yes, therapy helps!
Gifted students: individual differences between children with extraordinary intelligence

Gifted students: individual differences between children with extraordinary intelligence

October 28, 2020

What characteristics define the gifted child?

We can say, in general, that his intellectual development is always more advanced than expected due to his age. For example, if most children are always able to say a few words a year and a half after they are born, a talented child has a repertoire of words twice or three times as large as they reach that age range.

Gifted students: what factors make a child have high abilities?

When the talented child starts school, basically what you notice is: quick thinking, easy to create much more elaborate answers, and a very good use of information. These children may require adapted educational strategies, since it may be the case that they hide their talent in a normative class, they get bored or leave classes . For this and many more questions we could ask ourselves the following: What guarantees is to be part of the gifted students ? Is a talented child a successful adult?


Not necessarily.

Contextual variables

We must take into account certain variables of the context that each child may have. On one side support (or absence of this) by their parents, legal guardians or relatives. There are cases in which the family does not support them, devaluing the fact of studying and investing time in studies and emphasize the need for a salary to be brought home at the end of the month. This can cause the child to put aside his talent and focus on fulfilling what his parents ask of them. The school can ignore the talent, making the child not receive an adapted education and the child ends up getting bored and leaving classes. Or, the environment of friends can lead the child to hide their abilities through the teasing , which could even trigger Bullying dynamics.


Economic circumstances in which the person is familiarly also play an important role. There are families who can not finance the studies of their children, since their economic situation does not allow it, no matter how much both parents work and there are certain aids or scholarships. Consequently, the child will have to adapt to the situation and his talent will not be able to develop as expected.

Finally, there are other variables to be highlighted, such as the opportunities that each one brings to life, or their own health.

Analyzing real cases

All of the above is reflected in a study conducted by Melita Oden together with Terman, in 1968, which compared the 100 most successful men and 100 least successful men in a group; defining success as the celebration of jobs that required their intellectual gifts . The successful ones included professors, scientists, doctors and lawyers. The unsuccessful included electronics, technicians, police, carpenters and pool cleaners, as well as failed lawyers, doctors and academics. In the study it was concluded that the successful and the unsuccessful hardly differed in the average IQ . In any case, the differences between them turned out to be in the parents' confidence, persistence and principles of encouragement.


Smart children and upbringing

When we speak of intelligent children, the main criterion focuses on the intellectual quotient and academic environments, but we must also take into account the factors socioemotional . In the study carried out by Terman and Melita we can observe a clear bias in the sample since it is only university population. Terman ended up becoming a convinced geneticist, but did not take into account the historical variables of the moment such as war, etc. Many subjects died there, others due to alcoholism, suicides ... factors that have to do with socio-emotional characteristics.

Alencar and Fleith (2001) noted a lesser emphasis on emotional development due to the hegemony of educational plans little focused on strengthening a positive self-concept and promoting its social development. They also noted that the vast majority of papers presented to date on the subject were not related to socio-emotional development. Terman acknowledged, however, that children who had an IQ above 170 had difficulties in social adjustment, being considered by their teachers as isolation (Burks, Jensen and Terman, (1930), Gross (2002)).

An emotional vulnerability has also been found, in reference to the ability of these students to understand and commit themselves to ethical and philosophical issues, before emotional maturity has been developed to deal with these types of issues (Hollingworth, 1942).

Gifted students and school expectations

As external agents we can observe how students with greater intellectual capacities are prone to suffer what Terrassier called the "Negative Pygmalion effect". This occurs when, as there are gifted students who have a greater potential than teachers, the latter tend to expect a performance in the average range from these students, and then they encourage some students to perform well below of their real abilities (Terrassier, 1981).

As a last point, it is worth mentioning a study carried out on the detection of gifted students , in which the structures of the implicit theories of educators' intelligence were analyzed and the relationship between them and the beliefs about the identification of gifted students. Educators who rated creativity as an important attribute of intelligence tend to favor multiple methods to identify gifted students.

On the contrary, educators who supported the use of intelligence tests as the main basis of talent identification generally agreed that the analysis capacity it was part of the structure of intelligence (García-Cepero, et al, 2009).

Bibliographic references:

  • Alencar, E.M.L.S. & Fleith, D.S. (2001). Superdotação: determinantes, educação e ajustamento. São Paulo: EPU.
  • Garcia-Cepero, M.C & McCoach, D. B (2009). Educators' implicit theories of intelligence and beliefs about the identification of gifted students. Universitas Psychologica 8(2) 295-310.
  • Terman L. M., & Oden, M. H. (1959). Genetic studies of genius. Vol. V. The gifted at mid-life: Thirty-five years' follow-up of the superior child. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.
  • Terrassier, J.C. (1981/2004). Les enfants surdoués ou la precocité embarrassante (6th ed.). Paris, ESF.

The 10 Struggles Only Highly Intelligent People Have (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Élèves surdoués: différences individuelles entre des enfants dotés d'une intelligence extraordinaire

Élèves surdoués: différences individuelles entre des enfants dotés d'une intelligence extraordinaire

Mai 27, 2022

Quelles caractéristiques définissent l'enfant surdoué?

On peut dire, en général, que son développement intellectuel est toujours plus avancé que prévu en raison de son âge. Par exemple, si la plupart des enfants sont toujours capables de dire quelques mots un an et demi après leur naissance, un enfant talentueux a un répertoire de mots deux ou trois fois plus grand qu’ils atteignent cet âge.

Élèves surdoués: quels facteurs font qu'un enfant a de grandes capacités?

Lorsque l’enfant de talent entre à l’école, vous remarquerez qu’il en faut une pensée rapide, une réponse facile, beaucoup plus élaborée, et une très bonne utilisation de l’information. Ces enfants peuvent avoir besoin de stratégies éducatives adaptées, dans la mesure où ils cachent parfois leur talent dans une classe normative. ils s'ennuient ou quittent les cours . Pour cela et bien d’autres questions, nous pourrions nous poser les questions suivantes: Quelles garanties c’est de faire partie du étudiants doués ? Un enfant talentueux est-il un adulte qui réussit?


Pas nécessairement.

Variables contextuelles

Nous devons prendre en compte certaines variables du contexte que chaque enfant peut avoir. D'une part l'appui (ou leur absence) par leurs parents, tuteurs légaux ou parents. Il y a des cas où la famille ne les soutient pas, dévalorisant le fait d'étudier et d'investir du temps dans des études et soulignant la nécessité de rapporter un salaire à la fin du mois. Cela peut amener l’enfant à mettre de côté son talent et à se concentrer sur la réalisation de ce que ses parents lui demandent. L'école peut ignorer le talent, ce qui empêche l'enfant de recevoir une éducation adaptée et finit par s'ennuyer et quitter les cours. Ou bien, l’environnement des amis peut amener l’enfant à cacher ses capacités à travers le taquineries , ce qui pourrait même déclencher une dynamique d’intimidation.


Circonstances économiques dans lequel la personne est familièrement jouent également un rôle important. Il y a des familles qui ne peuvent pas financer les études de leurs enfants, car leur situation économique ne le permet pas, peu importe le nombre de travail des deux parents et certaines aides ou bourses. En conséquence, l'enfant devra s'adapter à la situation et son talent ne pourra pas se développer comme prévu.

Enfin, il y a d'autres variables à mettre en évidence, telles que les opportunités que chacune apporte à la vie, ou sa propre santé.

Analyser des cas réels

Tout ceci est reflété dans une étude menée par Melita Oden avec Terman en 1968, qui a comparé les 100 hommes les plus performants et les 100 hommes les moins réussis d'un groupe; définir le succès en tant que célébration des emplois qui ont nécessité leurs dons intellectuels . Parmi les plus performants figuraient des professeurs, des scientifiques, des médecins et des avocats. Parmi les personnes non retenues figurent des électroniciens, des techniciens, des policiers, des charpentiers et des nettoyeurs de piscines, ainsi que des avocats, médecins et universitaires défaillants. Dans l'étude, il a été conclu que le succès et l'échec diffèrent à peine dans le QI moyen . En tout état de cause, les différences entre eux se sont révélées être dans la confiance, la persistance et les principes d'encouragement des parents.


Enfants intelligents et éducation

Lorsque nous parlons d’enfants intelligents, le critère principal est axé sur le quotient intellectuel et l’environnement scolaire, mais nous devons également prendre en compte les facteurs suivants: facteurs socioémotionnel . Dans l’étude réalisée par Terman et Melita, nous pouvons observer un biais évident dans l’échantillon car il ne s’agit que de la population universitaire. Terman finit par devenir un généticien convaincu, mais ne tint pas compte des variables historiques du moment telles que la guerre, etc. De nombreux sujets y sont morts, d’autres à cause de l’alcoolisme, des suicides… des facteurs liés aux caractéristiques socio-émotionnelles.

Alencar et Fleith (2001) ont noté une moindre importance accordée au développement émotionnel en raison de la hégémonie des projets éducatifs peu axé sur le renforcement d’une image de soi positive et la promotion de son développement social. Ils ont également noté que la grande majorité des communications présentées à ce jour sur le sujet n'étaient pas liées au développement socio-affectif. Terman a toutefois reconnu que les enfants dont le QI était supérieur à 170 avaient des difficultés d'adaptation sociale, leurs enseignants les considérant comme des personnes isolées (Burks, Jensen et Terman, (1930), Gross (2002)).

Une vulnérabilité émotionnelle a également été constatée, liée à la capacité de ces étudiants à comprendre et à s’engager sur des questions éthiques et philosophiques, avant que la maturité émotionnelle ne soit développée pour traiter ce type de problèmes (Hollingworth, 1942).

Les élèves surdoués et les attentes de l'école

En tant qu’agents externes, nous pouvons observer à quel point les étudiants dotés de capacités intellectuelles supérieures sont susceptibles de subir ce que Terrassier a appelé «l’effet Pygmalion négatif». Cela se produit lorsque, dans la mesure où certains élèves surdoués ont un potentiel plus grand que les enseignants, ces derniers s'attendent généralement à une performance moyenne de la part de ces élèves, puis encouragent certains élèves à se situer bien au-dessous de leurs capacités réelles (Terrassier, 1981).

Enfin, il convient de mentionner une étude réalisée sur le détection des élèves doués , dans lequel les structures des théories implicites de l’intelligence des éducateurs ont été analysées et la relation entre elles et le croyances sur l'identification des élèves surdoués. Les éducateurs qui considèrent la créativité comme un attribut important de l'intelligence ont tendance à privilégier les méthodes multiples d'identification des élèves surdoués.

Au contraire, les éducateurs qui ont soutenu l’utilisation des tests d’intelligence comme base principale de l’identification des talents ont généralement convenu que capacité d'analyse cela faisait partie de la structure de l'intelligence (García-Cepero, et al, 2009).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Alencar, E.M.L.S. & Fleith, D.S. (2001). Superdotação: determinantes, educação e ajustamento. São Paulo: EPU.
  • Garcia-Cepero, M.C et McCoach, D. B (2009). Théories implicites de l'intelligence et des croyances des éducateurs sur l'identification des élèves surdoués. Universitas Psychologica 8(2) 295-310.
  • Terman L. M. et Oden, M. H. (1959). Etudes génétiques du génie. Vol. V. Le surdoué à la mi-vie: suivi de l'enfant supérieur à trente-cinq ans. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.
  • Terrassier, J.C. (1981/2004). Les enfants surdoués ou la précocité embarrassante (6 e éd.). Paris, ESF.

LE MATIN DES MAGICIENS (AUDIOBOOK) - JACQUES BERGIER, LOUIS PAUWELS - PARTIE 3 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes