yes, therapy helps!
Personality Disorders: Myths and Realities

Personality Disorders: Myths and Realities

November 10, 2022

Myths and realities about personality disorders

Psychology has been talking for decades about the different types of personality and how they influence our way of interpreting the world. We can find two ways to deal with this issue, on the one hand the professionals who describe types of normal personality and his predisposition to different physical diseases, such as the famous type A and type B personality, the first prone to cardiovascular diseases and stress. And the other way is to treat them like personality disorders .

But today we want to talk about this second point: personality disorders. Personality disorders are defined as a permanent and inflexible pattern of behavior that is far from expectations according to the age and culture of the person . That is, someone who does not behave as expected and who interprets the world in a different way. Over the years, some diagnostic categories that have had a lot of impact on our culture have disappeared, such as the Multiple Personality Disorder, which has led to screenplays of well-known films such as Dr. Jekyll and Mr Hyde, but that nowadays does not appear as such in the diagnostic manuals (DSM-V).


Were these disorders myths or realities? Its existence or not in the past, the scientific basis that creates the consensus that a psychopathology It has a set of own characteristics, it is something difficult to value. Currently, this diagnostic category has disappeared and we could see similar features in the Dissociative Personality Disorder . What is really interesting about this topic is to observe the extent to which the sociocultural changes that occur over the centuries correlate with clinical changes, changes in symptoms and mental disorders.

Personality disorders: truths and lies

There are personality disorders that disappear from the manuals and others that arise and become fashionable, as is the case of borderline personality disorder, one of the most diagnosed in recent times and the most difficult to treat. They are impulsive and unstable people who present great difficulties in their interpersonal relationships.


It is curious the fact that most of the most diagnosed pathologies of the 21st century have as a common denominator the impulsiveness . Such is the case of ADHD, the TLP , etc.

Returning to the personality, we could say that there is a continuum that travels from personality disorder to mental illness, in many of the personality disorders there is a mental disorder at the opposite pole:

  • Obsessive-compulsive personality disorder - Obsessive-compulsive disorder
  • Schizotypal personality disorder - Schizophrenia
  • Paranoid Personality Disorder - Paranoid Schizophrenia

It seems that they are less serious manifestations of these pathologies.

Antisocial Disorder in the cinema

Another personality disorder that has liked a lot in the cinema and that has led to multiple films in which one of the characters has this characteristic has been the antisocial disorder (or the psychopath, as it is popularly known). Movies like The silence of the lambs (1991), who show us the psychopath as someone very intelligent and special, who is also a serial killer. There are other films that have dealt with these issues, as you can see in the article "Movies on psychology and mental disorders" But, what is true and false in all this?


The reality is that people who suffer from antisocial disorder often have problems with the courts because of their tendency to commit minor criminal acts, which are far from serial murders. There is a certain contempt and a violation of the rights of others for their own benefit and without any feeling of guilt. But killing others is not usually their goal, it is therefore an erroneous attribution: people with antisocial disorder are not potential killers.

We have also seen in the cinema some characters with obsessive-compulsive disorder, this time quite faithful to the typical symptomatology of this disorder. In Better ... Impossible(1997), Jack Nicholson he plays a writer of romantic novels with a good arsenal of compulsions that he has to deal with on a daily basis. Although the obsessive-compulsive personality disorder differs in some of the disorder obsessive compulsive (TOC), it is still a continuum in terms of severity and many of the symptoms are common: pattern of concern for order, perfectionism and control. This type of personality disorder has been portrayed in thousands of movies after dinner, with people obsessed with work, order and perfectionism, who need to control their surroundings and suffocate those around them.

Recapitulating: towards a relaxed view of personality disorders

But the reality of this disorder goes further, because at its most severe end can block the person in their daily lives, for their marked slowness in performing tasks. To do a perfect thing you must spend a lot of time, so sometimes it is not feasible to finish it in a reasonable time, and this often causes that they do not start an activity because they know they can not do it as they want, thus leaving many things and giving the impression that they are unmotivated or are pigeons. Nothing is further from reality. There are many personality disorders that are reflected in our cinema, but the reality is that they are difficult to treat and affect the day to day of the person who suffers.

Surely over the years, we will see some disorders that now exist and new ones appear, because the personality is not only genetic, it is also the result of a social, cultural context; emerges from our beliefs and our interpersonal relationships ... and consequently the catalog of disorders will hardly happen a fixed image.

What personality disorders will define the century XXI ?


Borderline Personality Disorder: Addiction Treatment Myths (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Troubles de la personnalité: mythes et réalités

Troubles de la personnalité: mythes et réalités

Septembre 11, 2022

Mythes et réalités sur les troubles de la personnalité

La psychologie parle depuis des décennies des différents types de personnalité et de leur influence sur notre façon d'interpréter le monde. Nous pouvons trouver deux moyens de traiter ce problème, d’un côté les professionnels qui décrivent les types de personnalité normale et sa prédisposition à différentes maladies physiques, telles que la célèbre personnalité de type A et de type B, le premier sujet aux maladies cardiovasculaires et au stress. Et l’autre façon est de les traiter comme troubles de la personnalité .

Mais aujourd’hui, nous voulons parler de ce deuxième point: les troubles de la personnalité. Les troubles de la personnalité sont définis comme un comportement permanent et inflexible qui est loin des attentes en fonction de l'âge et de la culture de la personne . C'est-à-dire quelqu'un qui ne se comporte pas comme prévu et qui interprète le monde d'une manière différente. Au fil des ans, certaines catégories de diagnostics qui ont eu beaucoup d’impact sur notre culture ont disparu, comme le Trouble de la personnalité multiple, qui a conduit à la création de scénarios de films bien connus tels que Dr. Jekyll et Mr Hyde, mais cela n’apparaît pas en tant que tel dans les manuels de diagnostic (DSM-V).


Ces troubles étaient-ils des mythes ou des réalités? Son existence ou pas dans le passé, la base scientifique qui crée le consensus selon lequel un psychopathologie Il a un ensemble de caractéristiques propres, c'est quelque chose de difficile à évaluer. Actuellement, cette catégorie de diagnostics a disparu et nous avons pu voir des caractéristiques similaires dans Trouble de la personnalité dissociative . Ce qui est vraiment intéressant sur ce sujet est d’observer dans quelle mesure les changements socioculturels qui se produisent au cours des siècles sont en corrélation avec des changements cliniques, des changements dans les symptômes et des troubles mentaux.

Troubles de la personnalité: vérités et mensonges

Il y a des troubles de la personnalité qui disparaissent des manuels et d'autres qui apparaissent et deviennent à la mode, comme c'est le cas du trouble de la personnalité limite, l'un des plus diagnostiqués ces derniers temps et des plus difficiles à traiter. Ce sont des personnes impulsives et instables qui présentent de grandes difficultés dans leurs relations interpersonnelles.


Il est curieux de constater que le dénominateur commun de la plupart des pathologies les plus diagnostiquées du XXIe siècle impulsivité . Tel est le cas du TDAH, le TLP etc.

En revenant à la personnalité, nous pourrions dire qu’il existe un continuum qui va d’un trouble de la personnalité à une maladie mentale. Dans de nombreux troubles de la personnalité, il existe un trouble mental au pôle opposé:

  • Trouble obsessionnel compulsif de la personnalité - Trouble obsessionnel compulsif
  • Trouble de la personnalité schizotypique - Schizophrénie
  • Trouble de la personnalité paranoïaque - schizophrénie paranoïde

Il semble que ce soient des manifestations moins graves de ces pathologies.

Trouble antisocial au cinéma

Un autre trouble de la personnalité qui a beaucoup plu au cinéma et qui a conduit à de multiples des films dans lequel l’un des personnages a cette caractéristique a été le trouble antisocial (ou le psychopathe, comme il est populairement connu). Des films comme Le silence des agneaux (1991), qui nous montrent le psychopathe en tant que quelqu'un de très intelligent et spécial, qui est aussi un tueur en série. Il y a d'autres films qui traitent de ces questions, comme vous pouvez le voir dans l'article "Films sur la psychologie et les troubles mentaux" Mais qu'est-ce qui est vrai et faux dans tout cela?


La réalité est que les personnes souffrant de troubles antisociaux ont souvent des problèmes avec les tribunaux en raison de leur tendance à commettre des infractions pénales mineures, qui sont loin d'être des meurtres en série. Il existe un certain mépris et une violation des droits des autres pour leur propre bénéfice et sans aucun sentiment de culpabilité. Tuer les autres n'est généralement pas leur objectif, c'est donc une attribution erronée: les personnes atteintes d'un trouble antisocial ne sont pas des tueurs potentiels.

Nous avons également vu au cinéma des personnages atteints de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, cette fois-ci fidèles à la symptomatologie typique de ce trouble. En mieux ... impossible(1997), Jack Nicholson il joue un écrivain de romans romantiques avec un bon arsenal de compulsions auxquelles il doit faire face quotidiennement. Bien que le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif de la personnalité diffère dans certains des désordre obsessionnel-compulsif (COT), il s’agit toujours d’un continuum en termes de gravité et bon nombre des symptômes sont courants: tendance au souci de l’ordre, au perfectionnisme et au contrôle. Ce type de trouble de la personnalité a été décrit dans des milliers de films après le dîner, avec des personnes obsédées par le travail, l'ordre et le perfectionnisme, qui doivent contrôler leur environnement et étouffer ceux qui les entourent.

Récapitulatif: vers une vision détendue des troubles de la personnalité

Mais la réalité de ce trouble va plus loin, car à son extrémité la plus grave peut bloquer la personne dans sa vie quotidienne, en raison de sa lenteur marquée dans l'exécution de tâches. Pour faire une chose parfaite, vous devez passer beaucoup de temps. Il est donc parfois impossible de le terminer dans un délai raisonnable. Cela les empêche souvent de commencer une activité, car ils savent qu'ils ne peuvent pas le faire comme ils le souhaitent, ce qui laisse des choses et donnant l’impression qu’elles sont démotivées ou sont des pigeons. Rien n'est plus éloigné de la réalité. Il existe de nombreux troubles de la personnalité dans notre cinéma, mais en réalité, ils sont difficiles à traiter et affectent le quotidien de la personne qui en souffre.

Certes, au fil des années, nous verrons apparaître certains désordres et de nouveaux désordres, car la personnalité n’est pas seulement génétique, elle est aussi le résultat d’un contexte social et culturel; se dégage de nos croyances et de nos relations interpersonnelles ... et par conséquent, le catalogue des troubles ne pourra guère devenir une image figée.

Quels troubles de la personnalité définiront le siècle XXI ?


L'irritabilité des femmes avant leurs règles... mythe ou réalité ? - Le Magazine de la santé (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes