yes, therapy helps!
Ataxia: causes, symptoms and treatments

Ataxia: causes, symptoms and treatments

October 21, 2020

Ataxia It is a Greek term meaning "disorder". We refer to the ataxia as a clinical sign characterized by the lack of coordination of movement: lack of stability in walking; clumsiness or weakness in the upper, lower extremities, body or eye movements, etc. as a consequence of an affectation of the Central Nervous System (CNS).

In general, ataxia is usually secondary to involvement of the cerebellum or its efferent or afferent nerve pathways, although other brain structures could cause this symptomatology. In this article we will review the characteristics of this phenomenon.

Symptoms of ataxia

Although the main characteristics of ataxia are the uncoordination of the extremities and the saccades of the eyes, other types of symptoms can occur. All the symptoms of ataxia, however, have to do with the ability to move parts of the body. These signs that ataxia is affecting normal body functions are described below.


  • Speech problems
  • Difficulties in visuospatial perception due to oculomotor uncoordination.
  • Visuoconstructive apraxia as a consequence of the lack of coordination.
  • Dysphagia-problems to swallow.
  • Difficulties in walking, with a tendency to open the legs.
  • Total loss of the ability to walk.

As we said, in the clinic, Ataxia usually appears as a sign that can manifest itself in different pathologies acquired - that is to say: cerebral infarcts, tumors, cranio-encephalic traumatisms, etc. - although it can also present itself as an isolated disease in its hereditary forms.


Classifications (types of ataxias)

We could classify ataxia according to different criteria, although in this review We will explain the main types of ataxia depending on whether the pathology has been acquired or is hereditary . Another possible classification mode would be based on the regions of the Central Nervous System that present lesions or anomalies capable of producing ataxia.

1. Acquired ataxias

That an ataxia is acquired implies that it occurs as a consequence of a major pathology suffered by the patient. In this way, cerebral infarctions, cerebral anoxia - lack of oxygen in the brain - brain tumors, trauma, demyelinating disease - multiple sclerosis - are common causes of ataxia.

Among other less common causes we could find congenital anomalies, infections, other autoimmune diseases, Human Immunodeficiency Virus, Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, etc. In general terms, For ataxia to occur, these pathologies must cause damage to the cerebellum or related structures such as the spinal cord. , thalamus or ganglia of the dorsal root. A very frequent cause of ataxia is cerebellar hemorrhage.


The anamnesis, the case study and the appropriate selection of diagnostic tests are necessary to find the correct etiology. The treatment will be focused on the intervention of the acquired pathology and the prognosis will depend on the severity of the injuries.

2. Recessive hereditary ataxias

Unlike acquired ataxias, these types of ataxia are usually early onset, during childhood or between 20 and 30 years. That the disease is recessive implies that we must have inherited two equal copies of the "defective" gene from our parents.

This implies that a large population is simply carriers of the disease even if it does not manifest itself, since with a "healthy" gene it is enough not to develop it. In this group we find some of the most common types of ataxia such as Friederich's Ataxia or Ataxia-Telangiectasia.

2.1. Friederich's ataxia

It is the most common type of hereditary ataxia. It is estimated that its prevalence in developed countries is 1 person for every 50,000 cases. Its onset is usually in childhood, presenting gait problems, awkwardness, sensory neuropathy and abnormalities in the movement of the eyes. Other less frequent consequences may be skeletal deformities and hypertrophic myocardipathies.

As the disease progresses, dysarthria - alteration in the articulation of the words -, dysphagia - difficulty in swallowing, weakness in the lower extremities, etc. they are more apparent It is estimated that between 9 and 15 years of the onset of symptoms the person loses the ability to walk.

This clinical picture is a consequence of the neurodegeneration of the ganglion cells of the dorsal root, the spinocerebellar tracts, the cells of the dentate nucleus -a deep nucleus of the cerebellum- and the corticospinal tracts. The Purkinge cells - the main cells of the cerebellum - are not affected.The neuroimaging study does not usually show any apparent involvement of the cerebellum.

Currently there is no cure and the treatments administered are usually symptomatic . The risk due to dysphagia, cardiomyopathy, etc., implies that patients should be followed regularly. Several clinical trials are under way to observe the potential of various drugs such as, inter alia, interferon-gamma.

2.2. Ataxia-Telangiectasia

With an estimated prevalence of 1 case between 20,000-100,000 cases, ataxia-telangectasia (AT) is the most common cause of recessive ataxia in patients younger than 5 years. As the disease develops we can find hypotonia - decreased muscle tone - polyneuropathy - involvement of the peripheral nervous system - oculomotor apraxia - problems in changing the look towards a stimulus to be fixed -, etc. Patients with AT usually have immunodeficiencies that cause recurrent lung infections.

In the neuroimaging study, atrophy of the cerebellum can be observed, unlike Friederich's ataxia . As in the previous case, the treatment is directed to the symptoms and there is no cure.

2.3. Other hereditary recessive ataxias

We found many more types of hereditary ataxias such as Ataxia with oculomotor apraxia, Ataxia Cayman, Ataxia with vitamin E deficiency, infantile spinocerebral ataxia, etc.

3. Dominant hereditary ataxia

The dominant hereditary ataxias occur in each generation of a family with a 50% risk of receiving the disease from one of the parents . In this case, a single copy of the affected gene is sufficient to develop the disease. Depending on the course of the disease can be divided into episodic or progressive. There are different genetic tests for the diagnosis of these pathologies. As in the previous cases, there are no cures either.

Ataxia and apraxia: they are not the same

From a neuropsychological point of view, the biggest differential diagnosis that must be made is to distinguish ataxia from apraxia . Although they can lead to similar cognitive deficits, especially in the acquired forms, they are significantly different from a clinical point of view. Apraxia is defined as an alteration in the execution of certain movements learned in response to an order and outside the context that is not attributable to sensory or motor impairments, lack of coordination or attentional deficits.

Ataxia, on the other hand, is a coordination motor deficit as such. Although a patient can not perform the required action before an order, it will be due to motor disability. In apraxia the problem arises because the "verbal input" - that is, the order - can not be associated with the motor response or "motor output".

On the other hand, in apraxia we should not find other problems such as the instability of walking , problems in swallowing, etc. Thus, in these cases the neurological evaluation will be mandatory if we observe signs incompatible with apraxia. However, it should also be taken into account that both clinical manifestations can be presented concomitantly.

The incidence of ataxia nationwide

With the prevalences that we have cited in the case of ataxia in its hereditary form, we can consider these diseases as rare - being in Europe a rare disease that is one case every 2000 people-. When diseases are classified as rare, it is generally more difficult to advance their research to find effective treatments.

In addition, as we have seen, the hereditary forms of the disease will affect mainly children and young people. This has led to the emergence of various non-profit associations that promote the treatment, dissemination and improvement of the quality of life of these patients. Among them we find the Catalan Association of Hereditary Ataxias, the Sevillian Association of Ataxias and the Madrilenian Association of Ataxias.

Conclusions

Ataxia, although not very prevalent in its hereditary manifestation, is a disorder that affects the activities of daily life and independence in the lives of many people , especially in young population. In addition, pharmaceutical and business priorities mean that research in this field advances slowly, which is why the proposals regarding treatment focus on palliative care.

That is why you should disclose their existence and let know their affectations. Each step, however small, may represent improvements in the quality of life of these patients, with the relief for the health system that this entails. The study and development in early detection and the automation of treatment systems will be beneficial for patients, family members, caregivers and health professionals. When we advance in these fields, we all win and, for this reason, we must make known and support these social causes.

Bibliographic references:

Books:

  • Arnedo A, Bembire J, Tiviño M (2012). Neuropsychology through clinical cases. Madrid: Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Junqué C (2014). Manual of Neuropsychology.Barcelona: Synthesis

Articles:

  • Akbar U, Ashizawa T (2015). Ataxia. Neurol Clin 33: 225-248.
  • Delatycki MB, Williamson R, Forrest SM (2000). Friedreich ataxia: an overview. Journal of medical genetics 37: 1-8.
  • Manto M, Marmolino D (2009). Cerebellar ataxias. Current opinion in neurology 22: 419-429.
  • Matthews BR, Jones LK, Saad DA, Aksamit AJ, Josephs KA (2005). Cerebellar ataxia and central nervous system whipple disease. Archives of neurology 62: 618-620.
  • Pandolfo M (2009). Friedreich ataxia: the clinical picture. J Neurol 256 (Suppl 1): 3-8.

Living with Ataxia (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ataxie: causes, symptômes et traitements

Ataxie: causes, symptômes et traitements

Décembre 7, 2021

Ataxie C'est un terme grec qui signifie "désordre". Nous nous référons à la ataxie en tant que signe clinique caractérisé par un manque de coordination des mouvements: manque de stabilité dans la marche; maladresse ou faiblesse des membres supérieurs et inférieurs, mouvements du corps ou des yeux, etc. à la suite d'une affectation du système nerveux central (SNC).

En général, l'ataxie est généralement secondaire à l'atteinte du cervelet ou de ses voies nerveuses efférentes ou afférentes, bien que d'autres structures cérébrales puissent en être la cause. Dans cet article, nous examinerons les caractéristiques de ce phénomène.

Symptômes de l'ataxie

Bien que les principales caractéristiques de l'ataxie soient le manque de coordination des extrémités et les saccades des yeux, d'autres types de symptômes peuvent survenir. Tous les symptômes de l'ataxie, cependant, sont liés à la capacité de déplacer des parties du corps. Ces signes d'ataxie qui affectent les fonctions corporelles normales sont décrits ci-dessous.


  • Problèmes d'élocution
  • Difficultés de perception visuospatiale dues à un manque de coordination oculomotrice.
  • Apraxie visuoconstructive comme conséquence du manque de coordination.
  • Dysphagie-problèmes à avaler.
  • Difficultés à marcher, avec une tendance à ouvrir les jambes.
  • Perte totale de la capacité de marcher.

Comme nous l'avons dit, à la clinique, L’ataxie apparaît généralement comme un signe pouvant se manifester dans différentes pathologies acquises - c'est-à-dire: infarctus cérébraux, tumeurs, traumatismes cranio-encéphaliques, etc. - bien qu'il puisse aussi se présenter comme une maladie isolée sous ses formes héréditaires.


Classifications (types d'ataxies)

Nous pourrions classer l'ataxie selon différents critères, bien que dans cette revue Nous allons expliquer les principaux types d'ataxie selon que la pathologie a été acquise ou qu'elle est héréditaire. . Un autre mode de classification possible serait basé sur les régions du système nerveux central présentant des lésions ou des anomalies susceptibles de produire une ataxie.

1. Ataxies acquises

Le fait qu'une ataxie soit acquise implique que cela se produit en conséquence d'une pathologie majeure subie par le patient. De cette manière, les infarctus cérébraux, l'anoxie cérébrale - le manque d'oxygène dans le cerveau - les tumeurs cérébrales, les traumatismes, la maladie démyélinisante - la sclérose en plaques - sont des causes courantes d'ataxie.

Parmi les autres causes moins courantes, nous pourrions trouver des anomalies congénitales, des infections, d'autres maladies auto-immunes, le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine, la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob, etc. En général Pour que l'ataxie se produise, ces pathologies doivent causer des lésions au cervelet ou à des structures apparentées telles que la moelle épinière. , thalamus ou ganglions de la racine dorsale. Une cause très fréquente d'ataxie est l'hémorragie cérébelleuse.


L'anamnèse, l'étude de cas et le choix approprié de tests de diagnostic sont nécessaires pour trouver l'étiologie correcte. Le traitement sera centré sur l'intervention de la pathologie acquise et le pronostic dépendra de la gravité des lésions.

2. Ataxies héréditaires récessives

Contrairement aux ataxies acquises, ces types d’ataxie sont généralement précoces, durant l’enfance ou entre 20 et 30 ans. Le fait que la maladie soit récessive implique que nous devons avoir hérité de nos parents deux copies égales du gène "défectueux".

Cela implique qu'une large population est simplement porteuse de la maladie, même si elle ne se manifeste pas, puisqu'un gène «sain» suffit à ne pas la développer. Dans ce groupe, nous trouvons certains des types d'ataxie les plus courants tels que l'ataxie de Friederich ou l'ataxie-télangiectasie.

2.1. L'ataxie de Friederich

C'est le type le plus commun d'ataxie héréditaire. On estime que sa prévalence dans les pays développés est de 1 personne pour 50 000 cas. Son apparition est généralement dans l'enfance, présentant des problèmes de démarche, une maladresse, une neuropathie sensorielle et des anomalies dans le mouvement des yeux. Des malformations squelettiques et des myocardipathies hypertrophiques sont d’autres conséquences moins fréquentes.

Au fur et à mesure de l'évolution de la maladie, dysarthrie - altération de l'articulation des mots -, dysphagie - difficulté à avaler, faiblesse des membres inférieurs, etc. ils sont plus apparents On estime qu'entre 9 et 15 ans après l'apparition des symptômes, la personne perd la capacité de marcher.

Ce tableau clinique est une conséquence de la neurodégénérescence des cellules ganglionnaires de la racine dorsale, du tractus spinocérébelleux, des cellules du noyau denté - un noyau profond du cervelet - et du tractus corticospinal. Les cellules de Purkinge - les cellules principales du cervelet - ne sont pas affectées.L'étude de neuroimagerie ne montre généralement aucune implication apparente du cervelet.

Actuellement, il n’ya pas de remède et les traitements administrés sont généralement symptomatiques . Le risque de dysphagie, cardiomyopathie, etc., implique que les patients doivent être suivis régulièrement. Plusieurs essais cliniques sont en cours pour observer le potentiel de divers médicaments tels que, entre autres, l'interféron gamma.

2.2. Ataxie-Télangiectasie

Avec une prévalence estimée à 1 cas entre 20 000 et 100 000, l'ataxie-télangectasie (AT) est la cause la plus fréquente d'ataxie récessive chez les patients de moins de 5 ans. Au fur et à mesure que la maladie se développe, on peut déceler une hypotonie - diminution du tonus musculaire - polyneuropathie - atteinte du système nerveux périphérique - apraxie oculomotrice - problèmes pour changer le regard vers un stimulus à fixer - etc. Les patients AT ont généralement des déficits immunitaires provoquant des infections pulmonaires récurrentes.

Dans l’étude de neuroimagerie, on peut observer une atrophie du cervelet, contrairement à l’ataxie de Friederich. . Comme dans le cas précédent, le traitement est dirigé contre les symptômes et il n’ya pas de remède.

2.3. Autres ataxies récessives héréditaires

Nous avons trouvé beaucoup plus d'ataxies héréditaires telles que l'ataxie avec apraxie oculomotrice, l'ataxie Caïman, l'ataxie avec carence en vitamine E, l'ataxie spinocérébrale infantile, etc.

3. Ataxie héréditaire dominante

Les ataxies héréditaires dominantes surviennent dans chaque génération d'une famille avec un risque de 50% de contracter la maladie d'un des parents . Dans ce cas, une seule copie du gène affecté suffit pour développer la maladie. Selon l'évolution de la maladie peut être divisé en épisodique ou progressive. Il existe différents tests génétiques pour le diagnostic de ces pathologies. Comme dans les cas précédents, il n'y a pas non plus de remède.

Ataxie et apraxie: ce ne sont pas les mêmes

D'un point de vue neuropsychologique, le plus grand diagnostic différentiel à faire est de distinguer l'ataxie de l'apraxie . Bien qu'ils puissent conduire à des déficits cognitifs similaires, en particulier dans les formes acquises, ils sont significativement différents d'un point de vue clinique. L'apraxie est définie comme une altération de l'exécution de certains mouvements appris en réponse à un ordre et en dehors du contexte qui n'est pas attribuable à des déficiences sensorielles ou motrices, à un manque de coordination ou à des déficits de l'attention.

L'ataxie, en revanche, est un déficit moteur de coordination en tant que tel. Bien qu'un patient ne puisse pas effectuer l'action requise avant une commande, cela sera dû à un handicap moteur. Dans l'apraxie, le problème vient du fait que "l'entrée verbale" - c'est-à-dire l'ordre - ne peut pas être associée à la réponse motrice ni à la "sortie motrice".

D'un autre côté, dans l'apraxie, nous ne devrions pas trouver d'autres problèmes tels que l'instabilité de la marche , problèmes de déglutition, etc. Ainsi, dans ces cas, l'évaluation neurologique sera obligatoire si nous observons des signes incompatibles avec l'apraxie. Cependant, il faut aussi prendre en compte que les deux manifestations cliniques peuvent être présentées de manière concomitante.

L'incidence de l'ataxie à l'échelle nationale

Avec les prévalences que nous avons citées dans le cas de l'ataxie sous sa forme héréditaire, nous pouvons considérer ces maladies comme rares - étant en Europe une maladie rare représentant un cas sur 2000 personnes. Lorsque les maladies sont classées comme rares, il est généralement plus difficile de faire progresser leurs recherches. trouver des traitements efficaces.

En outre, comme nous l'avons vu, les formes héréditaires de la maladie affecteront principalement les enfants et les jeunes. Cela a conduit à l'émergence de diverses associations à but non lucratif qui favorisent le traitement, la diffusion et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie de ces patients. Parmi eux, nous trouvons l'association catalane des ataxies héréditaires, l'association des ataxies de Séville et l'association madrilène des ataxies.

Conclusions

L’ataxie, bien que peu répandue dans sa manifestation héréditaire, est un trouble qui affecte les activités de la vie quotidienne et l'indépendance dans la vie de nombreuses personnes , surtout chez les jeunes. De plus, les priorités pharmaceutiques et commerciales signifient que la recherche dans ce domaine progresse lentement, raison pour laquelle les propositions en matière de traitement se concentrent sur les soins palliatifs.

C'est pourquoi vous devez divulguer leur existence et faire connaître leurs affectations. Chaque étape, si petite soit-elle, peut représenter une amélioration de la qualité de vie de ces patients, avec le soulagement que cela entraîne pour le système de santé. L'étude et le développement de la détection précoce et de l'automatisation des systèmes de traitement seront bénéfiques pour les patients, les membres de la famille, les soignants et les professionnels de la santé. Lorsque nous avançons dans ces domaines, nous gagnons tous et, pour cette raison, nous devons faire connaître et soutenir ces causes sociales.

Références bibliographiques:

Livres:

  • Arnedo A, J Bembire, Tiviño M (2012). Neuropsychologie à travers des cas cliniques. Madrid: Maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Junqué C (2014). Manuel de neuropsychologie.Barcelone: ​​synthèse

Les articles:

  • Akbar U, Ashizawa T (2015). Ataxie Neurol Clin 33: 225-248.
  • Delatycki MB, Williamson R, Forrest SM (2000). Ataxie de Friedreich: un aperçu. Journal de la génétique médicale 37: 1-8.
  • Manto M, Marmolino D (2009). Ataxies cérébelleuses. Opinion actuelle en neurologie 22: 419-429.
  • Matthews BR, Jones LK, Saad DA, Aksamit AJ, Josephs KA (2005). Ataxie cérébelleuse et maladie du whipple du système nerveux central. Archives de neurologie 62: 618-620.
  • Pandolfo M (2009). Ataxie de Friedreich: le tableau clinique. J Neurol 256 (Suppl 1): 3-8.

Troubles de léquilibre Causes et traitements (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes