yes, therapy helps!
What is the synaptic space and how does it work?

What is the synaptic space and how does it work?

February 7, 2024

AND The nervous system is constituted by an extensive network of nerve connections whose basic component is the neuron . These connections allow the control and management of the different mental processes and behaviors that human beings are capable of, allowing us to stay alive, run, talk, relate, imagine or love.

The nerve connections occur between different neurons or between neurons and internal organs, generating electrochemical impulses that are transmitted between neurons until they reach their target. However, these nerve cells are not hooked to each other. Among the different neurons that are part of the nervous system we can find a small space through which the communication with the following neurons takes place. These spaces are called synaptic spaces .


Synapsis and synaptic space

The synaptic space or synaptic cleft is the small space that exists between the end of one neuron and the beginning of another . It is an extracellular space between 20 to 40 nanometers and filling of synaptic fluid that is part of the neuronal synapse, together with pre and postsynaptic neurons. In this way, it is in this space or synaptic cleft where the transmission of information from one neuron to another occurs , being the neuron that releases the information denominated presynaptic while the one that receives it receives the name of postsynaptic neuron.

There are different types of synapses : it is possible that the synaptic space connects the axons of two neurons between them, or directly the axon of one and the soma of another. However, the type of synapse in which the axon of one neuron and the dendrites of another are communicated, called the axodendritic synapse, is the most common. Likewise, it is possible to find electrical and chemical synapses, the latter being much more frequent and of which I will speak in this article.


The transmission of information

The implication of the synaptic space, although performed passively, is essential in the transmission of information. Before the arrival of an action potential (caused by depolarization, repolarization and hyperpolarization in the axon cone) The terminal buttons of the neuron are activated at the end of the presynaptic axon , which expel to the outside a series of proteins and neurotransmitters, substances that exert a chemical communication between neurons that the next neuron will capture through the dendrites (although in electrical synapses this does not happen).

It is in the synaptic space where the neurotransmitters are released and irradiated, and from there they will be captured by the postsynaptic neuron. The neuron that has emitted the neurotransmitters will recap the surplus neurotransmitter that remains in the synaptic space and that the postsynaptic neuron does not let pass, taking advantage of them in the future and maintaining the equilibrium of the system (it is in this reuptake process that many psychoactive drugs, such as SSRIs, interfere).


Empowering or inhibiting electrical signals

Once the neurotransmitters are captured, the postsynaptic neuron would react in this case the continuation of the nerve signal by generating excitatory or inhibitory potentials, which will allow or not the propagation of the action potential (the electrical impulse) generated in the axon of the presynaptic neuron when altering the electrochemical balance.

And is that the synaptic connection between neurons does not always imply the passage of the nervous impulse from one neuron to another , but it can also produce that it is not replicated and extinguished, depending on the type of connection that is stimulated.

To understand it better we must think that only two neurons are involved in the nervous connections, but we have a great multitude of interrelated circuits that can cause a signal that a circuit has emitted to be inhibited. For example, before an injury, the brain sends pain signals to the affected area, but through another circuit the pain sensation is temporarily inhibited to allow the escape of the injurious stimulus.

What is the synapse for?

Given the process that follows the transmission of information, we can say that the synaptic space has the main function of allowing communication between neurons, regulating the passage of the electrochemical impulses that govern the functioning of the organism .

In addition, thanks to it neurotransmitters can remain for a while in the circuit without the need for the presynaptic neuron to be activated, so that although they are not initially captured by the postsynaptic neuron, they could later be used.

In an opposite sense, it also allows surplus neurotransmitter to be recaptured by the presynaptic neuron, or degraded by different enzymes that can be emitted by the membrane of neurons, such as MAO.

Finally, the synaptic space facilitates the possibility of removing from the system the residues generated by nerve activity, which could cause the poisoning of neurons and their death.

Synapses throughout life

The human being as an organism is continuously active throughout the life cycle, whether it is performing an action, feeling, perceiving, thinking, learning ... All these actions assume that our nervous system is activated permanently , emitting nerve impulses and transmitting neurons orders and information from one to another through the synapses.

At the moment of forming a connection, the neurons come together thanks to neurotrophic factors that make it easier for them to attract or repel each other, although without ever touching each other. When connected, they leave a small intermediate cleft, the synaptic space, thanks to the modulating action of the same neurotrophic factors. The creation of synapses is called synaptogenesis, being especially important in the fetal stage and in early childhood . However, synapses are formed throughout the life cycle, through the continuous creation and pruning of neural connections.

The activity of life itself and the different actions that we carry out have an effect on the synaptic activity: if the activation of a circuit is repeated to a large extent, it is strengthened, whereas if it is not exercised in a large amount of time, the connection between neuronal circuits weakens.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bear, M.F .; Connors, B.W. & Paradiso, M.A. (2002). Neuroscience: exploring the brain. Barcelona: Masson.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of neuroscience. Fourth edition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Synaptic Transmission (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'espace synaptique et comment ça marche?

Qu'est-ce que l'espace synaptique et comment ça marche?

Janvier 26, 2020

E Le système nerveux est constitué d’un vaste réseau de connexions nerveuses dont le composant de base est le neurone. . Ces connexions permettent le contrôle et la gestion des différents processus et comportements mentaux dont l’être humain est capable, nous permettant de rester en vie, de courir, de parler, de raconter, d’imaginer ou d’aimer.

Les connexions nerveuses se produisent entre différents neurones ou entre neurones et organes internes, générant des impulsions électrochimiques qui sont transmises entre neurones jusqu'à ce qu'ils atteignent leur cible. Cependant, ces cellules nerveuses ne sont pas accrochées les unes aux autres. Parmi les différents neurones qui font partie du système nerveux, nous pouvons trouver un petit espace à travers lequel la communication avec les neurones suivants a lieu. Ces espaces sont appelés espaces synaptiques .


Synapsis et espace synaptique

L'espace synaptique ou fente synaptique est le petit espace qui existe entre la fin d'un neurone et le début d'un autre. . C'est un espace extracellulaire entre 20 et 40 nanomètres et le remplissage du liquide synaptique faisant partie de la synapse neuronale, ainsi que des neurones pré et postsynaptiques. De cette façon, c’est dans cet espace ou fente synaptique où se produit la transmission d'informations d'un neurone à un autre , étant le neurone qui libère les informations dénommées présynaptiques alors que celui qui les reçoit reçoit le nom de neurone postsynaptique.

Il existe différents types de synapses : il est possible que l'espace synaptique relie les axones de deux neurones entre eux, ou directement l'axone de l'un et le soma de l'autre. Cependant, le type de synapse dans lequel l'axone d'un neurone et les dendrites d'un autre sont communiqués, appelé synapse axodendritique, est le plus courant. De même il est possible de trouver des synapses électriques et chimiques, ces dernières étant beaucoup plus fréquentes et dont je parlerai dans cet article.


La transmission de l'information

L'implication de l'espace synaptique, bien que réalisée de manière passive, est essentielle à la transmission d'informations. Avant l'arrivée d'un potentiel d'action (causé par la dépolarisation, la repolarisation et l'hyperpolarisation dans le cône axonal) Les boutons terminaux du neurone sont activés à la fin de l'axone présynaptique , qui expulse à l'extérieur une série de protéines et de neurotransmetteurs, substances exerçant une communication chimique entre neurones que le prochain neurone va capturer à travers les dendrites (bien que cela ne se produise pas dans les synapses électriques).

C'est dans l'espace synaptique que les neurotransmetteurs sont libérés et irradiés. De là, ils seront capturés par le neurone postsynaptique. Le neurone qui a émis les neurotransmetteurs récapitulera le surplus de neurotransmetteur cela reste dans l'espace synaptique et que le neurone postsynaptique ne laisse pas passer, en profitant à l'avenir et maintenant l'équilibre du système (c'est dans ce processus de recapture que de nombreux médicaments psychoactifs, tels que les ISRS, interviennent).


Renforcer ou inhiber les signaux électriques

Une fois les neurotransmetteurs capturés, le neurone postsynaptique réagirait dans ce cas à la continuation du signal nerveux en générant des potentiels excitateurs ou inhibiteurs, ce qui permettra ou non la propagation du potentiel d'action (l'impulsion électrique) généré dans l'axone du neurone présynaptique lors de la modification de l'équilibre électrochimique.

Et est-ce la connexion synaptique entre neurones n'implique pas toujours le passage de l'impulsion nerveuse d'un neurone à l'autre , mais cela peut aussi indiquer qu’il n’est ni répliqué ni éteint, en fonction du type de connexion qui est stimulé.

Pour mieux le comprendre, nous devons penser que seuls deux neurones sont impliqués dans les connexions nerveuses, mais nous avons une grande multitude de circuits interreliés qui peuvent provoquer l’inhibition d’un signal émis par un circuit. Par exemple, avant une blessure, le cerveau envoie des signaux de douleur à la zone touchée, mais par un autre circuit, la sensation de douleur est temporairement inhibée pour permettre l’échappement du stimulus dommageable.

A quoi sert la synapse?

Compte tenu du processus qui suit la transmission de l'information, on peut dire que l'espace synaptique a pour fonction principale de permettre la communication entre neurones, régler le passage des impulsions électrochimiques qui régissent le fonctionnement de l'organisme .

De plus, grâce à lui, les neurotransmetteurs peuvent rester pendant un certain temps dans le circuit sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'activer le neurone présynaptique. Par conséquent, même s'ils ne sont pas initialement capturés par le neurone postsynaptique, ils peuvent ensuite être utilisés.

Dans un sens opposé, il permet également de récupérer le surplus de neurotransmetteur par le neurone présynaptique. ou dégradé par différentes enzymes qui peut être émis par la membrane de neurones, tels que MAO.

Enfin, l’espace synaptique facilite la possibilité d’éliminer du système les résidus générés par l’activité nerveuse, ce qui pourrait provoquer l’empoisonnement des neurones et leur mort.

Synapses tout au long de la vie

L'être humain en tant qu'organisme est continuellement actif tout au long de son cycle de vie, qu'il s'agisse de réaliser une action, de ressentir, de percevoir, de penser, d'apprendre ... Toutes ces actions supposent que notre système nerveux est activé en permanence , émettant des impulsions nerveuses et transmettant des ordres et des informations de neurones de l'un à l'autre à travers les synapses.

Au moment de la connexion, les neurones se rejoignent grâce à des facteurs neurotrophiques qui leur permettent de s’attirer ou de se repousser plus facilement, mais sans jamais se toucher. Une fois connectés, ils laissent une petite fente intermédiaire, l’espace synaptique, grâce à l’action modulatrice des mêmes facteurs neurotrophiques. La création de synapses est appelée synaptogenèse, étant particulièrement importante au stade fœtal et dans la petite enfance. . Cependant, les synapses se forment tout au long du cycle de vie, par la création et l'élagage continus de connexions neuronales.

L'activité de la vie elle-même et les différentes actions que nous réalisons ont un effet sur l'activité synaptique: si l'activation d'un circuit est répétée dans une large mesure, elle est renforcée, tandis que si elle n'est pas exercée longtemps, la connexion entre les circuits neuronaux s'affaiblit.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bear, M.F .; Connors, B.W. & Paradiso, M.A. (2002). Neuroscience: explorer le cerveau. Barcelone: ​​Masson.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H. & Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Quatrième édition. McGraw-Hill Interamericana. Madrid

SVT - Le message nerveux - Le neurone - La synapse (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes