yes, therapy helps!
Sensory neuropathy: symptoms, causes and treatment

Sensory neuropathy: symptoms, causes and treatment

March 29, 2024

Very diverse factors, from genetic inheritance to inflammatory diseases such as lupus, can cause nerve damage. These disorders are known as peripheral neuropathies and cause symptoms related to the pathways of the senses, with movement or with the autonomic nervous system.

One of the most frequent types of peripheral neuropathy is the sensitive , which is characterized by the appearance of symptoms and signs related to the perception of sensations and occurs as a result of nerve injuries.

In this article we will analyze the most common symptoms, causes and treatments of this disorder.


  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is peripheral neuropathy?

Peripheral neuropathy is a category of diseases that affect the functioning of the nerves. The specific consequences of these alterations vary depending on which nerves are injured; It is common to cause sensory and motor deficits , as well as dysfunctions in the organs and glands of the endocrine system.

Since the autonomic nervous system also contains nerve fibers, peripheral neuropathy is sometimes associated with disturbances in functions such as respiration, blood circulation and the regulation of body temperature.


Some of the most common causes of peripheral neuropathy they include systemic diseases such as diabetes or lupus erythematosus, the consumption of certain antibiotic medications, chemotherapy and radiotherapy, trauma, vitamin deficiency and viral infections. Sometimes it is transmitted by hereditary genetic mechanisms.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Sensory Integration Disorder: types, causes, symptoms and treatments"

Types of peripheral neuropathy

We speak of "mononeuropathy" when the affectation is limited to a single nerve, while the term "polyneuropathy" is used to refer to cases in which multiple nerves of the same area are damaged. In contrast, multifocal mononeuropathy is diagnosed when there is more than one nerve injured independently.

The label "sensitive neuropathy" is reserved for nerve disorders that predominantly affect the sensory system , associating above all with touch and proprioception. In any case, it is very common for different types of neuropathy to appear together in the same person.


symptom

The characteristic symptoms of sensory neuropathy consist of the development of functional deficits in the senses, as well as the appearance of sensations that should not be perceived or that have a greater intensity than expected. The symptoms of sensory neuropathy tend to occur symmetrically in both hemispheres of the body.

Among the deficit symptoms we find the lack of sensitivity to tactile stimuli , as the sensations of texture, vibration or pressure, as well as pain. In addition, there are usually problems in the perception of temperature changes and a reduction in the ability to detect intense heat or cold.

The loss of perception of the position of the body, which is associated with deficits in balance, in posture and in the coordination of movements , especially when standing and walking. Often the symptoms are more marked on the feet, which further alters this type of function.

On the other hand, significant sensations of pain may appear as a result of objectively less painful stimuli (hyperalgesia) or that should not cause damage at all (allodynia). Sometimes itching, tingling, burning or shooting pains without identifiable cause are also perceived, and tremors may appear in the muscles.

In a large number of cases, sensory neuropathy occurs simultaneously with dysfunctions of the motor nerves. When this happens, it is most common for sensory symptoms to appear first in the lower extremities and subsequently develop. Motor-type signs, such as muscle weakness and gait disturbances .

Causes of this disorder

The scientific community has identified a large number of possible causes of sensory neuropathy. Some of the most common are the following:

  • Inflammatory diseases such as lupus systemic erythematosus, multiple sclerosis, sarcoidosis, Guillain-Barr√© syndrome or leprosy.
  • Endocrine and metabolic diseases such as diabetes mellitus, hypothyroidism, amyloidosis or chronic kidney disease.
  • Diseases of the bone marrow such as lymphomas.
  • Traumatic injuries in the nerves of the senses.
  • Stroke , particularly ischemia.
  • Genetic inheritance of diseases such as Charcot-Marie-Tooth and Friedreich's ataxia.
  • Contact with toxic substances such as poisons and heavy metals.
  • Deficiency of vitamins A, B1, B12 and E or excess of vitamin B6 (pyridoxine).
  • Chronic inflammatory responses in nerve fibers.
  • Alterations in the blood circulation to the affected nerves.
  • Consumption of medications like the fluoroquinolones.
  • Chemotherapy and radiotherapy.

Treatment and drugs

The treatment of the symptoms of sensory neuropathy focuses mainly on the identification of the underlying cause to correct the core of the alterations. When this is not possible, therapy is aimed at alleviating specific symptoms.

In this sense analgesic medications are usually used (including therapeutic cannabis), as well as antidepressants and anticonvulsants. Among the antidepressant drugs are duloxetine and tricyclics such as nortriptyline and amitriptyline, while gabapentin, pregabalin and sodium valproate are the most commonly used antiepileptic drugs.

On the other hand, recent research suggests that transcutaneous electrical neurostimulation therapy can be very effective in reducing pain symptoms, although the results are only maintained while the treatment continues.

In cases where neuropathy occurs as a consequence of complications in a case of diabetes mellitus , the management of blood glucose levels may be enough to correct the problems.


Peripheral Neuropathy (March 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neuropathie sensorielle: symptômes, causes et traitement

Neuropathie sensorielle: symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 20, 2019

Des facteurs très divers, du patrimoine génétique aux maladies inflammatoires telles que le lupus, peuvent provoquer des lésions nerveuses. Ces troubles sont appelés neuropathies périphériques et provoquent des symptômes liés aux voies des sens, au mouvement ou au système nerveux autonome.

Un des types les plus fréquents de neuropathie périphérique est la sensibilité , qui se caractérise par l’apparition de symptômes et de signes liés à la perception de sensations et qui résulte d’une lésion nerveuse.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les symptômes, les causes et les traitements les plus courants de ce désordre.


  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que la neuropathie périphérique?

La neuropathie périphérique est une catégorie de maladies qui affectent le fonctionnement des nerfs. Les conséquences spécifiques de ces altérations varient en fonction des nerfs blessés; Il est fréquent de provoquer des déficits sensoriels et moteurs , ainsi que des dysfonctionnements des organes et des glandes du système endocrinien.

Comme le système nerveux autonome contient également des fibres nerveuses, la neuropathie périphérique est parfois associée à des perturbations des fonctions telles que la respiration, la circulation sanguine et la régulation de la température corporelle.


Certaines des causes les plus courantes de neuropathie périphérique ils comprennent des maladies systémiques telles que le diabète ou le lupus érythémateux, la consommation de certains antibiotiques, la chimiothérapie et la radiothérapie, les traumatismes, les carences en vitamines et les infections virales. Parfois, il est transmis par des mécanismes génétiques héréditaires.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Trouble d'intégration sensorielle: types, causes, symptômes et traitements"

Types de neuropathie périphérique

On parle de "mononeuropathie" lorsque l'affectation est limitée à un seul nerf, le terme "polyneuropathie" désignant des cas dans lesquels plusieurs nerfs d'une même région sont endommagés. En revanche, la mononeuropathie multifocale est diagnostiquée lorsqu'il y a plus d'un nerf blessé indépendamment.

L'étiquette "neuropathie sensible" est réservée aux troubles nerveux qui affecter principalement le système sensoriel , associant avant tout au toucher et à la proprioception. Dans tous les cas, il est très courant que différents types de neuropathie apparaissent ensemble chez la même personne.


Les symptômes

Les symptômes caractéristiques de la neuropathie sensorielle consistent en l’apparition de déficits fonctionnels des sens, ainsi qu’en l’apparition de sensations qui ne doivent pas être perçues ou qui ont une intensité supérieure à celle attendue. Les symptômes de la neuropathie sensorielle ont tendance à survenir symétriquement dans les deux hémisphères du corps.

Parmi les symptômes de déficit, nous trouvons le manque de sensibilité aux stimuli tactiles , comme les sensations de texture, de vibration ou de pression, ainsi que de douleur. De plus, il existe généralement des problèmes de perception des changements de température et une diminution de la capacité à détecter une chaleur ou un froid intense.

La perte de perception de la position du corps, qui est associée à déficits d'équilibre, de posture et de coordination des mouvements , surtout en se tenant et en marchant. Souvent, les symptômes sont plus marqués sur les pieds, ce qui altère davantage ce type de fonction.

D'un autre côté, des sensations douloureuses importantes peuvent apparaître à la suite de stimuli objectivement moins douloureux (hyperalgésie) ou ne devant causer aucun dommage (allodynie). Parfois, on perçoit également des démangeaisons, des picotements, des sensations de brûlure ou des douleurs lancinantes sans cause identifiable, et des tremblements peuvent apparaître dans les muscles.

Dans un grand nombre de cas, la neuropathie sensorielle se produit simultanément à des dysfonctionnements des nerfs moteurs. Lorsque cela se produit, il est fréquent que les symptômes sensoriels apparaissent en premier dans les membres inférieurs et se développent par la suite. Signes de type moteur, tels que faiblesse musculaire et troubles de la marche .

Causes de ce trouble

La communauté scientifique a identifié un grand nombre de causes possibles de neuropathie sensorielle. Certains des plus communs sont les suivants:

  • Maladies inflammatoires telles que le lupus érythémateuse systémique, sclérose en plaques, sarcoïdose, syndrome de Guillain-Barré ou lèpre.
  • Maladies endocriniennes et métaboliques telles que le diabète sucré, l'hypothyroïdie, l'amylose ou les maladies rénales chroniques.
  • Maladies de la moelle osseuse telles que les lymphomes.
  • Traumatismes dans les nerfs des sens.
  • AVC , en particulier l'ischémie.
  • Héritage génétique de maladies telles que l'ataxie de Charcot-Marie-Tooth et de Friedreich.
  • Contact avec des substances toxiques telles que des poisons et des métaux lourds.
  • Carence en vitamines A, B1, B12 et E ou excès de vitamine B6 (pyridoxine).
  • Réponses inflammatoires chroniques dans les fibres nerveuses.
  • Altérations de la circulation sanguine vers les nerfs touchés.
  • Consommation de médicaments comme les fluoroquinolones.
  • Chimiothérapie et radiothérapie.

Traitement et médicaments

Le traitement des symptômes de la neuropathie sensorielle est principalement axé sur l'identification de la cause sous-jacente afin de corriger le cœur des altérations. Lorsque cela n’est pas possible, le traitement vise à soulager des symptômes spécifiques.

Dans ce sens les médicaments analgésiques sont habituellement utilisés (y compris le cannabis thérapeutique), ainsi que les antidépresseurs et les anticonvulsivants. La duloxétine et les tricycliques comme la nortriptyline et l'amitriptyline font partie des antidépresseurs, tandis que la gabapentine, la prégabaline et le valproate de sodium sont les antiépileptiques les plus couramment utilisés.

D'autre part, des recherches récentes suggèrent que le traitement par neurostimulation électrique transcutanée peut être très efficace pour réduire les symptômes de la douleur, même si les résultats ne sont maintenus que pendant la durée du traitement.

Dans les cas où la neuropathie survient à la suite de complications en cas de diabète sucré , la gestion de la glycémie peut suffire à corriger les problèmes.


Neuropathie périphérique ; causes, symptômes et thérapies alternatives (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes