yes, therapy helps!
'The Mechanical Orange' and its psychological teachings

'The Mechanical Orange' and its psychological teachings

May 23, 2022

The Mechanical Orange is one of the most remembered films of Stanley Kubrik . Its mixture of shocking scenes and social criticism turned it into a controversial work that, nevertheless, has become an icon of the cinema (besides contributing the ingredients for some of the most popular costumes in carnival).

Now, the Mechanical Orange does not stand out only by the spectacular nature of its photography or by criticizing certain aspects of politics. It also contains a reflection that has a lot of value for psychology and that he resorts to a psychological current called behaviorism . Next we will see what this bottom idea consists of.

  • Related article: "20 films on Psychology and mental disorders"

Brief review of the plot of the film

A (very) big traits, the argument of The Mechanical Orange is the following.


The protagonist, Alex, is the leader of a gang composed of young people who they usually have fun participating in acts of extreme violence . They like to beat, rape and enter other people's property to destroy what they find.

But this is not the only thing that Alex likes to do; he also feels an almost sickly passion for Beethoven's music, to the point that he even hits one of his classmates when he mocks someone who listens to those pieces of music. This is one of the protagonist's weaknesses, although at that moment it is hardly evident, since Alex is in a place that allows him to dominate others .


However, everything changes when, after murdering a woman, Alex's colleagues betray him so that the police can stop him. At that time the protagonist continues to be challenging and, in his way, continues to exercise control, pretending to be more kind than it really is to receive privileged treatment.

In part, this is why he accepts that his sentence be shortened in exchange for being subjected to an experimental psychological treatment: the Ludovico method, designed so that it does not relapse again in acts of violence. Alex is not interested in changing, but doing what is necessary to be free as soon as possible.

However, the Ludovico treatment not only turns out to be unusually painful and degrading, but also fulfills its purpose. In the following lines I explain how it works and the effects it has on the protagonist.

The technique of Ludovico

In the sessions in which he was obliged to participate, Alex was fastened to a chair that made him constantly look at a screen, while my eyelids were held with rods so that I would not close them. While they were applying drops to his eyes, Alex became a spectator of videos with all kinds of violent contents: mutilations, rapes, scenes of war ...


However, this was not the only thing the protagonist was recording. At the same time, through a needle, it was being supplied a substance that made it feel worse and worse , that I experienced nausea and that I wanted to get out of there at all costs. All this, throughout sessions that lasted several hours in a row.

The Ludovico treatment is a fictitious technique created for the film, and yet it is based on a class of treatments that really existed: therapies based on classical conditioning, used for example to intervene in phobias.

Classical conditioning, described by the Russian physiologist Ivan Pavlov it is based on the phenomenon that by learning to associate a stimulus that causes well-being or rejection on its own from the beginning with another stimulus that in itself does not generate a significant reaction, it can reach the point where the second stimulus becomes in something as aversive or pleasant as the first.

In this case, the government was trying to get Alex to learn to relate what he likes to an intensely unpleasant experience, so that once he was released, he could not participate in that kind of acts without feeling so bad that he could not do it. His expectations were met when, in a test phase, Alex was unable to attack even though he tried to provoke him.

From executioner to victim

Alex's life turned into hell after his release . His desire to participate in violent actions had not disappeared, the only thing that had changed was that he was not able to satisfy that desire, because every time he tried he suffered an intense malaise.

He had gone from being a tyrant to becoming an incredibly vulnerable victim. This is clear when he finds his former colleagues, turned into police officers, who beat Alex without even being able to defend himself. Something similar happens when one of the indigent attacked by Alex in the past recognizes him and begins to attack him without the protagonist can do more than flee.

The Beethoven effect

But there is another relevant piece in the transformation of the protagonist. In Ludovico's treatment sessions, some of the video cuts they had Beethoven's Ninth Symphony as their soundtrack . When Alex takes refuge in one of the first houses he finds after being the victim of a beating, he does not realize that the house belongs to one of the men he attacked in the past.

At the moment in which the man realizes who his guest is, and after finding out that he has developed aversion to both violence and Beethoven, he locks him in a room and forces him to listen to one of the parts of the Ninth Symphony until it jumps out the window what it ends up doing.

However, Alex survives, and after being admitted to the hospital it becomes an instrument of propaganda for the ruling party , who has lost a lot of support after publicly supporting Ludovico's technique as a reintegration tool and the outcome of the suicide attempt.

The Psychology of Mechanical Orange

The purpose of La Naranja Mecánica is not in itself to criticize the current behaviorist psychology (among other things because behaviorism is not based on simple conditioning and gives more importance to the techniques proposed by psychologists such as BF Skinner), but to offer a reflection about the times that lived at the end of the 20th century. The Ludovico method is the tool that the movie chooses to use to explain how a power that is beyond the individual can transform the latter into a puppet .

This critique is made using two closely related topics: the legitimacy of violence and the degree to which the human being enjoys freedom in liberal democracies.

Legitimate violence

The aspect of the violence that is called attention is the fact that Alex is not the only antisocial element of the film: the government also acts imposing its program, although with a difference: it has the legitimacy to do so.

That is why it is possible to plan and even publicize a treatment as brutal as Ludovico's technique and that is also why Alex's former colleagues they can attack it for no reason without it being noticed that there is something that weakens the State . These are elements that, despite being based on the use of force, do not seem to go against the logic of the State, but in any case they explain how it usually works.

The lack of freedom

The reflection on freedom is perhaps the most interesting from the point of view of psychology. In this film, the government manages to "hack" Alex's mental processes with a very simple objective: to deactivate him as an unpredictable subject and make him fit meekly into the political fabric that has been woven to maintain power.

The welfare of the patient is not sought, but rather to stop being an element capable of generating harmful headlines in newspapers. The clash between pacification and violence does not disappear , simply leaves the public sphere and moves to the body of the protagonist, who experiences in first person the suffering that produces that tension.

A final reflection

After going through Ludovico's technique, Alex is no longer free, since that would entail having more options to choose in which way to be happy; On the contrary, it clearly shows how it happens to be a person marked by the limitations that this treatment has imposed on him. The public problem of having a young man with bloodlust hanging around the streets ceases to exist, but another one appears that is of individual and private scope and that can not even be equated to jail time.

This is the option that, according to the film, liberal democracies can contribute to the elements that put people at risk. Do not do what is possible to expand the horizons of freedom of the people, but to intervene on them by removing from sight that which disfigures the landscape. In short, treating people from the same mechanistic and instrumental perspective that the title of the movie suggests .

  • Related article: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

Hidden Meaning in The Big Lebowski – Earthling Cinema (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
'The Orange mécanique' et ses enseignements psychologiques

'The Orange mécanique' et ses enseignements psychologiques

Août 9, 2022

The Mechanical Orange est l'un des films les plus connus de Stanley Kubrik . Son mélange de scènes choquantes et de critiques sociales en a fait une œuvre controversée, qui est néanmoins devenue une icône du cinéma (en plus de fournir les ingrédients pour certains des costumes les plus populaires du carnaval).

Désormais, le Mechanical Orange ne se distingue pas uniquement par le caractère spectaculaire de ses photographies ou par la critique de certains aspects de la politique. Il contient également une réflexion qui a beaucoup de valeur pour la psychologie et qui il recourt à un courant psychologique appelé behaviorisme . Nous verrons ensuite en quoi consiste cette idée de fond.

  • Article connexe: "20 films sur la psychologie et les troubles mentaux"

Bref aperçu de l'intrigue du film

Un (très) gros traits, l'argument de The Mechanical Orange est le suivant.


Le protagoniste, Alex, est le chef d'un gang composé de jeunes qui ils ont généralement du plaisir à participer à des actes de violence extrême . Ils aiment frapper, violer et pénétrer dans la propriété d'autrui pour détruire ce qu'ils ont trouvé.

Mais ce n’est pas la seule chose qu’Alex aime faire; il ressent également une passion presque maladive pour la musique de Beethoven, au point qu'il frappe même l'un de ses camarades de classe lorsqu'il se moque de quelqu'un qui écoute ces morceaux de musique. C’est l’une des faiblesses du protagoniste, bien qu’à ce moment-là, c’est à peine évident, puisque Alex est dans un endroit qui lui permet de dominer les autres .


Cependant, tout change lorsque, après le meurtre d'une femme, les collègues d'Alex le trahissent afin que la police puisse l'arrêter. À ce moment-là, le protagoniste continue à être un défi et, à sa manière, continue à exercer un contrôle, prétendant être plus gentil que ce n’est réellement le cas pour recevoir un traitement privilégié.

C'est en partie pour cela qu'il accepte que sa peine soit écourtée en échange d'un traitement psychologique expérimental: la méthode Ludovico, conçue pour ne pas rechuter dans des actes de violence. Alex n'est pas intéressé à changer, mais à faire le nécessaire pour être libre le plus rapidement possible.

Cependant, le traitement Ludovico s'avère non seulement inhabituellement douloureux et dégradant, mais remplit également son objectif. Dans les lignes suivantes, j'explique comment cela fonctionne et quels sont les effets sur le protagoniste.

La technique de Ludovico

Dans les séances auxquelles il a été obligé de participer, Alex a été attaché à une chaise qui lui faisait constamment regarder un écran, tandis que mes paupières étaient tenues avec des tiges pour que je ne les ferme pas. Alors qu'ils appliquaient des gouttes sur ses yeux, Alex est devenu spectateur de vidéos avec toutes sortes de contenus violents: mutilations, viols, scènes de guerre ...


Cependant, ce n'était pas la seule chose que le protagoniste était en train d'enregistrer. Dans le même temps, à travers une aiguille, il a été fourni une substance qui fait sentir de pire en pire , que j'ai eu des nausées et que je voulais sortir de là à tout prix. Tout cela, au cours de sessions qui ont duré plusieurs heures d'affilée.

Le traitement Ludovico est une technique fictive créée pour le film, mais il repose sur une classe de traitements qui existaient réellement: des thérapies basées sur le conditionnement classique, utilisées par exemple pour intervenir dans les phobies.

Conditionnement classique, décrit par le physiologiste russe Ivan Pavlov elle repose sur le phénomène selon lequel, en apprenant à associer dès le début un stimulus à l'origine de bien-être ou de rejet, à un autre stimulus qui, en soi, ne génère pas de réaction significative, elle peut atteindre le point où le second stimulus devient dans quelque chose d'aussi aversif ou agréable que le premier.

Dans ce cas, le gouvernement tentait d'inciter Alex à apprendre à raconter ce qu'il aime à une expérience extrêmement désagréable, de sorte qu'une fois libéré, il ne pourrait plus participer à ce type d'actes sans se sentir si mal qu'il ne pouvait pas le faire. Ses attentes ont été satisfaites lorsque, dans une phase de test, Alex était incapable d’attaquer alors même qu’il essayait de le provoquer.

De bourreau à victime

La vie d'Alex s'est transformée en enfer après sa libération . Son désir de participer à des actions violentes n’a pas disparu, la seule chose qui a changé est qu’il n’était pas en mesure de le satisfaire car, chaque fois qu’il tentait, il souffrait d’un malaise intense.

De tyran, il était devenu une victime extrêmement vulnérable. C’est clair quand il retrouve ses anciens collègues, transformés en policiers, qui ont battu Alex sans même pouvoir se défendre. Quelque chose de semblable se produit lorsqu'un des indigents attaqué par Alex dans le passé le reconnaît et commence à l'attaquer sans que le protagoniste puisse faire plus que fuir.

L'effet Beethoven

Mais il y a un autre élément important dans la transformation du protagoniste. Dans les séances de traitement de Ludovico, certaines des coupures vidéo ils avaient la neuvième symphonie de Beethoven comme bande originale . Quand Alex se réfugie dans l'une des premières maisons qu'il trouve après avoir été battu, il ne se rend pas compte que la maison appartient à l'un des hommes qu'il avait attaqués dans le passé.

Au moment où l'homme réalise qui est son invité, et après avoir découvert qu'il a développé une aversion pour la violence et Beethoven, il l'enferme dans une pièce et l'oblige à écouter l'une des parties du Neuvième Symphony jusqu'à ce qu'il saute par la fenêtre ce qu'il finit par faire.

Cependant, Alex survit et, après avoir été admis à l'hôpital il devient un instrument de propagande pour le parti au pouvoir , qui a perdu beaucoup de soutien après avoir publiquement soutenu la technique de Ludovico en tant qu’outil de réintégration et le résultat de la tentative de suicide.

La psychologie de l'orange mécanique

L'objectif de La Naranja Mecánica n'est pas en soi de critiquer la psychologie comportementale actuelle (notamment parce que le behaviorisme n'est pas basé sur un simple conditionnement et donne plus d'importance aux techniques proposées par des psychologues tels que BF Skinner), mais de proposer une réflexion. à propos de l'époque qui a vécu à la fin du 20ème siècle. La méthode Ludovico est l'outil que le film choisit d'utiliser pour expliquer comment un pouvoir au-delà de l'individu peut transformer ce dernier en une marionnette .

Cette critique repose sur deux thèmes étroitement liés: la légitimité de la violence et le degré de liberté dont jouit l’être humain dans les démocraties libérales.

Violence légitime

L’aspect de la violence qui retient l’attention est le fait qu’Alex n’est pas le seul élément antisocial du film: le gouvernement impose également son programme, mais avec une différence: il a la légitimité de le faire.

C’est pourquoi il est possible de planifier et même de faire connaître un traitement aussi brutal que la technique de Ludovico. C’est aussi pourquoi les anciens collègues d’Alex ils peuvent l'attaquer sans raison, sans qu'il soit remarqué qu'il y a quelque chose qui affaiblit l'État . Ce sont des éléments qui, bien qu’ils reposent sur le recours à la force, ne semblent pas aller à l’encontre de la logique de l’État, mais ils expliquent en tout cas son fonctionnement habituel.

Le manque de liberté

La réflexion sur la liberté est peut-être la plus intéressante du point de vue de la psychologie. Dans ce film, le gouvernement parvient à "pirater" les processus mentaux d’Alex avec un objectif très simple: le désactiver comme sujet imprévisible et le faire entrer docilement dans le tissu politique qui a été tissé pour maintenir le pouvoir.

Le bien-être du patient n’est pas recherché, mais doit cesser d’être un élément capable de générer des titres néfastes dans les journaux. L'affrontement entre pacification et violence ne disparaît pas , quitte simplement la sphère publique et se dirige vers le corps du protagoniste, qui subit à la première personne la souffrance qui produit cette tension.

Une dernière réflexion

Après avoir utilisé la technique de Ludovico, Alex n'est plus libre, car cela impliquerait plus d'options pour choisir le moyen d'être heureux. Au contraire, cela montre clairement comment il se trouve qu’il s’agit d’une personne marquée par les limitations que ce traitement lui a imposées. Le problème public d’avoir un jeune homme assoiffé de sang dans les rues cesse d’exister, mais un autre apparaît qui est de portée individuelle et privée et cela ne peut même pas être assimilé à une peine de prison.

C’est l’option selon laquelle, selon le film, les démocraties libérales peuvent contribuer aux éléments qui mettent les gens en danger. Ne faites pas ce qui est possible pour élargir les horizons de la liberté des gens, mais pour intervenir sur eux en retirant de la vue ce qui défigure le paysage. En bref, traiter les gens de la même perspective mécaniste et instrumentale que le titre du film suggère .

  • Article connexe: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et principaux auteurs"

Comment se présenter efficacement en 5 minutes ? (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes