yes, therapy helps!
Salvia: 11 properties and benefits of this plant

Salvia: 11 properties and benefits of this plant

June 4, 2022

The vegetal kingdom is wide, and in it we can find innumerable species of plants that form the rich range of living beings that populate the earth. And many of these plants have shown interesting properties in many different areas, some of which are consumable for us and even beneficial for our health. Benefits that may include the fact of nourishing ourselves, helping us to fight diseases or improve our health or even improve our appearance.

Sage is an example of this, being known and used since ancient Greece. There are many properties of sage , and that is why throughout this article we will focus on reviewing some of the most popular.


  • Related article: "Verdolaga: 12 properties and benefits of this medicinal plant"

What is this plant?

We call sage a well-known plant of aromatic type, which is part of the family of the lamiaceae (like oregano or basil) and that is widely available and extended by Mediterranean countries since ancient times.

It is a type of plant with great versatility in its use. For example it is used in a decorative way in beads or gardening, it is used as a condiment to different stews and cooked and is part of different incenses, perfumes and cosmetics due to its pleasant aroma as well as its effects on health.


So the applications that are given to this vegetable are very diverse, being able to go from the cosmetic industry to food use or even as a medicinal plant . With respect to the latter, it is in fact from where its name arises, which is derived from the terms salus and salvare (health and save respectively), always emphasizing its positive effects on the organism.

Properties of salvia

As you can guess from its constant use throughout history in a large number of areas, there are many properties that sage possesses. Next we will explain some of the most important ones, especially in what refers to its effect on our health .

Now, we must bear in mind that some of its properties may not be so positive: its use is not indicated in people with kidney problems, allergies, epilepsy or in pregnancy or lactation (has abortive properties) Your oil should not be ingested, as it can be toxic due to components such as terpene ketones, thuyone or camphor. It can also contribute to seizures and in high doses can be neurotoxic.


Among the positive properties, the following stand out.

1. It has antibiotic effects

One of the salvia's salutary properties comes from the fact that it strengthens the immune system, helping to eliminate bacteria and serving as an antiseptic in case of injuries and infections (reason why it is used as a component in certain mouthwashes or creams).

2. Astringent

The fact that a significant proportion of tannins is found in sage contributes to soothe gastrointestinal problems , being able among other things to help to calm the intestinal motility and reduce the emission of excrements (for example in case of diarrhea) given its astringent effects.

3. Rich in antioxidants

The use as a condiment of sage has the advantage of having an interesting amount of antioxidants that hinder damage by oxidation of tissues , contributing to the healing, to the cutaneous health (also in its cosmetic use) and even helping to maintain the health and functioning of the brain.

4. Reduce blood glucose

Another of the properties of sage is to be hypoglycemic, generating a decrease in blood glucose levels. This makes its use useful for diabetics when it comes to lowering their glycemic level . Of course, as long as it is used only as an aid (never as a substitute for any medication).

5. Invigorates and stimulates the appetite

Sage has been useful for treat muscle weakness, lack of energy and asthenia . It also stimulates appetite and activity. However, people suffering from psychiatric disorders such as bipolar disorder should avoid its use in this sense, since it may favor the onset of symptoms.

6. Relieves gastrointestinal discomfort

It has been seen that tea made with salvia shows some utility when it comes to curbing the discomfort and discomfort of minor affections of the digestive tract, reducing pain and reducing gastrointestinal motility.

7. Relaxing effect

Although apparently contrary to the previous effect, another of the properties of sage is that infusion allows muscle relaxation. It has been observed that Helps fight insomnia, often used together with chamomile , and seems to help reduce the level of anxiety despite being in turn invigorating.

  • Related article: "Chamomile: 7 properties and benefits of this plant"

8. It is anti-inflammatory

Sage is a plant with anti-inflammatory properties, reducing for example discomfort of gastric or digestive tract problems and contributing to the relaxation of stressed muscles .

9. Contributes to improve gynecological problems

One of its most traditional uses is linked to gynecological disorders and alterations, especially with regard to hot flashes and climacteric alterations . It also favors the menstrual cycle, contributing to the generation of estrogen. Likewise, the aforementioned anti-inflammatory effects also contribute to reducing the discomfort inherent to the cycle.

10. Strengthens hair and skin

Sage is a component that we often find in cosmetics such as creams and oils, favoring the health of hair and being useful in some types of dermatitis and when it comes to keeping the skin disinfected (as well as promoting healing).

11. Favors cognitive activity

Sage also seems to increase cognitive functionality and studies are even being carried out that seem to indicate that Alzheimer's patients show a slight improvement in activity level and mental functionality, for example in the case of memory.

Bibliographic references:

  • Drew, B. T., Gonzalez-Gallegos, J.G., Xiang, C.L., Kriebel, R., Drummond, C.P., Walker, J.B. and Sytsma, K.J., (2017). "Salvia united: The greatest good for the greatest number". Taxon, 66 (1), pp. 133-145.
  • Sutton, John (2004). The Gardener's Guide to Growing Salvias. New York: Workman Publishing Company

SALVIA | The History & Truth of Salvia Divinorum (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Salvia: 11 propriétés et avantages de cette plante

Salvia: 11 propriétés et avantages de cette plante

Juin 26, 2022

Le règne végétal est vaste et on peut y trouver d'innombrables espèces de plantes qui forment la riche gamme d'êtres vivants qui peuplent la terre. Et beaucoup de ces plantes ont montré des propriétés intéressantes dans de nombreux domaines, dont certains sont consommables pour nous et même bénéfiques pour notre santé. Les avantages pouvant inclure le fait de se nourrir, de nous aider à lutter contre les maladies, à améliorer notre santé ou même à améliorer notre apparence.

La sauge en est un exemple, connue et utilisée depuis la Grèce antique. Il y a beaucoup de propriétés de la sauge et c’est pourquoi, tout au long de cet article, nous allons nous concentrer sur certains des plus populaires.


  • Article connexe: "Verdolaga: 12 propriétés et avantages de cette plante médicinale"

Quelle est cette plante?

Nous appelons la sauge une plante bien connue de type aromatique, qui fait partie de la famille des lamiacées (comme l'origan ou le basilic) et qui est largement disponible et étendu par les pays méditerranéens depuis les temps anciens.

C'est un type de plante avec une grande polyvalence dans son utilisation. Par exemple, il est utilisé de manière décorative dans les perles ou le jardinage, il est utilisé comme condiment pour différents ragoûts et cuits et fait partie de différents encens, parfums et cosmétiques en raison de son arôme agréable ainsi que de ses effets sur la santé.


Donc, les applications qui sont données à ce légume sont très diverses, pouvant aller de l'industrie cosmétique à l'utilisation alimentaire ou même comme une plante médicinale . En ce qui concerne ce dernier, il provient en fait de son nom, qui dérive des termes salus et salvare (respectivement santé et sauvegarde), en soulignant toujours ses effets positifs sur l’organisme.

Propriétés de la Salvia

Comme vous pouvez le deviner grâce à son utilisation constante au cours de son histoire dans un grand nombre de domaines, la sage possède de nombreuses propriétés. Nous allons ensuite expliquer quelques-uns des plus importants, en particulier en ce qui concerne son effet sur notre santé .

Maintenant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que certaines de ses propriétés peuvent ne pas être aussi positives: son utilisation n'est pas indiquée chez les personnes souffrant de problèmes rénaux, d'allergies, d'épilepsie ou pendant la grossesse ou l'allaitement (a des propriétés abortives) Votre huile ne doit pas être ingérée, car elle peut être toxique en raison de composants tels que les cétones terpéniques, la thuyone ou le camphre. Il peut également contribuer aux convulsions et peut être neurotoxique à fortes doses.


Parmi les propriétés positives, se distinguent les suivantes.

1. Il a des effets antibiotiques

L'une des propriétés bénéfiques de la Salvia provient du fait qu'elle renforce le système immunitaire en aidant à éliminer les bactéries et servant d'antiseptique en cas de blessures et d'infections (raison pour laquelle il est utilisé comme composant dans certains bains de bouche ou crèmes).

2. astringent

Le fait qu’une proportion importante de tanins se trouve dans la sauge contribue à apaiser les problèmes gastro-intestinaux , pouvant entre autres aider à calmer la motilité intestinale et à réduire l’émission d’excréments (par exemple en cas de diarrhée) compte tenu de ses effets astringents.

3. Riche en antioxydants

L’utilisation comme condiment de sauge a l’avantage d’avoir une quantité intéressante de antioxydants qui empêchent les dommages causés par l'oxydation des tissus , contribuant à la guérison, à la santé cutanée (également dans son utilisation cosmétique) et même contribuant au maintien de la santé et du fonctionnement du cerveau.

4. réduire la glycémie

Une autre des propriétés de la sauge est d'être hypoglycémique, ce qui entraîne une diminution de la glycémie. Cela rend son utilisation utile pour les diabétiques lorsqu'il s'agit d'abaisser leur niveau glycémique . Bien sûr, tant qu'il n'est utilisé que comme aide (jamais comme substitut d'un médicament).

5. Dynamise et stimule l'appétit

Sage a été utile pour traiter la faiblesse musculaire, le manque d'énergie et l'asthénie . Il stimule également l'appétit et l'activité. Cependant, les personnes souffrant de troubles psychiatriques tels que le trouble bipolaire doivent éviter de l'utiliser dans ce sens, car cela peut favoriser l'apparition de symptômes.

6. Soulage l'inconfort gastro-intestinal

Il a été constaté que le thé à base de salvia présente une certaine utilité s’agissant de réduire l’inconfort des petites affections du tube digestif, de réduire la douleur et de réduire la motilité gastro-intestinale.

7. Effet relaxant

Bien qu'apparemment contraire à l'effet précédent, une autre propriété de la sauge est que l'infusion permet la relaxation musculaire. Il a été observé que Aide à combattre l'insomnie, souvent utilisé avec la camomille , et semble aider à réduire le niveau d’anxiété même s’il est vivifiant à son tour.

  • Article connexe: "Camomille: 7 propriétés et avantages de cette plante"

8. C'est anti-inflammatoire

La sauge est une plante aux propriétés anti-inflammatoires, réduisant par exemple l’inconfort des problèmes d’appareil gastrique ou digestif et contribuer à la relaxation des muscles stressés .

9. Contribue à améliorer les problèmes gynécologiques

L’une de ses utilisations les plus traditionnelles est liée aux troubles et altérations gynécologiques, en particulier en ce qui concerne les bouffées de chaleur et les altérations climatériques . Il favorise également le cycle menstruel, contribuant à la production d'œstrogène. De même, les effets anti-inflammatoires susmentionnés contribuent également à réduire l’inconfort inhérent au cycle.

10. renforce les cheveux et la peau

La sauge est un composant que l’on retrouve souvent dans les cosmétiques comme les crèmes et les huiles, favorisant la santé des cheveux et être utile dans certains types de dermatite et quand il s'agit de garder la peau désinfectée (ainsi que de favoriser la guérison).

11. favorise l'activité cognitive

Sage semble également augmenter la fonctionnalité cognitive et des études sont même en cours qui semblent indiquer que les patients atteints de la maladie d'Alzheimer montrent une légère amélioration du niveau d'activité et de la fonctionnalité mentale, par exemple dans le cas de la mémoire.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Drew, B.T., Gonzalez-Gallegos, J. G., Xiang, C. L., Kriebel, R., Drummond, C. P., Walker, J. B. et Sytsma, K. J., (2017). "Salvia unie: le plus grand bien pour le plus grand nombre". Taxon, 66 (1), pp. 133-145.
  • Sutton, John (2004). Le guide du jardinier pour la culture de Salvias. New York: Workman Publishing Company

La sauge (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes