yes, therapy helps!
The differences between anxiety and anguish

The differences between anxiety and anguish

June 24, 2021

Concepts such as anxiety, anguish and stress have become widespread nowadays. It seems to be usual that we ourselves or someone from our environment has suffered at some point these problems. It would not be difficult to agree that all refer to unpleasant states, which can range from momentary discomfort to widespread fear or terror, which can extend to overwhelm us on a day-to-day basis.

Beyond understanding them as problems, do we know the differences between each concept? Is it possible that the confusion between terms makes our approach difficult?

The following is intended to provide information on the origin and nuances of each concept and of the differences between anxiety, anguish and its relationship with stress , to clarify the ideas we have and perhaps, provide a little light when facing each of them.


  • Perhaps you are interested: "Anguish: symptoms, causes and possible treatments"

Fear as an adaptive resource

Human beings have natural resources for protection against danger, which is sometimes known as adaptive anxiety or fear. It would be like a tool that would act as a warning signal in the face of danger. For example, imagine the following situation:

"We are walking calmly down an avenue, and we hear cries of terror and we see people running in one direction. Without thinking, we run faster than ever, looking for somewhere to take refuge. "

In this situation, the interpretation of danger has been automatic , since it has generated the response of the sympathetic nervous system (SNS), key activation in what is known as the "E situations" (escape, stress, emergency). When SNS is activated, hormones are released to increase blood pressure (such as cortisol) and neurotransmitters to prepare an explosive muscular action (catecholamines such as adrenaline, norepinephrine and dopamine) that allow this escape reaction and therefore , protection from a dangerous situation. At this point, fear protects us from imminent danger and, therefore, has an important functional value.


In this situation, Do we act based on fear or anxiety? The key difference between the two is that anxiety is related to anticipation, that is, to future, diffuse or unpredictable dangers, while fear is related to one or several present stimuli or situations.

Now, what happens if this adaptive mechanism is related to stimuli or situations that do not represent a real danger or threat? In spite of the individual differences and the particular way of living of each person, if the generalized fear or anxious state is maintained and intensified, both in duration and in frequency, generates negative consequences for comprehensive health of the person to be treated.

Differences between anxiety and anxiety

At the beginning of the 20th century, Sigmund Freud was the first to introduce the concept of anguish in a technical way He used the German term Angst to refer to a state of mind, with negative affect, with the consequent physiological activation and, most importantly, based on something indeterminate, that is, with no known or definable object.


This concept was translated into English as anxiety and in Spanish It was translated with double meaning: anxiety and anguish . From here it could be understood that the two concepts appear as synonyms, in nonclinical settings, up to the present, used to describe an unpleasant psycho-physiological state, which occurs with great restlessness, restlessness, unrest before imprecise dangers and / or that generate a exaggerated and maladaptive fear for daily life.

Although they are used as synonyms in a colloquial way, In the current clinical setting, the differentiation between anxiety and anxiety appears . The most widely used tool internationally for the classification of mental disorders is the DSM-V (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), which includes a section dedicated to anxiety disorders.

In this manual, anguish is treated as a subtype of anxiety disorders. In this sense, anguish is defined as what is commonly known as "panic attack" , explained as an episode of intense fear that has a short duration. On the contrary, the anxiety would refer to a state that permenece more in time.

The anxiety can be found in a generalized way in multiple events or it can be manifested in different areas and for different reasons or causes.At this point, the different known phobias (social phobia, agoraphobia, obsessive-compulsive disorder, phobias before a specific stimulus ...) would have as an engine the anxiety but they would be differentiated according to the manifestations or the triggering events.

Anxiety as such, beyond the nuances or explanations provided by the different currents within Psychology (psychoanalysis, gestalt, cognitive-behavioral ...) must be understood from its complexity, since it encompasses a multidimensional response. This means that includes cognitive, emotional and physiological aspects , characterized by an activation of the autonomic nervous system (formed by the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous system) that tends to generate maladaptive behaviors and which can sometimes involve a high risk for the person suffering it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 31 best Psychology books you can not miss"

Stress: set of physical, psychological and social ailments

Once the concepts of anxiety and anguish have been explained, the concept of stress can be understood, which can include the previous ones. In summary, stress could be understood as a negative relationship between the person and the environment . This maladaptive relationship between the environment and the person is dynamic, bidirectional and changing, but its core is the fact that the person perceives that he can not face environmental demands.

The situation is understood as a set of factors that exceeds the available resources. At this point, the person could develop anxiety, anguish and other diverse physical and psychological problems, which would have as a common point the generation of a deep malaise .

The complexity of relationships between the person and the environment make it a priority that both anxiety, anxiety and stress are approached from a broad perspective and attending to the multiplicity of factors involved (physiological, cognitive, emotional, social ...) .

Given the influence of social factors in the implication of these problems that are already becoming known as "diseases of the 21st century", it is the responsibility of all people who know each other, in order to detect them and work on their management, especially in the prevention of same. If a person perceives some type of related problem, either in herself or in someone in her environment, It is advisable that you attend to the symptoms, ask for help and as soon as possible better , to avoid that these generate more serious consequences.

  • Related article: "10 essential tips to reduce stress"

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. "Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders DSM-V." Washington: APA (2013).
  • Martínez Sánchez, F. & García, C. (1995). Emotion, stress and coping. In A. Puente (Ed.), Basic Psychology: Introduction to the study of human behavior (pp. 497-531). Madrid: Pyramid.
  • Sierra, Juan Carlos, Virgilio Ortega, and Ihab Zubeidat. "Anxiety, anguish and stress: three concepts to differentiate." Discomfort and Subjectivity Magazine 3.1 (2003).

"If I have depression or anxiety issues, can I get mental anguish damages under the FDCPA?" (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les différences entre anxiété et angoisse

Les différences entre anxiété et angoisse

Janvier 17, 2022

Des concepts tels que l'anxiété, l'angoisse et le stress se sont généralisés Actuellement. Il semble être habituel que nous-mêmes ou quelqu'un de notre environnement ayons souffert à un moment donné de ces problèmes. Il ne serait pas difficile de convenir que tous font référence à des États désagréables, qui peuvent aller d'un inconfort momentané à une peur ou à une terreur généralisée, pouvant aller jusqu'à nous submerger au quotidien.

Au-delà de leur compréhension en tant que problèmes, connaissons-nous les différences entre chaque concept? Est-il possible que la confusion entre les termes rend notre approche difficile?

Ce qui suit est destiné à fournir des informations sur l’origine et les nuances de chaque concept et des les différences entre l'anxiété, l'angoisse et sa relation avec le stress , pour clarifier les idées que nous avons et peut-être, fournir un peu de lumière face à chacune d’elles.


  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Angoisse: symptômes, causes et traitements possibles"

La peur en tant que ressource adaptative

Les êtres humains disposent de ressources naturelles pour se protéger contre le danger, parfois appelé anxiété d'adaptation ou peur. Ce serait comme un outil qui servirait de signal d’alerte face au danger. Par exemple, imaginons la situation suivante:

"Nous marchons tranquillement dans une avenue, nous entendons des cris de terreur et nous voyons des gens courir dans une direction. Sans réfléchir, nous courons plus vite que jamais, à la recherche d'un refuge. "

Dans cette situation, l'interprétation du danger a été automatique , car il a généré la réponse du système nerveux sympathique (SNS), activation clé dans ce que l’on appelle les "situations E" (évasion, stress, urgence). Lorsque le SNS est activé, des hormones sont libérées pour augmenter la pression artérielle (comme le cortisol) et des neurotransmetteurs pour préparer une action musculaire explosive (catécholamines telles que l'adrénaline, la noradrénaline et la dopamine) qui permettent cette réaction d'échappement. , protection contre une situation dangereuse. À ce stade, la peur nous protège du danger imminent et a donc une valeur fonctionnelle importante.


Face à cette situation, Agissons-nous en fonction de la peur ou de l'anxiété? La principale différence entre les deux réside dans le fait que l’anxiété est liée à l’anticipation, c’est-à-dire à des dangers futurs, diffus ou imprévisibles, alors que la peur est liée à un ou plusieurs stimuli ou situations présents.

Maintenant, que se passe-t-il si ce mécanisme adaptatif est lié à des stimuli ou à des situations qui ne représentent pas un danger ou une menace réelle? Malgré les différences individuelles et le mode de vie particulier de chaque personne, si la peur généralisée ou l'état d'anxiété est maintenu et intensifié, à la fois en durée et en fréquence, génère des conséquences négatives pour la santé globale de la personne à traiter.

Différences entre anxiété et anxiété

Au début du 20ème siècle, Sigmund Freud a été le premier à introduire le concept d'angoisse de manière technique Il a utilisé le terme allemand Angst pour désigner un état d'esprit négatif, avec l'activation physiologique correspondante et, plus important encore, basé sur quelque chose d'indéterminé, c'est-à-dire sans objet connu ou définissable.


Ce concept a été traduit en anglais par anxiété et en espagnol Il a été traduit avec un double sens: anxiété et angoisse . On comprend dès lors que les deux concepts apparaissent comme des synonymes, utilisés jusqu'à présent dans des contextes non cliniques pour décrire un état psychophysiologique désagréable, qui se produit avec une grande agitation, une agitation devant des dangers imprécis et / ou générant une peur exagérée et inadaptée pour la vie quotidienne.

Bien qu'ils soient utilisés comme synonymes d'une manière familière, Dans le contexte clinique actuel, la différenciation entre anxiété et anxiété apparaît . L'outil le plus largement utilisé à l'échelle internationale pour la classification des troubles mentaux est le DSM-V (Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux), qui comprend une section consacrée aux troubles anxieux.

Dans ce manuel, l'angoisse est traitée comme un sous-type de troubles anxieux. En ce sens, l'angoisse est définie comme ce qu'on appelle communément "attaque de panique" , expliqué comme un épisode de peur intense qui a une courte durée. Au contraire, l’anxiété ferait référence à un état qui permette plus longtemps.

L'anxiété peut être généralisée dans de nombreux événements ou se manifester dans différents domaines et pour différentes raisons.A ce stade, les différentes phobies connues (phobie sociale, agoraphobie, trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, phobies avant un stimulus spécifique ...) auraient pour moteur l'angoisse mais elles seraient différenciées en fonction des manifestations ou des événements déclencheurs.

L'anxiété en tant que telle, au-delà des nuances ou des explications fournies par les différents courants de la psychologie (psychanalyse, gestalt, cognitivo-comportemental ...) doit être comprise de par sa complexité, car elle englobe une réponse multidimensionnelle. Ceci signifie que inclut les aspects cognitifs, émotionnels et physiologiques , caractérisée par une activation du système nerveux autonome (formé par le système nerveux sympathique et parasympathique) qui a tendance à générer des comportements mésadaptés et qui peut parfois comporter un risque élevé pour la personne qui en souffre.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

Stress: ensemble de maux physiques, psychologiques et sociaux

Une fois que les concepts d'anxiété et d'angoisse ont été expliqués, le concept de stress peut être compris, ce qui peut inclure les précédents. En résumé, le stress peut être compris comme une relation négative entre la personne et l'environnement . Cette relation mésadaptée entre l’environnement et la personne est dynamique, bidirectionnelle et évolutive, mais elle repose essentiellement sur le fait que la personne perçoit qu’elle ne peut pas faire face aux demandes environnementales.

La situation est comprise comme un ensemble de facteurs dépassant les ressources disponibles. À ce stade, la personne peut développer de l’anxiété, de l’angoisse et d’autres problèmes physiques et psychologiques divers aurait comme point commun la génération d'un malaise profond .

La complexité des relations entre la personne et l'environnement fait de la priorité une approche globale de l'anxiété, de l'anxiété et du stress, en tenant compte de la multiplicité des facteurs impliqués (physiologiques, cognitifs, émotionnels, sociaux, etc.). .

Etant donné l’influence des facteurs sociaux sur l’implication de ces problèmes qui sont déjà connus sous le nom de "maladies du XXIe siècle", il incombe à toutes les personnes qui se connaissent de se détecter et de travailler à les gérer, en particulier pour prévenir idem Si une personne perçoit un type de problème connexe, que ce soit en elle-même ou chez quelqu'un dans son environnement, Il est conseillé d’assister aux symptômes, de demander de l’aide et au plus vite de mieux , pour éviter que ceux-ci génèrent des conséquences plus graves.

  • Article connexe: "10 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. "Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux DSM-V." Washington: APA (2013).
  • Martínez Sánchez, F. & Garcia, C. (1995). Émotion, stress et adaptation. Dans A. Puente (Ed.), Basic Psychology: Introduction à l'étude du comportement humain (pp. 497-531). Madrid: pyramide.
  • Sierra, Juan Carlos, Virgilio Ortega et Ihab Zubeidat. "Anxiété, angoisse et stress: trois concepts pour se différencier." Malaise et subjectivité Magazine 3.1 (2003).

DIFFERENCE ENTRE STRESS, ANGOISSE, ANXIETE, PANIQUE...? (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes