yes, therapy helps!
The Parental Alienation Syndrome (SAP): a form of child maltreatment

The Parental Alienation Syndrome (SAP): a form of child maltreatment

November 27, 2021

The separation of a marriage is not easy for those affected, and it seems incredible the reaction they can have with respect to the other party. The hatred that they are capable of feeling for each other has attracted the attention of many psychologists, because the behaviors of contempt, often unimaginable, that can be seen in this situation, mask the love that may have been felt in their day. ex partner.

But the problem gets worse when there are children through . They can suffer more than anyone from this painful situation. Especially when the parents use them to hurt the other. This is known as Parental Alienation Syndrome .

What is Parental Alienation Syndrome?

The Parental Alienation Syndrome (SAP) is a set of symptoms that result from the use of different strategies by a parent, in which exerts influence on the thinking of children with the intention of destroying the relationship with the other parent.


The SAP can occur when the child is influenced by one parent (parent A) to reject the other parent (parent B). For example, parent A can tell the child that parent B does not want to visit, when, in fact, parent B is working.

Many times, this type of negative influence, used repeatedly, causes the child to reject the other parent .

It is necessary to reflect on the Parental Alienation Syndrome and the real danger of parents who use this type of behavior to harm their ex-partner, because the child is the one who really suffers the negative consequences of this situation . But this issue must also be treated with care, since some parents, for their legal defense, may accuse the other member of the ex-partner for using SAP against him even if it is not true.


Signs of Parental Alienation Syndrome

How do alienating parents act? These are the characteristic behaviors of the parents who carry out the SAP:

  • To belittle, insult or devalue the other parent in front of the child, mentioning topics of the couple that have nothing to do with the parental bond.
  • Tell a child the details of the divorce when the ex-spouse is not present, but as if the latter was the culprit. The parent is looking for the child to think that the other parent is the victim and that, in this way, he does not empathize with him.
  • Do not allow the right of coexistence of the child with the other parent.
  • Influence children with lies over the other coming to scare them.
  • Include family environment and friends in the attacks on the other parent.
  • Underestimate or ridicule the feelings of children towards the other parent.
  • Gratifying and reinforcing derogatory behavior and rejection by the child towards the other parent.

Causes of this phenomenon

Why can a parent want to damage their child's relationship with the other parent? The causes may differ from one parent to another, since each case is usually different. These are some of them:


  • Annoyed accumulated during the relationship for not having treated the problems in the right way . The lack of control of anger can cause, in these cases, that parents are not able to separate the problems of the relationship of their parental functions.
  • Self-esteem problems What causes emotional dependence towards the other parent.
  • Lack of social skills and difficulties in the expression and understanding of emotions. They may be unable to feel empathy towards the child and towards the ex-spouse.
  • Personality disorders . For example: narcissism or Personality Limit Disorder.

Preventing SAP is the best therapy

The Parental Alienation Syndrome is a complex phenomenon because of the environment in which it occurs. It is a real problem that separated families or families that are in the breaking phase can experience, but It also manifests itself in the judicial field . There are many men and women who use their children as a weapon against the other and induce them to have negative thoughts about the other parent.

The American Psychological Association it has not recognized it as a disorder and, therefore, it does not appear in the DSM-V. But the suffering it can cause in the actors is devastating, because the emotional damage that this phenomenon brings can affect kids for the rest of their lives.

The best way to treat it is to prevent it. Since, once it happens, it is necessary to attack it from different fronts. That a child suffers from the irresponsibility of parents is tremendously unfair. Because, The attitude of the parents around their break is crucial for the welfare of their child .

Since the SAP is a form of child maltreatment, once it has occurred and is diagnosed, it can have legal consequences. For example, the change of custody for the child to re-establish links with the parent who has been the victim of parental alienation. Sometimes it can happen that the child refuses, and that is why the subject must be treated with great care. The therapy is necessary to reverse the situation and, in many cases, it is the judge himself who can intervene.

Bibliographic references:

  • Infocop

PAS: Child Abuse Case Seminar - Parentally Alienated Children Treatment - Part 2 - Dr. Michael Bone (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le syndrome d'aliénation parentale (SAP): une forme de maltraitance envers les enfants

Le syndrome d'aliénation parentale (SAP): une forme de maltraitance envers les enfants

Juin 20, 2022

La séparation d'un mariage n'est pas facile pour les personnes touchées, et la réaction qu'elles peuvent avoir vis-à-vis de l'autre partie semble incroyable. La haine qu’ils sont capables de ressentir les uns pour les autres a attiré l’attention de nombreux psychologues, car les comportements de mépris, souvent inimaginables, que l’on peut observer dans cette situation masquent l’amour qui a pu être ressenti de leur temps. ex-partenaire

Mais le problème s'aggrave lorsqu'il y a des enfants . Ils peuvent souffrir plus que quiconque de cette situation douloureuse. Surtout quand les parents les utilisent pour blesser l'autre. Ceci est connu comme Syndrome d'aliénation parentale .

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome d'aliénation parentale?

Le Syndrome d'aliénation parentale (SAP) est un ensemble de symptômes résultant de l'utilisation de stratégies différentes par un parent, qui exerce une influence sur la pensée des enfants dans le but de détruire la relation avec l'autre parent.


Le SAP peut survenir lorsque l’enfant est poussé par un parent (parent A) à rejeter l’autre parent (parent B). Par exemple, le parent A peut dire à l'enfant que le parent B ne veut pas se rendre visite alors que le parent B travaille.

À plusieurs reprises, Ce type d'influence négative, utilisé à plusieurs reprises, amène l'enfant à rejeter l'autre parent .

Il est nécessaire de réfléchir au syndrome d'aliénation parentale et au danger réel que courent les parents qui utilisent ce type de comportement pour nuire à leur ex-partenaire, car l'enfant est celui qui subit réellement les conséquences négatives de cette situation . Mais cette question doit également être traitée avec précaution, car certains parents, pour leur défense juridique, peuvent accuser l'autre membre de l'ex-partenaire d'avoir utilisé SAP contre lui, même si ce n'est pas vrai.


Signes de syndrome d'aliénation parentale

Comment agissent les parents aliénants? Ce sont les comportements caractéristiques des parents qui effectuent le PAS:

  • Rabaisser, insulter ou dévaluer l'autre parent devant l'enfant, mentionnant des sujets du couple qui n'ont rien à voir avec le lien parental.
  • Dites à un enfant les détails du divorce lorsque l'ex-conjoint n'est pas présent, mais comme si ce dernier était le coupable. Le parent cherche à faire croire à l'enfant que l'autre parent est la victime et que, de cette manière, il ne fait pas preuve d'empathie envers lui.
  • Ne pas permettre le droit de coexistence de l'enfant avec l'autre parent.
  • Influencer les enfants avec des mensonges sur l'autre venir pour les effrayer.
  • Inclure l'environnement familial et les amis dans les attaques sur l'autre parent.
  • Sous-estimer ou ridiculiser les sentiments des enfants vers l'autre parent.
  • Comportement péjoratif gratifiant et renforçant et rejet de l'enfant envers l'autre parent.

Causes de ce phénomène

Pourquoi un parent peut-il nuire à la relation de son enfant avec l'autre parent? Les causes peuvent différer d'un parent à l'autre, chaque cas étant généralement différent. En voici quelques unes:


  • Ennuyé accumulé pendant la relation pour ne pas avoir traité les problèmes de la bonne manière . Le manque de contrôle de la colère peut provoquer, dans ces cas, que les parents ne soient pas en mesure de séparer les problèmes de relation entre leurs fonctions parentales.
  • Problèmes d'estime de soi Qu'est-ce qui cause la dépendance émotionnelle envers l'autre parent?
  • Manque d'aptitudes sociales et difficultés d'expression et compréhension des émotions. Ils peuvent être incapables de ressentir de l'empathie envers l'enfant et l'ex-conjoint.
  • Troubles de la personnalité . Par exemple: narcissisme ou trouble de la personnalité.

Prévenir le SAP est la meilleure thérapie

Le syndrome d'aliénation parentale est un phénomène complexe en raison de l'environnement dans lequel il se produit. C’est un problème réel que peuvent connaître les familles séparées ou en phase de rupture, mais Il se manifeste également dans le domaine judiciaire . Beaucoup d'hommes et de femmes utilisent leurs enfants comme une arme contre l'autre et l'incitent à avoir des pensées négatives à l'égard de l'autre parent.

Le American Psychological Association il ne l'a pas reconnu comme un trouble et, par conséquent, il n'apparaît pas dans le DSM-V. Mais la souffrance qu’elle peut causer aux acteurs est dévastatrice, car les dommages émotionnels qu’entraîne ce phénomène peuvent affecter les enfants toute leur vie.

La meilleure façon de le traiter est de le prévenir. Puisque, une fois que cela se produit, il est nécessaire de l'attaquer de différents fronts. Qu'un enfant souffre de l'irresponsabilité des parents est extrêmement injuste. Pour cela, L'attitude des parents autour de la pause est cruciale pour le bien-être de leur enfant .

Comme le SAP est une forme de maltraitance envers les enfants, une fois qu'il a été diagnostiqué et diagnostiqué, il peut avoir des conséquences juridiques. Par exemple, le changement de garde de l'enfant permet de rétablir les liens avec le parent victime d'aliénation parentale. Parfois, il peut arriver que l'enfant refuse, et c'est pourquoi le sujet doit être traité avec beaucoup de soin. La thérapie est nécessaire pour inverser la situation et, dans de nombreux cas, c'est le juge lui-même qui peut intervenir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Infocop

L'aliénation parentale, sauriez-vous la reconnaitre? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes