yes, therapy helps!
How to face the hopelessness and return to the illusion

How to face the hopelessness and return to the illusion

September 16, 2022

Sometimes, the events that we live seem to go hand in hand with a teaching: nothing can go better. This belief is irrational, but despite being aware of it we accept it as a golden rule that perfectly describes reality. Because, Facing hopelessness is not easy ... but neither is it impossible .

In fact, as much as we believe that this vital pessimism fits completely with the way in which life unfolds before our eyes and that any more positive interpretation of what the future will be involves deceiving oneself, What we know thanks to research in psychology and neurosciences shows that this is not the case .


Although it seems incredible, the hopelessness and pessimism associated with the symptoms of depression and sadness are, like hope and optimism, ways of seeing the life that we build ourselves, and that are not given by "reality" just as it is.

The pessimistic life story

It is counterintuitive and difficult to understand at first, but despair is something that is learned, something that is born in ourselves and that is relatively independent of external events that we can not control .

That implies two things:

  • The predictions we make about how our life will be depends on our mood.
  • Despair and pessimism are not more "realistic" ways of looking at things.

But then ... why do we tend to think that despair is a way of seeing reality without additives, in a more honest way and alien to feelings and desires? If we find out, we tend to see optimists as "dreamers" or "people who do not have their feet on the ground," while we attribute a greater ability to see things without filters to those that are more bitter and pessimistic .


The answer has to do with a mechanism of psychological compensation that we will see now.

Compensate for hopelessness

Since we are small, we learn to see things according to the balances established between the disadvantages and the rewards. Going alone to the bathroom means that we will receive the praises of our parents; neglecting our school tasks will mean that teachers and parents get angry. Somehow, we will notice that in almost everything there is a compensation mechanism .

The hopelessness makes us notice a failure in this way of seeing reality, but not at all. On the one hand, we see that our efforts do not correspond to the results we obtain (for example, no matter how much we try to like a person this does not have to be treated better).

In more extreme cases, we note that absolutely all efforts to protect our integrity and welfare are in vain, and we can get to surrender completely. This phenomenon is known as learned helplessness.


But nevertheless, the compensation mechanism survives in the way we judge that hopelessness in itself . In some way, we conclude that pessimism is the most true way to analyze what is happening. Why? Because being pessimistic is painful, and some compensation must have.

Paradoxically, this system of equilibria that people who have lost hope discard because they believe a way of self-deception survives in their ideas, although with a difference: in their case, it only serves to produce bitterness, sadness and discomfort.

Accepting the ability to build reality

So, whether we are optimistic or have fallen into despair, our way of seeing things can never be neutral or objective.

Our brain is not made to absorb all the information of the world around us and the processes that take place in it, but it is constantly selecting relevant information through biases ... and this is not necessarily bad.

Simply, there are interpretations of what happens that are more useful than others . And pathological pessimism has no advantage in itself, so ... why assume that it offers us a more reasonable perspective of the facts?

Facing hopelessness and recovering illusion is not simply a way to feel better: it is a declaration of principles that implies using our own capacity to extract interpretations about the facts for our own benefit, instead of letting these become obstacles that They do not let us move forward. In fact, This is one of the principles of cognitive restructuring , one of the components of Behavioral Cognitive Therapies: find alternatives when reading reality.

So, if you think it would be useful to put some more illusion in your life, you can start by considering the following points.

1. Set goals

Many times, despair is the result of the lack of objectives. When there is nothing to do, emotional stagnation appears , boredom and despair, since it is assumed that nothing important or good will happen.

To get out of this dynamic, set specific and reasonable goals, such as starting a training plan or start learning on your own about a topic. In addition, it is good that you divide this plan into small short-term sub-objectives, so that you can see at once the progress you are making.

2. Surround yourself with positive people

Optimism is contagious, so being in contact with people who see things through hope is always positive and stimulating. Getting used to these social circles will give you more opportunities to experience new sensations , moments of euphoria and, in general, happiness.

3. Get out of your comfort zone

Despair is bitter, but it also has an addictive component: allows not to take on important responsibilities and not run the risk of spending moments of nervousness . However, small doses of frustration and stress are necessary to progress in certain areas of life.

For example, for a shy person it can be uncomfortable to meet new people, but after an initial moment of nervousness, the reward can be much more satisfying than the initial comfort of the comfort zone.

Therefore, it is necessary to try to force oneself to perform acts of courage that will be positive in the medium and long term.


8 Signs You're Suffering from Depression Without Knowing It (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment faire face au désespoir et revenir à l'illusion

Comment faire face au désespoir et revenir à l'illusion

Janvier 18, 2023

Parfois, les événements que nous vivons semblent aller de pair avec un enseignement: rien ne peut aller mieux. Cette croyance est irrationnelle, mais bien que nous en ayons conscience, nous l'acceptons comme une règle d'or qui décrit parfaitement la réalité. Pour cela, Faire face au désespoir n'est pas facile ... mais ce n'est pas impossible .

En fait, autant que nous croyons que ce pessimisme vital correspond tout à fait à la façon dont la vie se déroule devant nos yeux et que toute interprétation plus positive de ce que sera l’avenir implique de se leurrer, ce que nous savons grâce à la recherche en psychologie et en neurosciences montre que ce n'est pas le cas .


Bien que cela semble incroyable, le désespoir et le pessimisme associés aux symptômes de dépression et de tristesse sont, comme l’espoir et l’optimisme, des façons de voir la vie que nous nous construisons nous-mêmes et qui ne sont pas donnés par la "réalité". juste comme c'est.

L'histoire de vie pessimiste

C’est contre-intuitif et difficile à comprendre au début, mais le désespoir est une chose qui s’apprend, qui naît en nous et qui est relativement indépendant d'événements externes que nous ne pouvons pas contrôler .

Cela implique deux choses:

  • Les prédictions que nous faisons sur notre vie dépendent de notre humeur.
  • Le désespoir et le pessimisme ne sont pas des manières plus "réalistes" de voir les choses.

Mais alors… pourquoi avons-nous tendance à penser que le désespoir est une façon de voir la réalité sans additifs, de manière plus honnête et étrangère aux sentiments et aux désirs? Si nous le découvrons, nous avons tendance à considérer les optimistes comme des "rêveurs" ou des "personnes qui n'ont pas les pieds sur terre". nous attribuons une plus grande capacité de voir des choses sans filtres à ceux qui sont plus amers et pessimistes .


La réponse concerne un mécanisme de compensation psychologique que nous verrons maintenant.

Compenser le désespoir

Comme nous sommes petits, nous apprenons à voir les choses en fonction des équilibres établis entre les inconvénients et les avantages. Aller seul aux toilettes signifie que nous recevrons les louanges de nos parents; négliger nos tâches scolaires signifiera que les enseignants et les parents s’énervent. En quelque sorte, nous remarquerons que dans presque tout, il existe un mécanisme de compensation .

Le désespoir nous fait remarquer un échec dans cette manière de voir la réalité, mais pas du tout. D'une part, nous voyons que nos efforts ne correspondent pas aux résultats que nous obtenons (par exemple, peu importe combien nous essayons d'aimer une personne, cela ne doit pas être mieux traité).

Dans des cas plus extrêmes, nous notons qu'absolument tous les efforts pour protéger notre intégrité et notre bien-être sont vains et que nous pouvons arriver à nous rendre complètement. Ce phénomène est appelé impuissance acquise.


Cependant, le mécanisme de compensation survit dans la façon dont nous jugeons que le désespoir en soi . D'une certaine manière, nous concluons que le pessimisme est le moyen le plus vrai d'analyser ce qui se passe. Parce que? Parce qu'être pessimiste est douloureux et qu'une compensation doit être obtenue.

Paradoxalement, ce système d’équilibres que les personnes qui ont perdu espoir perdent parce qu’ils croient qu’un moyen de se tromper soi-même survit dans leurs idées, bien qu’à la différence: dans leur cas, il ne sert qu’à produire amertume, tristesse et inconfort.

Accepter la capacité de construire la réalité

Donc, que nous soyons optimistes ou désespérés, notre façon de voir les choses ne peut jamais être neutre ou objective.

Notre cerveau n'est pas fait pour absorber toute l'information du monde qui nous entoure et les processus qui s'y déroulent, mais il sélectionne en permanence des informations pertinentes par biais ... et ce n'est pas nécessairement mauvais.

Simplement il y a des interprétations de ce qui se passe qui sont plus utiles que d'autres . Et le pessimisme pathologique n’a aucun avantage en soi, alors ... pourquoi supposer qu’il nous offre une perspective plus raisonnable des faits?

Faire face au désespoir et retrouver l’illusion n’est pas simplement un moyen de se sentir mieux: c’est une déclaration de principes qui implique d’utiliser notre propre capacité à extraire des interprétations des faits à notre avantage, au lieu de les laisser devenir des obstacles qui Ils ne nous ont pas laissé avancer. En fait C’est l’un des principes de la restructuration cognitive , une des composantes des thérapies cognitives comportementales: trouver des alternatives lors de la lecture de la réalité.

Donc, si vous pensez qu'il serait utile de mettre un peu plus d'illusion dans votre vie, vous pouvez commencer par considérer les points suivants.

1. Fixer des objectifs

Le désespoir est souvent le résultat du manque d'objectifs. Quand il n'y a rien à faire, la stagnation émotionnelle apparaît , l'ennui et le désespoir, car il est supposé que rien d'important ou de bon n'arrivera.

Pour sortir de cette dynamique, fixez-vous des objectifs spécifiques et raisonnables, par exemple, commencer un plan de formation ou commencez seul à apprendre sur un sujet. En outre, il est bon que vous divisiez ce plan en petits sous-objectifs à court terme, afin que vous puissiez voir immédiatement les progrès que vous réalisez.

2. Entourez-vous de personnes positives

L'optimisme est contagieux, alors être en contact avec des personnes qui voient les choses avec espoir est toujours positif et stimulant. Vous habituer à ces cercles sociaux vous donnera plus d'occasions de vivre de nouvelles sensations moments d’euphorie et, en général, de bonheur.

3. Sortez de votre zone de confort

Le désespoir est amer, mais il comporte également un élément addictif: permet de ne pas assumer de responsabilités importantes et de ne pas risquer de passer des moments de nervosité . Cependant, de petites doses de frustration et de stress sont nécessaires pour progresser dans certains domaines de la vie.

Par exemple, pour une personne timide, il peut être inconfortable de rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, mais après un premier moment de nervosité, la récompense peut être beaucoup plus satisfaisante que le confort initial de la zone de confort.

Il est donc nécessaire d'essayer de se forcer à faire des actes de courage qui seront positifs à moyen et long terme.


Le droit D'ACCOMPLIR ses RÊVES ! - Hubert Mansion (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes