yes, therapy helps!
Psychoanalyzed compulsive liar: a real case

Psychoanalyzed compulsive liar: a real case

May 19, 2024

Compulsive Liar and Psychoanalysis: a real case

In this article I am going to tell the story (1), the analysis and the results that the American psychoanalyst Stephen Grosz arrived with one of his patients. This patient was sent by his GP for being a pathological compulsive liar, in order to see if Grosz could offer him the therapy he needed to stop lying.

A history of lies: compulsive liar

The doctor sent Philip (2) to visit Dr. S. Grosz after meeting by chance with his wife and that she, with tears in his eyes, asked him please if they could talk about the possible options they had for treat your husband's lung cancer . As the doctor told him, actually Philip was completely healthy , but apparently, he had invented this lie to tell his wife.


In addition to this fact, during the first session, Philip confessed other of his innumerable lies to Grosz himself:

  • He had told his father-in-law, who was a sports journalist, that on one occasion he had been selected as a substitute for the English archery team .
  • At a school fundraiser, he told his daughter's music teacher that he himself was the son of a famous composer , who was also gay and was single.
  • He also said that the first lie he remembered telling was one he told a classmate, aged 11 or 12, telling him that he had been recruited by MI5 to be trained as an agent .

Lies too risky?

If there is one thing that the psychoanalyst realized soon, it was that his patient he did not seem to care that his "victims" knew he was lying . In fact, as Grosz recounts, when asked if he cared that they thought he was a liar:


"He shrugged"

And he added that the people he lied to rarely challenged him . In fact, his wife simply accepted the miraculous recovery of her husband; or in the case of his father-in-law, who simply kept silent.

On the other hand, when asked about how his lies affected his work environment, he argued that in him, "everybody lies "(Is a television producer).

Lying to the therapist

From the first moment, Grosz was very aware of the possibility that his patient also lied to him , and this happened a month after starting therapy. He stopped paying.

It took five months to pay and until the time he paid the fees, told lies of all kinds , since he had lost his check book, until he had donated his money to the Freud House Museum.


The moment he finally paid, he assumed on the one hand, a relief and on the other, a restlessness . In that moment he realized that he had been telling him bigger and bigger lies to avoid paying, but more importantly, he began to understand why he was lying.

Why do you lie pathologically?

When analyzing the situation he had experienced, he realized that as Philip was lying more and more he was retreating, showing more and more reserved .

It was then that he fell into the possibility that Philip was taking advantage of that social convention according to which we are silent when someone lies to us. But this would not explain why you need to get that control over the situation and cause such silences .

This point was the central axis of the therapy during the following year.

The root of the problem

How could it be otherwise, they talked about their childhood and about their family. Apparently there was no remarkable data that seemed to explain the reason for his pathology. Until one day, Philip recounted a seemingly insignificant event, which proved transcendental .

From the age of three he shared a room with his twin brothers. Sometimes, he would wake up in the middle of the night because of the scandal that the customers who came out of a pub located in front of his house were riding. When this happened, sometimes he wanted to urinate but he remained motionless in bed. This is why when I was little I used to wet the bed, and so that no one would notice, she wrapped her pajamas soaked with her sheets .

The next night, when he was about to sleep again, he found the sheets and pajamas clean again. Evidently, he knew that it had been his mother, but she did not tell anyone about it, and in fact, she did not talk about it with Philip either.

As Philip said during the session:

"I think my mother thought I would get over it.And I did it, but when she died. "

It should be added that, given the family atmosphere, Philip never had a chance to talk to his mother since it was always busy with the twins (who were younger than Philip), so, in the words of Grosz himself referring to his patient:

"I did not remember ever talking alone with her; One of his brothers or his father was always there. Wetting the bed and her silence gradually became a kind of private conversation, something only they shared. "

But this conversation disappeared when Philip's mother died suddenly. What led Philip to reproduce this type of communication with the rest of the people. When Philip tells a lie to his listener, he trusts that he does not say anything and becomes an accomplice of his secret world .

From all this, it follows that Philip's lies were not a personal attack on his interlocutors, but a way to maintain that closeness he had known with his mother , which was also the only close communication he had with her.

In short, a compulsive liar is for experiential reasons .

Author's Notes:

1 This case has been extracted from the book "The woman who did not want to love And other stories about the unconscious" p. 57-6, ISBN: 978-84-9992-361-1; original title "The Examined Life".

2 Throughout his book, Stephen Grosz uses other names to refer to his patients, as well as other personal information to protect their confidentiality.


Pathological Lying, Accusation, and Swindling -- A Study in Forensic Psychology - part (3 of 5) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Menteur compulsif psychanalysé: un cas réel

Menteur compulsif psychanalysé: un cas réel

Septembre 21, 2021

Menteur compulsif et psychanalyse: un cas réel

Dans cet article, je vais raconter l'histoire (1), l'analyse et les résultats de l'arrivée du psychanalyste américain Stephen Grosz avec l'un de ses patients. Ce patient a été envoyé par son médecin généraliste pour menteur compulsif pathologique, afin de voir si Grosz pouvait lui offrir la thérapie dont il avait besoin pour arrêter de mentir.

Une histoire de mensonges: menteur compulsif

Le médecin a envoyé Philip (2) rendre visite au Dr S. Grosz après avoir rencontré par hasard sa femme et que celle-ci, les larmes aux yeux, lui a demandé de bien vouloir parler des options possibles pour eux. soigner le cancer du poumon de votre mari . Comme le médecin lui a dit, en fait Philip était complètement en bonne santé , mais apparemment, il avait inventé ce mensonge pour le dire à sa femme.


En plus de ce fait, lors de la première séance, Philip a avoué d'autres gros mensonges à Grosz lui-même:

  • Il avait dit à son beau-père, qui était journaliste sportif, qu’une fois, il avait été sélectionné comme remplaçant de l'équipe anglaise de tir à l'arc .
  • Lors d'une collecte de fonds à l'école, il a dit au professeur de musique de sa fille qu'il était lui-même le fils d'un compositeur célèbre , qui était aussi gay et célibataire.
  • Il a également déclaré que le premier mensonge dont il se souvenait était celui qu’il avait raconté à un camarade de classe âgé de 11 ou 12 ans, en lui disant qu'il avait été recruté par le MI5 pour être formé en tant qu'agent .

Mensonges trop risqués?

S'il y a une chose que le psychanalyste réalise bientôt, c'est que son patient il ne semblait pas se soucier que ses "victimes" sachent qu'il mentait . En fait, comme le dit Grosz, lorsqu'on lui a demandé si cela lui importait qu'ils pensaient qu'il était un menteur:


"Il haussa les épaules"

Et il a ajouté que les gens à qui il a menti l'ont rarement défié . En fait, sa femme a simplement accepté le rétablissement miraculeux de son mari. ou dans le cas de son beau-père, qui a simplement gardé le silence.

D'autre part, lorsqu'on lui a demandé comment ses mensonges avaient affecté son environnement de travail, il a affirmé que "tout le monde ment "(Est un producteur de télévision).

Mentir au thérapeute

Dès le début, Grosz était très conscient de la possibilité que son patient lui ait aussi menti et cela est arrivé un mois après le début du traitement. Il a cessé de payer.

Il a fallu cinq mois pour payer et jusqu'au moment où il a payé les frais, mensonges en tous genres , depuis qu’il a perdu son carnet de chèques, jusqu’à ce qu’il ait fait don de son argent au Freud House Museum.


Au moment où il finit par payer, il assuma d'un côté, un soulagement et de l'autre une agitation . À ce moment, il réalisa qu'il lui avait dit de plus en plus de mensonges pour éviter de payer, mais plus important encore, il commença à comprendre pourquoi il mentait.

Pourquoi mentez-vous pathologiquement?

En analysant la situation qu'il avait vécue, il réalisa que Philip mentait de plus en plus il se retirait, montrant de plus en plus réservé .

C'est à ce moment-là qu'il est tombé sur la possibilité que Philip profite de cette convention sociale selon laquelle nous nous taisons lorsque quelqu'un nous ment. Mais cela n'expliquerait pas pourquoi vous devez avoir le contrôle de la situation et provoquer de tels silences .

Ce point était l’axe central de la thérapie au cours de l’année suivante.

La racine du problème

Comment pourrait-il en être autrement, ils ont parlé de leur enfance et de leur famille. Apparemment, aucune donnée remarquable ne semblait expliquer la raison de sa pathologie. Jusqu'à ce qu'un jour, Philip a raconté un événement apparemment insignifiant, qui s'est avéré transcendantal .

Dès l'âge de trois ans, il partage une chambre avec ses frères jumeaux. Parfois, il se levait au milieu de la nuit à cause du scandale que les clients qui sortaient d'un pub situé devant chez lui se trouvaient à cheval. Lorsque cela se produisait, il avait parfois envie d'uriner mais il restait immobile dans son lit. C'est pourquoi, quand j'étais petit, je mouillais le lit et que personne ne le remarquait, elle a enveloppé son pyjama imbibé de ses draps .

La nuit suivante, alors qu'il était sur le point de se rendormir, il trouva les draps et le pyjama propres. Évidemment, il savait que c’était sa mère, mais elle n’en a parlé à personne et, en fait, elle n’en a pas parlé avec Philip non plus.

Comme Philip l'a dit pendant la session:

"Je pense que ma mère pensait que je m'en remettrais.Et je l'ai fait, mais quand elle est morte. "

Il faut ajouter que, compte tenu de l’ambiance familiale, Philip n'a jamais eu l'occasion de parler à sa mère comme il était toujours occupé avec les jumeaux (qui étaient plus jeunes que Philip), ainsi, dans les mots de Grosz lui-même se référant à son patient:

"Je ne me souvenais pas avoir jamais parlé seul avec elle; Un de ses frères ou son père était toujours là. Mouiller le lit et son silence sont progressivement devenus une sorte de conversation privée, quelque chose que seuls ils ont partagé. "

Mais cette conversation a disparu lorsque la mère de Philip est décédée subitement. Ce qui a amené Philip à reproduire ce type de communication avec le reste de la population. Quand Philip dit un mensonge à son auditeur, il croit qu'il ne dit rien et devient le complice de son monde secret .

De tout cela, il s'ensuit que les mensonges de Philip n'étaient pas une attaque personnelle contre ses interlocuteurs, mais un moyen de maintenir cette proximité qu'il avait connue avec sa mère , ce qui était aussi la seule communication étroite qu’il avait avec elle.

En bref, un menteur compulsif est pour raisons expérientielles .

Notes de l'auteur:

1 Cette affaire a été extraite du livre "La femme qui n'a pas voulu aimer Et d'autres histoires sur l'inconscient" p. 57-6, ISBN: 978-84-9992-361-1; titre original "La vie examinée".

2 Tout au long de son livre, Stephen Grosz utilise d'autres noms pour désigner ses patients, ainsi que d'autres informations personnelles pour protéger leur confidentialité.


[PTLF] La dépendance affective (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes