yes, therapy helps!
Rudolf Carnap: biography of this analytical philosopher

Rudolf Carnap: biography of this analytical philosopher

November 27, 2021

Rudolf Carnap (1891-1970) was a German philosopher pioneer in logical positivism, empiricism and symbolic logic. It is recognized as one of the greatest exponents of the philosophy of science of the early twentieth century, since among other things it contributed to the consolidation of a paradigm of scientific rigor within philosophy.

Then we will see the biography of Rudolf Carnap , including some of the most important aspects of his life and work.

  • Related article: "Karl Popper's philosophy and psychological theories"

Rudolf Carnap: biography of a philosopher of science

Rudolf Carnap was born on May 18, 1891 in Ronsdorf, a municipality located in northwestern Germany. From the year 1910 to the year 1914 he was trained in philosophy and traditional logic, as well as in mathematics , at the University of Jena.


In this institution he worked together with Gottlob Frege, who was recognized as the greatest exponent of nineteenth-century mathematical logic. In the same university, but in the year of 1921 he graduated as a doctor with an investigation on the concept of space , which divided into three types: the formal space, the physical space and the intuitive space.

From this he began to develop in an important way as a philosopher of science and discusses the theories of symbolic logic and physics; At that time he also addressed issues related to time and causality.

The Vienna circle and logical empiricism

In the intellectual beginnings of twentieth-century Vienna, there was a small group of philosophers and mathematicians who they met to discuss some issues related to philosophy and science . This group was known as the circle of Vienna, and its founder, the logical empiricist Moritz Schlick, had invited Carnap to work together with them, within the circle and also at the University of Vienna.


Part of the work of the Vienna circle was to create a scientific perspective of the world, where it would be possible to apply the precision of the exact sciences in reflections and philosophical theories. In contrast to the traditional logic approach, which studies the principles of demonstration and verification of inferences through a language without strict formalization; Rudolf Carnap defended the principles of symbolic logic or mathematical logic . The latter translates and systematizes, through a formalist language, intuitive notions of mathematics such as sets, numbers, algorithms, among others.

Through the concept of stability criterion, Carnap and other philosophers of logical empiricism rejected the more speculative traditions of theology and metaphysics, not so much because they are considered false but because they do not make significant statements in logical and formalistic terms. In addition, they considered that many of the philosophical questions did not have a real sense, and that they were posed by rhetoric and excessive language.


  • Maybe you're interested: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Logical empiricism of Carnap in Germany and the United States

From here he made different connections with philosophers of science of empiricist tradition working in Germany, and finally, in the year 1930 created a special forum for the development of a new scientific philosophy, called Erkenntniss.

Through the influence of German empiricism, Carnap argued that first-order terms and statements were reducible to those of the second order. through a principle known as the principle of reducibility .

Accordingly, all the concepts used to describe empirical facts are completely definable by terms that refer exclusively to aspects of immediate experience. Then, all empirical statements are susceptible to becoming statements about immediate experiences.

In his period within the circle and the University of Vienna, Carnap developed a more liberal approach to empiricism , from which he argued that the concepts of empirical science are not completely definable by purely experiential terms; but that, at least, can be defined by "reduction statements" and "observation statements". The latter can serve to confirm an empirical statement, although not so much to offer a strict proof of existence or refutation.

Finally he worked as a professor and researcher at the University of Prague, but faced with the conflictive political context prior to the Second World War, Carnap went to the United States, where he was nationalized in the year 1941.In this country he worked as a professor at the University of Chicago, as a researcher at Harvard and later at UCLA. Through new influences and interests, Carnap continued to theorize about semantics, the principle of verification, probability, induction and philosophy of language .

Outstanding works

The most important publication of Rudolf Carnap, which among other things consecrated him as one of the most important logical positivists of the twentieth century It was the book Language logical syntax, of the year 1934. He argued that there is no logic or true language, beyond the specific objectives pursued when we use it.

Other of Rudolf Carnap's most important works are Des Logische Aufbau der Welt (The logical structure of the world), and Pseudoproblems of philosophy, both from the year 1928. Among the most recent and also outstanding works are Two essays in entropy, 1977; two volumes of Studies in inductive logic and probability, of 1971 and 1980 respectively; Y Metalogical, of 1995.

Bibliographic references:

  • Duignan, B. & Hempel, C. (2018). Rudolf Carnap. Retrieved July 23, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Rudolf-Carnap.
  • Arthur, P. (1963). The Philosophy of Rudolf Carnap. Retrieved July 23, 2018. Available at //fitelson.org/confirmation/carnap_schilpp_volume.pdf.

Carnap on Empiricism, Semantics, and Ontology (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rudolf Carnap: biographie de ce philosophe analytique

Rudolf Carnap: biographie de ce philosophe analytique

Février 3, 2023

Rudolf Carnap (1891-1970) était un philosophe allemand pionnier du positivisme logique, de l'empirisme et de la logique symbolique. Il est reconnu comme l'un des plus grands représentants de la philosophie des sciences du début du XXe siècle, puisqu'il a notamment contribué à la consolidation d'un paradigme de la rigueur scientifique au sein de la philosophie.

Ensuite nous verrons la biographie de Rudolf Carnap , y compris certains des aspects les plus importants de sa vie et de son travail.

  • Article connexe: "Philosophie et théories psychologiques de Karl Popper"

Rudolf Carnap: biographie d'un philosophe des sciences

Rudolf Carnap est né le 18 mai 1891 à Ronsdorf, une municipalité du nord-ouest de l'Allemagne. De l'année 1910 à l'année 1914 il a été formé à la philosophie et à la logique traditionnelle, ainsi qu'aux mathématiques , à l’Université de Jena.


Dans cette institution, il travailla avec Gottlob Frege, reconnu comme le plus grand représentant de la logique mathématique du XIXe siècle. Dans la même université, mais en 1921 il a obtenu son diplôme de médecin avec une enquête sur le concept d'espace , qui se divise en trois types: l’espace formel, l’espace physique et l’espace intuitif.

À partir de là, il commença à se développer de manière importante en tant que philosophe des sciences et aborda les théories de la logique symbolique et de la physique. À cette époque, il a également abordé des questions liées au temps et à la causalité.

Le cercle de Vienne et l'empirisme logique

Aux débuts intellectuels de Vienne au XXe siècle, il y avait un petit groupe de philosophes et de mathématiciens qui ils se sont rencontrés pour discuter de questions liées à la philosophie et à la science . Ce groupe était connu comme le cercle de Vienne et son fondateur, l’empiriste logique Moritz Schlick, avait invité Carnap à travailler avec eux, au sein du cercle et également à l’Université de Vienne.


Une partie du travail du cercle de Vienne consistait à créer une perspective scientifique du monde, dans laquelle il serait possible d'appliquer la précision des sciences exactes aux réflexions et aux théories philosophiques. Contrairement à l'approche logique traditionnelle, qui étudie les principes de démonstration et de vérification des inférences à travers un langage sans formalisation stricte; Rudolf Carnap a défendu les principes de la logique symbolique ou de la logique mathématique . Ce dernier traduit et systématise, à travers un langage formaliste, des notions intuitives de mathématiques telles que les ensembles, les nombres, les algorithmes, entre autres.

Par le biais du concept de critère de stabilité, Carnap et d’autres philosophes de l’empirisme logique ont rejeté les traditions plus spéculatives de la théologie et de la métaphysique, non pas tant parce qu’elles sont considérées comme fausses que parce qu’elles ne font pas de déclarations significatives en termes logiques et formalistes. En outre, ils considéraient que beaucoup de questions philosophiques n’avaient pas de sens réel et qu’elles étaient posées par de la rhétorique et un langage excessif.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

L'empirisme logique de Carnap en Allemagne et aux États-Unis

À partir de là, il noua divers liens avec des philosophes des sciences de tradition empiriste travaillant en Allemagne et, finalement, il créa en 1930 un forum spécial pour le développement d’une nouvelle philosophie scientifique, appelée Erkenntniss.

Par l'influence de l'empirisme allemand, Carnap a soutenu que les termes et les déclarations de premier ordre étaient réductibles à ceux du second ordre. à travers un principe connu sous le nom de principe de réductibilité .

En conséquence, tous les concepts utilisés pour décrire des faits empiriques peuvent être complètement définis par des termes qui se réfèrent exclusivement à des aspects de l'expérience immédiate. Ensuite, toutes les déclarations empiriques sont susceptibles de devenir des déclarations d’expériences immédiates.

Au sein de son cercle et de l’université de Vienne, Carnap a développé une approche plus libérale de l'empirisme , à partir de laquelle il a fait valoir que les concepts de la science empirique ne sont pas complètement définissables par des termes purement expérientiels; mais cela, au moins, peut être défini par des "déclarations de réduction" et des "déclarations d'observation". Ce dernier peut servir à confirmer une affirmation empirique, mais pas tellement à offrir une preuve stricte d'existence ou de réfutation.

Enfin, il travailla comme professeur et chercheur à l'Université de Prague mais, confronté au contexte politique conflictuel qui prévalait avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Carnap partit pour les États-Unis, où il fut nationalisé en 1941.Dans ce pays, il a été professeur à l'Université de Chicago, chercheur à Harvard puis à UCLA. Par de nouvelles influences et intérêts, Carnap a continué à théoriser sur sémantique, principe de vérification, probabilité, induction et philosophie du langage .

Œuvres en vedette

La publication la plus importante de Rudolf Carnap, qui l’a notamment consacré comme l'un des plus importants positivistes logiques du XXe siècle C'était le livre Syntaxe logique du langagede 1934. Il a fait valoir qu’il n’existait pas de logique ni de vrai langage au-delà des objectifs spécifiques poursuivis lors de son utilisation.

Les autres œuvres les plus importantes de Rudolf Carnap sont Des Logische Aufbau der Welt (La structure logique du monde), et Pseudoproblèmes de la philosophie, à la fois de l'année 1928. Parmi les œuvres les plus récentes et les plus remarquables figurent Deux essais en entropie1977; deux volumes de Etudes en logique inductive et probabilité, de 1971 et 1980 respectivement; et Metalogical, de 1995.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Duignan, B. & Hempel, C. (2018). Rudolf Carnap. Récupéré le 23 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/biography/Rudolf-Carnap.
  • Arthur, P. (1963). La philosophie de Rudolf Carnap. Récupéré le 23 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //fitelson.org/confirmation/carnap_schilpp_volume.pdf.

Kurt Gödel's Philosophical Viewpoint (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes