yes, therapy helps!
Meningitis: causes, symptoms, treatment and prognosis

Meningitis: causes, symptoms, treatment and prognosis

June 19, 2022

The brain is one of the most important organs , if not the one that more, of all our organism, since it governs and controls the different processes and functions that allow us to stay alive and that makes us be as we are. Fortunately the brain has the protection of various structures, such as the skull or a series of membranes called meninges.

However, sometimes there are alterations in these protective elements that can have serious consequences, as in the case of meningitis .

  • Related article: "The 10 most frequent neurological disorders"

The meninges and their basic functions

The meninges are a series of three membranes located between the skull and the brain that exert numerous functions of great importance when it comes to protecting the brain and spinal cord.


These membranes, called dura mater, arachnoid and pia mater , they form a barrier that allows to cushion possible blows and traumatisms that could affect the integrity of the nervous system. They have several receptors that allow detecting possible brain alterations, something that otherwise would not be possible because the brain itself has no receptors of any kind.

In addition, they allow the generation of cerebrospinal fluid (specifically the choroid plexus of the arachnoid) and its flow around the nervous system, thanks to which it is possible to excrete residues of brain functioning while helping to nourish and stabilize the neuronal environment.


Finally, the meninges also they serve to structure and shape the brain and so that the level of intracranial pressure remains stable.

Meningitis: what is it?

The meninges, in short, are an element of great importance when it comes to protecting and maintaining the health of the thinking body. But nevertheless, There are different problems that can lead to these membranes being damaged and that in turn can cause damage to the nervous system. One of them is meningitis.

We understand meningitis as the process by which the meninges suffer inflammation due to an infection , this may be due to different causes. This also causes an alteration of the cerebrospinal fluid, which can affect the functioning of the brain beyond the mere pressure exerted on it. The brain pressure can increase greatly, while at the same time the balance of the environment in which the neurons act is altered . Meningitis is a high risk because it can affect the integrity of the nervous system, and even cause the death of the sufferer.


symptom

The symptoms of meningitis can vary depending on what the inflammation is like and what parts of the system it affects, but in general they can be found frequently. headaches, feelings of weakness and fatigue, decrease and even loss of consciousness . It is not uncommon for high fever, vomiting and dizziness along with dehydration to appear. Occasionally, perceptive alterations such as hallucinations and delusions occur, as well as some motor symptoms such as tremors and even seizures.

Meningitis can be divided into acute, subacute or chronic depending on their evolution . Meningitis is understood to be acute, evolving in less than twenty-four hours. The subacute are those in which there is a four of a day to a week of evolution, and the chronicles whose effects are manifested over four or more weeks.

Possible causes of this affectation

Meningitis can have a large number of causes, but in general they can be divided into viral and bacterial.

1. Bacterial meningitis

This type of meningitis is caused by an infection produced by the entry of certain bacteria in the body , such as pneumococcus, streptococcus or meningococcus. This entry may be due to trauma, pneumonia, immune and / or metabolic problems or even due to the body's own bacteria. They have a serious nature especially when they occur in children, the elderly and people with various diseases.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 3 types of bacteria (characteristics and morphology)"

2. Víricas

Viral-type meningitis is caused by certain viruses. They are also known as aseptic meningitis because they do not usually reflect the entry of microorganisms into the system. They tend to be mild, causing fevers, headaches and other symptoms of generally not too intense.

But nevertheless, there are special cases that are especially risky and serious . A special case is that caused by the herpes virus, since it tends to produce also encephalitis or inflammation of the brain which can cause fatal or disabling alterations in the patient's brain.

Another virus that cause meningitis is HIV , which due to the weakening of the immune system can produce complications.

3. Non-infectious

Although they are usually due to infections, sometimes inflammation of the meninges it may be due to other causes . For example, they can be produced as a reaction to certain drugs and psychotropic drugs, traumatisms, tumors and other diseases.

Treatment of this inflammation

The treatment of meningitis and its prognosis will depend to a large extent on its etiology, that is, its causes. You have to take into account the possibility that the bacteria and viruses that cause meningitis they can get infected , with which some caution is recommended with at-risk populations such as children under one year old or elderly.

Fortunately, many of the bacteria that are capable of causing meningitis have their vaccine, which is usually applied as early as childhood .

In cases of bacterial meningitis we are in a situation of seriousness in which It is necessary to apply antibiotics immediately . Due to the urgency of treatment, there is often no time to perform a culture and analysis of the bacteria, which often uses drugs that attack most of the bacteria that usually cause this problem.

Forecast

The prognosis will depend on the situation of each patient at the time of admission and if he has received timely treatment, age, the state of the immune system and the type of bacteria that causes it, there is a risk of death especially in children under one year old and in the elderly . In some cases, even if they are cured, they can have sequelae such as intellectual disability, epileptic seizures or loss of senses.

With regard to viral meningitis, as long as it does not cause inflammation of the nervous system as such, there is usually a complete cure without sequelae , in many cases disappearing by themselves. However, children, the elderly and people with autoimmune diseases or metabolic problems are at greater risk.

Regardless of what causes meningitis, it is also necessary to treat the symptoms that occur, c omo when seizures appear or in the case of dehydration . In the same way, possible edema and increased pressure in the nervous system should be treated.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Rosenberg, G.A. (2016). Brain edema and disorders of cerebrospinal fluid circulation. In: Bradley, W.G .; Daroff, R.B .; Pomeroy, S.L .; Mazziotta, J.C .; Jankovic, J. (eds). Bradley: Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, Pa: Elsevier Saunders; 88
  • Zweckberger, K .; Sakowitz, O.W .; Unterberg, A.W. et al. (2009). Intracranial pressure-volume relationship. Physiology and pathophysiology Anaesthesist. 58: 392-7.

Pneumococcal Meningitis : Causes, Diagnosis, Symptoms, Treatment, Prognosis (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Méningite: causes, symptômes, traitement et pronostic

Méningite: causes, symptômes, traitement et pronostic

Décembre 9, 2021

Le cerveau est l'un des organes les plus importants , sinon celui qui de plus, de tout notre organisme, puisqu'il régit et contrôle les différents processus et fonctions qui nous permettent de rester en vie et qui nous rend tels que nous sommes. Heureusement, le cerveau est protégé par diverses structures, telles que le crâne ou une série de membranes appelées méninges.

Cependant, ces éléments de protection peuvent parfois subir des modifications graves, comme dans le cas de méningite .

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Les méninges et leurs fonctions de base

Les méninges sont une série de trois membranes situées entre le crâne et le cerveau qui exerce de nombreuses fonctions d'une grande importance lorsqu'il s'agit de protéger le cerveau et la moelle épinière.


Ces membranes, appelée dure-mère, arachnoïde et pie-mère , ils forment une barrière qui permet d’amortir les chocs et les traumatismes pouvant affecter l’intégrité du système nerveux. Ils possèdent plusieurs récepteurs qui permettent de détecter d'éventuelles altérations du cerveau, ce qui ne serait autrement pas possible car le cerveau lui-même ne possède aucun récepteur.

En outre, ils permettent la génération de liquide céphalo-rachidien (en particulier le plexus choroïde de l'arachnoïde) et son écoulement autour du système nerveux, ce qui permet d'excréter les résidus du cerveau tout en aidant à nourrir et à stabiliser l'environnement neuronal.


Enfin, les méninges aussi ils servent à structurer et à modeler le cerveau et pour que le niveau de pression intracrânienne reste stable.

La méningite: qu'est-ce que c'est?

En bref, les méninges sont un élément d’une grande importance pour la protection et le maintien de la santé du corps pensant. Cependant, Il existe différents problèmes pouvant endommager ces membranes. et cela peut à son tour causer des dommages au système nerveux. L'un d'entre eux est la méningite.

Nous comprenons la méningite comme le processus par lequel les méninges souffrent d'inflammation due à une infection , cela peut être dû à différentes causes. Cela provoque également une altération du liquide céphalo-rachidien, ce qui peut affecter le fonctionnement du cerveau au-delà de la simple pression exercée sur celui-ci. La pression cérébrale peut augmenter considérablement, alors que dans le même temps l'équilibre de l'environnement dans lequel les neurones agissent est altéré . La méningite présente un risque élevé, car elle peut affecter l'intégrité du système nerveux et même entraîner la mort de la personne.


Les symptômes

Les symptômes de la méningite peuvent varier en fonction de la nature de l'inflammation et des parties du système affectées, mais on peut généralement les trouver fréquemment. maux de tête, sensation de faiblesse et de fatigue, diminution et même perte de conscience . Il n’est pas rare qu’une forte fièvre, des vomissements, des vertiges et une déshydratation apparaissent. Parfois, des altérations perceptives telles que des hallucinations et des délires se produisent, ainsi que des symptômes moteurs tels que des tremblements et même des convulsions.

La méningite peut être divisé en aiguë, subaiguë ou chronique en fonction de leur évolution . La méningite est aiguë, évoluant en moins de vingt-quatre heures. Les sub-aigus sont ceux dans lesquels il y a une évolution de quatre à une semaine et les chroniques dont les effets se manifestent sur une période de quatre semaines ou plus.

Causes possibles de cette affectation

La méningite peut avoir un grand nombre de causes, mais en général, elles peuvent être divisées en virus et en bactéries.

1. Méningite bactérienne

Ce type de méningite est causé par une infection produite par l'entrée de certaines bactéries dans le corps comme le pneumocoque, le streptocoque ou le méningocoque. Cette entrée peut être due à un traumatisme, à une pneumonie, à des problèmes immunitaires et / ou métaboliques ou même à une bactérie propre. Ils ont un caractère grave surtout quand ils se produisent chez les enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes atteintes de diverses maladies.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 3 types de bactéries (caractéristiques et morphologie)"

2. Víricas

La méningite de type viral est causée par certains virus. Ils sont également connus sous le nom de méningite aseptique car ils ne reflètent généralement pas l'entrée de micro-organismes dans le système. Ils ont tendance à être légers, provoquant des fièvres, des maux de tête et d'autres symptômes généralement pas trop intenses.

Cependant, il y a des cas spéciaux particulièrement risqués et graves . Le virus de l'herpès est un cas particulier, car il a tendance à provoquer également une encéphalite ou une inflammation du cerveau pouvant entraîner des altérations fatales ou invalidantes du cerveau du patient.

Le VIH est un autre virus qui cause la méningite qui, en raison de l'affaiblissement du système immunitaire, peuvent entraîner des complications.

3. non infectieux

Bien qu’elles soient généralement dues à des infections, parfois une inflammation des méninges cela peut être dû à d'autres causes . Par exemple, ils peuvent être produits en réaction à certains médicaments et médicaments psychotropes, traumatismes, tumeurs et autres maladies.

Traitement de cette inflammation

Le traitement de la méningite et de son pronostic dépendra dans une large mesure de son étiologie, c'est-à-dire de ses causes. Vous devez tenir compte de la possibilité que les bactéries et les virus qui causent la méningite ils peuvent être infectés , avec lequel une certaine prudence est recommandée avec les populations à risque telles que les enfants de moins d'un an ou les personnes âgées.

Heureusement, de nombreuses bactéries capables de provoquer la méningite avoir leur vaccin, qui est généralement appliqué dès l'enfance .

En cas de méningite bactérienne, nous sommes dans une situation de gravité dans laquelle Il est nécessaire d'appliquer des antibiotiques immédiatement . En raison de l'urgence du traitement, le temps manque souvent pour effectuer une culture et une analyse de la bactérie, qui utilise souvent des médicaments qui attaquent la plupart des bactéries qui causent généralement ce problème.

Prévisions

Le pronostic dépendra de la situation de chaque patient au moment de son admission et s’il a reçu un traitement opportun, de son âge, de l’état du système immunitaire et du type de bactérie qui le provoque, il y a un risque de décès surtout chez les enfants de moins d'un an et chez les personnes âgées . Dans certains cas, même s'ils sont guéris, ils peuvent avoir des séquelles telles qu'une déficience intellectuelle, des crises d'épilepsie ou une perte de sens.

En ce qui concerne la méningite virale, tant qu'elle ne provoque pas d'inflammation du système nerveux en tant que telle, il y a habituellement une guérison complète sans séquelles , dans de nombreux cas, disparaissant par eux-mêmes. Cependant, les enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes atteintes de maladies auto-immunes ou de problèmes métaboliques sont plus à risque.

Indépendamment de la cause de la méningite, il est également nécessaire de traiter les symptômes, c Omo quand les crises apparaissent ou en cas de déshydratation . De la même manière, un œdème possible et une augmentation de la pression dans le système nerveux doivent être traités.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Rosenberg, G.A. (2016). Oedème cérébral et troubles de la circulation du liquide céphalo-rachidien. Dans: Bradley, W.G .; Daroff, R. B.; Pomeroy, S.L .; Mazziotta, J.C .; Jankovic, J. (eds). Bradley: Neurologie en pratique clinique. 7ème éd. Philadelphie, Pa: Elsevier Saunders; 88
  • Zweckberger, K .; Sakowitz, O.W .; Unterberg, A.W. et al. (2009). Relation pression intracrânienne-volume. Physiologie et physiopathologie Anesthésiste. 58: 392-7.

Prévenir et guérir la méningite - Maladies infantiles (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes