yes, therapy helps!
The origins of religion: how did it appear and why?

The origins of religion: how did it appear and why?

May 1, 2024

Throughout history, faith and religion have been an important part of society, worrying to offer an explanation to the unknown. Today, Christianity, Islam, Judaism, Hinduism and Buddhism are the five major religions, although there are many other religious professions.

And many more have appeared and disappeared over time. But different religions have not emerged from nothing, but at some point in history the human being began to have and structure these types of beliefs. In this article we will try to make a brief reflection about the possible origins of religious faith.

  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences of beliefs and ideas)"

What is religion?

We understand by religion all organized and structured set of beliefs, of a generally mystical and spiritual nature that allow the human being to seek and elaborate an explanation of the world and reality and that is expressed in rituals.


Religion offers an explanation of the world and a framework of interpretation of reality based on faith, often using numerous symbolisms to try to make its precepts understandable. They usually include, in addition to this, a series of norms or precepts that allow to govern the behavior and facilitate the creation and maintenance of a community.

They tend to be linked or make use of supernatural elements and facts that can not be explained from the empirical knowledge of the moment. It is also common to try to explain complex phenomena, such as the reason for our existence and our appearance in the world, and one of the common themes to almost all of them is the concern of what happens at the moment and after dying. In general, faith stands on its own , being resistant to modifications and falsification.


Some religions also have the notion of the existence of deities, be it a (monotheistic religion) or multiple (polytheistic religion), although not all religions consider the existence of a superior being capable of ruling us or with the ability to influence our fate or destination.

Religion throughout evolution

It is difficult to determine at what point in human evolution religious beliefs began to emerge, and it is not possible to determine for the moment when the first organized religions arose, given that the origin goes back to prehistory (there are no written records in this regard).

What we can determine is that there are strong indications that make it clear that religion predates even Homo Sapiens, being the first religious beliefs prior to the expansion of our species.

Specifically we know that our relatives the Neanderthals were already performing ritual burials , something that shows the existence of a sense of death and a concern about what happens after it. Also in the remains of settlements of some tribes or clans seems to be observed some kind of cult to some animals, such as bears.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 stages of Prehistory"

Evolution of the psyche

Another aspect to be highlighted is the consideration of what makes the emergence of religious thought possible . In this sense, it is necessary to have a series of basic mental capacities: the capacity for abstraction is necessary, the existence of a theory of the mind (which allows the subject to realize that others have their own perspective and objectives and wills separate from their own ), the detection of causal agents and the ability to make complex associations.

It is considered that faith may have arisen as an advantageous adaptation that has remained by natural selection (since it allows group creation and cohesion, facilitating survival and reproduction) or as a by-product of the appearance of cognitive abilities like the previous ones .

The first type of religious beliefs

Another aspect to value is the fact that religions often include different types of beliefs, with certain types of beliefs surely arising before others.

In this sense hunter-gatherer societies have been analyzed and the different types of beliefs that they possess, being an example of this carried out in 2016 by Peoples, Duda and Marlowe in which animism, belief in gods, belief in the afterlife, ancestor worship and shamanism were valued.

The results of the study show that animism, the belief in the existence of a vital force or soul in all animals, plants or even geological accidents and natural phenomena, possessing a will of their own, is the most widespread and ancient type of religious belief . This type of belief serves as the basis for the further development of the belief in the supernatural or the mystical.

Right after it is placed the belief in the afterlife or life after death, which is considered as one of the most common and ancient aspects of religions. For this it is necessary the concept of soul or something that exists beyond death, precisely being necessary that animism existed previously.

After that, the idea of ​​someone expert can be developed that generates norms that allow an access or a contact with the beyond. From there the shaman would emerge, and later the clerical institution . This one would become an expert in the communication and management of the religious fact. A belief in ancestor worship may also arise.

Finally, the belief in gods is something that can be derived from the belief in higher entities that can look at us and affect our lives, but that seems to arise from a reflection of the way in which a society or tribe is organized.

Bibliographic references:

  • Peoples, H.C., Duda, P. & Marlowe, F.W. (2016). Hunther-Gatherers and the origins of religion. Hum. Nat., 27 (3): 261-282.
  • Atran, S. & Norenzayan, A. (2003) .Religion's evolutionary landscape: counterintuition, commitment, compassion, communion. Behavioral and Brain Sciences.

The Big Story: Origins of Religion (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les origines de la religion: comment est-elle apparue et pourquoi?

Les origines de la religion: comment est-elle apparue et pourquoi?

Mai 22, 2022

Tout au long de l’histoire, la foi et la religion ont constitué une partie importante de la société et se sont efforcées d’expliquer l’inconnu. Aujourd'hui, le christianisme, l'islam, le judaïsme, l'hindouisme et le bouddhisme sont les cinq grandes religions, bien qu'il existe de nombreuses autres professions religieuses.

Et beaucoup d'autres sont apparus et ont disparu avec le temps. Mais différentes religions n'ont pas émergé de rien, mais à un moment de l'histoire, l'être humain a commencé à avoir et à structurer ces types de croyances. Dans cet article, nous allons essayer de faire une brève réflexion sur les origines possibles de la foi religieuse.

  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences de croyances et d'idées)"

Quelle est la religion?

Nous comprenons par religion tous ensemble organisé et structuré de croyances, de nature généralement mystique et spirituelle qui permettent à l'être humain de rechercher et d'élaborer une explication du monde et de la réalité et qui s'expriment dans des rituels.


La religion offre une explication du monde et un cadre d'interprétation de la réalité fondé sur la foi, utilisant souvent de nombreux symbolismes pour tenter de rendre ses préceptes compréhensibles. Ils incluent généralement, en plus de cela, une série de normes ou de préceptes qui permettent de régir le comportement et facilitent la création et le maintien d'une communauté.

Ils ont tendance à être liés ou à utiliser des éléments surnaturels et des faits qui ne peuvent pas être expliqués à partir des connaissances empiriques du moment. Il est également courant d'essayer d'expliquer des phénomènes complexes, tels que la raison de notre existence et notre apparition dans le monde, et l'un des thèmes communs à la quasi-totalité d'entre eux est la préoccupation de ce qui se passe au moment présent et après la mort. En général, la foi est autonome , résistant aux modifications et à la falsification.


Certaines religions ont également la notion d’existence de divinités, qu’elle soit une (religion monothéiste) ou multiple (religion polythéiste), bien que toutes les religions ne considèrent pas l’existence d’un être supérieur capable de nous gouverner ou ayant la capacité d’influencer notre destin destin

La religion au fil de l'évolution

Il est difficile de déterminer à quel moment de l'évolution humaine les croyances religieuses ont commencé à émerger, et il est impossible de déterminer pour le moment où les premières religions organisées ont vu le jour, étant donné que l'origine remonte à la préhistoire (il n'y a aucune trace écrite à cet égard).

Ce que nous pouvons déterminer, c’est qu’il existe de fortes indications qui indiquent clairement que la religion est antérieure à l’homo-sapiens, en tant que première croyance religieuse antérieure à l’expansion de notre espèce.

Plus précisément, nous savons que nos parents les Néandertaliens effectuaient déjà des sépultures rituelles , quelque chose qui montre l’existence d’un sentiment de mort et une inquiétude quant à ce qui se passe après. Dans les vestiges des colonies de certaines tribus ou clans, semble également être observé un culte à certains animaux, tels que les ours.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 6 étapes de la préhistoire"

Evolution de la psyché

Un autre aspect à souligner est la prise en compte des ce qui permet l'émergence d'une pensée religieuse . En ce sens, il est nécessaire d’avoir une série de capacités mentales fondamentales: la capacité d’abstraction est nécessaire, l’existence d’une théorie de l’esprit (qui permet au sujet de réaliser que les autres ont leur propre perspective, objectifs et volontés distincts de leur propre volonté). ), la détection d'agents causaux et la capacité à établir des associations complexes.

On considère que la foi peut être apparue comme une adaptation avantageuse restée de la sélection naturelle (puisqu'elle permet la création et la cohésion d'un groupe, facilitant la survie et la reproduction) ou comme un sous-produit de l'apparition d'aptitudes cognitives comme les précédentes. .

Le premier type de croyances religieuses

Un autre aspect à valoriser est le fait que les religions incluent souvent différents types de croyances, certains types de croyances apparaissant sûrement avant les autres.

Dans ce sens les sociétés de chasseurs-cueilleurs ont été analysées et les différents types de croyances qu'ils possèdent, comme cela a été démontré en 2016 par Peoples, Duda et Marlowe, dans lesquels l’animisme, la croyance en les dieux, la croyance en la vie après la mort, le culte des ancêtres et le chamanisme étaient valorisés.

Les résultats de l’étude montrent que l’animisme, la croyance en l’existence d’une force vitale ou d’une âme dans tous les animaux, plantes ou même d’accidents géologiques et de phénomènes naturels possédant une volonté propre, est le type de croyance religieuse le plus répandu et le plus ancien . Ce type de croyance sert de base au développement ultérieur de la croyance en surnaturel ou en mystique.

Juste après, la croyance en la vie après la mort ou la vie après la mort est considérée comme l’un des aspects les plus courants et les plus anciens des religions. Pour cela, il est nécessaire que le concept d'âme ou de quelque chose qui existe au-delà de la mort, étant précisément nécessaire que l'animisme existait auparavant.

Après cela, l’idée d’un expert peut être développée, générant des normes permettant un accès ou un contact avec l’au-delà. De là le chaman émergerait, et plus tard l'institution cléricale . Celui-ci deviendrait un expert dans la communication et la gestion du fait religieux. Une croyance dans le culte des ancêtres peut également surgir.

Enfin, la croyance en les dieux peut être dérivée de la croyance en des entités supérieures qui peuvent nous regarder et influer sur nos vies, mais cela semble découler de la manière dont une société ou une tribu est organisée.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Peoples, H.C., Duda, P. et Marlowe, F.W. (2016). Hunther-Gatherers et les origines de la religion. Hum. Nat., 27 (3): 261-282.
  • Atran, S. & Norenzayan, A. (2003). Le paysage évolutif de la religion: contre-intuition, engagement, compassion, communion. Sciences du comportement et du cerveau.

L'Histoire de la religion islamique (Documentaire) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes