yes, therapy helps!
History of social psychology: development phases and main authors

History of social psychology: development phases and main authors

July 19, 2024

Roughly social psychology is responsible for studying the relationships between the individual and society . That is, he is interested in explaining and understanding the interaction between people and groups, produced in social life.

In turn, social life is understood as a system of interaction, with mechanisms and processes of particular communication, where the needs of one and the other create explicit and implicit norms, as well as meanings and structuring of relationships, behaviors and conflicts (Baró, 1990).

These objects of study could be traced from the most classical philosophical traditions, because the interest in understanding group dynamics in relation to the individual has been present even before the modern era.


However, the history of social psychology is usually told from the first empirical works , since these are what allow us to consider it as a discipline with sufficient "scientific validity", in contrast to the "speculative" character of philosophical traditions.

Having said this, we will now see a journey through the history of social psychology, beginning with the first works of the late nineteenth century, until the crisis and contemporary traditions.

  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

First stage: society as a whole

Social psychology began its development in the course of the nineteenth century and is permeated by a fundamental question, which had also impregnated the production of knowledge in other social sciences. This question is the following: What is it that holds us together within a certain social order? (Baró, 1990).


Under the influence of the dominant currents in psychology and sociology, fundamentally settled in Europe, the answers to this question were found around the idea of ​​a "group mind" that keeps us with each other beyond the individual interests and our differences .

This occurs in parallel with the development of the same disciplines, where the works of different authors are representative. In the psychological field, Wilhelm Wundt studied the mental products generated in community and the links they produced. For his part, Sigmund Freud argued that the bond is sustained by affective ties and collective identification processes, especially in relation to the same leader.

From sociology, Émile Durkheim spoke about the existence of a collective conscience (a normative knowledge) that can not be understood as an individual conscience but as a social fact and a coercive force. On the other hand, Max Weber suggested that what holds us together is ideology , since from this the interests become values ​​and specific objectives.


These approaches started from considering society as a whole, from where it is possible to analyze how individual needs are linked to needs of the same whole.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Wilhelm Wundt: biography of the father of scientific psychology"

Second stage: social psychology at the turn of the century

Baró (1990) calls this period, which corresponds to the early twentieth century, "the Americanization of social psychology", while the center of their studies ends moving from Europe to the United States. In this context, the question is no longer so much what it is that holds us together in a social order (in the "whole"), but what is what leads us at the beginning to integrate ourselves into it. In other words, the question is how is it that an individual integrates harmoniously to this social order .

The latter corresponds to two problems of the American context of the moment: on the one hand the growing immigration and the need to integrate people in a determined scheme of values ​​and interactions; and on the other, the demands of the rise of industrial capitalism .

At the methodological level, the production of data backed by the criteria of modern science, beyond theoretical production, takes on special relevance here, with which the experimental approach that was already developing begins its peak.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Social influence and individual focus

It is in the year of 1908 when the first works in social psychology arise. Its authors were two North American scholars called William McDougall (who put special emphasis on the psychological) and Edmund A. Ross (whose emphasis was more focused on the social). The first of them argued that the human being has a series of innate or instinctive tendencies that psychology can analyze from a social approach . That is, he argued that psychology could account for how society "moralizes" or "socializes" people.

On the other hand, Ross considered that beyond studying the influence of society on the individual, social psychology should address the interaction between individuals. That is, suggested to study the processes by which we influence each other, as well as differentiate between the different types of influences we exert.

An important connection between psychology and sociology arises at this time. In fact, during the development of symbolic interactionism and the works of George Mead, a tradition frequently emerges called "Sociological Social Psychology", which theorized about the use of language in the interaction and meanings of social behavior.

But, perhaps the most remembered of the founders of social psychology is the German Kurt Lewin . The latter gave a definitive identity to the study of the groups, which was decisive for the consolidation of social psychology as a discipline for the purpose of self-study.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Kurt Lewin and Field Theory: the birth of social psychology"

Development of the experimental approach

As social psychology became consolidated, it was necessary to develop a method of study that, under the positivist canons of modern science, would definitively legitimize this discipline. In this sense, and the pair of the "Social Sociological Psychology", a "Psychological Social Psychology" was developed, more linked to behaviorism, experimentalism and logical positivism .

Hence, one of the most influential works of this moment is that of John B. Watson, who considered that for psychology to be scientific, it had to separate definitively from metaphysics and philosophy, as well as adopt the approach and methods of "Hard sciences" (the physicochemical).

From this the behavior begins to be studied in terms of what is possible to observe. And it is the psychologist Floyd Allport who in the decade of the 20's ends up moving the Watsonian approach towards the exercise of social psychology.

In this line, social activity is considered as the result of the sum of the states and individual reactions; issue that ends up moving the focus of study towards the psychology of individuals, especially under the laboratory space and controls .

This model, of empirical cut, was concentrated mainly in the production of data, as well as in obtaining general laws under a model of "the social thing" in terms of pure interaction between organisms studied within a laboratory; which ended up distancing social psychology from the reality it was supposed to study (Íñiguez-Rueda, 2003).

The latter will be criticized later by other approaches to social psychology and other disciplines, which, coupled with the following political conflicts, will lead the social sciences to an important theoretical and methodological crisis .

After the Second World War

The Second World War and its consequences at the individual, social, political and economic level brought with it new issues that, among other things, resituated the task of social psychology.

The areas of interest at this time were mainly the study of group phenomena (especially in small groups, as a reflection of large groups), the processes of training and change of attitudes, as well as the development of personality as a reflex and the engine of society (Baró, 1990).

There was also a major concern to understand what was under the apparent unity of the groups and social cohesion. And on the other hand, there was growing interest in the study of social norms, attitudes, conflict resolution; Y the explanation of phenomena such as altruism, obedience and conformism .

For example, the works of Muzafer and Carolyn Sheriff in conflict and social norms are representative of this time. In the area of ​​attitudes, the studies of Carl Hovland are representative, and the experiments of Solomon Asch are classic. In obedience, Stanley Milgram's experiments are classic .

On the other hand, there was a group of psychologists and social theorists concerned about understand what elements the Nazi regime had unleashed and the Second World War. Among others here arises the Frankfurt School and critical theory , whose maximum exponent is Theodore W. Adorno. This opens the way to the next stage in the history of social psychology, marked by a disenchantment and skepticism towards the same discipline.

Third stage: the crisis of social psychology

Not without the previous approaches having disappeared, the decade of the 60's opens up new reflections and debates about the what, the how and why of social psychology (Íñiguez-Rueda, 2003).

This is the framework of the military and political defeat of the American vision, which among other things showed that the social sciences were not alien to historical conflicts and to the structures of power, but on the contrary (Baró, 1990). As a result, different ways of validating social psychology emerged, which developed in constant tension and negotiation with traditional approaches more positivist and experimentalist.

Some characteristics of the crisis

The crisis was not only caused by external factors, among which were also the protest movements, the "crisis of values", the changes in the global productive structure and the questions about the models that dominated the social sciences (Iñiguez-Rueda , 2003).

Internally, the principles that sustained and legitimized traditional social psychology (and the social sciences in general) were strongly questioned. They emerge like this new ways of seeing and doing science and of producing knowledge . Among these elements were mainly the vague nature of social psychology and the tendency to experimental research, which began to be considered as very far from the social realities that studied.

In the European context the works of psychologists such as Serge Moscovici and Henry Tajfel were key , and later the sociologists Peter L. Berger and Thomas Luckmann, among many others.

From here, reality begins to be seen as a construction. In addition, there is growing interest in a conflictive approach to the social order, and finally, a concern for the political role of social psychology and its transformative potential (Baró, 1990). Faced with sociological social psychology and psychological social psychology, a critical social psychology emerges in this context.

To give an example and following Iñiguez-Rueda (2003), we will see two approaches that were detached from the contemporary paradigms of social psychology.

The professional approach

In this approach, social psychology is also called applied social psychology and even can include community social psychology . Broadly speaking, it is the professional inclination towards intervention.

It is not so much about "applying the theory" in the social context, but about valuing the theoretical and knowledge production that was carried out during the intervention itself. Acts especially under the premise of looking for solutions to social problems outside the academic and / or experimental context, and the technology that had gone through much of social psychology.

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between social psychology and community psychology"

Transdisciplinary approach

It is one of the paradigms of critical social psychology, where beyond being an interdisciplinary approach, which would imply the connection or collaboration between different disciplines, it is about maintain this collaboration without the strict division between one and another .

Among these disciplines are, for example, psychology, anthropology, linguistics, sociology. In this context, it is particularly interesting to develop reflexive practices and research with a sense of social relevance.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baró, M. (1990). Action and ideology. Social Psychology from Central America. UCA Editors: El Salvador.
  • Íñiguez-Rueda, L. (2003). Social Psychology as Critical: Continuity, Stability and Effervescence. Three Decades after the "Crisis". Inter-American Journal of Psychology, 37 (2): 221-238.
  • Seidmann, S. (S / A). History of Social Psychology Retrieved September 28, 2018. Available at //www.psi.uba.ar/academica/carrerasdegrado/psicologia/sitios_catedras/obligatorias/035_psicologia_social1/material/descargas/historia_psico_social.pdf.

The Growth of Knowledge: Crash Course Psychology #18 (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Histoire de la psychologie sociale: phases de développement et auteurs principaux

Histoire de la psychologie sociale: phases de développement et auteurs principaux

Juillet 6, 2020

En gros la psychologie sociale est chargée d'étudier les relations entre l'individu et la société . C'est-à-dire qu'il s'intéresse à expliquer et à comprendre l'interaction entre les personnes et les groupes, produite dans la vie sociale.

A son tour, la vie sociale est comprise comme un système d’interaction, avec des mécanismes et des processus de communication particuliers, où les besoins de l’un et de l’autre créent des normes explicites et implicites, ainsi que des significations et une structuration des relations, des comportements et des conflits (Baró, 1990).

Ces objets d'étude pourraient être retrouvés dans les traditions philosophiques les plus classiques, car l'intérêt de comprendre la dynamique de groupe en relation avec l'individu était présent même avant l'ère moderne.


Cependant, l'histoire de la psychologie sociale est généralement racontée à partir des premiers travaux empiriques , puisque c’est ce qui nous permet de le considérer comme une discipline ayant une "validité scientifique" suffisante, contrairement au caractère "spéculatif" des traditions philosophiques.

Cela dit, nous allons maintenant assister à un voyage à travers l’histoire de la psychologie sociale, en commençant par les premiers travaux de la fin du XIXe siècle, jusqu’à la crise et les traditions contemporaines.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Première étape: la société dans son ensemble

La psychologie sociale a commencé son développement au cours du XIXe siècle et se heurte à une question fondamentale qui avait également imprégné la production de connaissances dans d'autres sciences sociales. Cette question est la suivante: Qu'est-ce qui nous unit dans un certain ordre social? (Baró, 1990).


Sous l'influence des courants dominants en psychologie et en sociologie, fondamentalement installés en Europe, les réponses à cette question ont été trouvées autour de l'idée d'un "esprit de groupe" qui nous maintient entre nous au-delà des intérêts individuels et de nos différences. .

Cela se produit parallèlement au développement des mêmes disciplines, où les œuvres d'auteurs différents sont représentatives. Dans le domaine psychologique, Wilhelm Wundt a étudié les produits mentaux générés dans la communauté et les liens qu'ils ont produits. Pour sa part, Sigmund Freud a soutenu que le lien est maintenu par des liens affectifs et des processus d'identification collective, en particulier par rapport au même leader.

Émile Durkheim a parlé de la sociologie de l’existence d’une conscience collective (une connaissance normative) qui ne peut être comprise comme une conscience individuelle, mais comme un fait social et une force coercitive. Pour sa part, Max Weber a suggéré que ce qui nous unit, c'est l'idéologie puisque de là les intérêts deviennent des valeurs et des objectifs spécifiques.


Ces approches ont commencé à considérer la société dans son ensemble, à partir de laquelle il est possible d'analyser comment les besoins individuels sont liés aux besoins du même ensemble.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Wilhelm Wundt: biographie du père de la psychologie scientifique"

Deuxième étape: la psychologie sociale au tournant du siècle

Baró (1990) appelle cette période, qui correspond au début du XXe siècle, "l'américanisation de la psychologie sociale", tandis que le centre de leurs études s'achève en passant de l'Europe aux États-Unis. Dans ce contexte, la question n’est plus tant de savoir ce qui nous unit dans un ordre social (dans le "tout"), mais ce qui nous amène au début à nous y intégrer. En d'autres termes, la question est comment se fait-il qu'un individu s'intègre harmonieusement à cet ordre social .

Ce dernier correspond à deux problèmes du contexte américain du moment: d’une part, l’immigration croissante et la nécessité d’intégrer les personnes dans un ensemble déterminé de valeurs et d’interactions; et de l'autre, les exigences de la montée du capitalisme industriel .

Au niveau méthodologique, la production de données reposant sur les critères de la science moderne, au-delà de la production théorique, revêt ici une importance particulière, avec laquelle l'approche expérimentale déjà en cours de développement commence à atteindre son apogée.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Influence sociale et focalisation individuelle

C'est en 1908 que débutent les premiers travaux en psychologie sociale. Ses auteurs étaient deux érudits nord-américains, William McDougall (qui mettait un accent particulier sur le psychologique) et Edmund A. Ross (qui mettait l'accent sur le social). Le premier d'entre eux a fait valoir que l'être humain a une série de tendances innées ou instinctives que la psychologie peut analyser à partir d'une approche sociale . C'est-à-dire qu'il a soutenu que la psychologie pourrait expliquer la manière dont la société "moralise" ou "socialise" les gens.

De son côté, Ross considérait qu'outre l'étude de l'influence de la société sur l'individu, la psychologie sociale devrait traiter des interactions entre les individus. C’est-à-dire suggéré d’étudier les processus par lesquels nous nous influençons, ainsi que de différencier les différents types d’influences que nous exerçons.

Un lien important entre la psychologie et la sociologie se pose à ce moment-là. En fait, au cours du développement de l'interactionnisme symbolique et des travaux de George Mead, une tradition souvent appelée "Psychologie sociale sociologique" émerge, qui théorise l'utilisation du langage dans les interactions et les significations du comportement social.

Mais L’allemand Kurt Lewin est peut-être le plus connu des fondateurs de la psychologie sociale. . Ce dernier a donné une identité définitive à l’étude des groupes, ce qui a été déterminant pour la consolidation de la psychologie sociale en tant que discipline d’auto-apprentissage.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Kurt Lewin et la théorie des champs: la naissance de la psychologie sociale"

Développement de l'approche expérimentale

Au fur et à mesure que la psychologie sociale se consolidait, il était nécessaire de développer une méthode d'étude qui, sous les canons positivistes de la science moderne, légitimerait définitivement cette discipline. En ce sens, et la paire de "psychologie socio-sociologique", une "psychologie sociale psychologique" a été développée, plus liés au behaviorisme, à l'expérimentalisme et au positivisme logique .

Par conséquent, l'un des ouvrages les plus influents de ce moment est celui de John B. Watson, qui considérait que pour que la psychologie soit scientifique, elle devait se séparer définitivement de la métaphysique et de la philosophie, tout en adoptant l'approche et les méthodes de la psychologie. "Sciences dures" (le physicochimique).

A partir de là, le comportement commence à être étudié en fonction de ce qu'il est possible d'observer. Et c'est le psychologue Floyd Allport qui dans les années 20 finit par déplacer l'approche Watsonienne vers l'exercice de la psychologie sociale.

Dans cette ligne, l'activité sociale est considérée comme le résultat de la somme des états et des réactions individuelles; question qui finit par déplacer le centre de l’étude vers la psychologie des individus, en particulier sous l'espace laboratoire et contrôles .

Ce modèle de coupe empirique s’est surtout concentré sur la production de données, ainsi que sur l’obtention de lois générales sous un modèle du "social" en termes d’interaction pure entre des organismes étudiés au sein d’un laboratoire; ce qui a fini par éloigner la psychologie sociale de la réalité qu’elle était censée étudier (Íñiguez-Rueda, 2003).

Ce dernier sera critiqué plus tard par d’autres approches de la psychologie sociale et d’autres disciplines qui, associées aux conflits politiques suivants, mènera les sciences sociales à une crise théorique et méthodologique importante .

Après la seconde guerre mondiale

La Seconde Guerre mondiale et ses conséquences sur les plans individuel, social, politique et économique ont entraîné de nouveaux problèmes qui, entre autres choses, ont relancé la tâche de la psychologie sociale.

Les domaines d’intérêt à cette époque étaient principalement l’étude des phénomènes de groupe (particulièrement dans les petits groupes, en tant que reflet de grands groupes), les processus de formation et de changement d’attitudes, ainsi que le développement de la personnalité en tant que réflexe. et le moteur de la société (Baró, 1990).

Il y avait également un souci majeur de comprendre ce qui était sous l'unité apparente des groupes et la cohésion sociale. D'autre part, l'étude des normes sociales, des attitudes, de la résolution des conflits suscitait un intérêt croissant. et l'explication de phénomènes tels que l'altruisme, l'obéissance et le conformisme .

Par exemple, les travaux de Muzafer et Carolyn Sheriff sur les conflits et les normes sociales sont représentatifs de cette époque. Dans le domaine des attitudes, les études de Carl Hovland sont représentatives et les expériences de Solomon Asch sont classiques. En obéissance, les expériences de Stanley Milgram sont classiques .

D'autre part, il y avait un groupe de psychologues et de théoriciens de la société préoccupés par comprendre quels éléments le régime nazi avait déchaînés et la seconde guerre mondiale. Entre autres voici l'École de Francfort et la théorie critique , dont l’exposant maximum est Theodore W. Adorno. Cela ouvre la voie à la prochaine étape de l'histoire de la psychologie sociale, marquée par un désenchantement et un scepticisme envers la même discipline.

Troisième étape: la crise de la psychologie sociale

Non sans que les approches précédentes aient disparu, la décennie des années 60 ouvre de nouvelles réflexions et débats sur le quoi, le comment et le pourquoi de la psychologie sociale (Íñiguez-Rueda, 2003).

C’est le cadre de la défaite militaire et politique de la vision américaine, qui a notamment montré que les sciences sociales n'étaient pas étrangères aux conflits historiques et aux structures du pouvoir, mais au contraire (Baró, 1990). En conséquence, différentes manières de valider la psychologie sociale ont émergé, qui se sont développées en tension constante et en négociation avec les approches traditionnelles plus positivistes et expérimentales.

Quelques caractéristiques de la crise

La crise n’a pas été uniquement causée par des facteurs externes, tels que les mouvements de protestation, la "crise des valeurs", les modifications de la structure productive globale et les questions relatives aux modèles qui ont dominé les sciences sociales (Iñiguez-Rueda). , 2003).

Sur le plan interne, les principes qui ont soutenu et légitimé la psychologie sociale traditionnelle (et les sciences sociales en général) ont été fortement remis en question. Ils émergent comme ça nouvelles façons de voir et de faire de la science et de produire des connaissances . Parmi ces éléments figuraient principalement la nature vague de la psychologie sociale et la tendance à la recherche expérimentale, qui commençait à être considérée comme très éloignée des réalités sociales étudiées.

Dans le contexte européen les travaux de psychologues tels que Serge Moscovici et Henry Tajfel étaient essentiels et plus tard les sociologues Peter L. Berger et Thomas Luckmann, parmi beaucoup d'autres.

À partir de là, la réalité commence à être perçue comme une construction. En outre, une approche conflictuelle de l'ordre social suscite un intérêt croissant et, enfin, une préoccupation pour le rôle politique de la psychologie sociale et son potentiel de transformation (Baró, 1990). Face à la psychologie sociale sociologique et à la psychologie sociale psychologique, une psychologie sociale critique émerge dans ce contexte.

À titre d'exemple, et à la suite d'Iñiguez-Rueda (2003), nous verrons deux approches détachées des paradigmes contemporains de la psychologie sociale.

L'approche professionnelle

Dans cette approche, la psychologie sociale s’appelle aussi psychologie sociale appliquée et même peut inclure la psychologie sociale communautaire . En gros, c’est l’inclination professionnelle à l’intervention.

Il ne s'agit pas tant d '"appliquer la théorie" dans le contexte social, mais de valoriser la production théorique et de connaissances réalisée au cours de l'intervention elle-même. Agit en particulier dans le but de rechercher des solutions à des problèmes sociaux en dehors du contexte académique et / ou expérimental et de la technologie qui a connu une grande partie de la psychologie sociale.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre la psychologie sociale et la psychologie communautaire"

Approche transdisciplinaire

C’est l’un des paradigmes de la psychologie sociale critique, où au-delà d’une approche interdisciplinaire, qui impliquerait la connexion ou la collaboration entre différentes disciplines, il maintenir cette collaboration sans la stricte division entre les uns et les autres .

Parmi ces disciplines figurent, par exemple, la psychologie, l'anthropologie, la linguistique, la sociologie. Dans ce contexte, il est particulièrement intéressant de développer des pratiques réflexives et des recherches ayant un sens de pertinence sociale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baró, M. (1990). Action et idéologie. Psychologie sociale d'Amérique centrale. Editeurs UCA: El Salvador.
  • Íñiguez-Rueda, L. (2003). La psychologie sociale en tant que critique: continuité, stabilité et effervescence. Trois décennies après la "crise". Journal interaméricain de psychologie, 37 (2): 221-238.
  • Seidmann, S. (S / A). Histoire de la psychologie sociale Récupéré le 28 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.psi.uba.ar/academica/carrerasdegrado/psicologia/sitios_catedras/obligatorias/035_psicologia_social1/material/descargas/historia_psico_social.pdf.

Être heureux en toute circonstance : être heureux en Alaska de Rafael Santandreu (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes