yes, therapy helps!
Half of our friendships may not be returned, according to a study

Half of our friendships may not be returned, according to a study

May 6, 2021

Friendship is one of the most important elements in the life of most people, but at the same time, it is very difficult to quantify.

This is so, among other things, because as happens in relationships, friendship is not something that you can own, but a relationship dynamic that involves more than one person . And this is what often makes it unclear if the degree of intensity that we attribute to that relationship is close to the way in which the other person perceives this affective bond.

When friendship is mere imposture ...

But, as the human being is an animal and intelligent, surely we are very good at assessing whether our friends consider us friends ... right?


Well, a recent study published in PLOS ONE suggests that approximately half of our friendships could be unrequited . That is to say, that in a case of every two the person that we believe our friend does not see us as a relevant friendship, which could cause them to be considered false friends or, simply, people whose courtesy is taken by a true attachment.

How was the investigation conducted?

As a sample group to carry out this research, a group of 84 people with ages ranging from 23 to 38 years old was used. The purpose of the study was to see to what extent the relational dynamics of a community of people affect persuading its members, creating opinion streams, etc. However, one of the things that drew the most attention was related to another topic.


In order to have data to work with, the researchers asked them to rate at 5 the grade in which they considered friends to be the rest of the people, being 1 the option "is a stranger" and the 5 "best friend / to". Further, each individual had to score, also on a scale of 5 points, the degree to which he believed that the other person considered him friend or friend .

The results

In general, The vast majority of participants were optimistic when assessing how they were reciprocated in their friendly relations . In 94% of the cases, people used the same number to quantify the degree of friendship they felt and the degree to which they believed the other person corresponded to them. That is, there was a clear tendency to believe that relations were symmetric and bidirectional.


Judging by the data obtained, this optimism was based on an illusion. In 47% of the cases, the scores obtained were not the same .

Fake friends? What are your dark motivations?

There are many ways to interpret these results . One of them is to believe, simply, that the conclusions reached through this research do not correspond to reality. At the end of the day, it is only a study, and it is possible that there have been errors in the sampling, design or analysis of the data. Also, it is true that this could only happen in certain cultures or populations, and not in all the inhabitants of the planet. To know this, it would be necessary to investigate more.

Another way to take it is to believe that the results of this study are a reflection of what really happens in our relationships. It could be that human beings were exceptionally bad when it comes to distinguishing between real friends (which correspond to us) and others that only act in a similar way to what a friend would do.

But there is also another possible explanation: that these conclusions show the consequences of having many non-antagonistic personal relationships. That is, in a time when it is common to have 400 contacts on Facebook, many of whom congratulate us on our birthday without knowing each other, it is increasingly difficult to know who is kind in a totally spontaneous way and who only acts like that out of courtesy. .

At the end of the day, in a culture where image matters more and more, posturing and appearances can also involve what was once our network of relationships based on honesty and affectivity.


Making Friends Not Always Easy for Foreign Students (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La moitié de nos amitiés pourraient ne pas être restituées, selon une étude

La moitié de nos amitiés pourraient ne pas être restituées, selon une étude

Novembre 2, 2022

L’amitié est l’un des éléments les plus importants de la vie de la plupart des gens, mais il est également très difficile à quantifier.

C’est vrai, entre autres choses, car comme dans les relations amoureuses, l’amitié n’est pas quelque chose que vous pouvez posséder, mais une dynamique relationnelle impliquant plus d'une personne . Et c’est ce qui rend souvent difficile de savoir si le degré d’intensité que nous attribuons à cette relation est proche de la façon dont l’autre personne perçoit ce lien affectif.

Quand l'amitié n'est que pure imposture ...

Mais, l’être humain étant un animal intelligent, nous sommes certainement très doués pour évaluer si nos amis nous considèrent ou non comme des amis.


Eh bien, une étude récente publiée dans PLOS ONE suggère que environ la moitié de nos amitiés pourraient être non partagées . C’est-à-dire que, tous les deux cas, la personne que nous pensons que notre ami ne nous voit pas comme une amitié pertinente, ce qui pourrait les amener à être considérés comme de faux amis ou, tout simplement, à des personnes dont la courtoisie est prise par un véritable attachement.

Comment l'enquête a-t-elle été menée?

En tant qu'échantillon de groupe pour mener cette recherche, un groupe de 84 personnes âgées de 23 à 38 ans a été utilisé. Le but de l’étude était de voir dans quelle mesure la dynamique relationnelle d’une communauté de personnes affectait la persuasion de ses membres, la création de courants d’opinion, etc. Cependant, l’un des sujets ayant le plus attiré l’attention était lié à un autre sujet.


Pour pouvoir travailler avec des données, les chercheurs leur ont demandé d’évaluer à 5 le degré auquel ils considéraient leurs amis comme le reste des personnes, 1 étant l'option "est un étranger" et les 5 "meilleur ami / un ". En outre, chaque individu devait marquer, également sur une échelle de 5 points, le degré auquel il croyait que l'autre personne le considérait comme un ami ou un ami .

Les résultats

En général, La grande majorité des participants étaient optimistes lorsqu'ils ont évalué la réciprocité de leurs relations amicales. . Dans 94% des cas, les personnes utilisaient le même nombre pour quantifier le degré d'amitié qu'elles ressentaient et le degré auquel elles croyaient que l'autre personne leur correspondait. C'est-à-dire qu'il y avait une nette tendance à croire que les relations étaient symétriques et bidirectionnelles.


À en juger par les données obtenues, cet optimisme reposait sur une illusion. Dans 47% des cas, les scores obtenus n'étaient pas les mêmes .

Faux amis? Quelles sont vos motivations obscures?

Il y a plusieurs façons d'interpréter ces résultats . L’un d’eux est de croire simplement que les conclusions de cette recherche ne correspondent pas à la réalité. En fin de compte, il ne s’agit que d’une étude et il est possible que des erreurs aient été commises dans l’échantillonnage, la conception ou l’analyse des données. De plus, il est vrai que cela ne pourrait se produire que dans certaines cultures ou dans certaines populations, et non dans tous les habitants de la planète. Pour le savoir, il faudrait enquêter davantage.

Une autre façon de le comprendre est de croire que les résultats de cette étude reflètent ce qui se passe réellement dans nos relations. Il se peut que les êtres humains aient été exceptionnellement mauvais quand il s’agit de distinguer entre de vrais amis (qui nous correspondent) et d’autres qui agissent uniquement de la même manière que ce qu’un ami ferait.

Mais il y a aussi une autre explication possible: ces conclusions montrent les conséquences d'avoir de nombreuses relations personnelles non antagonistes. C’est-à-dire qu’au moment où il est courant d’avoir 400 contacts sur Facebook, dont beaucoup nous félicitent pour notre anniversaire de naissance sans nous connaître, il est de plus en plus difficile de savoir qui est gentil de manière totalement spontanée et qui n’agit que de la sorte par courtoisie. .

En fin de compte, dans une culture où l'image est de plus en plus importante, les postures et les apparences peuvent également concerner ce qui était autrefois notre réseau de relations fondé sur l'honnêteté et l'affectivité.


Secrets d'Histoire - Elles ont régné sur Versailles (Intégrale) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes