie. L'auteur de l'ouvrage, Andrew Solomon, expose son expérience dans la lutte contre sa propre dépression, ainsi que d'autres cas réels pour mettre en contraste les informations fournies.

  • Dans ce lien, vous pouvez voir plus d'informations textuelles.

11. Mourir jeune, à 140 ans (Maria A. Blasco et Mónica G. Salomé)

Un livre intéressant sur le processus de vieillissement et les décès dus à des causes naturelles . Est-ce que vivre la même chose est plus que d'être jeune plus longtemps? Comment nos cellules se dégradent-elles? Y a-t-il un âge maximum pour mourir? De plus, c'est un livre médical bien documenté.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le livre sur cette page.

12. Atlas d'anatomie humaine (Frank H. Netter)

La connaissance de la structure du corps humain est essentielle à la médecine . L'un des livres de médecine les plus utilisés pour en apprendre davantage sur le sujet est l'atlas de l'anatomie humaine de Frank H. Netter, pour sa facilité d'utilisation et les excellentes illustrations qui l'accompagnent.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus, continuez via ce lien.

15. Guyton et Hall. Traité de physiologie médicale (John E. Hall)

Le manuel de médecine par excellence pour comprendre et comprendre la physiologie humaine . Écrit à l'origine par le physiologiste Arthur Guyton, qui souffrait de poliomyélite et souhaitait laisser aux générations futures le témoignage de toutes ses connaissances, que les derniers progrès de la physiologie continuent de nourrir, bien que son auteur original ne soit plus parmi nous.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le travail dans le lien suivant.

14. Le singe obèse (José Enrique Campillo Álvarez)

Pourquoi y a-t-il tant d'obésité? Le professeur Campillo propose sa réponse dans son essai. Le texte sert d'introduction didactique aux processus métaboliques de base de l'être humain et veut également démontrer la relation entre nos gènes et les problèmes d'obésité.

  • Si vous avez un intérêt pour le livre, vous trouverez ici plus d'informations.

15. Mauvaise science (Ben Goldacre)

Nous sommes dans une société obsédée par la santé et nous sommes donc susceptibles d'être trompés. . Dans ce livre, l'écrivain et psychiatre Ben Goldacre démantèle avec les arguments les "remèdes miracles" qu'ils nous proposent tous les jours, tout en expliquant comment nous en sommes venus à y croire et en offrant un outil pour découvrir ces sciences frauduleuses qui, dans le cas de la science de la santé, ils deviennent particulièrement dangereux.

  • Dans ce lien, vous en saurez plus sur le livre.

16. La digestion est la question (Giulia Enders)

L'intestin est l'un des organes les plus importants du corps humain , puisque presque tous les nutriments qui feront partie de notre corps vont le traverser. Cependant, ce sont aussi les grands oubliés, une composante de notre corps qui, dans la culture populaire, est sous-estimée. Cet excellent livre nous aide à mieux le connaître et à prendre soin de lui.

  • Pour en savoir plus sur lui, cliquez ici.

... et quelques livres de médecine dans d'autres langues

Vous trouverez ici d'autres ouvrages sur les médicaments recommandés si les langues ne vous posent pas problème:

17. Un tour ou un traitement (Edzard Ernst et Simon Singh)

Un livre complet qui passe en revue les preuves derrière les propositions de médecine alternative, ce qui est vrai et ce qui en fait un mythe.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, cliquez ici.

18. Bons germes, mauvais germes (Jessica Snyder Sachs)

La simple utilisation et le développement d'antibiotiques C’est l’une des principales ressources qui nous a permis d’allonger notre espérance de vie et de bâtir des sociétés plus saines et plus prospères. Cependant, au cours des dernières décennies, notre lutte contre les microorganismes nuisibles a pris une tournure dramatique en raison de la résistance à ces médicaments qui développent certaines formes de vie microscopiques. Ce livre médical explique l’état de la question de manière claire, simple et amusante.

  • Dans ce lien, vous trouverez plus d'informations sur le livre.

19. Traitements d'essai (Imogen Evans, Hazel Thornton, Ian Chalmers)

Un excellent livre pour mieux comprendre comment les propositions de traitement sont mises à l'épreuve dans le monde de la médecine, en passant en revue la théorie de base et en utilisant plusieurs études de cas comme exemples.

  • Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

20.Que les médecins ressentent (Danielle Ofri)

Un regard intéressant sur la psychologie des professionnels de la santé - Bien que les médecins et les chirurgiens soient réputés pour être des machines de guérison à froid, la vérité est qu’ils doivent également gérer leurs émotions (et leurs croyances et leurs pensées) au travail, Le livre est plein de recherches fascinantes sur ce sujet.

  • Si vous êtes intéressé, cliquez ici.

Cómo cura la avena: los beneficios del cereal más completo por Miquel Pros (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes