yes, therapy helps!
Can the psychologist tell others what you explain?

Can the psychologist tell others what you explain?

December 4, 2020

One of the aspects of psychotherapy that generate more suspicion is the issue of confidentiality. Can the psychologist explain to the third person what the patient or client tells him?

As we will see, except in an exceptional case, the answer is a resounding "no". And no, this is not a simple moral norm that psychologists tend to follow because everyone thinks alike. As we will see, behind the profession there is a code of ethics that must be complied with for a series of very important reasons.

  • Related article: "Decalogue of the psychologist: ethical and professional requirements of our profession"

Is what the psychologist tells confidential?

In the course of a series of psychotherapy sessions, it is inevitable that you talk about sensitive topics: traumatic experiences, family conflicts, feelings that are understood or that are socially disregarded, etc. It is something that is part of the reason why therapy has reason to be; even disorders with more limited effects, such as certain specific phobias, give rise to moments that we would not explain to anyone and that we do not want them to come to light .


The same happens if the problems to be treated are not disorders proper; if there is something that makes us feel bad and motivates us to go to a psychologist's office, that is still confidential information.

And what happens if what we seek is not to deal with a personal problem, but to meet a new need (for example, to learn a new skill for which we must train together with a professional to advise)? In these cases it is also very likely that you will talk about personal issues. Since the cognitive restructuring related to self-esteem and self-concept, for example, it demands to deepen in the feelings and beliefs more ingrained of the client .


Now, these are the reasons why clients and patients are interested in having a rigid discipline of confidentiality regarding what happens in the psychologist's office.

Its existence already justify that the professional felt the moral obligation not to tell anything to other people, because although it is offering a service, does not stop empathizing at any time. Now, this is not the only reason why psychologists self-impose the obligation to make the information does not leave your query . The other half of this obligation is deontological and professional, not individual, but collective.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 signs to detect a bad psychologist or therapist"

The principle of confidentiality in therapy

These sessions exist because they create a therapeutic link based on trust. A good part of the added value of this kind of services consists in having a place where all the reasons for fear, shame and anguish can be expressed, and from that information, work to solve the situation.


That is why, if the stability of this relationship dynamic between the professional and the patient or the client is not respected in advance, the work of the psychologists would lose the foundation on which it is based. It would not only mean losing customers, but also it would extend a view of psychology according to which it makes sense to try to cheat the therapist or hide things from him, showing him alone that information that is considered uncommitted.

In this way, a few cases of therapists spreading data would cause very serious damage to the whole profession. Because, the principle of confidentiality is no longer a commitment of the therapist to himself and with the patient with whom he works, but also with the rest of colleagues who dedicate themselves to the same.

But confidentiality is not limited to what the patient explains in the sessions. Psychotherapists also treat confidential data and documentation related to their clients and patients, everything that is considered sensitive information. People do not even have to know the name of the people they work with to improve their well-being.

On the other hand, respecting the privacy of the information given by clients is a way of demonstrating that the person who is offered the service is not judged. ¿Why would a therapist reveal confidential information , if not? Or because the topics discussed seem vain enough to count, or because he likes some anecdotes, or because he respects the client little enough to give private information to whoever asks for it. In any case these situations would be symptoms that there is no commitment to one's professional career.

In what cases is confidentiality broken?

The ethical code of psychologists establishes that the priority is the wellbeing of the patients and the people of their environment. So that, the only situation in which a psychologist must be able to reveal private information to third parties of the patients, is if they have solid evidence that either someone is going to be directly harmed, or someone's life is in danger. That is, a context in which what is trying to improve runs a danger that is beyond the scope of the therapist's intervention.

In the case of suicide risk, the problem to be treated may be related to this, so that confidentiality will be broken if it is considered that there is an immediate and concrete danger.


26 PSYCHOLOGY FACTS YOU NEVER KNEW ABOUT PEOPLE (December 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le psychologue peut-il dire aux autres ce que vous expliquez?

Le psychologue peut-il dire aux autres ce que vous expliquez?

Février 28, 2021

L'un des aspects de la psychothérapie qui suscite plus de suspicion est la question de la confidentialité. Le psychologue peut-il expliquer à la troisième personne ce que le patient ou le client lui dit?

Comme nous le verrons, sauf dans des cas exceptionnels, la réponse est un "non" retentissant. Et non, ce n'est pas une simple norme morale que les psychologues ont tendance à suivre parce que tout le monde pense pareil. Comme nous le verrons, il existe un code d'éthique derrière la profession pour une série de raisons très importantes.

  • Article connexe: "Décalogue du psychologue: exigences éthiques et professionnelles de notre profession"

Ce que le psychologue dit est-il confidentiel?

Au cours d'une série de séances de psychothérapie, il est inévitable que vous abordiez des sujets sensibles: expériences traumatisantes, conflits familiaux, sentiments compris ou ignorés socialement, etc. C'est une des raisons pour lesquelles la thérapie a sa raison d'être. même des troubles aux effets plus limités, tels que certaines phobies spécifiques, donnent lieu à moments que nous ne voudrions expliquer à personne et que nous ne voulons pas qu’ils se dévoilent .


Il en va de même si les problèmes à traiter ne sont pas des troubles à proprement parler; S'il y a quelque chose qui nous fait nous sentir mal et qui nous motive à aller chez le psychologue, il s'agit toujours d'informations confidentielles.

Et que se passe-t-il si nous ne cherchons pas à régler un problème personnel, mais à répondre à un nouveau besoin (par exemple, acquérir une nouvelle compétence pour laquelle nous devons former avec un professionnel pour le conseiller)? Dans ces cas, il est également très probable que vous parliez de problèmes personnels. Depuis la restructuration cognitive liée à l’estime de soi et à la conception de soi, par exemple, il faut approfondir les sentiments et les croyances plus ancrés du client .


Voilà maintenant pourquoi les clients et les patients sont intéressés par une stricte discipline de confidentialité concernant ce qui se passe dans le bureau du psychologue.

Son existence justifie déjà que le professionnel ressent l'obligation morale de ne rien dire à autrui, car, même s'il offre un service, il ne cesse jamais de faire preuve d'empathie. Maintenant, ce n'est pas la seule raison pour laquelle les psychologues s'auto-imposent l'obligation de rendre l'information ne laisse pas votre requête . L’autre moitié de cette obligation est déontologique et professionnelle, non individuelle, mais collective.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 signes pour détecter un mauvais psychologue ou thérapeute"

Le principe de confidentialité en thérapie

Ces sessions existent car elles créent un lien thérapeutique basé sur la confiance. Une bonne partie de la valeur ajoutée de ce type de services consiste à avoir un lieu où toutes les raisons de peur, de honte et d’angoisse peuvent être exprimées et où, à partir de cette information, il est possible de résoudre le problème.


C'est pourquoi, si la stabilité de cette dynamique de relation entre le professionnel et le patient ou le client n'est pas respectée à l'avance, le travail des psychologues perdrait la base sur laquelle il repose. Cela signifierait non seulement perdre des clients, mais aussi cela élargirait la vision de la psychologie selon laquelle il est logique d'essayer de tromper le thérapeute ou lui cacher des choses, en lui montrant seul cette information qui est considérée comme non engagée.

De cette manière, quelques cas de diffusion de données par des thérapeutes causeraient des dommages très graves à l'ensemble de la profession. Pour cela, le principe de confidentialité n'est plus un engagement du thérapeute envers lui-même et avec le patient avec qui il travaille, mais aussi avec le reste des collègues qui se consacrent à la même chose.

Mais la confidentialité ne se limite pas à ce que le patient explique lors des séances. Les psychothérapeutes traitent également des données confidentielles et de la documentation relative à leurs clients et patients, tout ce qui est considéré comme une information sensible. Les gens n'ont même pas besoin de connaître le nom des personnes avec lesquelles ils travaillent pour améliorer leur bien-être.

Par ailleurs, le respect de la confidentialité des informations fournies par les clients est un moyen de démontrer que la personne à qui est offert le service n’est pas jugée. ¿Pourquoi un thérapeute révélerait-il des informations confidentielles? sinon Ou parce que les sujets abordés semblent assez vains pour compter, ou parce qu'il aime certaines anecdotes, ou parce qu'il respecte le client assez peu pour donner des informations confidentielles à toute personne qui le lui demande. En tout état de cause, ces situations seraient symptomatiques de l’absence d’engagement dans une carrière professionnelle.

Dans quels cas la confidentialité est-elle rompue?

Le code d'éthique des psychologues établit que la priorité est le bien-être des patients et des personnes de leur environnement. Donc, la seule situation dans laquelle un psychologue doit pouvoir divulguer des informations privées à des tiers des patients, c’est s’ils ont des preuves solides que l’un ou l’autre sera directement lésé, ou que la vie de l’autre est en danger. C’est-à-dire un contexte dans lequel ce que l’on essaie d’améliorer comporte un danger qui dépasse le cadre de l’intervention du thérapeute.

En cas de risque suicidaire, le problème à traiter peut être lié à cela, de sorte que la confidentialité sera brisée si l’on considère qu’il existe un danger immédiat et concret.


19 Techniques de Manipulation Psychologique Qui Fonctionnent (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes