yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between group and team

The 5 differences between group and team

October 5, 2022

When working together hand in hand with other people, the dynamics that are established between workers make a difference. Although we devote the same time, the same material resources and a staff with a sufficient level of training, the fact of working in one way or another with these ingredients makes it happen more or less.

We'll see now what are the differences between group and team , given that it is this type of involvement and coordination that makes, with the same expense, productivity in companies and organizations be carried to its full potential, or not.

  • Related article: "Psychology of Work and Organizations: a profession of the future:"

Main differences between group and team

In regard to the world of Work and Organizational Psychology, the definitions used about what groups and teams are are different. And they are not only theoretical, but as we will see they refer to two types of phenomena that produce very different results.


1. Individualist vision and collectivist vision

The groups are, basically, groups of people who share a space, a place, and who show a certain degree of tolerance between them, which makes it something stable.

In the context of companies and organizations, a group is also a functional piece of a system of people that produces something, whether commercial purposes or not. However, having a useful function done does not mean that the group has a shared goal. Instead, each person has their goal .

In other words, this type of association is governed by individualism: people reach an agreement to reach a goal that they had already set a priori individually.


The team, on the other hand, moves through collectivism, the notion that there are experiences that can only be lived by uniting and connecting with others and that certain goals are fundamentally collective in nature . For example, the protection of the environment is not an objective that can be reached objectively, and in the same way a creative task in which several artists must work, either.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 best Masters in Psychology of Organizations and Human Resources"

2. Proactive or passive spirit

The teams adapt in real time to the contingencies, since all the people who compose them go to one. If a need arises different from those that were defining work, for example, it is not necessary to convince others to adapt to this new circumstance; in any case, new proposals are reported and jointly sought.


In groups, on the other hand, the mentality leads to an attitude defined by passivity. For this reason, for example, if unforeseen changes appear, re-negotiate with the individuals that form it , given that they can stick to the idea that they do not have to do anything more than what they had been doing before.

3. Communication agility or verticality

In groups, communication flows tend to be vertical, given that they are limited to hierarchical relations specified in the organization chart; simply, it is not obligatory to establish other routes through which the information circulates.

On the computers, on the other hand, communication also flows a lot informally , although those communicative routes do not appear in the organization chart.

4. Flexibility and rigidity

In the teams, the number one priority is to make the group adapt to the changes and reach the goals set collectively, and therefore the formal is subject to the useful. Although it seems contradictory, it often yields better if you know how to put aside the rigid structure of the rules fixed in writing (yes, with the agreement of all parties involved).

In groups, on the other hand, the rigidity of the rules is used not for its usefulness, but as an excuse not to face new situations or have to work more during the adaptation phase to the changing situations that come our way. In other words, the rules are assumed as a dogma, something that must be followed to avoid complications, although this, paradoxically, may lead to certain problems caused by the lack of adaptation to change becoming chronic and generating totally avoidable inconveniences.

5. Potential before opportunity or blindness to it

Teams are always much more skilled at detecting hidden opportunities, given that communication flows and does not penalize the proposal of ideas that "break the schemes".

In groups, on the other hand, the simple idea of ​​veering the direction of what was being done causes rejection , and a very good excuse is needed for something as simple as proposing new strategies or group interests.This means that, even if an opportunity is sensed, never go beyond this phase, and neither that possibility is valued nor, of course, new missions are undertaken. On many occasions the person who has come up with the idea does not even communicate it to a co-worker.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre groupe et équipe

Les 5 différences entre groupe et équipe

Août 3, 2022

Lorsque l'on travaille ensemble avec d'autres personnes, la dynamique qui s'établit entre les travailleurs fait la différence. Même si nous consacrons le même temps, les mêmes ressources matérielles et un personnel suffisamment formé, le fait de travailler d’une manière ou d’une autre avec ces ingrédients le rend plus ou moins réalisable.

Ensuite nous verrons quelles sont les différences entre groupe et équipe , étant donné que c’est ce type d’implication et de coordination qui permet, avec la même dépense, que la productivité des entreprises et des organisations soit pleinement exploitée, ou non.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir:"

Principales différences entre le groupe et l'équipe

En ce qui concerne le monde du travail et la psychologie organisationnelle, les définitions utilisées pour définir les groupes et les équipes sont différentes. Et ils ne sont pas seulement théoriques, mais comme nous le verrons, ils font référence à deux types de phénomènes qui produisent des résultats très différents.


1. Vision individualiste et vision collectiviste

Les groupes sont, en gros, des groupes de personnes qui partagent un espace, un lieu et qui manifestent un certain degré de tolérance entre eux, ce qui en fait une chose stable.

Dans le contexte des entreprises et des organisations, un groupe est également un élément fonctionnel d'un système de personnes qui produit quelque chose, que ce soit à des fins commerciales ou non. Cependant, avoir une fonction utile ne signifie pas que le groupe a un objectif commun. Au lieu de cela, chaque personne a son objectif .

En d'autres termes, ce type d'association est régi par l'individualisme: les gens parviennent à un accord pour atteindre un objectif qu'ils se sont déjà fixé a priori individuellement.


L’équipe, quant à elle, évolue dans le collectivisme, dans l’idée qu’il existe des expériences qui ne peuvent être vécues que par l’union et la connexion avec les autres et que certains objectifs sont fondamentalement de nature collective . Par exemple, la protection de l'environnement n'est pas un objectif qui peut être atteint de manière objective, ni de la même manière une tâche créative dans laquelle plusieurs artistes doivent travailler.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 meilleurs masters en psychologie des organisations et des ressources humaines"

2. Esprit proactif ou passif

Les équipes s’adaptent en temps réel aux imprévus, puisque toutes les personnes qui les composent vont à un. Si un besoin différent de celui qui définissait le travail apparaît, par exemple, il n’est pas nécessaire de convaincre les autres de s’adapter à cette nouvelle situation; dans tous les cas, les nouvelles propositions sont signalées et recherchées conjointement.


Dans les groupes, au contraire, la mentalité mène à une attitude définie par la passivité. Pour cette raison, par exemple, si des modifications imprévues apparaissent, renégocier avec les individus qui le composent , étant donné qu'ils peuvent s'en tenir à l'idée qu'ils ne doivent rien faire de plus que ce qu'ils faisaient auparavant.

3. Agilité de communication ou verticalité

Dans les groupes, les flux de communication tendent à être verticaux, étant donné qu’ils se limitent aux relations hiérarchiques spécifiées dans l’organigramme; simplement, il n’est pas obligatoire d’établir d’autres voies par lesquelles l’information circule.

Sur les ordinateurs, d'autre part, la communication coule aussi beaucoup de manière informelle , bien que ces voies de communication ne figurent pas dans l’organigramme.

4. Flexibilité et rigidité

Dans les équipes, la priorité numéro un est de faire en sorte que le groupe s’adapte aux changements et atteigne les objectifs fixés collectivement. Le formel est donc soumis à l’utile. Bien que cela semble contradictoire, cela donne souvent de meilleurs résultats si vous savez mettre de côté la structure rigide des règles fixées par écrit (oui, avec l'accord de toutes les parties concernées).

En groupes, par contre, la rigidité des règles n'est pas utilisée pour son utilité, mais comme une excuse ne pas faire face à de nouvelles situations ou travailler davantage pendant la phase d'adaptation aux situations changeantes qui se présentent à nous. En d’autres termes, les règles sont considérées comme un dogme, qu’il faut suivre pour éviter les complications, même si, paradoxalement, cela peut conduire à certains problèmes causés par le manque d’adaptation au changement qui devient chronique et génère des inconvénients totalement évitables.

5. Potentiel avant l'opportunité ou la cécité

Les équipes sont toujours beaucoup plus compétentes pour détecter les opportunités cachées, étant donné que la communication circule et ne pénalise pas la proposition d'idées qui "brisent les schémas".

En groupes, par contre, la simple idée de virer dans la direction de ce qui était fait provoque le rejet et une très bonne excuse est nécessaire pour quelque chose d'aussi simple que de proposer de nouvelles stratégies ou des intérêts de groupe.Cela signifie que, même si une opportunité est détectée, n'allez jamais au-delà de cette phase et que ni cette possibilité n'est valorisée, ni bien entendu de nouvelles missions. À plusieurs reprises, la personne qui a eu l'idée ne la communique même pas à un collègue.


Travail d'équipe et Groupe. Pub "Lijn" (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes