yes, therapy helps!
The 4 stages of language development

The 4 stages of language development

November 27, 2021

The acquisition of language comprehension and expression skills is a cumulative process that begins with the birth of the baby. As soon as he arrives in the world, the baby begins to hear the phonemes and to identify the verbal structures that he will gradually acquire in order to communicate with those around him and thus cover his needs.

In this article we will describe the stages of language development in young children , from the first undifferentiated vocalizations to the acquisition of the complex components of speech that in the long term will allow the improvement of communication skills.

  • Related article: "The 12 types of language (and their characteristics)"

The stages of language development

The main stages of language evolution on the following:


1. The pre-verbal or pre-linguistic period

At the beginning of life, babies emit sounds that are increasingly communicative and close to language. Maternal or maternal speech, characterized by a slower rhythm , frequent repetitions, shorter sentences, grammatical simplification and a clear pronunciation, can be helpful in the progressive development of the linguistic understanding of the child.

The preverbal interactions between the baby and other people are qualified as protoconversaciones because they have a structure similar to that of the dialogues. This antecedent of language is complemented by non-verbal responses such as manual gestures or facial expressions.


Among the prelinguistic signs, the "protos" stand out. The protoimperatives appear around nine months ; The baby points to an object to indicate to another person who wants it. We speak of protodeclarativos, which develop at twelve months, when a similar gesture has the objective of calling the attention of the adult to be fixed on something.

In the first year of life the sounds of babies advance from the first reflex vocalizations, such as growls and cries, to lullabies (consonants, vowels or simple combinations like "gu") and babbling, consisting of the production of syllabic chains ; Initially these are repeated, but later different syllables are combined.

The first words appear approximately at twelve months of life. In this time babies tend to omit and replace phonemes, as well as to approximate the pronunciation of two successive consonants to facilitate it; This is known as "assimilation".


2. The holofrásico period

The term "holofrase" is used to talk about the phrases consisting of a single word , which are characteristic of the second stage of language development. During the holophrasic period the words fulfill functions that will later correspond to the sentences.

The meaning of the holofrases depends to a great extent on the context in which they are pronounced and of non-verbal language. So, if a baby says "bibe" he is probably asking for a bottle, but if he says so, he may want to say "This is a bottle," for example.

The holofrase will be the nucleus of linguistic development: despite the lack of grammaticality of these constructions, its appearance indicates that the baby understands that verbalizations have as basic objective to transmit a certain meaning to other people.

Babies usually reach the holofrásico period when they have more or less a year. Later your vocabulary will increase rapidly and intensely and little by little they will start to combine different words.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Noam Chomsky's theory of language development"

3. The first combinations of words

The holophrasic period ends shortly before two years. At this age the vocabulary of the baby has become much more complex, so that he is already capable of combine words and, therefore, meanings . Thus, subjects and predicates appear explicitly for the first time, although it is still not clear that the child distinguishes between categories of words.

Between the ages of two and three, children begin to combine three or more words in a habitual way, arriving at surprisingly rich sentences. They also learn to use different intonations that allow them to use the interrogative mode, for example.

The first combinations of words they are known as "telegraphic speech" because the little ones obviate the less informative components of the sentences, like the determinants and the conjunctions, giving priority to the verbs and the nouns; the latter constitute the bulk of the words learned during this stage of linguistic explosion.

4. Advanced language development

In the period between approximately 16 months and 4 years, children's vocabulary increases exponentially. When you reach this age his linguistic capacity begins to approach that of adults progressively, although it will take several years until they improve both vocabulary and grammar.

There is a dissociation between understanding and the production of language. In particular, young children are able to understand complex sentences that they can not generate by themselves until more than two months later.

There are two types of errors very frequent during the language acquisition period: Overextensions and underextensions . The first are generalizations consisting in using a word to designate other objects, such as calling all mammals "dog"; the infraextensions or subgeneralizations are errors opposed to these.

As the children grow, different milestones will take place that will be fundamental for the development of adult language. Among others, the identification of irregular forms, the acquisition of verbal modes and the progress of metalinguistic and metacognitive knowledge are of great importance.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

Stages of Language Development (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 étapes du développement du langage

Les 4 étapes du développement du langage

Juillet 13, 2022

L’acquisition des compétences de compréhension et d’expression du langage est un processus cumulatif qui commence avec la naissance du bébé. Dès qu’il arrive dans le monde, le bébé commence à entendre les phonèmes et à identifier les structures verbales qu’il acquerra progressivement pour communiquer avec ceux qui l’entourent et ainsi couvrir ses besoins.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les étapes du développement du langage chez les jeunes enfants , des premières vocalisations indifférenciées à l’acquisition des composants complexes de la parole qui, à long terme, permettront d’améliorer les compétences en communication.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 types de langage (et leurs caractéristiques)"

Les étapes du développement du langage

Les principales étapes de l'évolution du langage sont les suivantes:


1. La période pré-verbale ou pré-linguistique

Au début de la vie, les bébés émettent des sons de plus en plus communicatifs et proches du langage. Langage maternel ou maternel caractérisé par un rythme plus lent , répétitions fréquentes, phrases plus courtes, simplification grammaticale et prononciation claire peuvent être utiles au développement progressif de la compréhension linguistique de l’enfant.

Les interactions préverbal entre le bébé et les autres personnes sont qualifiées de protoconversaciones car elles ont une structure similaire à celle des dialogues. Cet antécédent de langage est complété par des réponses non verbales telles que des gestes manuels ou des expressions faciales.


Parmi les signes prélinguistiques, les "protos" se distinguent. Les protoimperatifs apparaissent vers neuf mois ; Le bébé pointe un objet pour l'indiquer à une autre personne qui le souhaite. Nous parlons de protodeclarativos, qui se développent à douze mois, lorsqu'un geste similaire a pour objectif d'attirer l'attention de l'adulte sur quelque chose.

Au cours de la première année de vie, les sons des bébés passent des premières vocalisations réflexes, telles que les grognements et les pleurs, aux berceuses (consonnes, voyelles ou combinaisons simples du type "gu"). et babillage, consistant en la production de chaînes syllabiques ; Au début, celles-ci sont répétées, mais plus tard, différentes syllabes sont combinées.

Les premiers mots apparaissent approximativement à douze mois de la vie. A cette époque, les bébés ont tendance à omettre et à remplacer les phonèmes, ainsi qu'à approximer la prononciation de deux consonnes successives pour la faciliter; Ceci est connu comme "assimilation".


2. La période holofrásico

Le terme "holofrase" est utilisé pour parler de la phrases composées d'un seul mot , caractéristiques de la deuxième étape du développement du langage. Pendant la période holophrasique, les mots remplissent des fonctions qui correspondront plus tard aux phrases.

La signification des holofrases dépend en grande partie du contexte dans lesquels ils sont prononcés et de langage non verbal. Donc, si un bébé dit "bavette", il demande probablement un biberon, mais s’il le dit, il voudra peut-être dire "ceci est un biberon", par exemple.

L'holofrase sera le noyau du développement linguistique: malgré le manque de grammaticalité de ces constructions, son apparence indique que le bébé comprend que les verbalisations ont pour objectif fondamental de transmettre un certain sens à d'autres personnes.

Les bébés atteignent généralement la période holofrásico quand ils ont plus ou moins un an. Plus tard votre vocabulaire augmentera rapidement et intensément et petit à petit, ils vont commencer à combiner différents mots.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie du développement du langage de Noam Chomsky"

3. Les premières combinaisons de mots

La période holophrasique se termine peu avant deux ans. À cet âge, le vocabulaire du bébé est devenu beaucoup plus complexe, de sorte qu'il est déjà capable de combiner des mots et, par conséquent, des significations . Ainsi, les sujets et les prédicats apparaissent explicitement pour la première fois, bien qu'il ne soit toujours pas clair que l'enfant distingue entre les catégories de mots.

Entre deux et trois ans, les enfants commencent à combiner trois mots ou plus de manière habituelle, aboutissant à des phrases étonnamment riches. Ils apprennent également à utiliser différentes intonations qui leur permettent d'utiliser le mode interrogatif, par exemple.

Les premières combinaisons de mots ils sont connus comme "discours télégraphique" parce que les plus petits évitent les composants moins informatifs des phrases, comme les déterminants et les conjonctions, en donnant la priorité aux verbes et aux noms; ces derniers constituent l'essentiel des mots appris au cours de cette phase d'explosion linguistique.

4. Développement du langage avancé

Entre 16 mois et 4 ans environ, le vocabulaire des enfants augmente de manière exponentielle. Quand tu atteins cet âge sa capacité linguistique commence à se rapprocher de celle des adultes progressivement, bien qu’il faudra plusieurs années pour améliorer à la fois le vocabulaire et la grammaire.

Il y a une dissociation entre la compréhension et la production du langage. En particulier, les jeunes enfants sont capables de comprendre des phrases complexes qu’ils ne peuvent générer seuls plus de deux mois plus tard.

Il existe deux types d’erreurs très fréquentes pendant la période d’acquisition du langage: Surextensions et sous-extensions . Les premières sont des généralisations consistant à utiliser un mot pour désigner d'autres objets, comme appeler tous les mammifères "chien"; les infraextensions ou sous-généralisations sont des erreurs opposées à celles-ci.

Au fur et à mesure que les enfants grandissent, différentes étapes importantes seront déterminantes pour le développement du langage adulte. Entre autres, l'identification des formes irrégulières, l'acquisition des modes verbaux et le progrès des connaissances métalinguistiques et métacognitives sont d'une grande importance.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

L'ACQUISITION DU LANGAGE CHEZ LE BÉBÉ (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes