yes, therapy helps!
Body homeostasis: what it is, and types of homeostatic processes

Body homeostasis: what it is, and types of homeostatic processes

January 22, 2023

We are hungry and we eat, because our body warns us that we lack nutrients. We are thirsty and drink, because we are in the process of dehydration and our body needs water to function well. Our pulse and respiration are accelerated by an extremely active situation and later we calm down, because we stop being exposed to the situation that requires an energy use.

If we observe all these relationships, we can see that in all of them we are facing a process that seeks maintain a balance in our body .

This balance is necessary for the proper functioning of our body, with which we carry out different processes to achieve it. We are talking about body homeostasis , of which we are going to talk throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Endocrine system: anatomy, parts and functions"

What is body homeostasis?

We understand by body homeostasis the tendency in the body to actively and constantly seek a state of equilibrium, in such a way that the cells of our body can survive by maintaining a stable internal composition.

The maintenance of this balance is fundamental, since the activation or maintenance of different bodily processes require energy, which in turn requires elements to be used as fuel. Not having them will occur a series of tissue damage that can lead to death . The same happens if we are not able to activate or stop some of the aforementioned bodily processes, necessary for our survival.


It is important to bear in mind that homeostasis acts on the basis of the existence of changes that can occur both within the body and from outside, using mechanisms of action that link both environments (for example, hunger makes us eat).

The concept of body homeostasis, developed by Bernard but baptized by Cannon , does not speak of a situation in which the body remains unchanged in a position where there are always the same parameters, but rather a dynamic balance between states that allows the values ​​of the different components of our body to remain relatively stable , thanks to various biological mechanisms prepared for this purpose.

In this sense we must bear in mind that living beings can support certain levels of variation and imbalance and that the mechanisms that allow homeostasis can be damaged or altered throughout the life cycle , being important to take it into account in order to introduce external factors that correct possible deficits.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones"

It's components

In order for homeostasis to exist, the existence of three fundamental elements is necessary.

First of all it is necessary the existence of some type of elements that make sensor, a receiver that allows that the agency captures the existing levels in the parameter or element that must remain in equilibrium.

Secondly there must be some kind of control , a trigger that manages to make that at the moment when certain levels are reached, a performance is necessary.

Third and last, it is essential that there is some kind of mechanism that allows response or action once the control mechanism warns that the value of the variable or factor in question reaches the level of imbalance.

Processes to balance the organism

The process of homeostatic regulation is complex and the mechanisms that participate in it are diverse. We can highlight three of them concretely: two of them are purely biological, while the third is more related to neural activity and behavior.

Negative feedback

The feedback or negative feedback is probably the mechanism of action of homeostasis that seems to have more logic and easier to observe and understand.

This mechanism is based on the fact that given the detection of a certain level of a specific parameter that moves away from the normal values, a response is carried out that pretends return said parameter to the previous stability .

Examples are provided in the introduction to this article. It must also be borne in mind that we are not talking about a search for balance that occurs only in situations where there is a lack, but also when there is an excess of something.

For example, in the case of variations in body water levels , thirst may arise in case the organism detects a lack of it or the need to urinate if there is an excess.

Positive feedback

Another process necessary to maintain body homeostasis may, in fact, appear counterintuitive.It is about positive feedback, which is characterized by generating an increase in the amplification of disequilibrating stimuli, accelerating changes.

This process can be risky and even pose a danger to survival, but although it causes the organism to move further away than it would initially do from the balanced baseline, it has its utility: it may be necessary to perform this feedback or to move the basal state to a more optimal situation for survival or to achieve long-term return to initial situations.

Examples of this occur in the coagulation of the blood before an injury, which becomes increasingly rapid and facilitates the arrest of a hemorrhage.

Feed

The feedback supposes that before the arrival of a concrete signal the organism generates some type of action that allows reacting to the existence of variations.

But it is not the only way to maintain homeostasis : it is also possible to anticipate the arrival of changes and prevent them from occurring. This is the system that would be known as anteroalimentation, and on a biological level we found it more linked to the behavior and the capacity of association, as well as instinctive acts.

5 homeostatic processes that occur in our body

We have talked about body homeostasis as something general that may sound somewhat abstract to most readers (although several examples have been given).

But There are many aspects and functions of our body that must be regulated to allow our survival. In order to make homeostasis much more visual, let's look at five more examples (in addition to those already seen hunger, thirst, pulse and cardiorespiratory rhythm or blood coagulation) of elements that are regulated and that allow the proper functioning of our system.

1. Cellular metabolism

The cellular metabolism is undoubtedly the process that requires more regulation in order to keep us alive. And is that our cells are very delicate and need to be in a very specific environment.

It is necessary that levels of different elements and ions of elements such as sodium , potassium or calcium, as well as the levels of intracellular fluid and extracellular fluid, are correctly regulated in order that the cells can exercise their functions and remain alive.

2. Body temperature

Another bodily mechanism that is continuously regulated is the internal temperature of the body. The correct functioning of our tissues and organs can be affected by excessive cold or heat , to the point of being able to lead to death by hypothermia or hyperthermia.

Fortunately, our body is able to maintain the temperature by means of a homeostatic process in which, if there is excess internal temperature, the body reacts with a decrease in physical activity, discomfort and sweating (whose objective is to reduce the temperature) or with an increase in activity, the generation of tremors, the consumption of calories , withdrawal of blood from the secondary areas to direct it to the vital areas and the search for heat in the case of lack of sufficient temperature.

3. Autonomic nervous system

The functioning of the autonomic nervous system is another clear example of homeostasis.

The sympathetic system allows the organism to prepare itself for the action and fight or flight reactions in order to survive, generating a much greater energy consumption to be able to carry out the necessary actions, while the parasympathetic system allows us to reduce activity and activation in order to replenish the energies or prevent an energy waste.

An example of deregulation it would occur in chronic stress problems , in which the sympathetic system would be excessively activated continuously.

4. Regulation of glucose

In this case, our body acts in such a way that it allows the sugar to be transformed into fats and stored thanks to insulin, whereas when it becomes necessary to use glucose from the body we secrete glucagon in order to transform fats into sugar. The clearest example of dysregulation occurs in diabetes .

5. Hormonal regulation

As well endocrine functioning It must be regulated. In fact, many of the behaviors that lead to the external generation of homeostasis, such as feelings of hunger or thirst, sexual desire or stress, depend to different degrees on this system.

A natural and non-pathological example would be found in the female menstrual cycle , as well as in the dysregulation that menopause would entail at first.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hardy, R.M. (1979). Homeostasis Biology notebooks. Omega: Barcelona.
  • Guyton, A.C. & Hall, J.E. (2016). Treaty of Medical Physiology. 13th ed. Elsevier
  • García, A. (2016). Homeostasis: regulation and control. Autonomous Mexico State University. School of Medicine.

Homeostasis and Negative/Positive Feedback (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Homéostasie du corps: qu'est-ce que c'est et types de processus homéostatiques

Homéostasie du corps: qu'est-ce que c'est et types de processus homéostatiques

Juillet 30, 2021

Nous avons faim et nous mangeons, car notre corps nous avertit que nous manquons de nutriments. Nous avons soif et buvons, car nous sommes en train de nous déshydrater et notre corps a besoin d’eau pour bien fonctionner. Notre pouls et notre respiration sont accélérés par une situation extrêmement active et plus tard, nous nous calmons, car nous cessons d'être exposés à la situation qui nécessite une utilisation d'énergie.

Si nous observons toutes ces relations, nous pouvons voir que dans chacune d’elles nous sommes confrontés à un processus qui cherche à maintenir un équilibre dans notre corps .

Cet équilibre est nécessaire au bon fonctionnement de notre corps, avec lequel nous effectuons différents processus pour le réaliser. On parle d'homéostasie corporelle , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Système endocrinien: anatomie, pièces et fonctions"

Qu'est-ce que l'homéostasie corporelle?

On entend par homéostasie du corps la tendance dans le corps à rechercher activement et constamment un état d'équilibre, de telle sorte que les cellules de notre corps puissent survivre en maintenant une composition interne stable.

Le maintien de cet équilibre est fondamental, car l'activation ou la maintenance de différents processus corporels nécessite de l'énergie, ce qui nécessite l'utilisation d'éléments comme carburant. Ne pas en avoir se produira une série de lésions tissulaires pouvant entraîner la mort . Il en va de même si nous ne sommes pas en mesure d'activer ou d'arrêter certains des processus corporels susmentionnés, nécessaires à notre survie.


Il est important de garder à l'esprit que l'homéostasie agit en fonction de l'existence de changements pouvant survenir à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur du corps, en utilisant des mécanismes d'action reliant les deux environnements (par exemple, la faim nous fait manger).

Le concept d'homéostasie du corps, développé par Bernard mais baptisé par Cannon , ne parle pas d'une situation dans laquelle le corps reste inchangé dans une position où il y a toujours les mêmes paramètres, mais plutôt d'un équilibre dynamique entre les états qui permet aux valeurs des différentes composantes de notre corps de rester relativement stables , grâce aux différents mécanismes biologiques préparés à cet effet.

En ce sens, nous devons garder à l'esprit que les êtres vivants peuvent supporter certains niveaux de variation et de déséquilibre et que les mécanismes qui permettent l'homéostasie peut être endommagé ou modifié tout au long du cycle de vie , il est important de le prendre en compte pour introduire des facteurs externes qui corrigent les déficits éventuels.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "l'hypophyse: le lien entre les neurones et les hormones"

Ses composants

Pour que l'homéostasie existe, l'existence de trois éléments fondamentaux est nécessaire.

Tout d’abord, il faut l’existence d’un certain type d’éléments qui font du capteur, un récepteur qui permet que l'agence capture les niveaux existants dans le paramètre ou l'élément qui doit rester en équilibre.

En second lieu il doit y avoir une sorte de contrôle , un déclencheur qui réussit à faire cela au moment où certains niveaux sont atteints, une performance est nécessaire.

Troisièmement, il est essentiel qu’il existe un mécanisme permettant une réaction ou une action dès lors que le mécanisme de contrôle prévient que la valeur de la variable ou du facteur en question atteint le niveau de déséquilibre.

Processus pour équilibrer l'organisme

Le processus de régulation homéostatique est complexe et les mécanismes qui y participent sont divers. Nous pouvons en souligner concrètement trois: deux d'entre elles sont purement biologiques, tandis que la troisième est davantage liée à l'activité et au comportement des neurones.

Rétroaction négative

Le retour ou retour négatif est probablement le mécanisme d'action de l'homéostasie qui semble avoir plus de logique et plus facile à observer et à comprendre.

Ce mécanisme est basé sur le fait que, étant donné la détection d’un certain niveau d’un paramètre spécifique qui s’éloigne des valeurs normales, une réponse est effectuée qui prétend renvoyer ledit paramètre à la stabilité précédente .

Des exemples sont fournis dans l'introduction de cet article. Il faut aussi garder à l'esprit que nous ne parlons pas d'une recherche de l'équilibre qui ne se produit que dans des situations de manque, mais aussi lorsqu'il y a un excès de quelque chose.

Par exemple, en cas de variation du niveau d'eau dans le corps , la soif peut survenir si l’organisme détecte une carence ou le besoin d’uriner s’il ya excès.

Rétroaction positive

Un autre processus nécessaire au maintien de l'homéostasie corporelle peut en fait sembler contre-intuitif.Il s’agit d’un retour positif, caractérisé par une augmentation de l’amplification des stimuli déséquilibrants, accélérant les changements.

Ce processus peut être risqué et même constituer un danger pour la survie, mais bien qu’il provoque l’éloignement de l’organisme par rapport à la position initiale équilibrée, il a toutefois son utilité: il peut être nécessaire d’effectuer ce retour ou déplacer l'état basal dans une situation plus optimale pour survivre ou pour obtenir un retour à long terme aux situations initiales.

Des exemples de ceci se produisent dans la coagulation du sang avant une blessure, qui devient de plus en plus rapide et facilite l'arrêt d'une hémorragie.

Nourrir

La rétroaction suppose qu'avant l'arrivée d'un signal concret, l'organisme génère un type d'action permettant de réagir à l'existence de variations.

Mais ce n'est pas le seul moyen de maintenir l'homéostasie : il est également possible d'anticiper l'arrivée des changements et de les empêcher de se produire. C'est le système qui s'appellerait antéroalimentation, et sur le plan biologique, nous l'avons trouvé plus lié au comportement et à la capacité d'association, ainsi qu'aux actes instinctifs.

5 processus homéostatiques qui se produisent dans notre corps

Nous avons parlé de l'homéostasie corporelle comme une notion générale pouvant sembler quelque peu abstraite pour la plupart des lecteurs (bien que plusieurs exemples aient été donnés).

Mais Il existe de nombreux aspects et fonctions de notre corps qui doivent être réglementés pour permettre notre survie. Pour rendre l'homéostasie beaucoup plus visuelle, examinons cinq autres exemples (en plus de ceux déjà observés: faim, soif, pouls et rythme cardiorespiratoire ou coagulation du sang) d'éléments régulés qui permettent le bon fonctionnement de notre système.

1. Métabolisme cellulaire

Le métabolisme cellulaire est sans aucun doute le processus qui nécessite plus de régulation pour nous maintenir en vie. Et est-ce que nos cellules sont très délicates et doivent être dans un environnement très spécifique.

Il faut que niveaux de différents éléments et ions d'éléments tels que le sodium , le potassium ou le calcium, ainsi que les taux de liquide intracellulaire et de liquide extracellulaire, sont correctement régulés afin que les cellules puissent exercer leurs fonctions et rester en vie.

2. température corporelle

Un autre mécanisme corporel qui est régulé en continu est la température interne du corps. Le bon fonctionnement de nos tissus et organes peut être affecté par le froid excessif ou la chaleur , au point de pouvoir entraîner la mort par hypothermie ou hyperthermie.

Heureusement, notre corps est capable de maintenir la température grâce à un processus homéostatique dans lequel, en cas de température interne excessive, il réagit par une diminution de l'activité physique, des malaises et une transpiration (dont l'objectif est de réduire la température) ou en augmentant la température. activité, la génération de tremblements, la consommation de calories , prélèvement de sang des zones secondaires pour le diriger vers les zones vitales et recherche de chaleur en cas de manque de température.

3. Système nerveux autonome

Le fonctionnement du système nerveux autonome est un autre exemple clair d'homéostasie.

Le système sympathique permet à l’organisme de se préparer à l’action et au réactions de combat ou de fuite afin de survivre, générant une consommation d’énergie beaucoup plus importante pour pouvoir effectuer les actions nécessaires, tandis que le système parasympathique nous permet de réduire l'activité et l'activation afin de reconstituer les énergies ou d'éviter un gaspillage d'énergie.

Un exemple de dérégulation il se produirait dans des problèmes de stress chroniques , dans lequel le système sympathique serait excessivement activé en permanence.

4. Régulation du glucose

Dans ce cas, notre corps agit de manière à permettre au sucre d'être transformé en graisse et stocké grâce à l'insuline, tandis que lorsqu'il devient nécessaire d'utiliser le glucose du corps, nous sécrétons du glucagon afin de transformer sucre. Le meilleur exemple de dysrégulation se produit dans le diabète .

5. Régulation hormonale

Aussi fonctionnement endocrinien Cela doit être réglementé. En fait, de nombreux comportements qui conduisent à la génération externe d'homéostasie, tels que des sentiments de faim ou de soif, de désir sexuel ou de stress, dépendent de ce système à des degrés divers.

Un exemple naturel et non pathologique serait trouvé dans le cycle menstruel féminin , ainsi que dans la dysrégulation que la ménopause entraînerait au début.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hardy, R.M. (1979). Homéostasie Cahiers de biologie. Omega: Barcelone.
  • Guyton, A.C. & Hall, J.E. (2016). Traité de physiologie médicale. 13 e éd. Elsevier
  • García, A. (2016). Homéostasie: régulation et contrôle. Université autonome de l'Etat du Mexique. Faculté de medecine.

Chapitre 6 - 1ère Partie : Le système endocrinien - Cours de Biologie du DAEU-B (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes