yes, therapy helps!
Pogonofilia, the excessive attraction for men with beards

Pogonofilia, the excessive attraction for men with beards

January 18, 2023

The beard is one of the most important trends of recent years and that is why many men have chosen to leave it, as they consider that it increases their sexual attractiveness. According to several surveys, the vast majority of women are attracted to men who leave a stylish beard , to the point where some can turn this preference into a fetish.

The excessive attraction for beards is known by the name of pognophilia .

The fashion of the beard is penetrating deep in society, and for about five years, the razor blades are giving way to razors to stylize the beard. In addition, hairdressers who want to be fashionable have realized this trend, that's why they market with specific products for the beard, and not only for the hair. The beard is trend and it seems that this fashion, far from stagnating, is increasing.


A study states that men with beards link more

Science seems to confirm that men who leave beards link more (study). Many men have realized this and because of this they try to be fashionable, because they are more successful. It is clear that the marketing of the big companies of fashion, which has put the label of "sex-symbol" to those who leave facial hair, has penetrated strongly among people. Some girls prefer the two-day beard, others the hippster beards ... the important thing is to leave that "cool look" and mysterious.

Psychologists Barnaby Dixon and Bob Brooks of South Wales University, in a study published in Evolution & Human Behavior, concluded that the two-week beard increases men's sexual attractiveness . Could this fact be due to the image of masculinity? Well it seems that yes, or at least that's what confirmed a study by the University of Northumbria that was published in Personality and Individual Differences. The researchers stated that boys without beards are perceived by women as less masculine and more docile.


Men with beards are perceived as stronger and with more social prestige

Other research, published in the magazine Science, found a relationship between health and bear wear. It seems, therefore, that wearing a beard is a way to demonstrate vitality and health.

On the other hand, another study in which we first photographed different participants, some with beards and others without, showing different faces (for example of anger or happiness), and then the photographs were shown to a group of subjects of different nationalities to to evaluate them, confirmed that men with beards are perceived as stronger and more socially prestigious .

The fashion of the lumbersexual

Knowing this, it is logical that the fashion world has highlighted these attributes. Merging this look rough and manly with checkered shirts in plan lumberjack, a concept called lumbersexual.


Therefore, the term metrosexual, after almost two decades, it seems to have gone down in history. Now the "hopster roll" is cool, which has been a revolution for many men. Beard, plaid shirt, mountain boots, careless pose ... A trend that is usual to see on the catwalks of men in big cities like Paris and Milan. The "neole├▒adores" is what it takes, gentlemen.

Pogonophilia as fashion

Of course, the fact that at the present time beards are highly valued aesthetically has its drawbacks. One of them is the principle of "everything that goes up, down": if the pognophilia is booming as a result of a cultural change, it can go as quickly as it came. Or, at least, to become marginal, something much less frequent than the wave of attraction towards men with beards that occurs today.

Keeping this in mind is important, because no matter how much the "filias" relate to the most intimate and irrational part of us, they are still prone to be influenced by the social and the cultural. And, in this, the pogonofilia is not an exception.

Not everything is positive when it comes to wearing beards

But not everything is as beautiful as it may seem: beards contain many bacteria (study). It is clear that a beard fans will not like this affirmation , but a study by John Golobic at Quest Diagnostics in New Mexico, was done with samples of several beards in search of bacteria. The conclusion of his research was that facial hair contains a lot of bacteria, so it is more hygienic not to show it off.

On the other hand, many men let their beards grow to hide imperfections on the skin, unattractive marks or some asymmetry in the shape of the face. In this case, wearing a beard can be favorable.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pogonofilia, l'attraction excessive des hommes à la barbe

Pogonofilia, l'attraction excessive des hommes à la barbe

Juin 21, 2022

Le barbe C’est l’une des tendances les plus importantes de ces dernières années et c’est pourquoi de nombreux hommes ont choisi de le quitter, estimant que cela accroît leur attrait sexuel. Selon plusieurs enquêtes, la grande majorité des femmes sont attirées par les hommes qui laissent une belle barbe , au point où certains peuvent transformer cette préférence en fétiche.

L’attraction excessive pour la barbe est connue sous le nom de pognophilie .

La mode de la barbe pénètre profondément dans la société et, depuis environ cinq ans, les lames de rasoir cèdent la place aux rasoirs pour styliser la barbe. De plus, les coiffeurs qui veulent être à la mode ont compris cette tendance, c'est pourquoi ils commercialisent des produits spécifiques pour la barbe et pas seulement pour les cheveux. La barbe est tendance et il semble que cette mode, loin de stagner, augmente.


Une étude indique que les hommes à la barbe lient plus

La science semble confirmer que les hommes qui quittent la barbe lient plus (étude). Beaucoup d'hommes l'ont compris et à cause de cela, ils essaient d'être à la mode, car ils ont plus de succès. Il est clair que le marketing des grandes entreprises de mode, qui a attribué l’appellation de "sex-symbol" à ceux qui laissent les poils du visage, a fortement pénétré parmi les hommes. Certaines filles préfèrent la barbe de deux jours, d'autres la barbe de hippster ... l'important est de laisser ce "look cool" et mystérieux.

Les psychologues Barnaby Dixon et Bob Brooks de la South Wales University, dans une étude publiée dans Evolution et comportement humain, a conclu que la barbe de deux semaines augmente l'attractivité sexuelle des hommes . Ce fait pourrait-il être dû à l'image de la masculinité? Eh bien, il semble que oui, ou du moins c’est ce qui a confirmé une étude de l’Université de Northumbria publiée dans Personnalité et différences individuelles. Les chercheurs ont déclaré que les femmes sans barbe étaient perçues par les femmes comme moins masculines et plus dociles.


Les hommes avec des barbes sont perçus comme plus forts et avec plus de prestige social

Autres recherches, publiées dans le magazine Science, a trouvé une relation entre la santé et l’usure des ours. Il semble donc que le port de la barbe est un moyen de manifester vitalité et santé.

D'autre part, une autre étude dans laquelle nous avons d'abord photographié différents participants, certains avec une barbe et d'autres sans, montrant différents visages (par exemple de la colère ou du bonheur), puis les photographies ont été montrées à un groupe de sujets de différentes nationalités pour pour les évaluer, confirmé que les hommes avec des barbes sont perçus comme plus forts et plus prestigieux sur le plan social .

La mode du lumbersexual

Sachant cela, il est logique que le monde de la mode ait souligné ces attributs. Fusionner cette regarde rugueux et viril avec des chemises à carreaux dans plan bûcheron, un concept appelé lumbersexual.


Par conséquent, le terme métrosexuel, après presque deux décennies, il semble être entré dans l’histoire. Maintenant, le "rouleau Hopster" est cool, ce qui a été une révolution pour beaucoup d'hommes. Barbe, chemise à carreaux, bottes de montagne, pose insouciante… Une tendance que l'on voit habituellement sur les podiums d'hommes dans les grandes villes comme Paris et Milan. Les "neoleñadores" sont ce qu'il faut, messieurs.

Pogonophilia comme mode

Bien entendu, le fait qu’à l’heure actuelle la barbe soit très appréciée esthétiquement présente des inconvénients. L'un d'eux est le principe de "tout ce qui monte, qui descend": si la pognophilie est en plein essor à la suite d'un changement de culture, elle peut aller aussi vite qu'elle est arrivée. Ou du moins, devenir marginal, quelque chose de beaucoup moins fréquent que la vague d'attraction pour les hommes à barbe qui se produit aujourd'hui.

Il est important de garder cela à l'esprit, car peu importe le degré de relation entre les "filias" et la partie la plus intime et irrationnelle de nous, ils ont toujours tendance à être influencés par le social et le culturel. Et, en cela, le pogonofilia n'est pas une exception.

Tout n'est pas positif quand il s'agit de porter la barbe

Mais tout n’est pas aussi beau que cela puisse paraître: la barbe contient de nombreuses bactéries (étude). Il est clair qu'un les fans de barbe n'aimeront pas cette affirmation , mais une étude de John Golobic chez Quest Diagnostics au Nouveau-Mexique a été réalisée avec des échantillons de plusieurs barbes à la recherche de bactéries. La conclusion de ses recherches est que les poils du visage contiennent beaucoup de bactéries, il est donc plus hygiénique de ne pas les montrer.

Par ailleurs, de nombreux hommes laissent pousser leur barbe pour masquer les imperfections de la peau, les marques peu attrayantes ou une certaine asymétrie dans la forme du visage. Dans ce cas, le port de la barbe peut être favorable.

Articles Connexes