yes, therapy helps!
The 14 most common causes of drug addiction

The 14 most common causes of drug addiction

January 14, 2023

The consumption of drugs is an increasingly widespread problem worldwide, and the consequences of these cause numerous problems for people at a physical, psychological and social level.

Therefore, the first step when fighting against drug addiction in knowing the causes of this. In this article we will see 14 causes that drug addiction have shown to be habitual ; they range from social and family influences, to the neurotransmitters' own performance and genetics.

  • Related article: "15 consequences of drug use (in your mind and in your body)"

Are there factors that cause drug addiction?

Of course, both the initiation of drug addiction habits and the maintenance of these do not appear spontaneously or randomly, but rather they are the answer or the result of a series of previous situations that predispose her .


However, it is necessary to specify that each person is totally different when facing these situations, and that the experience of these does not necessarily have to end with a habit of drug addiction. Even in those causes of genetic origin, the person should be influenced by many other factors that predispose him to it.

This means that the drug does not have a unique cause. Although there are numerous elements that influence its appearance, must appear together two or more of these for the person decides to start using drugs recurrently.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Most common causes of drug addiction

Among the most common causes of drug addiction are the following.


1. Curiosity

After numerous investigations it has been concluded that Curiosity is one of the main causes of drug addiction behavior .

This factor occurs especially in the youngest population, which starts in the consumption of drugs influenced by information received from the environment or the media.

2. Traumatic experiences

Although not all people who have experienced a traumatic experience or with a high emotional content develop behaviors or habits of drug addiction, many others find in drugs an escape route that helps them cope with certain especially complicated situations.

The objective of these behaviors is to forget certain memories that they torture the mind of the person and thus, distract the intellect so as not to have to face them. In this way, there are many people who decide to experiment with drugs to achieve a state of relaxation or daze.


  • Related article: "What is trauma and how does it influence our lives?"

3. Relief from stress

This point is closely related to the previous one. Those people whose rhythm of life carries great pressure or stress , whether at work, family or social level, they may find in drugs a way to relax and relieve tension even for a few moments.

However, the addiction itself will generate more and more tension between one consumption and another , so the person will need more and more doses and will do so more and more recurrently.

  • Related article: "Types of stress and its triggers"

4. Improve performance

In certain areas such as sports or academics, it is common for some people they resort to the consumption of some type of narcotic substance to try to improve their performance .

What these people ignore or think they can avoid, is that although the drug is only consumed at specific times for a specific purpose, there are many chances that it ends up becoming an addiction.

5. Lack of motivation and objectives

There are numerous cases of drug addiction people who do not find any kind of motivation in their life, therefore they look for drugs the experimentation of pleasant sensations or euphoria .

6. Influence of the family context

Certain studies establish that coexistence in an unstable family environment , being the child of drug addicted parents or mental disorders in parents are factors that facilitate the use of drugs in the youngest.

In a family environment in which the consumption of drugs is normal and even normalized, it is common for children to develop some type of addiction and that parents, as consumers, do not condemn these behaviors.

7. Pressure or influences of the circle of friends

One of the most frequent causes of drug addiction in adolescents is the pressure they receive from their group of friends to start the consumption . In groups in which the consumption is habitual or frequent, it is very possible that the minor initiates and maintains the consumption of drugs with the intention of fitting in or integrating into it.

8Lack of social skills

The properties of certain drugs of abuse facilitate that the person feels uninhibited and safe. Therefore, those people of introverted character or with little social skills They are more likely to consume some substance at times when they have to face social interaction.

9. Imitation by admiration

Especially at younger ages, the influence of certain known people or public figures can make some people want to imitate some of their behaviors among which is the experimentation with drugs.

10. Sleep problems

Sleep problems are becoming more common in many people, also those people who need to rest properly for any reason, or who do their work at night and need to sleep for the day, they can start using drugs or relaxing compounds that help them sleep .

However, if the person begins to persist with the hours of sleep and fatigue, the repetitive consumption of these compounds or drugs can lead to a serious addiction.

  • Related article: "Combat insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better"

11. Medical prescription

In most cases, when we think of an addiction, only all kinds of illegal substances or alcohol come to mind. However, those Prescribed drugs with risk of addiction and administered incorrectly , are likely to become possible drugs of abuse or, at least, generate a lot of dependency.

12. Mental illnesses

There are certain disorders and mental illnesses whose symptomatology can instigate the person to consume some type of drug. Good to relieve pain. or to alleviate psychological distress.

The disorders that are most frequently associated with drug use are:

  • Depression.
  • Anxiety.
  • Psychotic disorders : schizophrenia and bipolar disorder.
  • Attention deficit disorder and hyperactivity.

13. Genetic factors

Although it can not be considered a direct cause of drug addiction, there is an extensive debate among the investigations that defend the existence of a genetic predisposition to drug addiction and those that insist that this association is really due to learning.

However, studies conducted on twin brothers have found evidence pointing to a strong relationship between the partial relationship between drug addiction and genetics.

14. Neurochemical mechanisms

In most cases, the very mechanism of pleasure and reward carried out by different neurotransmitters involved in addiction processes, are those that lead the person to want re-experience the pleasant sensations they felt during the first consumption .

In this way, a person with an organism especially sensitive to the action of certain substances, can go from experimenting with drugs for the first time to develop an addiction that allows you to repeatedly experience the same sensations of pleasure.


Drug Addiction : How to Tell if a Person is Using Cocaine (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 14 causes les plus courantes de toxicomanie

Les 14 causes les plus courantes de toxicomanie

Juin 20, 2019

La consommation de drogues est un problème de plus en plus répandu dans le monde et ses conséquences entraînent de nombreux problèmes pour les personnes aux niveaux physique, psychologique et social.

Par conséquent, la première étape de la lutte contre la toxicomanie consiste à en connaître les causes. Dans cet article, nous verrons 14 causes que la toxicomanie se sont avérées habituelles ; elles vont d'influences sociales et familiales à la propre performance et à la génétique des neurotransmetteurs.

  • Article connexe: "15 conséquences de la consommation de drogues (dans votre esprit et dans votre corps)"

Existe-t-il des facteurs responsables de la toxicomanie?

Bien entendu, l’initiation à la toxicomanie et son maintien n’apparaissent ni spontanément ni au hasard, mais plutôt ils sont la réponse ou le résultat d'une série de situations antérieures qui la prédisposent .


Cependant, il est nécessaire de préciser que chaque personne est totalement différente face à ces situations et que l'expérience de celles-ci ne doit pas nécessairement aboutir à une habitude de toxicomanie. Même dans les cas d’origine génétique, la personne devrait être influencée par de nombreux autres facteurs qui l’y prédisposent.

Cela signifie que le médicament n'a pas une cause unique. Bien que de nombreux éléments influencent son apparence, doivent apparaître ensemble deux ou plusieurs de ces éléments pour que la personne décide de commencer à consommer de la drogue régulièrement.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Causes les plus courantes de toxicomanie

Parmi les causes les plus courantes de toxicomanie sont les suivantes.


1. la curiosité

Après de nombreuses enquêtes, il a été conclu que La curiosité est l’une des principales causes du comportement toxicomane .

Ce facteur concerne surtout la population la plus jeune, qui commence par la consommation de drogues influencée par les informations reçues de l'environnement ou des médias.

2. Expériences traumatiques

Bien que toutes les personnes qui ont connu une expérience traumatique ou avec un contenu émotionnel élevé Si vous développez des comportements ou des habitudes de toxicomanie, de nombreux autres trouvent dans la drogue une voie d’évasion qui les aide à faire face à certaines situations particulièrement complexes.

L'objectif de ces comportements est d'oublier certains souvenirs qu'ils torturent l'esprit de la personne et distraient ainsi l'intellect pour ne pas avoir à les affronter. De cette manière, de nombreuses personnes décident d'expérimenter des médicaments pour atteindre un état de relaxation ou d'hébétude.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qu'un traumatisme et comment influence-t-il nos vies?"

3. Soulagement du stress

Ce point est étroitement lié au précédent. Ceux personnes dont le rythme de vie est soumis à une pression ou à un stress important Que ce soit au travail, au niveau familial ou social, ils peuvent trouver dans la drogue un moyen de se détendre et de soulager la tension, même pendant quelques instants.

Cependant, la dépendance elle-même va générer de plus en plus de tension entre une consommation et une autre Ainsi, la personne aura besoin de plus en plus de doses et le fera de plus en plus de façon récurrente.

  • Article connexe: "Types de stress et ses déclencheurs"

4. Améliorer les performances

Dans certains domaines tels que le sport ou les universitaires, il est fréquent que certaines personnes ils ont recours à la consommation d'un certain type de substance narcotique pour essayer d'améliorer leurs performances .

Ce que ces personnes ignorent ou pensent pouvoir éviter, bien que la drogue ne soit consommée qu’à des moments spécifiques dans un but précis, il existe de nombreuses chances pour qu’elle finisse par devenir une dépendance.

5. Manque de motivation et d'objectifs

Il existe de nombreux cas de toxicomanes qui ne trouvent aucune motivation dans leur vie. Ils recherchent donc des drogues. l'expérimentation de sensations agréables ou d'euphorie .

6. Influence du contexte familial

Certaines études établissent que la coexistence dans un environnement familial instable , être l'enfant de parents toxicomanes ou de troubles mentaux chez les parents sont des facteurs qui facilitent la consommation de drogues chez les plus jeunes.

Dans un environnement familial où la consommation de drogues est normale et même normalisée, il est courant que les enfants développent un type de dépendance et que les parents, en tant que consommateurs, ne condamnent pas ces comportements.

7. Pression ou influences du cercle d'amis

Une des causes les plus fréquentes de toxicomanie chez les adolescents est la pression qu'ils reçoivent de leur groupe d'amis pour commencer la consommation . Dans les groupes où la consommation est habituelle ou fréquente, il est fort possible que le mineur initie et maintienne la consommation de drogues dans l’intention de s’y intégrer ou de s’y intégrer.

8Manque de compétences sociales

Les propriétés de certaines drogues d’abus facilitent le sentiment que la personne se sent libre et en sécurité. Par conséquent, ceux les gens de caractère introverti ou avec peu de compétences sociales Ils sont plus susceptibles de consommer de la substance à des moments où ils doivent faire face à une interaction sociale.

9. Imitation par admiration

En particulier chez les jeunes, l'influence de certaines personnes connues ou de personnalités publiques peut amener certaines personnes à vouloir imiter certains de leurs comportements, parmi lesquels l'expérimentation de la drogue.

10. Problèmes de sommeil

Les problèmes de sommeil sont de plus en plus fréquents chez de nombreuses personnes, y compris celles qui ont besoin de se reposer correctement pour une raison quelconque, ou qui font leur travail la nuit et qui ont besoin de dormir la journée. ils peuvent commencer à utiliser des médicaments ou des composés relaxants qui les aident à dormir .

Cependant, si la personne commence à persister avec des heures de sommeil et de fatigue, la consommation répétitive de ces composés ou drogues peut entraîner une dépendance grave.

  • Article connexe: "Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir"

11. Prescription médicale

Dans la plupart des cas, lorsqu'on pense à une dépendance, on ne pense qu'à toutes sortes de substances illégales ou d'alcool. Cependant, ceux Drogues prescrites avec risque de dépendance et mal administrées , sont susceptibles de devenir des drogues d'abus ou, au moins, de générer beaucoup de dépendance.

12. maladies mentales

Il existe certains troubles et certaines maladies mentales dont la symptomatologie peut inciter la personne à consommer un type de drogue. Bon pour soulager la douleur. ou pour soulager la détresse psychologique.

Les troubles les plus fréquemment associés à la consommation de drogues sont:

  • La dépression
  • Anxiété
  • Troubles psychotiques : schizophrénie et trouble bipolaire.
  • Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention.

13. Facteurs génétiques

Bien que cela ne puisse pas être considéré comme une cause directe de la toxicomanie, les enquêtes qui défendent l'existence de une prédisposition génétique à la toxicomanie et ceux qui insistent sur le fait que cette association est vraiment due à l'apprentissage.

Cependant, des études menées sur des frères jumeaux ont mis en évidence une forte relation entre la relation partielle entre la toxicomanie et la génétique.

14. Mécanismes neurochimiques

Dans la plupart des cas, le mécanisme même du plaisir et de la récompense mis en œuvre par différents neurotransmetteurs impliqués dans des processus de dépendance, sont ceux qui amènent la personne à vouloir revivre les sensations agréables ressenties lors de la première consommation .

De cette façon, une personne ayant un organisme particulièrement sensible à l'action de certaines substances peut passer d'une première expérience avec la drogue à une dépendance qui permet de ressentir de manière répétée les mêmes sensations de plaisir.


Dans un square à Paris, de jeunes Marocains livrés à eux-mêmes (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes