yes, therapy helps!
The most cruel experiment in the history of Psychology: David Reimer

The most cruel experiment in the history of Psychology: David Reimer

April 27, 2024

The case of David Reimer : one of the most scandalous cases in the history of Psychology.

Who was David Reimer? In today's article we are going to remember one of the most terrible cases in the history of Psychology. In a brief discussion with several professionals, to the question of which was the most ruthless psychological experiment they have known, most brought up the case of David Reimer.

David Reimer: a marked childhood

David Reimer was born in 1965 in Winnipeg, Canada, being a monozygotic twin brother of another baby named Brian. In the northern United States and Canada, circumcision is usual, and the parents of David and Brian decided, on the recommendation of their doctor, to submit the sprouts to the operation.


So far all normal, but in the course of the operation of David Reimer the surgeon in charge could not be present and had to practice circumcision the assistant. In an inexplicable way, there was a failure with the electric cauterizer, which caused David's penis to be totally burned . Subsequently, the penis went into necrosis, and a few days later, it was detached from the body.

Possible solution: transect David Reimer

The development of genital reconstruction surgery was at a very early stage, which augured few options for little David. However, David's parents warned of the existence of a Baltimore doctor whose theory advocated the non-existence of an innate sexuality , and that therefore it was possible to change a child's sexuality through development. John Money was a reputable sexologist whose ideas about the superiority of environmental influence over biological influence had earned him some recognition within the environmentalist circles of the study of Psychology. Money was convinced that education determined the behavior of the subjects.


When David's parents decided to ask Money for advice, he saw a good chance in the case, since he would have a subject to analyze and experiment, David, and another control subject, Brian, with whom to compare the differences that arose according to the education received, because it is clear that on a genetic level David and Brian were practically symmetrical.

Money advised the Reimer family that David should undergo an operation to rebuild an artificial vagina , and once the operation was finished, David had to receive an education according to his new genre: that is, the education that a girl would receive. From now on, David was called Brenda. Thus, the precepts that the parents had to fulfill were simple: it was enough to treat Brenda in the same way as if she were a girl, and not to mention under any circumstances the subject of her artificial sexuality.


The evidence doubts the doctor's theory

So, the family began to carry out the plan. However, Brenda hated girl toys such as dolls, and she used to rip dresses off . The parents' fear that Brenda would one day realize her true sexuality was on the rise, but the problems were only beginning. When Brenda continued to grow, the hormonal effects began to show, despite her treatment with estrogen. Thus, she began to develop an unfeminine musculature and stature. As his brother Brian commented, the only feature that differentiated Brenda from him was her long hair, and starting from the unconsciousness of the children, one can imagine the cruelty with which Brenda must be treated during her schooling.

Frequently, the brothers went to John Money's office in order to evaluate the development of the children. Both brothers reported that Dr. Money's therapy had disturbing consequences for them. In his biography, David Reimer narrates how the doctor showed them sexual photographs, which were, according to Money, necessary to redirect their sexuality. One of the most shocking scenes of therapies with Money, according to David, is that the doctor forced them to take off their clothes against the will of the little ones , and forced Brenda to get on all fours while her brother Brian performed pseudosexual movements and touches against the back of her sister, in a scene they called "sexual rehearsal". Brian could never get over those years. However, the doctor always denied these practices.

Suffering in adolescence

Brenda was growing and her life was progressively deteriorating . He refused to undergo further operations and his suicide attempts began to be serious.Gradually, Dr. Money was moving away from the family, and it was at that moment when Brenda's father decided to explain the truth of his story. After hearing the story, Brenda again changed sex, being again a man at the official level. David married years later, but in a short time his story came to light, losing his job and his wife. A few years later, his brother Brian committed suicide, it was reported, because of the deep guilt he felt for having gotten well from the circumcision operation, and for the years of frustration at seeing his brother's suffering.

The investigation of Money was exalted at the time, because according to its followers, the case of Brenda Reimer was the empirical demonstration that the socio-cultural determinants determined the subject's sexuality . It was a partial triumph of the environmentalist branch of psychology, as it was confirmed that certain behaviors of Brenda were effectively modulated by the education received, and the genes could hardly counteract this learned conditioning, although some attitudes and later statements by David qualified this issue .

A tragic history

In spite of the advances that the investigation supposed, the human consequences of the same one were catastrophic. David Reimer had an unhappy and unhappy life. His life was given to a researcher who altered his will in pursuit of selfish revenues. If something can be made clear from the story, it is that Determinisms must always be questionable . We are the result of a combination of combinations, circumstances and coincidences that end up shaping our way of being, and this way of being must never be a scenario where outsiders can manipulate for the sake of a science that, in this case, despised life human

David Reimer, finally, ended his life on May 4, 2004 , when I was only 38 years old.

Documentary about the life of David Reimer


The Story of David Reimer: A Transgender Experiment (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'expérience la plus cruelle de l'histoire de la psychologie: David Reimer

L'expérience la plus cruelle de l'histoire de la psychologie: David Reimer

Avril 15, 2021

Le cas de David Reimer : l'un des cas les plus scandaleux de l'histoire de la psychologie.

Qui était David Reimer? Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous allons nous souvenir de l'un des cas les plus terribles de l'histoire de la psychologie. Lors d'une brève discussion avec plusieurs professionnels, à la question de l'expérience psychologique la plus impitoyable qu'ils aient connue, la plupart ont évoqué le cas de David Reimer.

David Reimer: une enfance marquée

David Reimer est né en 1965 à Winnipeg, au Canada, frère jumeau monozygote d'un autre bébé nommé Brian. Dans le nord des États-Unis et au Canada, la circoncision est habituel, et les parents de David et Brian ont décidé, sur la recommandation de leur médecin, de soumettre les choux à l’opération.


Jusqu'à présent, tout était normal, mais au cours de l'opération de David Reimer, le chirurgien responsable ne pouvait pas être présent et devait pratiquer la circoncision de l'assistant. De manière inexplicable, il y a eu une défaillance du cautériseur électrique, qui a totalement brûlé le pénis de David . Par la suite, le pénis est entré dans la nécrose et, quelques jours plus tard, il s'est détaché du corps.

Solution possible: transect David Reimer

Le développement de la chirurgie de reconstruction génitale en était à un stade très précoce, ce qui augure peu d'options pour le petit David. Cependant, les parents de David ont averti de l'existence de un médecin de Baltimore dont la théorie préconisait la non-existence d'une sexualité innée et qu’il était donc possible de changer la sexualité d’un enfant par le développement. John Money était un sexologue réputé dont les idées sur la supériorité de l'influence environnementale sur l'influence biologique lui avaient valu une certaine reconnaissance dans les milieux environnementalistes de l'étude de la psychologie. Money était convaincu que l'éducation déterminait le comportement des sujets.


Lorsque les parents de David ont décidé de demander conseil à Money, il a vu une bonne chance, car il aurait un sujet à analyser et à expérimenter, David, et un autre sujet de contrôle, Brian, avec qui comparer les différences apparues selon le éducation reçue, car il est clair que sur le plan génétique, David et Brian étaient pratiquement symétriques.

Money a conseillé à la famille Reimer que David devrait subir une opération pour reconstruire un vagin artificiel et, une fois l'opération terminée, David devait recevoir une éducation correspondant à son nouveau genre: c'est-à-dire l'éducation qu'une fille recevrait. A partir de maintenant, David a été appelé Brenda. Ainsi, les préceptes que les parents devaient remplir étaient simples: il suffisait de traiter Brenda de la même manière que si elle était une fille et de ne mentionner en aucun cas le sujet de sa sexualité artificielle.


La preuve met en doute la théorie du médecin

Ainsi, la famille a commencé à exécuter le plan. Cependant, Brenda détestait les jouets féminins tels que les poupées et elle déchirait ses robes . La crainte des parents que Brenda réalise un jour que sa vraie sexualité était à la hausse, mais les problèmes ne faisaient que commencer. Malgré son traitement à l'œstrogène, les effets hormonaux ont commencé à se manifester lorsque Brenda a continué à se développer, ce qui lui a permis de développer une musculature et une stature non féminines. Comme son frère Brian l'a commenté, le seul élément qui différenciait Brenda de lui était ses longs cheveux et, partant de l'inconscience des enfants, on peut imaginer la cruauté avec laquelle Brenda devait être traitée pendant sa scolarité.

Souvent, les frères se sont rendus au bureau de John Money afin d’évaluer le développement des enfants. Les deux frères ont rapporté que la thérapie du Dr Money avait eu des conséquences inquiétantes pour eux. Dans sa biographie, David Reimer raconte comment le médecin leur a montré des photographies sexuelles, nécessaires pour réorienter leur sexualité, selon Money. L'une des scènes les plus choquantes des thérapies avec Money, selon David, est celle le médecin les a forcés à se déshabiller contre la volonté des plus petits et contraint Brenda à se mettre à quatre pattes pendant que son frère Brian effectuait des mouvements pseudosexuels et se touchait contre le dos de sa sœur, dans une scène appelée "répétition sexuelle". Brian ne pourrait jamais dépasser ces années. Cependant, le médecin a toujours nié ces pratiques.

Souffrant à l'adolescence

Brenda grandissait et sa vie se détériorait progressivement . Il a refusé de subir d'autres opérations et ses tentatives de suicide ont commencé à être sérieuses.Peu à peu, le Dr Money s'éloignait de la famille et c'est à ce moment-là que le père de Brenda a décidé d'expliquer la vérité de son histoire. Après avoir entendu l'histoire, Brenda a de nouveau changé de sexe, redevenant un homme au niveau officiel. David s'est marié des années plus tard, mais peu de temps après, son histoire a été révélée, perdant son travail et sa femme. Quelques années plus tard, son frère Brian se serait suicidé, à cause de la profonde culpabilité qu'il ressentait d'avoir été guéri de l'opération de circoncision et des années de frustration devant la souffrance de son frère.

L’enquête sur Money a été exaltée à l’époque car, selon ses partisans, le cas de Brenda Reimer était la démonstration empirique que les déterminants socioculturels déterminaient la sexualité du sujet . Il s’agissait d’un triomphe partiel de la branche environnementaliste de la psychologie, car il a été confirmé que certains comportements de Brenda étaient effectivement modulés par l’éducation reçue, et les gènes ne pouvaient guère contrecarrer ce conditionnement appris, bien que certaines attitudes et déclarations ultérieures de David aient nuancé ce problème. .

Une histoire tragique

En dépit des avancées supposées par l'enquête, les conséquences humaines de celle-ci ont été catastrophiques. David Reimer a eu une vie malheureuse et malheureuse. Sa vie a été donnée à un chercheur qui a modifié sa volonté à la recherche de revenus égoïstes. Si quelque chose peut être clarifié à partir de l'histoire, c'est que Les déterminismes doivent toujours être discutables . Nous sommes le résultat d’une combinaison de combinaisons, de circonstances et de coïncidences qui finissent par façonner notre façon d’être, et cette manière d’être ne doit jamais être un scénario dans lequel des personnes extérieures peuvent manipuler au profit d’une science qui, dans ce cas, méprisait la vie. humain

David Reimer, enfin, a terminé sa vie le 4 mai 2004 , quand j'avais seulement 38 ans.

Documentaire sur la vie de David Reimer


El Cruel Experimento Del Cambio De Sexo En Gemelos - Caso Reimer (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes