yes, therapy helps!
Comorbidity of Personality Limit Disorder

Comorbidity of Personality Limit Disorder

November 16, 2022

Currently, personality disorders are attracting the interest of most researchers, leading to numerous studies, research, conferences ... One of the possible causes of this is the various discussions on how to consider such disorders, ie, where Is the exact point of determining whether it is a disorder itself or a dysfunctional personality?

This gradient has been the subject of debate in various editions of the DSM. On the other hand also are known for their high comorbidity with other disorders, especially borderline personality disorder (TLP), subject of which we will speak in the present article.

  • Related article: "Personality Limit Disorder (BPD): Causes, Symptoms and Treatment"

Generic comorbidity in the TLP

Comorbidity is a medical term that means the presence of one or more disorders (or diseases) in addition to the primary disease or disorder, and the effect they cause. This phenomenon is so significant in the TLP, that it is even more common and representative to see it together with other disorders, than alone. There are many studies and a lot of variation of results as to which disorders are comorbid and which are not, but there is sufficient uniformity with those of Axis I (especially) and Axis II in both clinical and community samples.


Research indicates that 96.7% of people with BPD have at least one comorbid diagnosis with Axis I, and that 16.3% would have three or more, which is significantly higher than other disorders. On the other hand, it has also been studied that 84.5% of patients met the criteria to have one or more disorders of Axis I at least, 12 months, and 74.9% to have a disorder of axis II of for life.

Regarding comorbidity with axis II, numerous studies indicate that there are differences between sexes. That is to say, Men diagnosed with BPD are more likely to have comorbidity of axis II with disorders of the antisocial, paranoid and narcissistic type, while women with histrionics. On the other hand, the percentages for the dependent and avoidance disorders remained similar.


Specific comorbidity

Of the aforementioned disorders of axis I, the one that would be more common to associate with BPD would be major depressive disorder, ranging between 40 and 87%. Follow the anxiety and affective disorders in general and we would highlight the relevance of post-traumatic stress disorder for the amount of studies in this regard; with a lifetime prevalence of 39.2%, it is common but not universal in patients with BPD.

In the also very frequent eating disorders and substance abuse, there are differences between sexes, being the first most likely to be associated with women with BPD and the latter, men. This abuse of substances impulsively would reduce the threshold of other self-destructive or sexual promiscuity behaviors . Depending on the severity of the patient's dependence, it would have to be referred to specialized services and even income for detoxification as a priority.


In the case of personality disorders, we would have comorbidity by dependency with rates of 50%, the avoidant with 40%, the paranoid with 30%, the antisocial with 20-25%, the histrionic with oscillating rates between 25 and 63%. The prevalence of ADHD is 41.5% in childhood and 16.1% in adulthood.

Personality Limit Disorder and Substance Abuse

The comorbidity of TLP with toxic abuse would be 50-65% . On the other hand, just as in society in general, the substance that is most commonly abused is alcohol. However, these patients are usually politoxicómanos with other substances, such as cannabis, amphetamines or cocaine, but can be any addictive substance in general, as some psychoactive drugs.

In addition, said consumption is usually done impulsively and episodically . Regarding comorbidity with alcohol in particular, the result was a 47.41% lifetime, while 53.87% with nicotine addiction was obtained.

Following the same line, numerous studies have verified the relationship of the BPD symptomatology with the frequency of use and dependence of cannabis . Patients have an ambivalent relationship with this, as it helps them relax, mitigate the dysphoria or general malaise they usually have, better withstand the loneliness they refer to and focus their thoughts on the here and now. However, it can also lead to binge eating (aggravating bulimic behavior or binge eating, for example), increase pseudoparanoid symptoms and the possibility of derealization or depersonalization, which would be a vicious circle.

On the other hand, it is also interesting to highlight the analgesic properties of cannabis, relating it to the usual self-harm on the part of patients with BPD.

BPD and eating disorders

Roughly, Comorbidity with TCAs with TP is high , ranges between 20 and 80% of cases.Although the disorder of restrictive anorexia nervosa may have comorbidity with BPD, it is much more frequent than it has other passive-aggressive disorders, for example, while purging bulimia is strongly associated with BPD, the proportion being of 25%, added to binge eating disorders and TCA not specified, of which relationship has also been found.

In parallel, various authors have related as possible causes of the origin of the TCA to stressful events at some early stage of life, such as physical, psychological or sexual abuse, excessive control ... along with personality traits such as low self-esteem, impulsiveness or emotional instability , together with the own beauty canons of society itself.

In conclusion…

It is important to note that the high comorbidity of BPD with other disorders makes early detection of disorders more difficult , which makes treatment difficult and darkens the therapeutic prognosis, as well as being a criterion of diagnostic severity.

To conclude, we conclude with the need for more research about BPD and personality disorders in general, since there is a great disparity of opinions and few data really empirically contrasted and with consensus in the mental health community.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. 5th ed. Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
  • Bellino, S., Patria, L., Paradiso, E., Di Lorenzo, R., Zanon, C., Zizza, M. & Bogetto, F. (2005). Major Depression in Patients With Borderline Personality Disorder: A Clinical Investigation. Can J Psychiatry.50: 234-238.
  • Biskin, R. & Paris, J. (2013). Comorbidities in Borderline Personality Disorder. Excerpted from: //www.psychiatrictimes.com
  • Del Río, C., Torres, I. & Borda, M. (2002). Comorbidity between purging bulimia nervosa and personality disorders according to the Millon Multiaxial Clinical Inventory (MCMI-II). International Journal of Clinical and Health Psychology. 2 (3): 425-438.
  • Grant, B., Chou, S., Goldstein, R., Huang, B., Stinson, F., Saha, T., et al. (2008) Prevalence, correlates, disability, and comorbidity of DSM-IV borderline personality disorder: results from the Wave 2 National Epidemiologic Survey on Alcohol and Related Conditions. J Clin Psychiatry.69 (4): 533-45.
  • Lenzenweger, M., Lane, M., Loranger, A. & Kessler, R. (2007). DSM-IV personality disorders in the National Comorbidity Survey Replication (NCS-R). Biol Psychiatry. 62: 553-64.
  • Skodol, A., Gunderson, J., Pfohl, B., Widiger, T., Livesley, W., et al. (2002) The borderline diagnosis I: Psychopathology, comorbidity, and personality structure. Biol Psychiat 51: 936-950.
  • Szerman, B. & Peris, D (2008). Cannabis and personality disorders. In: Psychiatric aspects of cannabis use: clinical cases. Spanish Society of Cannabinoid Research. Madrid: CEMA. 89-103.
  • Zanarini, M., Frankenburg, F., Hennen, J., Reich, D & Silk, K. (2004). Axis I Comorbidity in Patients With Borderline Personality Disorder: 6-Year Follow-Up and Prediction of Time to Remission. Am J Psychiatry. 161: 2108-2114.

Similarities and Differences between Borderline and Narcissistic Personality Disorder (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comorbidité du trouble de la personnalité

Comorbidité du trouble de la personnalité

Février 27, 2021

Actuellement, les troubles de la personnalité suscitent l’intérêt de la plupart des chercheurs et conduisent à de nombreuses études, recherches, conférences… L’une des causes possibles est les discussions diverses sur la manière de considérer ces troubles, c’est-à-dire où Est-ce le point exact de déterminer s'il s'agit d'un trouble lui-même ou d'une personnalité dysfonctionnelle?

Ce gradient a fait l’objet de débats dans diverses éditions du DSM. D'autre part aussi sont connus pour leur forte comorbidité avec d'autres troubles, en particulier le trouble de la personnalité limite (TLP), dont nous parlerons dans le présent article.

  • Article associé: «Trouble limite de la personnalité (DBP): causes, symptômes et traitement»

Comorbidité générique dans le TLP

La comorbidité est un terme médical qui signifie la présence d'un ou plusieurs troubles (ou des maladies) en plus de la maladie ou du trouble primaire et de leurs effets. Ce phénomène est si important dans le TLP qu'il est encore plus courant et représentatif de le voir avec d'autres troubles que seul. Il existe de nombreuses études et une grande variété de résultats quant aux troubles concomitants et non comorbides, mais il existe une uniformité suffisante avec ceux de l’axe I (en particulier) et de l’axe II dans les échantillons cliniques et collectifs.


Les recherches indiquent que 96,7% des personnes atteintes de DBP ont au moins un diagnostic de comorbidité avec l’axe I et que 16,3% en ont trois ou plus, ce qui est nettement plus élevé que d’autres troubles. D'autre part, il a également été étudié que 84,5% des patients remplissaient les critères pour présenter un ou plusieurs troubles de l'axe I au moins 12 mois et 74,9% pour présenter un trouble de l'axe II de pour la vie.

En ce qui concerne la comorbidité avec l'axe II, de nombreuses études indiquent qu'il existe des différences entre les sexes. C'est-à-dire, Les hommes diagnostiqués avec la DBP sont plus susceptibles d'avoir la comorbidité de l'axe II avec des troubles de type antisocial, paranoïde et narcissique, tandis que les femmes atteintes d'histrioniques. En revanche, les pourcentages pour les troubles dépendant et évitement sont restés similaires.


Comorbidité spécifique

Parmi les troubles de l’axe I susmentionnés, celui qui serait le plus souvent associé au TPL serait un trouble dépressif majeur, compris entre 40 et 87%. Suivre les troubles anxieux et affectifs en général et nous soulignerions la pertinence du trouble de stress post-traumatique pour la quantité d'études à cet égard; avec une prévalence au cours de la vie de 39,2%, il est courant mais pas universel chez les patients atteints de DBP.

Dans les troubles de l'alimentation et la toxicomanie, qui sont également très fréquents, il existe des différences entre les sexes, les premiers étant les plus susceptibles d'être associés aux femmes atteintes de DBP et les hommes, ce dernier. Cet abus de substances impulsivement réduirait le seuil de autres comportements autodestructeurs ou de promiscuité sexuelle . Selon la gravité de la dépendance du patient, celui-ci devrait être référé à des services spécialisés, voire même un revenu pour la désintoxication, en priorité.


Dans le cas de troubles de la personnalité, nous aurions une comorbidité par dépendance avec des taux de 50%, l’évitant avec 40%, le paranoïaque avec 30%, l’antisocial avec 20-25%, l’histrionique avec des taux oscillants entre 25 et 63%. La prévalence du TDAH est de 41,5% chez les enfants et de 16,1% à l’âge adulte.

Trouble de la personnalité et toxicomanie

La comorbidité de TLP avec l'abus toxique serait de 50-65% . D'autre part, tout comme dans la société en général, l'alcool est la substance la plus couramment consommée. Cependant, ces patients sont généralement des politoxicómanos avec d'autres substances, telles que le cannabis, les amphétamines ou la cocaïne, mais peuvent être une substance addictive en général, comme certaines drogues psychoactives.

En plus, ladite consommation se fait habituellement de manière impulsive et épisodique . En ce qui concerne la comorbidité avec l'alcool en particulier, le résultat était une durée de vie de 47,41%, tandis que 53,87% avec une dépendance à la nicotine étaient obtenus.

Dans le même ordre d'idées, de nombreuses études ont vérifié relation entre la symptomatologie de la DBP et la fréquence d'utilisation et la dépendance au cannabis . Les patients ont une relation ambivalente avec cela, car cela les aide à se détendre, à atténuer la dysphorie ou le malaise général qu’ils ont habituellement, à mieux supporter la solitude qu’ils évoquent et à se concentrer sur l’ici et maintenant. Cependant, cela peut également conduire à des crises de boulimie (aggravation du comportement boulimique ou boulimie, par exemple), augmenter les symptômes pseudoparanoïdes et la possibilité de déréalisation ou de dépersonnalisation, ce qui constituerait un cercle vicieux.

D'autre part, il est également intéressant de souligner les propriétés analgésiques du cannabis, en le rapportant à l'automutilation habituelle des patients atteints de DBP.

BPD et troubles de l'alimentation

Grosso modo, La comorbidité avec les ATE avec TP est élevée , varie entre 20 et 80% des cas.Bien que le trouble de l’anorexie mentale restrictive puisse avoir une comorbidité avec le DBP, il est beaucoup plus fréquent que d’autres troubles passifs-agressifs, par exemple, tandis que la boulimie buccale est étroitement associée au syndrome de DBP, la proportion étant de 25%, ajouté aux troubles de l'hyperphagie boulimique et TCA non spécifié, dont la relation a également été trouvé.

Parallèlement, divers auteurs ont évoqué comme causes possibles de l'origine du TCA des événements stressants à un stade précoce de la vie, tels que des abus physiques, psychologiques ou sexuels, un contrôle excessif ... ainsi que des traits de personnalité tels qu'une faible estime de soi, une impulsivité ou une instabilité émotionnelle. , avec les propres canons de beauté de la société même.

En conclusion…

Il est important de noter que la forte comorbidité de la DBP avec d’autres troubles rend plus difficile la détection précoce des troubles , ce qui rend le traitement difficile et assombrit le pronostic thérapeutique, tout en étant un critère de gravité du diagnostic.

En conclusion, nous concluons à la nécessité de davantage de recherches sur le TPL et les troubles de la personnalité en général, car il existe une grande disparité d’opinions et peu de données réellement contrastées empiriquement et qui font l’objet d’un consensus dans la communauté de la santé mentale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. 5ème éd. Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
  • Bellino, S., L. Patria, E. Paradiso, R. Di Lorenzo, C. Zanon, M. Zizza et F. F. Bogetto. (2005). Dépression majeure chez les patients présentant un trouble de la personnalité limite: une enquête clinique. Can J Psychiatry. 50: 234-238.
  • Biskin, R. & Paris, J. (2013). Comorbidités dans le trouble de la personnalité limite. Extrait de: //www.psychiatrictimes.com
  • Del Río, C., I. Torres et M. Borda (2002). Comorbidité entre la boulimie nerveuse et les troubles de la personnalité selon l'inventaire clinique multiaxial de Millon (MCMI-II). Journal international de psychologie clinique et de la santé. 2 (3): 425-438.
  • Grant, B., S. Chou, R. Goldstein, B. Huang, F. Stinson, T. Saha, et al. (2008) Prévalence, corrélats, invalidité et comorbidité du trouble de la personnalité limite du DSM-IV: résultats de l'enquête épidémiologique nationale sur le cycle 2 de la vague 2 liée à l'alcool et aux pathologies associées. J Clin Psychiatry.69 (4): 533-45.
  • Lenzenweger, M., Lane, M., Loranger, A. et Kessler, R. (2007). Troubles de la personnalité DSM-IV dans la réplication de l’enquête nationale sur la comorbidité (NCS-R). Biol Psychiatry. 62: 553-64.
  • Skodol, A., Gunderson, J., Pfohl, B., Widiger, T., Livesley, W., et al. (2002) Le diagnostic limite I: psychopathologie, comorbidité et structure de la personnalité. Biol Psychiat 51: 936-950.
  • Szerman, B. et Peris, D (2008). Cannabis et troubles de la personnalité. Dans: Aspects psychiatriques de la consommation de cannabis: cas cliniques. Société espagnole de recherche sur les cannabinoïdes. Madrid: CEMA. 89-103.
  • Zanarini M., Frankenburg F., Hennen J., Reich D & Silk K. (2004). Axe I Comorbidité chez les patients présentant un trouble de la personnalité limite: suivi à six ans et prévision du délai de rémission. Suis J psychiatrie. 161: 2108-2114.

Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes