yes, therapy helps!
How to prevent cognitive deterioration?

How to prevent cognitive deterioration?

January 25, 2022

As we already know, an optimal state of physical and mental health acts as a preventive factor against cognitive deterioration Experienced with age. When we refer to the type of factors that prevent deterioration, we often refer to a concept called "reserves." But ... what do we know about the cognitive reserve and the brain reserve? What is its influence in the face of deterioration?

In the following article we will talk about the types of reserves available to our brain and we will explain your contribution as preventive factor in the face of deterioration .

The brain reserve and cognitive reserve

The reserve capacity is one that allows the brain to cope with the changes due to normal aging or neuropathological processes delaying the onset of clinical symptoms.


According to Arenaza-Urquijo and Bartrés-Faz (2013) there are two interrelated theoretical models for the study of the reserve :

1. Brain reserve model

This type of reservation corresponds to passive model, which refers to the anatomical potential of the brain : brain size, number of neurons, synaptic density, etc. This type of reservation poses a static and invariable model, since it emphasizes genetic and anatomical factors.

2. Cognitive reserve model

It corresponds to active model or functional, referred to the individual ability to use cognitive processes or pre-existing or alternative neural networks (compensatory) to perform an optimal task. Because this reserve can be increased due to the influence of various environmental factors that we expose ourselves throughout life (they will be explained later), it could be said that this model, unlike the previous one, responds to a dynamic character


What is the influence of the reserve on aging?

Now that we already know both types of reservation, v to explain their contribution to the aging process or, whether it is normal or pathological.

Brain reserve

Brains that possess a high degree of such reserve they have a larger base substrate , which will allow them greater resistance to brain damage in the face of pathological phenomena or during aging, thus favoring a prolongation of the preclinical state in the processes of pre-dementia and dementia (Arenaza-Urquijo and Bartrés-Faz, 2013).

In terms of normative aging, higher reserve estimates will correspond to brains that are more structurally preserved.

Through neuroimaging techniques such as anatomical magnetic resonance, we can detect brain changes in people with high cognitive reserve can serve as indicators for a pathological disorder in old age before it has manifested clinically, as for example in Alzheimer's disease.


Cognitive reserve

The cognitive reserve make reference to the cognitive processing capacity . Such a reservation allows the use of neural networks in an effective way, trying to reduce the impact of the changes associated with aging and neuropathological processes (Arenaza-Urquijo and Bartrés-Faz, 2013). It could be said that the cognitive reserve potentiates interneuronal plasticity and connectivity.

Through various investigations it has been shown that a high cognitive reserve acts as a preventive factor in the face of deterioration and, in the case of dementias, it will generally delay the onset of symptoms, and consequently, the diagnosis. However, the underlying pathological progress will be the same regardless of its cognitive reserve, therefore, the symptoms will appear when the pathological process is more advanced and, consequently, the progression of the disease will be faster once the threshold of clinical and cerebral involvement has been overcome .

This is because a brain with high cognitive reserve will present more facility for the use of alternative neural networks When the networks normally used are damaged, however, this compensation will end when the neurodegenerative disease becomes more severe (Pousada and De la Fuente, 2006).

Regarding normative aging, the cognitive reserve supposes a better performance , a more functionally efficient brain, for this reason it is important to maintain activities that stimulate our cognitive functions throughout life. In various studies (Arenaza-Urquijo and Bartrés-Faz, 2013), high levels of mental activity have been linked to up to 50% less risk of developing dementia .

So it is essential to take cognitive training into account as an intervention to minimize the risk of suffering cognitive deterioration associated with age and / or dementia.Likewise, it has been shown that there are also other types of environmental factors that contribute as a protective factor against cognitive decline, such factors are: the state of physical and mental health, occupation, sleep hours, food, activities of leisure and the maintenance of social relations.

We can analyze this type of reservation through a functional magnetic resonance (RMf) or through Positron emission tomography (TEP)

Some conclusions

In conclusion, it has been shown that reserve capacity acts as a protective factor against the manifestation of brain changes underlying the aging process or the disease tolerating greater damage to their brains and minimizing, in turn, the impact of the disease on its clinical manifestations.

This fact is of great importance since, although the underlying process is the same, the patient will maintain a quality of life for a longer time. The reservation, therefore, it turns out to be one of the numerous factors that demonstrate the why of the interindividual variability as for the symptomatic manifestation before the same cerebral affectation.

Therefore, it is interesting to highlight the need to carry out future research focused on the exhaustive study of specific activities that contribute to increase the cognitive reserve and analyze its consequent interaction with biological factors.

Bibliographic references:

  • Arenaza-Urquijo, E.M., and Bartrés-Faz, D. (2013). Cognitive reserve. In Redolar-Ripoll, D. (Ed.), Cognitive Neuroscience (1st ed., Pp. 185-200). Madrid: Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Pousada, M., and De la Fuente, J. (2006). Memory and attention. In Villar, F., and Triadó, C., Psicologia de la vejez (1ªed., Pp. 114-140). Madrid: Alianza Editorial, S.A.

Preventing Cognitive Decline and Dementia: A Way Forward (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment prévenir la détérioration cognitive?

Comment prévenir la détérioration cognitive?

Septembre 18, 2019

Comme nous le savons déjà, un état optimal de santé physique et mentale agit comme un facteur préventif contre la détérioration cognitive Expérimenté avec l'âge. Lorsque nous faisons référence au type de facteurs qui empêchent la détérioration, nous faisons souvent référence à un concept appelé "réserves". Mais ... Que savons-nous de la réserve cognitive et la réserve cérébrale? Quelle est son influence face à la détérioration?

Dans l'article suivant nous parlerons des types de réserves disponibles pour notre cerveau et nous expliquerons votre contribution en tant que facteur préventif face à la détérioration .

La réserve cérébrale et la réserve cognitive

Le capacité de réserve est celui qui permet au cerveau de faire face aux changements dus au vieillissement normal ou aux processus neuropathologiques retardant l’apparition des symptômes cliniques.


D'après Arenaza-Urquijo et Bartrés-Faz (2013) il existe deux modèles théoriques interdépendants pour l'étude de la réserve :

1. Modèle de réserve cérébrale

Ce type de réservation correspond à modèle passif, lequel fait référence au potentiel anatomique du cerveau : taille du cerveau, nombre de neurones, densité synaptique, etc. Ce type de réserve constitue un modèle statique et invariable, car il met l’accent sur des facteurs génétiques et anatomiques.

2. Modèle de réserve cognitive

Correspond à la modèle actif o Fonctionnel, visé à la capacité individuelle à utiliser des processus cognitifs ou des réseaux de neurones préexistants ou alternatifs (compensatoire) pour effectuer une tâche optimale. Parce que cette réserve peut être augmentée du fait de l'influence de divers facteurs environnementaux que nous nous exposons tout au long de la vie (ils seront expliqués plus loin), on pourrait dire que ce modèle, contrairement au précédent, répond à une caractère dynamique


Quelle est l'influence de la réserve sur le vieillissement?

Maintenant que nous connaissons déjà les deux types de réservation, v expliquer leur contribution au processus de vieillissement ou, que ce soit normal ou pathologique.

Réserve cérébrale

Les cerveaux qui possèdent un haut degré de cette réserve ils ont un substrat de base plus large , ce qui leur permettra une plus grande résistance aux lésions cérébrales face aux phénomènes pathologiques ou au cours du vieillissement, favorisant ainsi un prolongement de l'état préclinique dans les processus de démence et de démence (Arenaza-Urquijo et Bartrés-Faz, 2013).

En termes de vieillissement normatif, les estimations de réserves plus élevées correspondront à des cerveaux plus structurellement préservés.

Grâce à des techniques de neuroimagerie telles que la résonance magnétique anatomique, nous pouvons détecter les modifications du cerveau chez les personnes présentant une réserve cognitive élevée. peut servir d'indicateur d'un trouble pathologique chez les personnes âgées avant de se manifester cliniquement, comme par exemple dans la maladie d'Alzheimer.


Réserve cognitive

Le réserve cognitive cela fait référence à la capacité de traitement cognitif . Une telle réservation permet d'utiliser les réseaux de neurones de manière efficace, en essayant de réduire l'impact des changements associés au vieillissement et aux processus neuropathologiques (Arenaza-Urquijo et Bartrés-Faz, 2013). On pourrait dire que la réserve cognitive potentialise la plasticité et la connectivité interneuronales.

Diverses investigations ont montré qu’une réserve cognitive élevée agit comme un facteur préventif face à la détérioration et, dans le cas de démences, elle retardera généralement l’apparition des symptômes et, par conséquent, le diagnostic. Cependant, le progrès pathologique sous-jacent sera le même quelle que soit sa réserve cognitive; par conséquent, les symptômes apparaîtront lorsque le processus pathologique sera plus avancé et, par conséquent, la progression de la maladie sera plus rapide une fois que le seuil d'atteinte clinique et cérébrale aura été dépassé .

C'est parce que un cerveau avec une grande réserve cognitive offrira plus de facilité pour l'utilisation de réseaux de neurones alternatifs Cependant, lorsque les réseaux normalement utilisés sont endommagés, cette compensation prend fin lorsque la maladie neurodégénérative devient plus grave (Pousada et De la Fuente, 2006).

Concernant le vieillissement normatif, la réserve cognitive suppose une meilleure performance , un cerveau fonctionnellement plus efficace, il est donc important de maintenir des activités qui stimulent nos fonctions cognitives tout au long de la vie. Dans diverses études (Arenaza-Urquijo et Bartrés-Faz, 2013), des niveaux élevés d'activité mentale ont été associés à un risque de développer une démence jusqu'à 50% inférieur .

Pourtant il est essentiel de prendre en compte l'entraînement cognitif comme intervention pour minimiser le risque de souffrir de détérioration cognitive associée à l'âge et / ou à la démence.De même, il a été démontré que d’autres types de facteurs environnementaux contribuent à la protection du déclin cognitif, à savoir: l’état de la santé physique et mentale, la profession, les heures de sommeil, la nourriture, les activités. des loisirs et du maintien des relations sociales.

Nous pouvons analyser ce type de réservation à travers un résonance magnétique fonctionnelle (RMf) ou par tomographie par émission de positrons (TEP)

Quelques conclusions

En conclusion, il a été démontré que la capacité de réserve agit comme un facteur de protection contre la manifestation de modifications du cerveau sous-jacente au processus de vieillissement ou à la maladie, tolérant des dommages plus importants au cerveau et minimisant, à son tour, l’impact de la maladie sur ses manifestations cliniques.

Ce fait est d'une grande importance car, bien que le processus sous-jacent soit le même, le patient conservera une qualité de vie plus longtemps. La réserve, donc, il s’avère être l’un des nombreux facteurs qui démontrent le pourquoi de la variabilité interindividuelle comme pour la manifestation symptomatique avant la même affectation cérébrale.

Il est donc intéressant de souligner la nécessité de mener des recherches futures axées sur l’étude exhaustive d’activités spécifiques qui contribuent à augmenter la réserve cognitive et à analyser son interaction avec les facteurs biologiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arenaza-Urquijo, E.M. et Bartrés-Faz, D. (2013). Réserve cognitive. Dans Redolar-Ripoll, D. (Ed.), Neuroscience cognitive (1ère éd., Pp. 185-200). Madrid: Maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Pousada, M. et De la Fuente, J. (2006). Mémoire et attention Dans Villar, F. et Triadó, C., Psicologia de la vejez (1ªed., Pp. 114-140). Madrid: éditorial d'Alianza, S.A.

Peut-on prévenir naturellement la maladie d’Alzheimer ? (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes