yes, therapy helps!
Rumination: the annoying vicious circle of thought

Rumination: the annoying vicious circle of thought

November 29, 2022

Although human beings have a good capacity for inventiveness, it is also true that we are not always especially imaginative and spontaneous.

There are some situations that make us more likely to make our mind go through the same routes known over and over again, as if we were a vinyl. These vicious circles of thought not only stop our creativity, but transform everything that over time are making us feel worse.

What in psychology is known as rumination It is an example of this.

What is rumination?

The rumination of thought is the psychological phenomenon that appears when our focus of attention is "hooked" on a real or imaginary element that causes us stress and discomfort. That is, in rumination there is a paradox: something like thought, which by definition is dynamic and constantly changing, becomes almost static and locked in a circuit that makes it move in loops.


Where there is rumination there is also a person who is incapable of thinking without a good part of the things that he experiences, whether external stimuli or memories, make him think about his discomfort and the causes of it. When we find so many references to the origin of that feeling of grief and anxiety, everything to which we turn our attention becomes a trapdoor through which we fall back to the place where we were before: the consideration of the things that concern us.

This repetitive process makes more and more experiences that we have linked to stress in previous occasions accumulate in our memory, so that the variety of references to our discomfort grows over time.


When the thought goes on rails

In a way, rumination causes our thinking to adopt an automated and repetitive pattern based on a simple mechanism: t All the thoughts that come to mind will be spun among each other so that they are related to our discomfort . In this way, we lose concentration capacity and it is more difficult for us to manipulate ideas voluntarily, since all the elements will end up shifting our attention towards a concrete experience or a thought that produces negative sensations.

As our thinking is caught in this loop, it is hard for us to take initiatives that can be used to discharge that accumulated stress, and this in turn will prevent us from finding stimulating distractions in which we can concentrate.

The outcome of the thought rumination

In most cases, at some point the person experiencing rumination of thoughts spends enough time distracted to make the loop weaken and stress levels fall, but in other cases its persistence is associated with the appearance of the symptoms of depression.


In fact, one of the characteristics of depression is the lack of motivation of ability to set goals that are not immediate, as well as sedentary lifestyle, two factors that are also related to rumination .

Three ways to break the loop

If instead of waiting for rumination to disappear on its own, we prefer to take action on our own, There are some strategies that can help in this respect

The most useful and simple to reduce stress levels and release the focus of attention are:

1. Sport

Physical exercise is a great help to combat rumination, among other things because, while it makes us release endorphins, it requires us to concentrate on experiences that occur in real time.

After getting tired exercising, our muscles are not the only ones that start to recover: the neural connections also begin to connect with each other in a new way , after having been dedicated for a while to approach the goal of each physical exercise.

2. Mindfulness

Mindfulness has also been shown to be effective in reducing levels of anxiety and in disengaging attention from sources of stress. Although it is true that even during meditation our thinking does not stop (it does not even while we sleep), during these sessions it takes alternative routes, and it keeps us away from the self-referential thought that creates loops of discomfort and stress .

Other forms of meditation may also have benefits of this type, but they have not been so scientifically studied.

3. Walk

Something as simple as going for a walk can help you think more spontaneously , in addition to serving to release endorphins and discharge tensions. If this is done in natural environments with vegetation and away from noises, the better.

As in nature there is an atmosphere that helps us to relax and, at the same time, it is difficult to find direct references to our daily routine and what causes us anxiety, this type of space is perfect to disconnect. During the time we spend in wild environments, our brain learns to function by leaving the path marked by rumination, and that effect is fixed over time.


Cognitive Behaviour Therapy - Vicious Cycles (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rumination: le cercle vicieux agaçant de la pensée

Rumination: le cercle vicieux agaçant de la pensée

Novembre 26, 2022

Bien que l’être humain ait une bonne capacité d’inventivité, il est également vrai que nous ne sommes pas toujours particulièrement imaginatifs et spontanés.

Il y a des situations qui nous rendent plus susceptibles de faire en sorte que notre esprit suive encore et encore les mêmes voies, comme si nous étions un vinyle. Ces cercles vicieux de pensée non seulement arrêtent notre créativité, mais transforment tout ce qui au fil du temps nous aggrave.

Ce qu'on appelle en psychologie rumination C'est un exemple de cela.

Qu'est-ce que la rumination?

La rumination de la pensée est le phénomène psychologique qui apparaît lorsque notre centre d'attention est "accroché" à un élément réel ou imaginaire cela nous cause du stress et de l'inconfort. C’est-à-dire qu’il existe dans la rumination un paradoxe: quelque chose comme la pensée, qui par définition est dynamique et en constante évolution, devient presque statique et bloquée dans un circuit qui la fait bouger en boucle.


Là où il y a rumination, il y a aussi une personne qui est incapable de penser sans une bonne partie de ses expériences, qu'il s'agisse de stimuli externes ou de souvenirs, lui fait penser à son inconfort et à ses causes. Lorsque nous trouvons tant de références à l'origine de ce sentiment de chagrin et d'anxiété, tout ce vers quoi nous tournons notre attention devient une trappe par laquelle nous retombons à l'endroit où nous étions auparavant: la prise en compte de ce qui nous concerne.

Ce processus répétitif fait que de plus en plus d’expériences que nous avons associées au stress dans des occasions précédentes s’accumulent dans notre mémoire, de sorte que la variété de références à notre inconfort s’accroît avec le temps.


Quand la pensée passe sur des rails

D'une certaine manière, la rumination amène notre pensée à adopter un schéma automatisé et répétitif basé sur un mécanisme simple: t Toutes les pensées qui vous viennent à l’esprit vont être échangées pour qu’elles soient liées à notre inconfort. . De cette manière, nous perdons notre capacité de concentration et il est plus difficile pour nous de manipuler les idées volontairement, car tous les éléments finiront par déplacer notre attention vers une expérience concrète ou une pensée qui produit des sensations négatives.

Comme notre pensée est prise dans cette boucle, il est difficile pour nous de prendre des initiatives qui peuvent être utilisées pour évacuer ce stress accumulé, ce qui nous évitera de trouver des distractions stimulantes dans lesquelles nous pourrons nous concentrer.

Le résultat de la rumination de la pensée

Dans la plupart des cas, à un moment donné, la personne qui rumine ses pensées passe suffisamment de temps distraite pour affaiblir la boucle et réduire le niveau de stress, mais dans d'autres cas, sa persistance est associée à l'apparition de les symptômes de la dépression.


En fait, l’une des caractéristiques de la dépression est le manque de motivation pour se fixer des objectifs qui ne sont pas immédiats, ainsi qu’un style de vie sédentaire. deux facteurs qui sont également liés à la rumination .

Trois façons de rompre la boucle

Si au lieu d'attendre que la rumination disparaisse d'elle-même, nous préférons agir de notre côté, Certaines stratégies peuvent aider à cet égard

Les moyens les plus utiles et les plus simples pour réduire les niveaux de stress et libérer l'attention sont:

1. sport

L’exercice physique est une aide précieuse pour lutter contre la rumination, entre autres choses, car il nous oblige à libérer des endorphines, mais nous oblige à nous concentrer sur des expériences vécues en temps réel.

Après une fatigue physique, nos muscles ne sont pas les seuls à commencer à récupérer: les connexions neuronales commencent également à se connecter les unes aux autres d'une manière nouvelle , après avoir été consacré pendant un certain temps à atteindre le but de chaque exercice physique.

2. pleine conscience

La pleine conscience s'est également révélée efficace pour réduire les niveaux d'anxiété et dissocier l'attention des sources de stress. Même s’il est vrai que même pendant la méditation, notre pensée ne s’arrête pas (pas même pendant que nous dormons), au cours de ces séances, elle emprunte des voies alternatives. cela nous éloigne de la pensée autoréférentielle qui crée des boucles d'inconfort et de stress .

D'autres formes de méditation peuvent également présenter des avantages de ce type, mais elles n'ont pas été aussi scientifiquement étudiées.

3. marcher

Quelque chose d'aussi simple que d'aller faire une promenade peut vous aider à penser plus spontanément , en plus de servir à libérer des endorphines et à décharger des tensions. Si cela est fait dans des environnements naturels avec de la végétation et loin des bruits, mieux ce sera.

Comme dans la nature il y a une atmosphère qui nous aide à nous détendre et, en même temps, il est difficile de trouver des références directes à notre routine quotidienne et à ce qui nous cause de l'anxiété, ce type d'espace est parfait pour se déconnecter. Pendant le temps que nous passons dans des environnements sauvages, notre cerveau apprend à fonctionner en laissant le chemin marqué par la rumination, et cet effet est corrigé dans le temps.


L'angoisse d'anticipation, comment la contrôler (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes