yes, therapy helps!
Drinking a little alcohol can improve your language skills

Drinking a little alcohol can improve your language skills

November 27, 2021

It has been part of popular culture for a long time the consumption of alcoholic beverages can help us to better master the languages that are not our mother tongue. In fact, there are cases in which this belief has reached the extreme, and proof of this is that on Facebook there is a page with more than 100,000 followers called "Going drunk increases my ability to speak other languages."

It is already known that many of those beliefs that happen from mouth to ear have more of myth than of reality, and in particular, the idea that intoxicating us with spirits can make us speak better languages ​​is more of a joke than really (in that state costs us even to pronounce some surnames, let's not say and use grammar rules with which we are not very familiar).


However ... what happens when the consumption of alcohol is moderate? Could this have a positive effect on our language proficiency that we do not speak at the native level ? A recent study suggests that the answer is yes.

  • Related article: "15 reasons why you should learn a new language"

Alcohol: neuronal and psychological effects

That alcohol has negative effects on the brain is something that has been known for a long time. The amount of money that moves the industry that commercializes this type of products has not made pass unnoticed the way in which these substances harm us in multiple ways, although certain alcoholic products are better publicized than others.

For example, the brains of people with a history of alcoholism tend to be somewhat less bulky and the neuronal interconnections of some of its areas are less numerous than in healthy brains; This is noted, among other things, in their ability to make use of memory, since they have a damaged hippocampus, and in their management of emotions and impulses in real time.

However, beyond the direct effects that the alcohol ingested in high quantities has on the nervous system, it is not unreasonable that in moderate amounts there are certain advantages related to this class of products. Specifically, a team of scientists from the University of Maastricht headed by Fritz Renner set out to check whether drinking a little alcohol temporarily improves the mode in which a newly learned language is spoken (in adults, of course).

This research, rather than discovering an advantage associated with alcohol consumption, serves to better understand the mechanisms involved in the use of a foreign language.

  • You may be interested: "Drinking alcohol during adolescence modifies the brain"

The effect of alcohol when speaking foreign languages

To carry out this research, Renner and his colleagues used an experimental study with 50 volunteers whose mother tongue is German. These people were German students who were in their second year of Psychology at the University of Maastrich, a city where many people from the German country come because of their proximity to the border that separates both territories.

In addition, in order to pass from Germany to the University of Maastricht, you have to stop first for a Dutch level test , so that practically all these students had a level of this language that allowed them to speak it.


To begin with the experimental conditions, the volunteers were divided into two groups: one of them drank 250 ml. of sparkling water, and the other drank the same amount of lemonade with little vodka , enough to reach a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04% (the amount of ml of alcohol each person drank depended on their sex and body mass so that everyone presented that 0.04%).

A quarter of an hour after having consumed the drinks, in a phase of the experiment in which the alcohol should have already passed into the blood and brain, the volunteers were asked to debate in Dutch about the animal experimentation during a couple of minutes. From this exercise, two native Dutch speakers had to rate the degree to which the Germans expressed themselves well or badly, offering scores on different parameters: fluency, pronunciation, vocabulary, choice of words, clarity and overall speech quality . In addition, the Germans should rate themselves in terms of how well or badly they had spoken Dutch.

The surprising result

What Renner and his colleagues hoped was that alcohol would make the Germans benevolent when it came to scoring the quality of their Dutch in the test, while the Dutch would not award a higher score, but less, to those who had consumed the vodka . That is, they believed that the main effect of the spirit drink would be to affect the way in which a person appreciates the quality of their own command of the foreign language.

However, the results obtained offered a very different conclusion. The Germans who had consumed vodka they did not have to rate themselves better than those who had drunk soda , but in general terms they did receive significantly higher scores on the part of the Dutch, both in terms of overall speech quality and pronunciation.

Why does this happen? The disinhibition

Although the effects of alcohol on the nervous system are negative, it is reasonable that in very moderate amounts the harmful repercussions of this substance are barely noticeable and that, on the other hand, other psychological consequences emerge that, although they are also discrete, are positive. . The advantages of a slight disinhibition can be an example .

And it is that when it comes to expressing ourselves in a foreign language, the fear of making a fool of ourselves when pronouncing certain words can cause a self-fulfilling prophecy effect, that is, lead us to pronounce things in a vague or imprecise way so that we are hardly I listened. A few drops of vodka could make these fears practically disappear, leaving us free to express ourselves in an intuitive and genuine way.


Alcohol Can Improve Your Ability to Speak a Foreign Language | Town & Country (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Boire un peu d'alcool peut améliorer vos compétences linguistiques

Boire un peu d'alcool peut améliorer vos compétences linguistiques

Juillet 29, 2022

Cela fait partie de la culture populaire depuis longtemps la consommation de boissons alcoolisées peut nous aider à mieux maîtriser les langues ce ne sont pas notre langue maternelle. En fait, il y a des cas dans lesquels cette croyance est devenue extrême, et la preuve en est qu'il existe sur Facebook une page de plus de 100 000 abonnés intitulée "Devenir ivre augmente ma capacité à parler d'autres langues".

On sait déjà que beaucoup de ces croyances qui se passent de bouche à oreille ont plus un mythe que la réalité, et en particulier, l'idée que nous enivrer avec des esprits peut nous faire parler de meilleures langues est plus une blague que (vraiment). l’État nous coûte même de prononcer certains noms de famille, ne disons pas et utilisons des règles de grammaire avec lesquelles nous ne sommes pas très familiers).


Cependant ... que se passe-t-il lorsque la consommation d'alcool est modérée? Cela pourrait-il avoir un effet positif sur notre maîtrise de la langue que nous ne parlons pas au niveau autochtone ? Une étude récente suggère que la réponse est oui.

  • Article connexe: "15 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez apprendre une nouvelle langue"

Alcool: effets neuronaux et psychologiques

L'alcool a des effets négatifs sur le cerveau, c'est connu depuis longtemps. La somme d'argent qui déplace l'industrie qui commercialise ce type de produits n'a pas fait oublier la manière dont ces substances nous font du tort de nombreuses manières, bien que certains produits alcoolisés soient mieux annoncés que d'autres.

Par exemple, le cerveau des personnes ayant des antécédents d’alcoolisme a tendance à être un peu moins volumineux et les interconnexions neuronales de certaines de ses régions sont moins nombreuses que dans les cerveaux sains; Ceci est noté, entre autres choses, dans leur capacité à utiliser la mémoire, puisqu'ils ont un hippocampe endommagé, et dans leur gestion des émotions et des pulsions en temps réel.

Cependant, au-delà des effets directs que l'alcool ingéré en grande quantité a sur le système nerveux, il n'est pas déraisonnable que des quantités modérées présentent certains avantages liés à cette classe de produits. En particulier, une équipe de scientifiques de l'université de Maastricht, dirigée par Fritz Renner, s'est attachée à vérifier si la consommation d'un peu d'alcool s'améliore temporairement. le mode dans lequel une langue nouvellement apprise est parlée (chez les adultes, bien sûr).

Cette recherche, plutôt que de découvrir un avantage associé à la consommation d'alcool, sert à mieux comprendre les mécanismes impliqués dans l'utilisation d'une langue étrangère.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Boire de l'alcool à l'adolescence modifie le cerveau"

L'effet de l'alcool quand on parle des langues étrangères

Pour mener cette recherche à bien, Renner et ses collègues ont utilisé une étude expérimentale sur 50 volontaires de langue maternelle allemande. Ces personnes étaient des étudiants allemands en deuxième année de psychologie à l'université de Maastrich, une ville fréquentée par de nombreux habitants du pays allemand en raison de leur proximité de la frontière qui sépare les deux territoires.

En outre, pour pouvoir passer de l’Allemagne à l’Université de Maastricht, vous devez vous arrêter d'abord pour un test de niveau néerlandais , de sorte que pratiquement tous ces étudiants avaient un niveau de cette langue qui leur permettait de le parler.


Pour commencer avec les conditions expérimentales, les volontaires ont été divisés en deux groupes: l’un d’eux a bu 250 ml. d'eau pétillante, et l'autre buvait la même quantité de limonade avec une petite vodka , suffisamment pour atteindre une concentration d’alcool dans le sang de 0,04% (la quantité de ml d’alcool que chaque personne a bu dépend de son sexe et de sa masse corporelle de sorte que tout le monde a présenté cette valeur, 0,04%).

Un quart d'heure après avoir consommé les boissons, dans une phase de l'expérience dans laquelle l'alcool aurait déjà dû passer dans le sang et le cerveau, il a été demandé aux volontaires de débattre en néerlandais de l'expérimentation animale en couple. de minutes. À partir de cet exercice, deux néerlandophones de langue maternelle ont dû évaluer dans quelle mesure les Allemands s'exprimaient bien ou mal, offrant des scores sur différents paramètres: fluidité, prononciation, vocabulaire, choix des mots, clarté et qualité générale de la parole . En outre, les Allemands devraient évaluer eux-mêmes leur niveau de maîtrise du néerlandais.

Le résultat surprenant

Ce que Renner et ses collègues espéraient était que l'alcool rendrait les Allemands bienveillants lorsqu'il s'agirait de marquer la qualité de leur néerlandais lors du test, tandis que les Néerlandais n'accorderaient pas un score plus élevé, mais moins, à ceux qui avaient consommé de la vodka. . C'est-à-dire qu'ils pensaient que le principal effet de la boisson spiritueuse serait d'influer sur la manière dont une personne apprécie la qualité de sa propre maîtrise de la langue étrangère.

Cependant, les résultats obtenus ont offert une conclusion très différente. Les Allemands qui avaient consommé de la vodka ils ne devaient pas se évaluer mieux que ceux qui avaient bu de la soude , mais en général, les Néerlandais ont obtenu des scores nettement supérieurs, tant en termes de qualité générale de la parole que de prononciation.

Pourquoi cela se produit-il? La désinhibition

Bien que les effets de l’alcool sur le système nerveux soient négatifs, il est raisonnable de penser que les conséquences néfastes de cette substance sont à peine perceptibles et que, d’autre part, d’autres conséquences psychologiques se dégagent qui, bien que discrètes, sont positives. . Les avantages d'une légère désinhibition peuvent être un exemple .

Et c’est que s’il s’agit de s’exprimer dans une langue étrangère, la peur de se ridiculiser en prononçant certains mots peut provoquer un effet de prophétie auto-réalisatrice, c’est-à-dire nous amener à prononcer les choses de façon vague ou imprécise écoute Quelques gouttes de vodka pourraient faire disparaître ces peurs, nous laissant ainsi libres de nous exprimer de manière intuitive et authentique.


Autoestima, pareja y misión: Consulta tus dudas a Covadonga Pérez Lozana (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes