yes, therapy helps!
How to educate in positive: 15 examples and practical strategies

How to educate in positive: 15 examples and practical strategies

September 15, 2022

The objective of this article is to offer guidelines that promote positive education , involving parents, teachers and any professional who works with children, providing an education based on the establishment of standards, clarification of boundaries, affection, preserving the rights of children and adults.

I will divide it into 3 blocks: how to favor appropriate behaviors, how to reduce inappropriate behaviors and how to help you be a positive child.

  • Related article: "Positive discipline: educating from mutual respect"

How to reinforce appropriate or pro-social behaviors

Is about select the desired or appropriate behaviors to be performed by the minor (example: start doing homework at a certain time, brush your teeth, take care of your brother, leave your clothes in the basket ...). For this we use two techniques:


1. Positive reinforcement

They are compliments while performing appropriate behavior, social, verbal or playful prizes for doing something suitable. For example: if you are quietly on the couch watching TV with your little sister, say "I love that you behave like that, you are a champion", while we give a touch on the shoulder.

These reinforcements must be done immediately, while you are doing it. We must use it both with behaviors that we consider correct and that the child performs (to favor the fact that he continues to do so), and with new behaviors that do not exist in his behavioral repertoire. This will favor the increase in the frequency of an already existing behavior although at a low rate.


  • Related article: "Operant conditioning: concepts and main techniques"

2. Points program

It consists of selecting the behaviors that we want to increase (doing homework, writing down the agenda, going out with friends, brushing teeth ...). Once selected we will choose a reinforcer for each of them . The ideal is to spend time with pleasant activities (watching TV, computer, eating something you like, playing with the child to something we know you love ...).

At first there must be immediacy between the performance of the desired behavior and the award . For this we can make a table that is a schedule of tasks. In the rows we would indicate the conducts to perform, in the columns the days.

Every time you do one of these behaviors you must put a point (can be with a sticker, make a cross, color it ...), if you do not, that box remains blank (avoid sad faces, negative points, red ...).


If you forget any of the tasks, you can remind them: "There is something you could do to get another point and you have forgotten, look at the schedule what it is". In case of older children, instead of using a table, we could write it as a contract, with the conduct to be performed and the corresponding bonus clause (prize) and sanction clause.

My advice is that if the child does the homework he receives the prize and if he does not the sanction is the deprivation of said prize . For example: "if you do your homework you will have free time to play; if you do not do it you will not have it "," if you eat in 30 minutes you will have the dessert that you like the most; If you do not eat in 30 minutes there will be no dessert. "

  • Related article: "Token economy: how is it used to motivate changes?"

How to reduce the frequency of inappropriate behavior?

Below you can find strategies that try to minimize or reduce all disruptive or dysfunctional behavior.

1. Extinction

Consists in "Ignore" the inappropriate behavior of the child (tantrum, anger, threats, insults). Saying "do not do it anymore", "be quiet", "I'm going to get angry" ... is a way of paying attention to him, so he will continue to do so.

We must withdraw the reinforcing consequence (attention) to the emission of inappropriate behavior, so that the child learns the association between doing something inappropriate - not paying attention to it. We must ignore this type of verbalizations and behaviors not yielding to them at any time .

2. Time Out

It consists of removing the child physically from the current space to move it to your room or another place , for a short time. It can also be the parents who leave the place where the child is in the case of being unviable what I said above.

It will be done immediately to dysfunctional behavior , so that the child associates him directly with this action, with a neutral attitude, using a tone of voice as objective as possible, avoiding any attitude of anger, without scolding or shouting.

We will do it without establishing social interaction with him. In the case that the child asks why we do that to him, we will give him a concrete explanation, and without emotional charge, of the motive . We can remove the child from the reinforcing situation (for example, instigate him to go to his room and leave the room where he is hitting his brother), or eliminate the stimulus that causes the bad behavior (for example if the child begins to throw with a spoon the food you do not want to eat, remove the spoon).

The application time will be approximately 5 minutes, it will never exceed 10 , and always with supervision. The child may return to the place where he was, or we return to the site where the conflict occurred when his behavior at the last minute was adequate, trying not to do so while displaying inappropriate behavior such as screams, threats, blows ...

  • Related article: "Time out: what is this behavior modification technique?

3. Overcorrection

The boy "Replenish" the damage caused . You must practice the correct way to perform the task or what you are asked to do. This technique is used for behaviors that cause damage or cause deterioration (for example: intentionally spilling milk on the table).

In these cases we must encourage the child to undo or repair the damage through positive behaviors (in this case picking up spilled milk with a rag). This may not be easy, but it is essential that the child assumes his responsibility , recognizing what you have done, solving it as soon as possible.

If the child is reluctant to practice, you must help him perform the correct actions with his hands (if he does not want to pick up, take his hands and guide them as if they were those of a robot, picking them up and depositing them in the right place).

Crying, tantrums or resistance should be ignored , tried to keep calm but firm until the task is over or the child begins to do it alone. Let's not forget, once the task is finished, praise and reinforce obedience.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to improve family communication? 4 keys"

How to make the child positive?

How to tell a child to do something? The instructions must be brief, clear and specific . Give orders one by one, using positive phrases, "do" (for example: "throw the garbage before playing the Wii", instead of "you have not thrown the garbage yet, right?").

They are recommended "Yes-then" positive sentences . For example: "if you do your homework you can go out on the street", "if you pick up your room you can watch TV". If possible, we will give you options so that you can choose (for example: if you have to take a shower, you can choose whether to do it before or after studying, as long as it complies).

We have to praise his obedience and, as we see throughout the article, establish consequences for it. It is useful to give useful reminders and reminders (for example: "when the news song sounds, you know you have to go to bed"). Parents, teachers or adults who surround the child must agree among us, avoiding unnecessary or contradictory orders, without threatening the child (for example, an incorrect way would be: "Pablo, when are you going to throw away the garbage?", "If you do not behave well, I'll have to punish you", "is it so difficult to order your room?" ...)

Using the guidelines seen above, we could say something like: "Pablo, go and throw the garbage before playing the Wii", "if you play with your sister without making her cry, I will take you to the park of the swings", "if you order your room you can take the tablet "). Let's practice the "where I said cost I say prize" (For example: instead of "if you forget to brush your teeth I will forget to give you sweets", we will say "if you brush your teeth after eating, you can eat sweets this afternoon").

  • You may be interested: "Are negative emotions as bad as they seem?"

How to help you think positive

Negative thoughts ("It's going to hurt me") produce a negative view of the child ("I am bad"). For this reason we should try to avoid generalizations ("this time it has not gone as well as yesterday" instead of "it has gone wrong").

When we generalize (we use the whole, never, never, always ...), we create a label. The distortion of thought is an inadequate way of thinking that generates children a distorted view of those who are preventing them from seeing reality, negatively affecting your mood and in an unruly behavior.

One way to help is offer you an alternative instead of judging (for example: If you make a mistake in a game, we could say "look if you do it like that, it will work out better", instead of saying "you did it wrong", and not giving it a chance to improve).

How to tell what we feel bad

it implies emit a positive expression before and after a negative expression , a complaint, rejection or a request. With this, we soften the negative expression, and increase the likelihood that the recipient will hear the negative message clearly and with less discomfort.

Example: a student has done a job that is below his usual performance, and you would not want his pace to drop. According to this technique we could say something like: "the truth is that I am very happy with all your work, although I think that something has gone loose, but I am sure that the next one will be in line with the rest of the works of the whole course!

Children need to feel loved , and also need to have limits in order to internalize and establish standards preventing the breach and future sanctions of these. Helping them to have a good image of themselves will be a source of positive emotions and actions according to their objectives, so we must avoid negative labels, specifying what could have done wrong "this time" instead of "always" or " never ", providing an alternative or possible solution, always reinforcing what you do well.


Teaching Methods for Inspiring the Students of the Future | Joe Ruhl | TEDxLafayette (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment éduquer de manière positive: 15 exemples et stratégies pratiques

Comment éduquer de manière positive: 15 exemples et stratégies pratiques

Août 8, 2022

L'objectif de cet article est d'offrir des lignes directrices qui favorisent l'éducation positive , impliquant les parents, les enseignants et tout professionnel travaillant avec des enfants, assurant un enseignement basé sur l’établissement de normes, la clarification des frontières, l’affection, la préservation des droits des enfants et des adultes.

Je vais le diviser en 3 blocs: comment favoriser les comportements appropriés, comment réduire les comportements inappropriés et comment vous aider à être un enfant positif.

  • Article connexe: "Discipline positive: éduquer au respect mutuel"

Comment renforcer les comportements appropriés ou prosociaux

Il s'agit de sélectionner les comportements souhaités ou appropriés à effectuer par le mineur (exemple: commencer à faire ses devoirs à une certaine heure, se brosser les dents, prendre soin de son frère, laisser ses vêtements dans le panier ...). Pour cela, nous utilisons deux techniques:


1. Renforcement positif

Ils sont compliments tout en effectuant un comportement approprié, prix sociaux, verbaux ou ludiques pour faire quelque chose de convenable. Par exemple: si vous regardez tranquillement la télévision avec votre petite sœur sur le canapé, dites "J'aime que tu te comportes comme ça, tu es un champion", pendant que nous donnons une touche à l'épaule.

Ces renforts doivent être faits immédiatement, pendant que vous le faites. Nous devons l'utiliser à la fois avec les comportements que nous considérons comme corrects et que l'enfant exécute (pour favoriser le fait qu'il continue à le faire), et avec de nouveaux comportements qui n'existent pas dans son répertoire comportemental. Cela favorisera l'augmentation de la fréquence d'un comportement déjà existant, bien qu'à un taux faible.


  • Article connexe: "Conditionnement opérant: concepts et techniques principales"

2. Programme de points

Cela consiste à sélectionner les comportements que nous souhaitons développer (faire des devoirs, rédiger l'agenda, sortir avec des amis, se brosser les dents ...). Une fois sélectionné nous choisirons un renfort pour chacun d'eux . L'idéal est de passer du temps avec des activités agréables (regarder la télévision, regarder un ordinateur, manger ce que l'on aime, jouer avec l'enfant à quelque chose qu'on sait que l'on aime ...).

Au début il doit y avoir Immédiateté entre la performance du comportement souhaité et l'attribution . Pour cela, nous pouvons créer un tableau qui est un programme de tâches. Dans les lignes, nous indiquerions les comportements à effectuer, dans les colonnes, les jours.

Chaque fois que vous faites l'un de ces comportements vous devez mettre un point (peut être avec un autocollant, faire une croix, la colorier ...), si vous ne le faites pas, cette boîte reste vide (évitez les visages tristes, les points négatifs, le rouge ...).


Si vous oubliez une tâche, vous pouvez leur rappeler: "Il y a quelque chose que vous pouvez faire pour obtenir un autre point et que vous avez oublié, regardez le programme de ce que c'est". Dans le cas d’enfants plus âgés, au lieu d’utiliser une table, nous pourrions l’écrire sous forme de contrat, avec le comportement à exécuter et les clauses de bonus et de sanction correspondantes.

Mon conseil est que si l'enfant fait ses devoirs, il reçoit le prix et s'il ne le fait pas. la sanction est la privation dudit prix . Par exemple: "si vous faites vos devoirs, vous aurez du temps libre pour jouer; si vous ne le faites pas, vous ne l'aurez pas "," si vous mangez dans 30 minutes, vous aurez le dessert que vous aimez le plus; Si vous ne mangez pas dans 30 minutes, il n'y aura pas de dessert. "

  • Article connexe: "Economie de jetons: comment utilise-t-on les changements?"

Comment réduire la fréquence des comportements inappropriés?

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des stratégies visant à minimiser ou à réduire tous les comportements perturbateurs ou dysfonctionnels.

1. Extinction

Consiste en "Ignorer" le comportement inapproprié de l'enfant (crise de colère, colère, menaces, insultes). Dire «ne le fais plus», «tais-toi», «je vais me fâcher»… est une façon de prêter attention à lui, alors il continuera de le faire.

Nous devons retirer la conséquence (l'attention) renforçant l'émission de comportements inappropriés, afin que l'enfant apprenne le lien entre faire quelque chose d'inapproprié - ne pas y prêter attention. Nous devons ignorer ce type de verbalisations et de comportements ne pas leur céder à tout moment .

2. Temps mort

Cela consiste à retirer physiquement l'enfant de l'espace actuel pour déplacez-le dans votre chambre ou un autre endroit , pour une courte période. Il peut également s'agir des parents qui quittent l'endroit où se trouve l'enfant dans le cas où ce que j'ai dit ci-dessus n'est pas viable.

Il sera fait immédiatement au comportement dysfonctionnel , de sorte que l’enfant l’associe directement à cette action, avec une attitude neutre, en utilisant un ton de voix aussi objectif que possible, en évitant toute attitude de colère, sans gronder ni crier.

Nous le ferons sans établir d'interaction sociale avec lui. Dans le cas où l’enfant demande pourquoi nous le lui faisons, nous lui donnerons une explication concrète et sans charge émotionnelle du motif . Nous pouvons retirer l'enfant de la situation de renforcement (par exemple, l'inciter à aller dans sa chambre et à quitter la pièce où il frappe son frère), ou éliminer le stimulus qui cause le mauvais comportement (par exemple si l'enfant commence à lancer avec un cuillère la nourriture que vous ne voulez pas manger, retirez la cuillère).

Le temps d'application sera environ 5 minutes, il ne dépassera jamais 10 et toujours avec surveillance. L'enfant peut retourner à l'endroit où il se trouvait, ou nous retournons sur le lieu du conflit lorsque son comportement à la dernière minute était adéquat, en essayant de ne pas le faire tout en affichant un comportement inapproprié comme des cris, des menaces, des coups ...

  • Article associé: "Time out: quelle est cette technique de modification du comportement?"

3. Surcorrection

Le garçon "Reconstituer" les dégâts causés . Vous devez vous entraîner à exécuter correctement la tâche ou à accomplir ce que l'on vous demande de faire. Cette technique est utilisée pour les comportements qui causent des dommages ou provoquent une détérioration (par exemple: renverser intentionnellement du lait sur la table).

Dans ces cas, nous devons encourager l'enfant à réparer ou réparer les dommages par des comportements positifs (dans ce cas, ramasser le lait renversé avec un chiffon). Cela peut ne pas être facile, mais il est essentiel que l'enfant assume sa responsabilité , en reconnaissant ce que vous avez fait, en le résolvant dès que possible.

Si l'enfant hésite à pratiquer, vous devez l'aider à effectuer les actions correctes avec ses mains (s'il ne veut pas le prendre, prenez-le et guidez-le comme s'il s'agissait d'un robot, ramassez-le et déposez-le au bon endroit).

Les pleurs, les accès de colère ou la résistance doivent être ignorés , a essayé de rester calme mais ferme jusqu'à la fin de la tâche ou jusqu'à ce que l'enfant commence à le faire seul. N'oublions pas qu'une fois la tâche terminée, félicitez et renforcez l'obéissance.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Comment améliorer la communication familiale? 4 clés"

Comment rendre l'enfant positif?

Comment dire à un enfant de faire quelque chose? Les instructions doivent être brèves, claires et spécifiques . Donnez des ordres un à un, en utilisant des phrases positives, "do" (par exemple: "jetez les déchets avant de jouer à la Wii", au lieu de "vous n'avez pas encore jeté les déchets, n'est-ce pas?").

Ils sont recommandés "Oui-alors" phrases positives . Par exemple: "si vous faites vos devoirs, vous pouvez sortir dans la rue", "si vous prenez votre chambre, vous pouvez regarder la télévision". Si possible, nous vous donnerons des options afin que vous puissiez choisir (par exemple: si vous devez prendre une douche, vous pouvez choisir de le faire avant ou après les études, pourvu que cela soit conforme).

Nous devons louer son obéissance et, comme on le voit tout au long de l’article, en établir les conséquences. Il est utile de donner des rappels utiles et des rappels (par exemple: "quand la chanson de nouvelles sonne, vous savez que vous devez aller au lit"). Les parents, les enseignants ou les adultes qui entourent l’enfant doivent se mettre d’accord pour éviter les ordres inutiles ou contradictoires, sans menacer l’enfant (par exemple, une façon incorrecte serait: "Pablo, quand vas-tu jeter les ordures?" "Si vous ne vous comportez pas bien, je devrai vous punir", "est-ce si difficile de commander votre chambre?" ...)

En suivant les indications ci-dessus, nous pourrions dire quelque chose comme: "Pablo, va jeter la poubelle avant de jouer à la Wii", "si tu joues avec ta sœur sans la faire pleurer, je t'emmènerai au parc des balançoires" vous pouvez prendre la tablette "). Pratiquons le "où j'ai dit coûté je dis prix" (Par exemple: au lieu de "si vous oubliez de vous brosser les dents, j'oublie de vous donner des bonbons", nous dirons "si vous vous brossez les dents après avoir mangé, vous pourrez manger des bonbons cet après-midi").

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les émotions négatives sont-elles aussi mauvaises qu'elles le semblent?"

Comment vous aider à penser positif

Pensées négatives ("Ça va me faire mal") produit une vision négative de l'enfant ("Je suis mauvais"). Pour cette raison, nous devrions essayer d'éviter les généralisations ("cette fois, cela ne s'est pas passé aussi bien qu'hier" au lieu de "cela a mal tourné").

Lorsque nous généralisons (nous utilisons le tout, jamais, jamais, toujours ...), nous créons un label. La distorsion de la pensée est un mode de pensée inadéquat qui génère pour les enfants une vision déformée de ceux qui les empêchent de voir la réalité, affectant négativement votre humeur et dans un comportement indiscipliné.

Une façon d'aider est vous proposer une alternative au lieu de juger (par exemple: si vous faites une erreur dans un jeu, nous pourrions dire "regarde si tu le fais comme ça, ça marchera mieux", au lieu de dire "tu l'as mal fait", et ne pas lui donner une chance de s'améliorer).

Comment dire ce que nous nous sentons mal

Implique émettre une expression positive avant et après une expression négative , une plainte, un rejet ou une demande. Avec cela, nous atténuons l'expression négative et augmentons la probabilité que le destinataire entende le message négatif clairement et avec moins de gêne.

Exemple: un élève a fait un travail inférieur à sa performance habituelle et vous ne voudriez pas que son rythme baisse. Selon cette technique, nous pourrions dire quelque chose comme: "la vérité est que je suis très heureux de tout votre travail, bien que je pense que quelque chose s'est échappé, mais je suis sûr que le prochain sera en ligne avec le reste des travaux de tout le cours!

Les enfants ont besoin de se sentir aimés et doivent également avoir des limites pour internaliser et établir des normes empêchant la violation et les sanctions futures de celles-ci. Les aider à avoir une bonne image d’eux-mêmes sera une source d’émotions positives et d’actions en fonction de leurs objectifs. Nous devons donc éviter les étiquettes négatives, en précisant ce qui aurait pu mal tourner "cette fois" au lieu de "toujours" ou " jamais ", offrant une solution alternative ou possible, renforçant toujours ce que vous faites bien.


Pratiques efficaces en gestion de classe et relation maître-élèves. (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes