yes, therapy helps!
Brief psychotic disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

Brief psychotic disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment

June 17, 2024

Thanks to the media, film and television in the collective imagination of society has been established, more or less clearly, what is a psychotic disorder and what happens to the person who suffers. However, these beliefs are plagued with stereotypes that can lead to confusion.

Psychotic disorders or psychoses are those mental disorders in which the person experiences a damage in the ability to think, to react emotionally and to interpret reality. However, this disorder may appear briefly in previously healthy people, classifying itself as a brief psychotic disorder .

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia"

What is brief psychotic disorder?

Brief psychotic disorder is a state during which the person experiences a series of psychotic symptoms such as hallucinations, delusions or disorganized speech and thinking among many others.


However, unlike other psychotic disorders, brief psychotic disorder appears suddenly and unexpectedly in presumably healthy people. The duration of these episodes is very short, and can last between a day and a month at the most. Also, once completed, the person can recover completely and without the need for this incident to happen again.

As previously mentioned, what distinguishes a brief psychotic disorder is that it does not have to be associated with any other psychotic disorder, nor with the effect of drugs or any organic disease such as a brain tumor.

Although it is considered a disorder of low prevalence, that is, rare, several studies have managed to confirm that usually appears in people between 30 and 50 years and that the probability of affecting women is twice as high as in men.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of Psychotic Disorders"

Types of brief psychotic disorder

Three subtypes of brief psychotic disorders have been detected, which can be classified according to the cause of this.

1. Following an identifiable stressor

This subtype of disorder it is also known as brief reactive psychosis and it is generated by the appearance of a traumatic, stressful or emotionally significant event; such as surviving an accident or catastrophe, abuse or death of a close person.

2. Unidentifiable stressor

In this subtype it is not possible to identify or specify the reason that caused the brief psychotic disorder in the person.

Following the birth

According to some studies, 1 out of 10000 women experience an episode of brief psychotic disorder shortly after the moment of delivery. Specifically, the largest number of cases have been registered approximately four weeks after this .


  • Maybe you're interested: "Postpartum or postpartum psychosis: causes, symptoms and treatment

Symptomatology

The psychotic disorder brief buy much of your symptoms with many other psychotic disorders, however to be classified as such it is necessary that these symptoms only remain between a day and a month . In the event that they last longer in time, or more than six months, the possibility that it is any other disorder will be considered.

The symptomatology present in the brief psychotic disorder ranges from delusions, hallucinations or disorientation, to catatonic behavior and alterations in attention and memory.

1. Delusions

Delusions make up a series of beliefs that, although the patient believes firmly in them, do not have any kind of logical basis, nor can they be demonstrated in any way.

Although there are different types of delusions, in brief psychotic disorder delusions of persecution, grandeur and reference delusions predominate .

2. Hallucinations

Also, another of the most common symptoms within psychotic disorders are hallucinations. In these, the person perceives in a real way facts or images that have never taken place and in those who completely believe not perceiving them as hallucinations.

  • Related article: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

3. Disorganized thinking and language

While the episode of psychosis lasts, the person abandons any logical relation of their thoughts, appearing the ideas in a chaotic and disorganized way.

As a result of this disorganized thinking, the patient experiences alterations in the processes of attention and memory, as well as great difficulties in language and speech .

Some examples of these symptoms are incessantly talking about the same subject, continuously going from one topic to another, and presenting a speech full of inconsistencies.

Four.Catatonic behavior

Within the catatonic behavior can be included a large number of motor alterations . These alterations include paralysis or immobility, hyperactivity, restlessness or excitement or mutism. Likewise, stereotyped movements, echolalia or echopraxia are also included.

5. Other symptoms

In addition to all the symptoms mentioned above, there are a number of behaviors or behaviors directly related to this type of disorder. These signs include:

  • Disorientation .
  • Behaviors or strange behaviors.
  • Important changes in daily habits.
  • Neglecting hygiene and personal care.
  • Impossibility of making decisions.

Causes

Although the specific causes of this disorder have not yet been established, it is hypothesized that this is the result of the union of various factors, both hereditary, biological, environmental and psychological .

As for the hereditary components of the brief psychotic disorder, it has been observed that it is repeated within the same family. Also, the fact of Having a family history of psychosis has also been established as a risk factor .

However, having a family history of both psychosis and this disorder is not a sufficient condition to suffer it. For this, it is necessary that it is a hereditary factor that is accompanied by factors or stressful contexts that facilitate the appearance of this.

On the other hand and according to some psychodynamic currents, the appearance of the brief psychotic disorder would have its origin in an inability of the person to manage their survival mechanisms. This means that the patient does not have the capacity to withstand or overcome a highly stressful event so the disorder emerges as an escape mechanism.

Diagnosis

Through a thorough psychological evaluation, the clinician should check if the patient has suffered any of the situations or circumstances that may trigger the brief psychotic disorder, such as physical, psychological or sexual abuse, experience of some traumatic event , presence of a crime, etc.

According to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V), this disorder is classified as a short-term disorder not related to any type of mood disorder, substance use or a psychotic disorder.

In order to make a reliable diagnosis of the brief psychotic disorder, the clinician must ensure that the person meets the following requirements:

  • Presence of one or more psychotic symptoms (delusions, hallucinations, negative symptomatology, etc.).
  • Duration of symptoms between one day and one month after which the person has recovered completely.
  • The symptomatology is not explained by the presence of other psychotic disorders or by the consumption of toxic substances.

Treatment and prognosis

Since the disorder must remit in less than a month there is no established treatment for this , being very similar to the intervention that is performed in acute episodes of schizophrenia.

However, it is necessary to increase and maintain the precautions during the duration of the episode given that the person may become self-harming, harm others or even commit suicide.

Also, in some cases the appearance of a brief psychotic disorder is a warning signal that the person may be developing any other type of serious mental disorder, so it is vital to make a thorough observation of the patient's evolution.


Psychosis - causes, symptoms, and treatment explained (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble psychotique bref: symptômes, causes et traitement

Trouble psychotique bref: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 18, 2022

Grâce aux médias, le film et la télévision dans l'imaginaire collectif de la société ont été établis, plus ou moins clairement, qu'est ce qu'un trouble psychotique et ce qui arrive à la personne qui en souffre. Cependant, ces croyances sont en proie à des stéréotypes qui peuvent être source de confusion.

Les troubles psychotiques ou psychoses sont les troubles mentaux dans lesquels la personne subit un préjudice en termes de capacité à penser, à réagir émotionnellement et à interpréter la réalité. Cependant, ce trouble peut apparaître brièvement chez des personnes auparavant en bonne santé, se classant comme un trouble psychotique bref .

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie"

Quel est le trouble psychotique bref?

Le trouble psychotique bref est un état au cours duquel la personne expérimente une série de symptômes psychotiques tels qu'hallucinations, délires ou discours et pensée désorganisés parmi beaucoup d'autres.


Cependant, contrairement aux autres troubles psychotiques, un trouble psychotique bref apparaît soudainement et de manière inattendue chez des personnes supposément en bonne santé. La durée de ces épisodes est très courte et peut durer entre un jour et un mois au maximum. En outre, une fois terminé, la personne peut récupérer complètement et sans la nécessité que cet incident se reproduise.

Comme mentionné précédemment, ce qui distingue un trouble psychotique bref est qu'il ne doit être associé à aucun autre trouble psychotique, ni à l'effet de médicaments ou d'une maladie organique telle qu'une tumeur au cerveau.

Bien qu’il soit considéré comme un trouble de faible prévalence, c’est-à-dire rare, plusieurs études ont réussi à confirmer que apparaît habituellement chez les personnes âgées de 30 à 50 ans et que la probabilité de toucher les femmes est deux fois plus élevée que chez les hommes.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles psychotiques"

Types de trouble psychotique bref

Trois sous-types de troubles psychotiques brefs ont été détectés et peuvent être classés en fonction de la cause.

1. Suivre un facteur de stress identifiable

Ce sous-type de désordre on l'appelle aussi psychose réactive brève et il est généré par l’apparition d’un événement traumatisant, stressant ou émotionnellement significatif; comme survivre à un accident ou à une catastrophe, à la maltraitance ou au décès d'une personne proche.

2. Facteur de stress non identifiable

Dans ce sous-type, il n'est pas possible d'identifier ou de spécifier la raison qui a provoqué le bref trouble psychotique chez la personne.

Après la naissance

Selon certaines études, 1 femme sur 10000 souffre d'un épisode de trouble psychotique bref peu après le moment de l'accouchement. Plus précisément, le plus grand nombre de cas ont été enregistrés environ quatre semaines après cela .


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychose post-partum ou post-partum: causes, symptômes et traitement

Symptomatologie

Les troubles psychotiques résument l'essentiel de vos symptômes avec de nombreux autres troubles psychotiques, mais ils doivent être classés comme tels. il est nécessaire que ces symptômes ne restent qu'entre un jour et un mois . Au cas où ils dureraient plus longtemps, ou plus de six mois, la possibilité qu'il s'agisse de tout autre trouble serait prise en compte.

La symptomatologie présente dans le bref trouble psychotique va des délires, des hallucinations ou de la désorientation, au comportement catatonique et aux altérations de l'attention et de la mémoire.

1. Délires

Les illusions constituent une série de croyances qui, bien que le patient y croit fermement, n’ont aucune base logique, ni ne peuvent être démontrées de quelque manière que ce soit.

Bien qu’il existe différents types de délires, en bref, un trouble psychotique les illusions de persécution, la grandeur et les illusions de référence prédominent .

2. hallucinations

En outre, les hallucinations sont un autre des symptômes les plus courants des troubles psychotiques. Dans ces, la personne perçoit de manière réelle des faits ou des images qui n'ont jamais eu lieu et chez ceux qui croient complètement ne pas les percevoir comme des hallucinations.

  • Article connexe: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

3. Pensée et langage désorganisés

Pendant que l'épisode de psychose dure, la personne abandonne toute relation logique de ses pensées, en présentant les idées de manière chaotique et désorganisée.

À la suite de cette pensée désorganisée, le patient subit des modifications dans les processus d’attention et de mémoire, ainsi que de grandes difficultés de langage et de parole .

Certains exemples de ces symptômes parlent sans cesse du même sujet, passent constamment d’un sujet à l’autre et présentent un discours plein d’incohérences.

4Comportement catatonique

Dans le comportement catatonique peut être inclus un grand nombre de modifications motrices . Ces altérations incluent la paralysie ou l'immobilité, l'hyperactivité, l'agitation ou l'excitation ou le mutisme. De même, les mouvements stéréotypés, echolalia ou echopraxia sont également inclus.

5. Autres symptômes

En plus de tous les symptômes mentionnés ci-dessus, il existe un certain nombre de comportements ou comportements directement liés à ce type de trouble. Ces signes incluent:

  • Désorientation .
  • Comportements ou comportements étranges.
  • Changements importants dans les habitudes quotidiennes.
  • Négliger l'hygiène et soins personnels.
  • Impossibilité de prendre des décisions.

Les causes

Bien que les causes spécifiques de ce trouble n’aient pas encore été établies, on suppose que c’est le résultat de l’union des divers facteurs, à la fois héréditaires, biologiques, environnementaux et psychologiques .

En ce qui concerne les composants héréditaires du bref trouble psychotique, il a été observé qu’il se répète dans la même famille. Aussi, le fait de Avoir des antécédents familiaux de psychose a également été établi comme facteur de risque .

Cependant, avoir des antécédents familiaux de psychose et de ce trouble n'est pas une condition suffisante pour en souffrir. Pour cela, il est nécessaire qu’il s’agisse d’un facteur héréditaire accompagné de facteurs ou de contextes stressants qui en facilitent l’apparition.

En revanche et selon certains courants psychodynamiques, l’apparition du trouble psychotique de courte durée aurait pour origine une incapacité de la personne à gérer ses mécanismes de survie. Ceci signifie que le patient n'a pas la capacité de supporter ou de surmonter un événement très stressant alors le désordre apparaît comme un mécanisme d'évasion.

Diagnostic

À travers une évaluation psychologique approfondie, le clinicien doit vérifier si le patient a subi l'une des situations ou circonstances pouvant déclencher le trouble psychotique de courte durée, telles que abus physique, psychologique ou sexuel, expérience d'un événement traumatique , présence d'un crime, etc.

Selon le Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-V), ce trouble est classé en tant que trouble à court terme non lié à un type de trouble de l'humeur, de toxicomanie ou de trouble psychotique.

Afin d'établir un diagnostic fiable du trouble psychotique bref, le clinicien doit s'assurer que la personne remplit les conditions suivantes:

  • Présence d'un ou plusieurs symptômes psychotiques (idées délirantes, hallucinations, symptomatologie négative, etc.).
  • Durée des symptômes entre un jour et un mois après lequel la personne s'est complètement rétablie.
  • La symptomatologie ne s'explique pas par la présence d'autres troubles psychotiques ni par la consommation de substances toxiques.

Traitement et pronostic

Puisque le désordre doit être réglé en moins d'un mois il n'y a pas de traitement établi pour cette , étant très similaire à l'intervention pratiquée dans les épisodes aigus de schizophrénie.

Cependant, il est nécessaire d’augmenter et de maintenir les précautions pendant la durée de l’épisode étant donné que la personne peut s'automutiler, blesser autrui ou même se suicider.

En outre, dans certains cas, l’apparition d’un trouble psychotique bref indique que la personne est susceptible de développer tout autre type de trouble mental grave. Il est donc essentiel de procéder à une observation approfondie de l’évolution du patient.


Bouffées délirantes aiguës BDA (Magazine de la santé) (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes