yes, therapy helps!
Hippocampus: functions and structure of the organ of memory

Hippocampus: functions and structure of the organ of memory

May 10, 2021

The hippocampus It is one of the most important parts of the brain.

It is located in what is known as the limbic system, and is closely related both to the mental processes related to memory and those that have to do with the production and regulation of emotional states, in addition to intervening in space navigation, that is, , the way in which we imagine movement through a specific space.

The anatomy of the hippocampus

The etymology of the term "hippocampus", a word coined by the anatomist Giulio Cesare Aranzio , refers to the similarity between this structure of the brain with a seahorse. Is about a small organ with a curved and elongated shape, which is located in the inner part of the temporal lobe and it goes from the hypothalamus to the amygdala. Therefore, each encephalon has two hippocampi: one in each hemisphere of the brain.


In addition, the hippocampus is associated with a part of the cerebral cortex known as arquicorteza, which is one of the most ancestral regions of the human brain; that is to say, that appeared many millions of years ago in our evolutionary line. That is why the hippocampus is so well connected to other parts of the limbic system that it appeared to provide answers to some of the most basic needs of our most remote mammalian ancestors. In turn, this fact already allows us to intuit that the mental processes related to emotions are linked to the functions of the hippocampus. Let's see what they are.

The functions of the hippocampus

The main function of the hippocampus is to mediate the generation and recovery of memories in conjunction with many areas scattered along the crust and with other areas of the limbic system.


Therefore, it plays a very important role in the consolidation of the lessons learned, since on the one hand it allows certain information to pass to the long-term memory and on the other it links this type of content with certain positive or negative values, depending on if these memories have been associated with pleasurable or painful experiences (physiologically or psychologically).

Are the mental processes linked to emotion those that determine whether the value of an experience stored as a memory is positive or negative. What we experience as emotions has a functional part that has to do with the way in which we learn to behave according to rules learned that play in our favor: avoid repeating mistakes and re-experiencing pleasant sensations.

The hippocampus and memory

It could be thought that the hippocampus is the part of the brain in which long-term memories are stored . However, reality is more complex than this idea.


The relationship between the hippocampus and long-term memories is not so direct: this organ acts as a mediator, or directory, of memories , whose appearance and disappearance is associated, for what is known about the functioning of memory, to the activation and deactivation of networks of neurons distributed in many areas of the brain. In other words, the hippocampus does not "contain" memories, but acts as an activation node that allows different memories to be activated distributed in different parts of the brain.

In addition, the hippocampus is more related to some types of memory than to others. Specifically, plays a role in the management of declarative memory , that is, the one whose contents can be expressed verbally; However, non-declarative memory, which intervenes in the memorization of movement patterns and motor skills (such as dancing or riding a bicycle), is regulated by structures such as the basal ganglia and the cerebellum.

It is known that a lesion in this area of ​​the brain usually produces anterograde and retrograde amnesia in the production and evocation of memories related to declarative memory, but non-declarative memory is usually preserved. A person with severely damaged hippocampus can continue to learn, for example, manual skills (although he would not remember learning this process).

The hippocampus in space navigation

For what is known about the hippocampus, this brain structure also seems to intervene in the way we perceive space , that is, the way in which we keep in mind a three-dimensional space through which we move, taking into account its volumes and references.

In fact, within the hippocampus have been discovered a type of neurons called place cells, on which you can read more in this article.

The hippocampus under the disease

The region of the hippocampal formation is one of the first areas in which diseases such as dementia or Alzheimer's . That is why people who begin to experience this disease see how their abilities to form new memories or remember more or less recent autobiographical information are diminished.

However, even if the hippocampus is badly damaged, usually the oldest and most relevant memories about the person's life take a long time to disappear , which could mean that with the passage of time the oldest and most relevant memories are increasingly "independent" of the hippocampus.

Bibliographic references:

  • López-Pousa S., Vilalta Franch J., Llinàs Reglà J. (2002). Dementias Manual, 2nd Edition. Prous Science, Barcelona.
  • Martínez Lage J.M., Láinez Andrés J.M. (2000). Alzheimer's: theory and practice. Medical classroom editions, Madrid.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Limbic System (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hippocampe: fonctions et structure de l'organe de la mémoire

Hippocampe: fonctions et structure de l'organe de la mémoire

Juin 20, 2019

Le hippocampe C'est l'une des parties les plus importantes du cerveau.

Il est situé dans ce qu'on appelle le système limbique et est étroitement lié aux processus mentaux liés à la mémoire et à ceux qui sont liés à la production et à la régulation des états émotionnels, en plus d'intervenir dans la navigation spatiale, c'est-à-dire , la façon dont nous imaginons le mouvement à travers un espace spécifique.

L'anatomie de l'hippocampe

L'étymologie du terme "hippocampe", un mot inventé par l'anatomiste Giulio Cesare Aranzio , fait référence à la similitude entre cette structure du cerveau et un hippocampe. Il s'agit de un petit organe de forme incurvée et allongée, situé dans la partie interne du lobe temporal et cela va de l'hypothalamus à l'amygdale. Par conséquent, chaque encéphale a deux hippocampes: un dans chaque hémisphère du cerveau.


En outre, l'hippocampe est associé à une partie du cortex cérébral appelée arquicorteza, qui est l'une des régions les plus ancestrales du cerveau humain. c'est-à-dire qui est apparu il y a plusieurs millions d'années dans notre lignée évolutive. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’hippocampe est si bien relié à d’autres parties du système limbique qu’il a semblé répondre à certains des besoins les plus élémentaires de nos ancêtres mammifères les plus éloignés. À son tour, ce fait nous permet déjà de deviner que les processus mentaux liés aux émotions sont liés aux fonctions de l'hippocampe. Voyons ce qu'ils sont.

Les fonctions de l'hippocampe

La fonction principale de l'hippocampe est d'intervenir dans la génération et la récupération de souvenirs. en conjonction avec de nombreuses zones dispersées le long de la croûte terrestre et avec d'autres zones du système limbique.


Par conséquent, il joue un rôle très important dans la consolidation des enseignements tirés, puisqu'il permet d'une part à certaines informations de passer à la mémoire à long terme et d'autre part, il relie ce type de contenu à certaines valeurs positives ou négatives, en fonction de si ces souvenirs ont été associés à des expériences agréables ou douloureuses (physiologiques ou psychologiques).

Ils sont les processus mentaux liés à l'émotion ceux qui déterminent si la valeur d’une expérience stockée en tant que mémoire est positive ou négative. Ce que nous ressentons comme émotions a une partie fonctionnelle qui a trait à la façon dont nous apprenons à nous comporter en fonction de règles apprises qui jouent en notre faveur: éviter de répéter des erreurs et de revivre des sensations agréables.

L'hippocampe et la mémoire

On pourrait penser que l'hippocampe est la partie du cerveau dans laquelle sont stockés les souvenirs à long terme . Cependant, la réalité est plus complexe que cette idée.


La relation entre l'hippocampe et la mémoire à long terme n'est pas aussi directe: cet organe agit en tant que médiateur, ou répertoire, de mémoires , dont l'apparition et la disparition sont associées, pour ce que l'on sait du fonctionnement de la mémoire, à l'activation et à la désactivation de réseaux de neurones répartis dans de nombreuses régions du cerveau. En d'autres termes, l'hippocampe ne "contient" pas de mémoires, mais sert de nœud d'activation permettant d'activer différentes mémoires réparties dans différentes parties du cerveau.

De plus, l'hippocampe est plus lié à certains types de mémoire qu'à d'autres. Plus précisément joue un rôle dans la gestion de la mémoire déclarative c'est-à-dire celui dont le contenu peut être exprimé verbalement; Cependant, la mémoire non déclarative, qui intervient dans la mémorisation des schémas de circulation et des habiletés motrices (comme danser ou faire du vélo), est régulée par des structures telles que les ganglions de la base et le cervelet.

On sait qu'une lésion dans cette région du cerveau produit généralement une amnésie antérograde et rétrograde lors de la production et de l'évocation de mémoires liées à la mémoire déclarative, mais la mémoire non déclarative est généralement préservée. Une personne dont l'hippocampe est gravement endommagé peut continuer à apprendre, par exemple, les compétences manuelles (même si elle ne se souviendrait pas d'avoir appris ce processus).

L'hippocampe dans la navigation spatiale

Pour ce qui est connu de l'hippocampe, cette structure cérébrale semble également intervenir dans la façon dont nous percevons l'espace , c’est-à-dire la manière dont nous gardons à l’esprit un espace tridimensionnel dans lequel nous évoluons, en tenant compte de ses volumes et de ses références.

En fait, dans l'hippocampe ont été découverts un type de neurones appelés cellules de place, sur lesquels vous pouvez en lire plus dans cet article.

L'hippocampe sous la maladie

La région de la formation hippocampique est l’un des premiers endroits où des maladies telles que la démence ou Alzheimer . C’est la raison pour laquelle les personnes qui commencent à éprouver cette maladie voient comment leur capacité à former de nouveaux souvenirs ou à se souvenir d’informations autobiographiques plus ou moins récentes est diminuée.

Cependant, même si l'hippocampe est gravement endommagé, généralement, les souvenirs les plus anciens et les plus pertinents de la vie de la personne mettent longtemps à disparaître , ce qui pourrait signifier qu'avec le temps, les souvenirs les plus anciens et les plus pertinents sont de plus en plus "indépendants" de l'hippocampe.

Références bibliographiques:

  • López-Pousa S., J. Vilalta Franch, J. Llinàs Reglà (2002). Manuel des démences, 2e édition. Prous Science, Barcelone.
  • Martínez Lage J.M., Láinez Andrés J.M. (2000). Alzheimer: théorie et pratique. Editions en classe de médecine, Madrid.

C'est pas sorcier -CERVEAU 1 : LES SORCIERS SE PRENNENT LA TETE (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes