yes, therapy helps!
14 tips to have more willpower

14 tips to have more willpower

July 19, 2024

The end of the year is approaching and with it the typical list of purposes for 2018. Within that wish list, in a large number of cases we will find old acquaintances such as "going to the gym", "losing weight", "give up smoking". Some purposes that as a rule are abandoned soon after they start to be carried out, or that they are not even intended to comply with.

The reason for this? There can be many, but if we leave the excuses aside we find that One of the biggest obstacles is the lack of willpower .

And it can be difficult to maintain, given that in everyday life, situations abound that can lead to discouragement and stop working for something. Therefore, in this article we are going to talk about how to have more willpower.


  • Related article: "How to start living for me and not for others? 7 keys"

The importance of willpower

All or almost all of us know or have an idea about what willpower is, being easy to find some example of this capacity or of its absence. But in order to improve the understanding of what we are proposing to increase, it is useful to make a brief definition about the concept we are talking about.

Willpower is understood as that ability or ability to pursue a specific goal despite the existence of obstacles , difficulties and distractors. It is not about knowing how to reach the goal itself, but about persisting in the desire to achieve it, even though we may not know how to face the difficulties that prevent us from reaching it. We would therefore be faced with the idea of ​​not giving in to our pretensions, not giving up and persevering even if we do not see immediate results.


Will power usually correlates positively with the ability to delay gratification: people who are able to postpone obtaining a reward in order to be rewarded later with something that especially motivates them.

Let's look at the examples in the first paragraph of this article: lose weight or go to the gym. The objective is something desired and rewarding for those who mark it as a goal, but it requires an ongoing effort over time which can be relatively prolonged. And in between there are going to be continual temptations in the form of food, drink, plans or obstacles like fatigue and even suffering.

The same happens with those who want to quit smoking: they know that it is something they want to quit, but taking a cigarette gives them immediate satisfaction. Only those people who are able to resist the temptation to obtain an immediate reinforcement to achieve their goal they will persist until they reach their goal (although they may have a specific drop).


  • Maybe you're interested: "80 powerful phrases of effort and hard work"

Tips to have more willpower

Willpower, in short, is an important skill that is highly valued socially, personally and also in the workplace and academia. But not something that appears out of nowhere, but rather a psychological capacity that it is acquired and promoted throughout life .

In this sense, we can carry out different activities to improve the strength of will. Some strategies and actions that can help us are the following.

1. Propose clear objectives

One of the possible reasons why you can not maintain the willpower to do something is ignorance and lack of security in what we want . Propose clear objectives and know how to carry them out is essential and helps us generate enough motivation and willpower to pursue them.

2. Be realistic

Another major problem that most people have is that they want immediate and unrealistic results. I want to lose 15 kilos in a month or I want to stop doing something that I've been doing for the last ten years in a moment. People who already have a strong willpower base could achieve it , but the majority of the population should keep in mind that to achieve something they are not usually shortcuts and that a sustained and prolonged effort is required over time. Take into account previous experiences and adjust your expectations regarding what it may cost you to achieve your goal.

3. Step by step: divide tasks into subtasks

Something very useful to achieve your goals and at the same time reinforce your willpower is Divide your goal into different steps, phases or subtasks . Identify and create short and medium term objectives that allow reaching the final objective.

4. Establish a planing

The opposite to the previous point can also be a problem: setting a goal to meet in an indeterminate period of time can lead us to procrastinate and do nothing. That is why it is highly advisable to establish a prior planning of the time we are going to dedicate to a specific objective and strive to fulfill it.In this way we will advance in our objective, and the knowledge of this fact will strengthen the motivation to move forward .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

5. Keep a record

Related to the previous point, another of the means that can facilitate strengthening our willpower and reaching our goals is to carry out a record of our activity, so that we can assess our achievements and progress .

6. Give yourself small rewards

Achieving something from the pull is very complicated. Self-gratify as we move forward in the achievement of objectives (as long as such self-gratification does not go against the final goal itself) can serve to preserve and strengthen our motivation.

7. Do not do everything at once

We all have many goals throughout life. However, if we aim to find a partner, play sports, be more productive at work, lose weight, sign up for a cooking course and do three masters and two doctorates we will end up doing nothing or running out. We must bear in mind that we can not do everything at once . And much less if what we try is to train will power: the most advisable and healthy is to identify one element at a time and focus on it.

8. Meditation

The practice of meditation contributes greatly to strengthening willpower, relativizing the importance of things and seeing the world from a more focused perspective. In fact, it has been shown how the usual practice of meditation decreases stress levels and even contributes to improve the synaptic connectivity of brain regions, such as the prefrontal.

9. Exhibition

One of the ways to train willpower is, precisely, to expose yourself to stimuli that put it to the test. It is about favoring that we have to resist temptation. For this it may be useful to begin by exposing ourselves to situations that, although they are tempting, do not generate an immediate and irresistible need for us, little by little and as we see that we can resist proceeding to expose ourselves to elements that cause us greater attraction.

It is possible to expose ourselves directly to the elements that we find hard to resist, but with this we also risk not being able to support it and favor that rather than increase the strength of will it diminishes. If applied correctly and achieved, this method also helps us improve our sense of competence and self-efficacy , which can also contribute to increase self-esteem.

10. Give yourself positive self-instructions

Generally, by doing anything, various self-verbalizations about what to do and how come to mind.

Frequently, these self-instructions include mental and emotional contents and expectations about the result (for example, if we are going to do it right or wrong, if we are going to achieve our goal or not, etc.). Try to make these instructions positive and include messages that reinforce and positively consider one's capacity can eventually make us feel more capable and strength of will increase.

11. Find a role model

One way to strengthen willpower is to inspire you in people you cherish and admire . Learn about them and their way of doing things and achieve their goals. Observing the presence of great willpower can help us to try to imitate it and strengthen our own.

12. Relativize and accept falls

As much as we have willpower, we can all fall at some point when we forget our goal or we have a moment of weakness in which we do the opposite of what we intend.

This can lead us to blame , feel unprofitable and finally to discourage and abandon. A good idea to increase our willpower is, although it seems contradictory, to accept that we can fail and have some moment of weakness. Of course, without exceeding ourselves in being self-indulgent: it's about not crushing yourself if a fall occurs, not letting it happen without more.

13. Better accompanied

Maintaining the motivation and willpower to achieve an objective is complicated. Receiving external support in the process or establishing a shared goal facilitates an additional difficulty in falling into temptation. On the other hand, It also depends on the attitude of each one If someone continually tempts you to abandon your goal, it will become a challenge to your willpower.

14. Exercise

What for many people is an objective to fulfill can also serve to help us increase the willpower to do others. Tightening and loosening the muscles can help us strengthen not only our body but also our mind, releasing endorphins and improving our sense of competence . In addition, it requires an effort that makes part of our attention deviate from the possible temptation.


Top 10 ways to build your willpower (and why you should care!) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
14 astuces pour avoir plus de volonté

14 astuces pour avoir plus de volonté

Février 24, 2021

La fin de l'année approche et avec elle la liste des buts typiques pour 2018. Cette liste de souhaits contient dans de nombreux cas de vieilles connaissances telles que "aller au gymnase", "perdre du poids", "arrêter de fumer". Certains objectifs sont en règle générale abandonnés peu de temps après leur lancement ou ne sont même pas censés être atteints.

La raison de cela? Il peut y en avoir beaucoup, mais si nous laissons les excuses de côté, nous constatons que L'un des plus gros obstacles est le manque de volonté .

Et il peut être difficile à maintenir, étant donné que dans la vie quotidienne, les situations ne manquent pas et peuvent conduire au découragement et arrêter de travailler pour quelque chose. Par conséquent, dans cet article, nous allons parler de la façon d’avoir plus de volonté.


  • Article connexe: "Comment commencer à vivre pour moi et pas pour les autres? 7 clés"

L'importance de la volonté

Nous connaissons tous ou presque tous ce que l’on veut de la volonté, et il est facile de trouver un exemple de cette capacité ou de son absence. Toutefois, afin de mieux comprendre ce que nous proposons d’accroître, il est utile de définir brièvement le concept dont nous parlons.

La volonté est comprise comme ça capacité ou capacité de poursuivre un objectif spécifique malgré l'existence d'obstacles , difficultés et distracteurs. Il ne s'agit pas de savoir comment atteindre l'objectif lui-même, mais de persister dans le désir de l'atteindre, même si nous ne savons peut-être pas comment faire face aux difficultés qui nous empêchent de l'atteindre. Nous serions donc confrontés à l’idée de ne pas céder à nos prétentions, de ne pas abandonner et de persévérer même si nous ne voyons pas de résultats immédiats.


Le pouvoir de la volonté est généralement en corrélation positive avec la capacité de retarder la gratification: les personnes qui sont capables de différer l'obtention d'une récompense afin d'être récompensées ultérieurement par quelque chose qui les motive particulièrement.

Regardons les exemples du premier paragraphe de cet article: maigrir ou aller au gym. L’objectif est quelque chose de désiré et gratifiant pour ceux qui le considèrent comme un objectif, mais il nécessite un effort continu au fil du temps qui peut être relativement prolongé. Et entre les deux, il y aura toujours des tentations sous forme de nourriture, de boisson, de projets ou d'obstacles comme la fatigue et même la souffrance.

Il en va de même pour ceux qui veulent arrêter de fumer: ils savent que c'est quelque chose qu'ils veulent arrêter de fumer, mais prendre une cigarette leur procure une satisfaction immédiate. Seules les personnes capables de résister à la tentation d'obtenir un renforcement immédiat pour atteindre leur objectif ils persisteront jusqu'à ce qu'ils atteignent leur objectif (bien qu'ils puissent avoir une baisse spécifique).


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "80 phrases puissantes d'effort et de travail acharné"

Conseils pour avoir plus de volonté

En bref, la volonté est une compétence importante qui est très valorisée socialement, personnellement, ainsi que sur le lieu de travail et dans le monde universitaire. Mais pas quelque chose qui apparaît de nulle part, mais plutôt une capacité psychologique qui il est acquis et promu tout au long de la vie .

En ce sens, nous pouvons mener différentes activités pour renforcer la volonté. Certaines stratégies et actions pouvant nous aider sont les suivantes.

1. Proposer des objectifs clairs

Une des raisons possibles pour lesquelles vous ne pouvez pas maintenir la volonté de faire quelque chose est l'ignorance et le manque de sécurité dans ce que nous voulons . Proposer des objectifs clairs et savoir comment les réaliser est essentiel et nous aide à générer suffisamment de motivation et de volonté pour les atteindre.

2. Soyez réaliste

Un autre problème majeur rencontré par la plupart des gens est qu'ils veulent des résultats immédiats et irréalistes. Je veux perdre 15 kilos en un mois ou arrêter de faire quelque chose que je fais depuis 10 ans en un instant. Les personnes qui ont déjà une forte base de volonté pourraient y parvenir , mais la majorité de la population devrait garder à l’esprit que pour réaliser quelque chose, ils ne sont généralement pas des raccourcis et qu’un effort soutenu et prolongé est nécessaire au fil du temps. Tenez compte des expériences précédentes et ajustez vos attentes en ce qui concerne le coût de la réalisation de votre objectif.

3. Pas à pas: diviser les tâches en sous-tâches

Quelque chose de très utile pour atteindre vos objectifs tout en renforçant votre volonté est Divisez votre objectif en différentes étapes, phases ou sous-tâches . Identifier et créer des objectifs à court et moyen terme permettant d'atteindre l'objectif final.

4. Établir un rabotage

L’inverse du point précédent peut également être un problème: fixer un objectif à atteindre dans un délai indéterminé peut nous amener à procrastiner et à ne rien faire. C'est pourquoi il est vivement recommandé d'établir une planification préalable du temps que nous allons consacrer à un objectif spécifique et nous efforcer de le réaliser.De cette façon, nous avancerons dans notre objectif et la connaissance de ce fait renforcera la motivation pour aller de l'avant .

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

5. Gardez une trace

Par rapport au point précédent, un autre moyen de renforcer notre volonté et d’atteindre nos objectifs consiste à enregistrer notre activité, afin que nous puissions évaluer nos réalisations et nos progrès .

6. Donnez-vous de petites récompenses

Il est très compliqué d’atteindre quelque chose. La satisfaction personnelle à mesure que nous progressons dans la réalisation des objectifs (tant que cette satisfaction personnelle ne va pas à l'encontre du but final lui-même) peut servir à préserver et à renforcer notre motivation.

7. Ne faites pas tout à la fois

Nous avons tous de nombreux objectifs tout au long de la vie. Cependant, si nous voulons trouver un partenaire, faire du sport, être plus productif au travail, perdre du poids, suivre un cours de cuisine et faire trois maîtrises et deux doctorats, nous finirons par ne rien faire ou à manquer. Nous devons garder à l'esprit que on ne peut pas tout faire en même temps . Et encore moins si nous essayons d’entraîner, nous aurons le pouvoir: le plus judicieux et le plus sain est d’identifier un élément à la fois et de le cibler.

8. méditation

La pratique de la méditation contribue grandement à renforcer la volonté, à relativiser l’importance des choses et à voir le monde dans une perspective plus ciblée. En fait, il a été montré comment la pratique habituelle de la méditation diminue les niveaux de stress et contribue même à améliorer la connectivité synaptique des régions du cerveau, telles que les régions préfrontales.

9. exposition

L'un des moyens de former la volonté est précisément de s'exposer à des stimuli qui la mettent à l'épreuve. Il s'agit de favoriser le fait que nous devons résister à la tentation. Pour cela, il peut être utile de commencer par s'exposer à des situations qui, même si elles sont tentantes, ne génèrent pas un besoin immédiat et irrésistible, petit à petit, et à mesure que nous voyons que nous pouvons résister à la tentation de nous exposer à des éléments qui nous attirent davantage.

Il est possible de nous exposer directement aux éléments auxquels nous avons du mal à résister, mais nous risquons également de ne pas pouvoir le soutenir et de favoriser cela plutôt que d’augmenter la force de la volonté, elle diminue. Si elle est appliquée correctement et obtenue, cette méthode nous aide à améliorer notre sentiment de compétence et d'efficacité personnelle , ce qui peut également contribuer à augmenter l'estime de soi.

10. Donnez-vous des auto-instructions positives

En règle générale, en faisant quelque chose, diverses auto-verbalisations sur ce qu’il faut faire et sur la façon dont on vient à l’esprit.

Fréquemment, ces auto-instructions incluent des contenus mentaux et émotionnels et des attentes concernant le résultat (par exemple, si nous allons le faire correctement ou mal, si nous allons atteindre notre objectif ou non, etc.). Essayez de rendre ces instructions positives et inclure des messages qui renforcent et considèrent positivement ses capacités peuvent éventuellement nous faire sentir plus capables et augmenter notre force.

11. Trouver un modèle

Un moyen de renforcer la volonté est de vous inspirer dans les gens que vous chérissez et admirez . En savoir plus sur eux et sur leur façon de faire et d'atteindre leurs objectifs. Observer la présence d'une grande volonté peut nous aider à essayer de l'imiter et de renforcer notre propre volonté.

12. Relativise et accepte les chutes

Même si nous avons de la volonté, nous pouvons tous tomber lorsque nous oublions notre objectif ou si nous avons un moment de faiblesse dans lequel nous faisons le contraire de ce que nous voulons.

Cela peut nous amener à blâmer , ne vous sentez pas rentable et finalement décourager et abandonner. Une bonne idée pour augmenter notre volonté est, bien que cela paraisse contradictoire, d’admettre que nous pouvons échouer et avoir un moment de faiblesse. Bien sûr, sans nous excuser nous-mêmes: il s’agit de ne pas vous écraser si une chute se produit, de ne pas la laisser se produire sans plus.

13. Mieux accompagné

Maintenir la motivation et la volonté pour atteindre un objectif est compliqué. Recevoir un soutien externe au cours du processus ou établir un objectif commun facilite une tentation supplémentaire de tomber dans la tentation. D'un autre côté, Cela dépend aussi de l'attitude de chacun Si quelqu'un vous tente continuellement d'abandonner votre objectif, cela deviendra un défi pour votre volonté.

14. exercice

Ce que beaucoup de personnes souhaitent accomplir peut également nous aider à accroître notre volonté de faire les autres. Resserrer et relâcher les muscles peut nous aider à renforcer non seulement notre corps mais aussi notre esprit, libérer des endorphines et améliorer notre sens des compétences . De plus, cela nécessite un effort qui détourne une partie de notre attention de la tentation possible.


Des Astuces de Fast Food Qu'il Est Utile de Connaître (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes