yes, therapy helps!
Mescaline: effects of this hallucinogenic drug

Mescaline: effects of this hallucinogenic drug

June 20, 2024

There are a wide variety of substances in the nature with different psychoactive effects. Some of them have mainly activating effects, other depressants and others that are characterized by provoking hallucinations and perceptual alterations. Many of these substances have been used since ancient times, sometimes for religious purposes.

In other cases, the active principles of the plants or elements that contain them have been extracted to investigate or seek medicinal use. And in some cases, they are used for recreational purposes. One of the best-known hallucinogenic drugs after amphetamines is mescaline .

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

The hallucinogens

Hallucinogens are a type of substance classified within the group of psychodysleptics. It is about drugs that generate an alteration in the functioning of the nervous system, being notorious its effect on the perception of the one who consumes them .


These effects are based on perceptual alteration, not necessarily in the form of hallucination, together with activation or inhibition of activity that can generate changes in mood. The majority of people who come to hallucinogens do so in search of mystical or religious experiences, and although they produce dependence they are not usually consumed as commonly as other types of drugs.

Its consumption is not innocuous, can cause different types of problems such as poisoning that can end up endangering the person who has consumed them, different physiological effects, psychotic episodes, depersonalization, mood disorders caused by substances and even personality changes. It is also frequent the presence of "bad trips", aversive hallucinatory experiences lived with a high level of panic and anguish.


There are numerous types of hallucinogens, many of them (and especially the best known) synthesized chemically. However, some of these substances are made from existing plants in nature; This is the case of mescaline.

Mescaline: description of the substance

Mescaline is a psychotomimetic hallucinogen . It is a phenylalkylamine alkaloid extracted mainly from two types of cactus, mezcal and the best known peyote, although there are other varieties of cactus such as San Pedro that also contain it.

Initially it generates a feeling of euphoria to later go to a sedation phase . The consumption of mescaline causes perceptual alterations among which it stands out that a vision in which the color of the objects is perceived with more intensity and brightness. They also tend to see geometric patterns.


It is also common for there to be an increase in artistic sensibility and the perception of both visual and sound art (which is why various artists have used it occasionally). Likewise, tends to generate situations of deep introspection and reflection about one's life and existence.

Visions and hallucinations may occur of a variable nature. The presence of hallucinations usually requires high doses. Sometimes there may be depersonalization and loss of the sense of space-time

The effects tend to appear around the average or three quarters of an hour, and can last between eight and twelve hours. However in some cases they have been registered up to twenty-four hours. In comparison with LSD, mescaline has been described as much less potent and with less psychedelic effect.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hallucinations: definition, causes, and symptoms"

Acting on the brain: mechanism of action

The mechanism of action of mescaline is based on its binding to adrenergic receptors, especially serotonergic receptors, of which it is an agonist. Specifically, there are several types of these receptors that participate in the generation of hallucination, resulting in 5-HT2C and 5-HT2A receptors closely linked to this type of symptoms .

It has also been observed that this substance causes the brain's glutamate, as well as sodium, not to oxidize.

In the case of mescaline, it has been observed that especially the hypothalamus, an important brain nucleus in which the integration of different information and coordinates the relationship between the neuroendocrine system and the limbic system . It affects the regulation of the autonomic nervous system, the perception and management of mood and behavior.

Uses given to this substance

Employed since ancient times with religious and spiritual motives by South American and Central American indigenous tribes (Peyote was already used by the Aztecs in religious rituals), has also been the subject of scientific research in relation to the exploration of the psyche, self-consciousness and perceptual phenomena. Nowadays it is often used for recreational purposes.

However, this type of substance is complicated and expensive to isolate, so you have to take into account that the version that is usually sold illegally in a large number of cases is adulterated or another substance is sold directly as such (usually LSD).

Side effects and health risks

Mescaline, like other hallucinogenic substances, can cause side effects of varying severity. The most common are the presence of nausea and vomiting.

In cases of poisoning, it is common that lack of coordination, blurred vision, hyperthermia , increased cardiorespiratory frequency and tachycardia, decreased sensitivity and pupillary dilation. It is also common for alterations in space-time perception, hallucinations and feelings of derealization to appear.

In cases of bad travel, fear, panic and anguish are frequent. You can also quickly go from fear to euphoria, hyperactivity and aggression. Flashbacks and psychotic episodes may appear . There have been no cases of abstinence, but there is tolerance and psychic dependence (although not physical).

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychotic outbreak: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bussmann RW, Sharon D (2006). "Traditional medicinal plant use in Northern Peru: tracking two thousand years of healing culture". J Ethnobiol Ethnomed. 2 (1): 47.
  • Neff, N. & Rossi, G.V. (1963). Mescaline. Am. J. Pharm. Sci. Support Public Health, 135: 319-327.
  • Otero, L.A. (2001). Hallucinogenic plants. Editorial Paidotribo.

PEYOTE | The History & Truth of Mescaline (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mescaline: effets de cette drogue hallucinogène

Mescaline: effets de cette drogue hallucinogène

Septembre 28, 2022

Il existe une grande variété de substances dans la nature avec différents effets psychoactifs. Certains d'entre eux ont principalement des effets activateurs, d'autres des dépresseurs et d'autres qui se caractérisent par des hallucinations et des altérations de la perception. Nombre de ces substances sont utilisées depuis l'Antiquité, parfois à des fins religieuses.

Dans d'autres cas, les principes actifs des plantes ou les éléments qui les contiennent ont été extraits pour permettre des recherches ou des utilisations médicales. Et dans certains cas, ils sont utilisés à des fins récréatives. La mescaline est l'un des médicaments hallucinogènes les plus connus après les amphétamines. .

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Les hallucinogènes

Les hallucinogènes sont un type de substance classée dans le groupe des psychodysleptiques. Il s’agit de médicaments qui génèrent une altération du fonctionnement du système nerveux, être notoire son effet sur la perception de celui qui les consomme .


Ces effets sont basés sur une altération de la perception, pas nécessairement sous la forme d'une hallucination, ainsi que sur l'activation ou l'inhibition de l'activité pouvant générer des changements d'humeur. La majorité des personnes qui consomment des hallucinogènes le font à la recherche d'expériences mystiques ou religieuses et, bien qu'elles engendrent une dépendance, elles ne sont généralement pas consommées aussi fréquemment que d'autres types de drogues.

Sa consommation n'est pas anodine, peut causer différents types de problèmes tels que l'intoxication cela peut finir par mettre en danger la personne qui les a consommés, par divers effets physiologiques, des épisodes psychotiques, une dépersonnalisation, des troubles de l'humeur causés par des substances et même des changements de personnalité. Il est également fréquent la présence de "mauvais voyages", d'expériences hallucinatoires aversives vécues avec un niveau élevé de panique et d'angoisse.


Il existe de nombreux types d'hallucinogènes, nombre d'entre eux (et en particulier les plus connus) synthétisés par voie chimique. Cependant, certaines de ces substances sont fabriquées à partir de plantes existantes dans la nature; C'est le cas de la mescaline.

Mescaline: description de la substance

La mescaline est un hallucinogène psychotomimétique . C'est un alcaloïde phénylalkylamine extrait principalement de deux types de cactus, le mezcal et le peyotl le plus connu, bien qu'il existe d'autres variétés de cactus comme le San Pedro qui en contiennent également.

Au début, cela génère un sentiment d’euphorie pour aller plus tard à une phase de sédation . La consommation de mescaline provoque des altérations de la perception parmi lesquelles se dégage une vision dans laquelle la couleur des objets est perçue avec plus d'intensité et de luminosité. Ils ont également tendance à voir des motifs géométriques.


Il est également courant qu’il y ait un accroissement de la sensibilité artistique et de la perception des arts visuels et sonores (c’est pourquoi divers artistes l’ont utilisé occasionnellement). De même a tendance à générer des situations d'introspection et de réflexion profondes de sa vie et de son existence.

Des visions et des hallucinations peuvent se produire de nature variable. La présence d'hallucinations nécessite généralement des doses élevées. Parfois, il peut y avoir une dépersonnalisation et une perte du sens de l'espace-temps

Les effets ont tendance à apparaître autour de la moyenne ou des trois quarts d’heure et peuvent durer entre huit et douze heures. Cependant, dans certains cas, ils ont été enregistrés jusqu'à 24 heures. En comparaison avec le LSD, la mescaline a été décrite comme beaucoup moins puissante et avec moins d’effet psychédélique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Hallucinations: définition, causes et symptômes"

Agir sur le cerveau: mécanisme d'action

Le mécanisme d'action de la mescaline repose sur sa liaison aux récepteurs adrénergiques, notamment les récepteurs sérotoninergiques, dont elle est un agoniste. De manière spécifique, il existe plusieurs types de ces récepteurs qui participent à la génération d’hallucinations, entraînant des récepteurs 5-HT2C et 5-HT2A étroitement liés à ce type de symptômes .

Il a également été observé que cette substance provoque l'oxydation du glutamate du cerveau, ainsi que du sodium.

Dans le cas de la mescaline, il a été observé que notamment l'hypothalamus, un noyau cérébral important dans lequel l'intégration de différentes informations et coordonne la relation entre le système neuroendocrinien et le système limbique . Elle affecte la régulation du système nerveux autonome, la perception et la gestion de l'humeur et du comportement.

Utilisations données à cette substance

Employé depuis l'Antiquité avec des motifs religieux et spirituels des tribus indigènes d'Amérique du Sud et d'Amérique centrale (Peyote était déjà utilisé par les Aztèques dans les rituels religieux), a également fait l’objet de recherches scientifiques relatives à l’exploration de la psyché, de la conscience de soi et des phénomènes de perception. De nos jours, il est souvent utilisé à des fins récréatives.

Cependant, ce type de substance est compliqué et coûteux à isoler. Vous devez donc tenir compte du fait que la version vendue illégalement dans un grand nombre de cas est falsifié ou une autre substance est vendue directement en tant que tel (généralement le LSD).

Effets secondaires et risques pour la santé

La méscaline, comme d’autres substances hallucinogènes, peut avoir des effets indésirables de gravité variable. Les plus courants sont la présence de nausées et de vomissements.

En cas d'empoisonnement, il est fréquent que manque de coordination, vision floue, hyperthermie , augmentation de la fréquence cardiorespiratoire et de la tachycardie, diminution de la sensibilité et de la dilatation pupillaire. Il est également fréquent que des modifications de la perception espace-temps, des hallucinations et des sentiments de déréalisation apparaissent.

En cas de mauvais voyage, la peur, la panique et l'angoisse sont fréquentes. Vous pouvez également passer rapidement de la peur à l’euphorie, à l’hyperactivité et à l’agression. Des flashbacks et des épisodes psychotiques peuvent apparaître . Il n'y a pas eu de cas d'abstinence, mais il existe une tolérance et une dépendance psychique (bien que non physique).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Épidémie psychotique: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bussmann RW, Sharon D (2006). "Utilisation traditionnelle de plantes médicinales dans le nord du Pérou: deux mille ans de culture de guérison". J Ethnobiol Ethnomed. 2 (1): 47.
  • Neff, N. & Rossi, G.V. (1963). Mescaline. Am. J. Pharm. Sci. Support Public Health, 135: 319-327.
  • Otero, L.A. (2001) Plantes hallucinogènes. Éditorial Paidotribo.

Reportage Drogues et Cerveau: Hallucinogènes et Ecstasy (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes