yes, therapy helps!
The 30 most common psychological symptoms

The 30 most common psychological symptoms

September 4, 2022

The symptoms are manifestations by the patient of a pathological state . There are different types of symptoms, among which we can find physiological symptoms (for example, acceleration of the pulse or rapid breathing), physical (for example, headache or dizziness) or psychological, whether affective, cognitive or perceptual.

Of the latter, the psychological symptoms, we will discuss in this article.

Most frequent psychological symptoms

The psychological symptoms may be different depending on the type of disorder of the person. But, What are the most common psychological signs or symptoms?

Below you can find a list of the 30 most common symptoms of this type, and their characteristics:


1. Apathy

Apathy is the lack of interest and motivation towards external stimuli, for example, towards interpersonal relationships or toward life in general. In extreme cases, this reluctance is typical of depressive states and it causes the person to feel weak and without strength, because it affects their motivation.

2. Catastrophic thinking

Catastrophic thinking is associated with pessimistic people, and shows that something is happening inside the person. It is a distortion of reality in which everything is seen negatively and problems are anticipated even when they are going to happen . It can be a consequence of stress, anxiety and even depression.


3. Blaming others and the situation

When someone does not have enough self-esteem, self-confidence or is too sad, they usually blame others and the situation. This makes the person lose the ability to self-leadership and self-motivation and, as a consequence, it is paralyzed (in addition to harming others in some cases). It is common to be present next to learned helplessness.

4. Problems of concentration

Problems of concentration appear in a multitude of disorders, since when motivation is low, sadness seizes a person or the individual is living a stressful situation, the attention is usually directed towards oneself and towards his recurrent thoughts , which seriously hinders your concentration.

On the other hand, it can also happen that the main symptoms of the disorder have to do with the alterations of the conscience and the attentional focus, which can lead to experiencing inhibition inadequacies and a low control over behavior.


5. Excessive grudge

Acceptance is one of the best ways to overcome painful situations and it is necessary to find emotional stability . When the person is not able to accept the situation, resentment and constant criticism towards others often arise.

6. Feeling of emptiness

The feeling of emptiness is frequent in mood disorders, in which the person seems to live an existential crisis . She feels frustrated for not finding her place in this world.

  • Related article: "Existential crisis: when we do not find meaning in our life"

7. Blaming yourself

A person can constantly blame himself, which shows low self-confidence and self-esteem that needs to be worked on. It is a way to avoid facing problems that are presented

8. Mental exhaustion

When a person suffers from emotional problems, stress or anxiety for long periods of time, your mind seems to reach a limit . It is what is known as psychological, mental or emotional exhaustion. The person needs a rest after so much suffering.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Emotional fatigue: strategies to face it and overcome it"

9. Feeling of failure

This symptom appears intensely and painfully at times when the person does not have high confidence or self-esteem . It refers to a maladaptive emotion.

10. Constant worry

Constant worry is a characteristic symptom of Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD). The person always has a thought of concern in mind, on one or several topics that are considered very relevant. For example, if you are going to be fired from work.

Some physical and physiological consequences of this symptom may be: muscle tension, shortness of breath, rapid heartbeat, dry mouth, etc.

11. Restlessness (anxiety)

Worry can cause the person not to feel calm, because anticipates dangers and has lost objectivity and the ability to think lucidly based on rational criteria.

12. Affective distancing

Affective distancing manifests itself in different disorders (for example, those of mood or schizoid personality disorder) and affects notably interpersonal relationships .

13. Feeling of threat

In some disorders the person feels a constant threat . It is especially common in psychotic disorders, such as paranoid disorder, in which the person may come to think that everyone is against him and wants to harm him.

14. Feeling of inferiority

The feeling of inferiority appears when a person thinks that he is (and feels) less than others permanently. Is a clear indication that the self-esteem of that person is low .

15. Feelings of being out of control

When someone does not have the necessary emotional balance or is going through a bad time in their life, they may feel out of control. That is he does not feel that he has his life controlled .

16. Sadness

Although sadness is not a sufficient symptom to diagnose a depression, it is a characteristic feature of this disorder. The sadness transiently is totally normal, the problem is when this symptom becomes chronic and makes the correct functioning of the person's life impossible.

17. Melancholy

Sadness is a current feeling that makes you feel bad, instead, melancholy has to do with a sad event related to the past and that makes us feel bad in the present . It is also characteristic of depressive disorder.

18. Low tolerance to frustration

This way of thinking is totally maladaptive. It has to do with low self-confidence in oneself and causes us not to face the different situations that arise throughout our life successfully. Low tolerance frustration can cause avoidance of some situations , for example, in social phobia.

19. Disorientation

It is characterized because the individual presents confusion as to the time and place in which you are . It can manifest itself in some psychopathologies such as Delirium Tremens.

20. Emotional lability

The emotional lability is the inadequate affective expression , that is, disproportionate laughter or inappropriate cries. The emotional expression, therefore, does not fit with the situation is exaggerated.

21. Sleepiness

Drowsiness is a feeling of tiredness, heaviness and sleep that usually appears when a person has a low mood . On the other hand, it is also common for drowsiness to be a secondary effect of psychotropic drugs consumed to treat the disorder or pathology.

22. Insomnia

Insomnia is the inability to sleep , and can appear in different situations: when the person experiences anxiety, worry, stress or have problems to solve in their life. In addition, the problems derived from the experimentation of the disorder can cause problems to appear at the time of falling asleep, by the added stress when having more worries.

23. Irritability

Irritability is an exaggerated response to stimuli. The person tends to get irritated by anything and can manifest mood changes . In addition, the interpersonal conflicts that appear as a result of this state of mind and predisposition to anger cause that even more reasons to experience stress accumulate.

24. Irrational fear

It usually appears when a person has a phobia. It is a type of learned fear, which is not real, but rather anticipatory. That is originates in an imaginary, distorted and catastrophic thought . For example, the fear of flying.

  • Related article: "The 16 types of fear and their characteristics"

25. Feeling like the victim

It manifests itself in the presence of a weak self-esteem, so that the person becomes the victim on a regular basis as a way to manage anger and anger . It is an avoidance response that serves as a short-term justification, but in the long run brings interpersonal conflicts and problems when evaluating the results of one's decisions.

26. Feeling lonely

This is because loneliness is a negative mental state, which is linked to feelings of incomprehension, sadness and insecurity. This insecurity makes the person perceive that others do not understand and they do not share their values ​​and their tastes.

This perceived incomprehension on the part of others not only makes a subjective sense of isolation appear, but also makes us more likely to have health problems due to the lack of hygiene and proper nutrition as well as the psychological consequences it generates.

27. Wanting to hurt others

Anger and frustration can manifest with a mental state of revenge or wanting to hurt others. In many occasions it remains in only that, in a mental state, in an idea . In others, on the other hand, an individual may behave violently.

28. Depersonalization

Some mental patients experience a psychic state characterized because they feel strange to themselves , to your body and the environment that surrounds you. This, in turn, makes them more likely to adopt a pattern of decisions and actions that leads to loneliness.

29. Lack of hope for the future

Lack of motivation and lack of life goals makes a person can not visualize the future in a positive way . Something that, in turn, also causes serious problems for the individual.

30. Psychological blockades

The mental block is a psychological barrier that can be imposed on a person and prevents him from understanding clearly in some aspects of his life. The individual has the ability to hinder your own progress when it comes to achieving certain goals in your life.

  • Recommended article: "Emotional blocks: what are they and how can we overcome them?"

Psychological Disorders: Crash Course Psychology #28 (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 30 symptômes psychologiques les plus courants

Les 30 symptômes psychologiques les plus courants

Septembre 20, 2022

Les symptômes sont des manifestations par le patient d'un état pathologique . Il existe différents types de symptômes, parmi lesquels on peut trouver des symptômes physiologiques (par exemple, une accélération du pouls ou une respiration rapide), physiques (par exemple, un mal de tête ou des vertiges) ou psychologiques, qu'ils soient affectifs, cognitifs ou perceptuels.

Parmi ces derniers, les symptômes psychologiques, nous en discuterons dans cet article.

Symptômes psychologiques les plus fréquents

Les symptômes psychologiques peuvent être différents selon le type de trouble de la personne. Mais Quels sont les signes ou symptômes psychologiques les plus courants?

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des 30 symptômes les plus courants de ce type et leurs caractéristiques:


1. apathie

L'apathie est le manque d'intérêt et de motivation pour les stimuli externes, par exemple, pour les relations interpersonnelles ou pour la vie en général. Dans des cas extrêmes, cette réticence est typique des états dépressifs et cela amène la personne à se sentir faible et sans force, car cela affecte sa motivation.

2. Pensée catastrophique

La pensée catastrophique est associée aux personnes pessimistes et montre que quelque chose se passe à l'intérieur de la personne. C’est une déformation de la réalité dans laquelle tout est vu négativement et les problèmes sont anticipés même quand ils vont arriver . Cela peut être une conséquence du stress, de l'anxiété et même de la dépression.


3. Blâmer les autres et la situation

Quand quelqu'un n'a pas assez d'estime de soi, de confiance en soi ou est trop triste, il blâme généralement les autres et la situation. Cela rend la personne perdre la capacité de leadership et d'auto-motivation et, par conséquent, il est paralysé (en plus de nuire à autrui dans certains cas). Il est courant d'être présent à côté de l'impuissance acquise.

4. Problèmes de concentration

Des problèmes de concentration apparaissent dans une multitude de troubles, car lorsque la motivation est faible, la tristesse s'empare d'une personne ou celle-ci vit une situation stressante, l'attention est généralement dirigée vers soi et ses pensées récurrentes qui gêne sérieusement votre concentration.

D'autre part, il peut aussi arriver que les principaux symptômes de la maladie soient liés aux altérations de la conscience et à la focalisation de l'attention, qui peut conduire à des insuffisances d'inhibition et un faible contrôle sur le comportement.


5. rancune excessive

L’acceptation est l’un des meilleurs moyens de surmonter des situations douloureuses et il est nécessaire de trouver une stabilité émotionnelle . Lorsque la personne n'est pas en mesure d'accepter la situation, un ressentiment et une critique constante à l'égard des autres apparaissent souvent.

6. sentiment de vide

La sensation de vide est fréquente dans les troubles de l'humeur, dans lequel la personne semble vivre une crise existentielle . Elle se sent frustrée de ne pas trouver sa place dans ce monde.

  • Article connexe: "Crise existentielle: quand on ne trouve pas de sens dans notre vie"

7. vous blâmer

Une personne peut constamment se blâmer, ce qui démontre une confiance en soi et une estime de soi faibles sur lesquelles il faut travailler. C'est un moyen d'éviter de faire face à des problèmes qui sont présentés

8. épuisement mental

Lorsqu'une personne souffre de problèmes émotionnels, de stress ou d'anxiété pendant de longues périodes, votre esprit semble atteindre une limite . C'est ce qu'on appelle l'épuisement psychologique, mental ou émotionnel. La personne a besoin de repos après tant de souffrances.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Fatigue émotionnelle: stratégies pour y faire face et la surmonter"

9. sentiment d'échec

Ce symptôme apparaît intensément et douloureusement aux moments où la personne n'a pas une grande confiance en soi ou estime de soi . Cela fait référence à une émotion mésadaptée.

10. inquiétude constante

L'inquiétude constante est un symptôme caractéristique du trouble d'anxiété généralisée (TAG). La personne a toujours une pensée d'inquiétude à l’esprit, sur un ou plusieurs sujets considérés comme très pertinents. Par exemple, si vous allez être renvoyé du travail.

Certaines conséquences physiques et physiologiques de ce symptôme peuvent être: une tension musculaire, un essoufflement, un rythme cardiaque rapide, une bouche sèche, etc.

11. Agitation (anxiété)

Le souci peut amener la personne à ne pas se sentir calme, car anticipe les dangers et a perdu son objectivité et la capacité de penser lucidement sur des critères rationnels.

12. Distanciation affective

La distanciation affective se manifeste par différents troubles (par exemple, ceux du trouble de l'humeur ou de la personnalité schizoïde) et affecte notamment les relations interpersonnelles .

13. Sentiment de menace

Dans certains désordres la personne ressent une menace constante . C'est particulièrement fréquent dans les troubles psychotiques, tels que les troubles paranoïaques, dans lesquels la personne peut en venir à penser que tout le monde est contre lui et veut lui faire du mal.

14. sentiment d'infériorité

Le sentiment d'infériorité apparaît lorsqu'une personne pense qu'elle est (et se sent) moins que les autres de façon permanente. C'est une indication claire que l'estime de soi de cette personne est faible .

15. Sentiments d'être hors de contrôle

Lorsqu'une personne n'a pas l'équilibre émotionnel nécessaire ou traverse une mauvaise période de sa vie, elle peut se sentir incontrôlable. C'est que il ne sent pas qu'il a sa vie contrôlée .

16. tristesse

Bien que la tristesse ne soit pas un symptôme suffisant pour diagnostiquer une dépression, elle constitue un trait caractéristique de ce trouble. La tristesse est transitoirement tout à fait normale, le problème est quand ce symptôme devient chronique et rend impossible le fonctionnement correct de la vie de la personne.

17. mélancolie

La tristesse est un sentiment actuel qui vous fait sentir mal, mais la mélancolie a à voir avec un événement triste lié au passé et qui nous fait nous sentir mal dans le présent . C'est aussi caractéristique du trouble dépressif.

18. Faible tolérance à la frustration

Cette façon de penser est totalement inadaptée. Cela a à voir avec une faible confiance en soi en soi et nous empêche de faire face avec succès aux différentes situations qui se sont produites tout au long de notre vie. La frustration de faible tolérance peut éviter certaines situations , par exemple, dans la phobie sociale.

19. Désorientation

Il est caractérisé parce que l'individu présente confusion quant à l'heure et le lieu dans lequel vous êtes . Il peut se manifester dans certaines psychopathologies telles que Delirium Tremens.

20. labilité émotionnelle

La labilité émotionnelle est la expression affective inadéquate c'est-à-dire des éclats de rire disproportionnés ou inappropriés. L'expression émotionnelle, par conséquent, ne correspond pas à la situation est exagérée.

21. somnolence

La somnolence est une sensation de fatigue, de lourdeur et de sommeil qui apparaît généralement quand une personne a une humeur basse . D'autre part, il est également fréquent que la somnolence soit un effet secondaire des médicaments psychotropes consommés pour traiter le trouble ou la pathologie.

22. insomnie

L'insomnie est la incapacité de dormir , et peut apparaître dans différentes situations: lorsque la personne ressent de l’anxiété, de l’inquiétude, du stress ou des problèmes à résoudre dans sa vie. En outre, les problèmes découlant de l’expérimentation du trouble peuvent causer des problèmes au moment de s’endormir, en raison du stress supplémentaire que suscitent plus de soucis.

23. irritabilité

L'irritabilité est une réponse exagérée aux stimuli. La personne a tendance à être irritée par n'importe quoi et peut manifester des changements d'humeur . De plus, les conflits interpersonnels qui apparaissent à la suite de cet état d'esprit et de cette prédisposition à la colère font que de plus en plus de raisons de faire l'expérience du stress s'accumulent.

24. Peur irrationnelle

Il apparaît généralement quand une personne a une phobie. C'est un type de peur apprise, qui n'est pas réelle, mais anticipative. C'est que provient d'une pensée imaginaire, déformée et catastrophique . Par exemple, la peur de voler.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 types de peur et leurs caractéristiques"

25. Se sentir comme la victime

Elle se manifeste en présence d’une faible estime de soi, de sorte que la personne devient la victime sur une base régulière comme un moyen de gérer la colère et la colère . C'est une réponse d'évitement qui sert de justification à court terme, mais qui à long terme apporte des conflits et des problèmes interpersonnels lors de l'évaluation des résultats de ses décisions.

26. se sentir seul

En effet, la solitude est un état mental négatif, lié à des sentiments d'incompréhension, de tristesse et d'insécurité. Cette insécurité fait percevoir la personne que les autres ne comprennent pas et ils ne partagent pas leurs valeurs et leurs goûts.

Cette incompréhension perçue chez les autres non seulement fait apparaître un sentiment subjectif d'isolement, mais nous rend également plus susceptibles d'avoir des problèmes de santé en raison du manque d'hygiène et d'une nutrition adéquate, ainsi que des conséquences psychologiques qu'il engendre.

27. Vouloir blesser les autres

La colère et la frustration peuvent se manifester par un état mental de vengeance ou de volonté de blesser les autres. Bien souvent, il ne reste que cela, dans un état mental, dans une idée . Dans d'autres, en revanche, un individu peut se comporter de manière violente.

28. Dépersonnalisation

Certains patients mentaux connaissent un état psychique caractérisé parce que ils se sentent étranges à eux-mêmes , à votre corps et à l’environnement qui vous entoure. Cela les rend plus susceptibles d'adopter un ensemble de décisions et d'actions menant à la solitude.

29. Manque d'espoir pour l'avenir

Le manque de motivation et le manque d'objectifs de vie font une personne ne peut pas visualiser l'avenir d'une manière positive . Ce qui, à son tour, cause également de graves problèmes à l’individu.

30. Blocus psychologiques

Le blocage mental est une barrière psychologique qui peut être imposée à une personne et l'empêche de comprendre clairement certains aspects de sa vie. L'individu a la capacité de entraver votre propre progrès quand il s'agit d'atteindre certains objectifs dans votre vie.

  • Article recommandé: "Les blocages émotionnels: de quoi s'agit-il et comment pouvons-nous les surmonter?"

Comment différencier le stress, la dépression et l’anxiété? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes