yes, therapy helps!
SENA: an efficient clinical evaluation system for children and adolescents

SENA: an efficient clinical evaluation system for children and adolescents

July 14, 2024

With the constant evolution that intrinsically involves the knowledge of psychology, more and more complete assessment instruments are needed that allow the achievement of a more comprehensive assessment process. This is even more relevant in the case of the child population, where a process of psychological development is taking place that will be decisive in the later achievement of personality and adult functioning.

In this sense, the rise of multidimensional psychometric tests is becoming increasingly evident. This type of approach allows contemplating personal variations in the characteristics and manifestations of psychological problems. The Evaluation System for Children and Adolescents (SENA) is a good example of this type of methodology that has a series of features that greatly facilitate the role of the clinician in the evaluation of infant-juvenile psychopathology.


  • You may be interested: "Anxiety disorders in childhood: symptoms and treatments

Description and application of SENA

SENA is oriented to evaluate the set of emotional and behavioral problems that can be observed between 3 and 18 years of age . Its publication in 2015 was a proposal to replace a very similar previous test, the BASC (System of Evaluation of the Conduct of Children and Adolescents) in order to update some of the elements included in the scales, increase the validity index of the test and complement with other scales of clinical interest, such as those related to Psychological Resources and Vulnerability Areas.


More specifically, the SENA presents three types of questionnaire based on the age of the person evaluated : children's education (3-6 years), primary education (6-12 years) and secondary education (12-18 years). It also has the particularity that each chronological section of the test is multi-informant, each consisting of three complementary questionnaires: the self-report, which collects the responses of the subject; the family report, answered by the parents; the school report, which includes the evaluation in the school environment observed by the child's tutor or also by the school psychologist.

What does SENA evaluate?

This instrument makes it possible to obtain, through different age-specific forms and informants, an exhaustive assessment to determine the existence and intensity of the emotional and behavioral problems most commonly associated with the child and adolescent population. So, more specifically SENA differentiates the following types of psychological difficulties .


Internalized problems

These are related to anxiogenic or dysphoric symptomatology and become more usually internal emotional manifestations of the individual.

Externalized problems

Its indicators can be externally more evident and are related to more behavioral aspects.

Contextual problems

These scales are shaped by the assessment of problems in the family and in the school environment (differentiating the academic difficulties of the relational from the peers).

Specific problems

Depending on the chronological mode administered, the existence of the following types of problems is evaluated:

All the aforementioned scales converge in obtaining global indexes that synthesize what is found in them and add a general value of difficulties in executive functions and the total level of personal resources.

On the other hand, SENA also provides other types of indexes with very relevant information that facilitate a deeper and more complete assessment of the personal dispositions of the evaluated person in order to establish more clearly if the problems found have a more or less favorable prognosis . These include scales of vulnerabilities or factors more linked to a worse prognosis and personal resources, which are understood as protective factors associated with a better prognosis.

On the other hand, the SENA highlights the presence of positive responses in critical items, the seriousness of which requires special attention to be paid to its more detailed analysis, such as questions about suicidal ideation, school bullying, hallucinations, etc.

Finally, this tool measures, by means of some control scales, the sincerity with which the informants have responded without minimizing, maximizing or manifesting an incoherent style in the answers provided. The scales included in this section refer to Inconsistency and Positive / Negative Printing of the answers provided.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

Conclusion: purpose, reliability and validity of SENA

Like any psychometric psychological evaluation instrument, the SENA does not pretend to serve as the only diagnostic element . While it is true that it provides a large volume of information, everything found from this must be complemented with a good process of analysis and other methodologies such as observation, interview or the administration of other complementary tests. As a whole, this will allow a more clear diagnostic impression to be elaborated in a rigorous manner, as well as to outline the type of psychological intervention that is most appropriate to the case being evaluated.

Regarding the main indices that assess the quality of a psychological assessment instrument, the reliability (the degree to which the test is accurate in the variables it measures) and the validity (the safety with which the test measures the variable that you want to measure), satisfactory levels have been obtained in both areas.

Thus, the average obtained in all SENA scales has reached an internal consistency or reliability of 0.86 (values ​​between 0.0 and 1.0). On the other hand, the level of agreement between informants is between 40 and 60%, which places SENA on the average of most evaluation instruments and even slightly higher depending on the source and the scale Clinic determined.

Finally, with regard to the validity of the test , the long process and the participation of a large group of experts who have intervened in the elaboration and review of the items that make up the test are a sample of the exhaustive work carried out to reach a satisfactory validity value.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fernández-Pinto, I., Santamaría, P., Sánchez-Sánchez, F., Carrasco, M.A. and del Barrio, V. (2015) SENA. Evaluation System for Children and Adolescents: Application Manual, correction and interpretation. Madrid: TEA Editions.
  • Fernández-Pinto, I., Santamaría, P., Sánchez-Sánchez, F., Carrasco, M.A. and del Barrio, V. (2015) SENA. System for the Evaluation of Children and Adolescents: Technical Manual. Madrid: TEA Editions.

СУИЦИД. ПОСЛЕСМЕРТНАЯ СУДЬБА (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
SENA: un système d'évaluation clinique efficace pour les enfants et les adolescents

SENA: un système d'évaluation clinique efficace pour les enfants et les adolescents

Août 8, 2022

Avec l'évolution constante qui implique intrinsèquement la connaissance de la psychologie, de plus en plus d'instruments d'évaluation complets sont nécessaires pour permettre la réalisation d'un processus d'évaluation plus complet. Ceci est encore plus pertinent dans le cas de la population d’enfants, où se déroule un processus de développement psychologique qui sera décisif pour la réalisation ultérieure de la personnalité et du fonctionnement de l’adulte.

En ce sens, la montée des tests psychométriques multidimensionnels devient de plus en plus évidente. Ce type d’approche permet d’envisager des variations personnelles des caractéristiques et des manifestations des problèmes psychologiques. Le système d'évaluation des enfants et des adolescents (SENA) est un bon exemple de ce type de méthodologie. qui comporte une série de caractéristiques qui facilitent grandement le rôle du clinicien dans l’évaluation de la psychopathologie infanto-juvénile.


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Troubles anxieux de l’enfance: symptômes et traitements

Description et application du SENA

SENA est orienté vers évaluer l'ensemble des problèmes émotionnels et comportementaux pouvant être observés entre 3 et 18 ans . Sa publication en 2015 était une proposition visant à remplacer un test précédent très similaire, le BASC (Système d'évaluation de la conduite des enfants et des adolescents), afin de mettre à jour certains des éléments inclus dans les échelles, d'augmenter l'indice de validité. du test et en complément d’autres échelles d’intérêt clinique, telles que celles liées aux ressources psychologiques et aux zones de vulnérabilité.


Plus spécifiquement, le SENA présente trois types de questionnaire basés sur l'âge de la personne évaluée : éducation des enfants (3-6 ans), enseignement primaire (6-12 ans) et secondaire (12-18 ans). Il présente également la particularité que chaque section chronologique du test est un multi-informateur composé de trois questionnaires complémentaires: l’auto-évaluation, qui recueille les réponses du sujet; le rapport de famille auquel les parents ont répondu; le bulletin scolaire, qui inclut l'évaluation en milieu scolaire observée par le tuteur de l'enfant ou également par le psychologue scolaire.

Qu'est-ce que SENA évalue?

Cet instrument permet d’obtenir, par le biais de différents formulaires et informations par âge, une évaluation exhaustive permettant de déterminer l’existence et l’intensité des problèmes émotionnels et comportementaux les plus couramment associés à la population d’enfants et d’adolescents. Donc, plus spécifiquement SENA distingue les types de difficultés psychologiques suivants .


Problèmes intériorisés

Celles-ci sont liées à la symptomatologie anxiogène ou dysphorique et deviennent plus généralement des manifestations émotionnelles internes de l'individu.

Problèmes externalisés

Ses indicateurs peuvent être plus évidents à l’extérieur et sont liés à davantage d’aspects comportementaux.

Problèmes contextuels

Ces échelles sont façonnées par l’évaluation des problèmes familiaux et scolaires (différenciant les difficultés académiques du relationnel des pairs).

Problèmes spécifiques

En fonction du mode chronologique administré, on évalue l’existence des types de problèmes suivants:

Toutes les échelles susmentionnées convergent pour obtenir des index globaux qui synthétisent ce qui se trouve en eux et ajoutent une valeur générale aux difficultés liées aux fonctions exécutives et au niveau total des ressources personnelles.

D'autre part, le SENA fournit également à d'autres types d'index des informations très pertinentes qui facilitent une évaluation plus approfondie et plus complète des dispositions personnelles de la personne évaluée afin de: établir plus clairement si les problèmes rencontrés ont un pronostic plus ou moins favorable . Celles-ci incluent des échelles de vulnérabilité ou des facteurs plus liés à un mauvais pronostic et des ressources personnelles, qui sont comprises comme des facteurs de protection associés à un meilleur pronostic.

D'autre part, le SENA souligne la présence de réponses positives dans des points critiques, dont le sérieux nécessite une attention particulière à son analyse plus détaillée, telles que des questions sur les idées suicidaires, l'intimidation à l'école, les hallucinations, etc.

Enfin, cet outil mesure, au moyen de certaines échelles de contrôle, la sincérité avec laquelle les informateurs ont répondu sans minimiser, maximiser ou manifester un style incohérent dans les réponses fournies. Les échelles incluses dans cette section se réfèrent aux incohérences et aux impressions positives / négatives des réponses fournies.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Conclusion: objectif, fiabilité et validité du SENA

Comme tout instrument d’évaluation psychométrique psychologique, le SENA ne prétend pas être le seul élément de diagnostic . S'il est vrai que cela fournit un grand volume d'informations, tout ce qui en découle doit être complété par un bon processus d'analyse et d'autres méthodologies telles que l'observation, l'entretien ou l'administration d'autres tests complémentaires. Globalement, cela permettra d'élaborer une impression diagnostique plus claire de manière rigoureuse, ainsi que de définir le type d'intervention psychologique le plus approprié au cas évalué.

Concernant les principaux indices qui évaluent la qualité d’un instrument d’évaluation psychologique, la fiabilité (le degré de précision du test dans les variables qu’il mesure) et la validité (la sécurité avec laquelle le test mesure la variable vous souhaitez mesurer), des niveaux satisfaisants ont été obtenus dans les deux domaines.

Ainsi, la moyenne obtenue sur toutes les échelles SENA a atteint une consistance interne ou une fiabilité de 0,86 (valeurs comprises entre 0.0 et 1.0). Par ailleurs, le degré d'accord entre les informateurs se situe entre 40 et 60%, ce qui situe le SENA sur la moyenne de la plupart des instruments d'évaluation et même légèrement plus élevé en fonction de la source et de l'échelle. Clinique déterminée.

Finalement, en ce qui concerne la validité du test , le long processus et la participation d’un groupe important d’experts intervenant dans l’élaboration et la révision des éléments composant le test constituent un exemple du travail exhaustif réalisé pour atteindre une valeur de validité satisfaisante.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fernández-Pinto, I., Santamaría, P., Sánchez-Sánchez, F., Carrasco, M.A. et del Barrio, V. (2015) SENA. Système d'évaluation pour les enfants et les adolescents: Manuel d'application, correction et interprétation. Madrid: éditions TEA.
  • Fernández-Pinto, I., Santamaría, P., Sánchez-Sánchez, F., Carrasco, M.A. et del Barrio, V. (2015) SENA. Système d'évaluation des enfants et des adolescents: Manuel technique. Madrid: éditions TEA.

LGQ: François Fillon, Onfray, Naulleau / Échapper à la pensée unique ? (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes