yes, therapy helps!
The power of emotions (9 scientific keys)

The power of emotions (9 scientific keys)

May 17, 2024

An emotion is a process through which cognitive and sensory information is transmitted over an external stimulus, from the body's pathways to the spinal cord, forming synapses and stimulating both hormonal secretion and the activity of glands, muscles and tissues.

If we take into account only the previous definition we can think that it is a completely individual process or experience; nevertheless, emotions are also relational phenomena, insofar as they are loaded with cultural meanings that allow us to act and interact in certain ways.

In relation to this and elaborating a journey that goes from the facial expression to the social functions, going through the cognitive functions; in this article we will see 10 scientific keys about the power of emotions .


  • Related article: "The 8 types of emotions (classification and description)"

The power of emotions in 10 scientific keys

These are some of the key ideas that help to understand the importance of emotions.

1. Body postures and facial recognition

Emotions shape our bodily postures, are reflected in our gestures in our way of speaking, sitting, walking and addressing others. We can easily distinguish if someone feels nervous, sad, angry, happy, and so on.

One of the most influential and recent theories about emotions in relation to facial expression , has been that of Paul Ekman, who in addition to making different contributions on basic emotions, perfected the system of facial coding developed in Sweden, which allowed to recognize different emotions through involuntary movements of the facial muscles, eye and head.


  • You may be interested: "Paul Ekman and the study of microexpressions"

2. Adaptive and evolutive character

Among other things, the theory of basic emotions has suggested that there is a certain number of emotions that we experience in order to respond adequately or adaptively to certain stimuli. From this perspective emotions are understood as neuropsychological phenomena that motivate or facilitate adaptive behaviors .

3. Conduct and decision making

From the above, a behavioral perspective of emotions is also inferred, from which we understand that emotion itself functions as a consequence, positive or negative, that allows us to discriminate between what behaviors to reproduce and under what circumstances.

In other words, experiencing certain emotions at certain times it allows us to modify our behaviors in the medium and long term ; according to whether the emotion experienced has been pleasant or unpleasant.


4. Reasoning and thinking schemes

Emotions also allow us to elaborate processing and thought schemes, which in turn display a set of action possibilities. In other words, emotions predispose us to action and allow us to generate attitudes, conclusions, projects, plans and decisions. They also facilitate the process of consolidation of memory and attention, so they have an important role in cognition.

5. Conduct teaching-learning processes

In relation to the above, one of the central functions of emotions, which has been specially studied and disseminated in recent years, is the possibility of facilitating teaching-learning processes through experiences with emotional charge.

For example, says neuroscientist Francisco Mora that the brain learns through emotion . In other words, without the presence of emotions, there are no basic elements of the learning process, such as curiosity, attention and memory. The same researcher has invited to explore and stimulate the above from the early school stages.

6. Cognitive-emotional processes and somatization

Something that the study of emotions has made evident is the relationship between mood and somatic activity . In this sense, the subject of somatization (how emotions can generate important organic discomforts) has been widely studied. Among other things, neurophysiology has proposed that clinical somatization is directly related to a specific activity of the central nervous system; specifically the amygdala, the cortex of the cingulum and the prefrontal areas.

7. Regulators of social relations

A part of sociology has proposed for several decades now that emotions also function as social regulators. For example, it has been studied how annoyance, guilt, shame, sympathy make possible a certain interaction.

They allow us, among other things, negotiate and reflect on the behaviors that we can repeat or not in every social situation.In the same sense, through emotions we generate frames of cognitive and affective identification that allow us to interact with others,

8. Social norms and subjectivities

In the psychosocial field we can see that emotions mark agency (possibilities of action in certain contexts), as well as desires and subjectivities modes.

Through emotions we deploy mechanisms of control and surveillance of ourselves and others, which allow us to feel and behave in a socially recognized way as appropriate . Societies in our time define individuals according to the emotions they experience or manifest.

9. Reproduction and social change

Generally, emotions correspond to the dominant values ​​of a society and a specific moment. For example we can recognize more or less emotional subjects, and certain emotions are allowed in according to whether it's women, men, boys, girls .

However, although through emotions we reproduce social norms and power relations, emotional appropriation does not occur passively but rather reflexively: it helps to resolve contradictions and act in correspondence with what is expected of each one. For this reason, emotions have the potential to be both social re-producers and processes of change.

Bibliographic references:

  • Castaingts, J. (2017). Symbolic anthropology of emotions and neuroscience. Alterities, 27 (53): 23-33.
  • Maneiro, E. (2017). Neuroscience and emotions: new possibilities in the study of political behavior. RIPS, 16 (1): 169-188.
  • López, J. (2013). Francisco Mora "Learning and memorizing shapes our brain". The cultural Retrieved July 20, 2018. Available at //www.elcultural.com/revista/ciencia/Francisco-Mora/32693.
  • Sánchez-García, M. (2013). Psychological processes in somatization: emotion as a process. International Journal of Psychology and Psychological Therapy, 13 (2): 255-270.
  • Gil Juárez, A. (2002). Approach to a theory of affectivity. Athenea Digital, 1. Retrieved July 20, 2018. Available at //atheneadigital.net/article/view/n1-gil/44-html-es
  • Bericat, E. (2000). The sociology of emotion and emotion of sociology. Papers 62: 145-176.

The science of emotions: Jaak Panksepp at TEDxRainier (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le pouvoir des émotions (9 clés scientifiques)

Le pouvoir des émotions (9 clés scientifiques)

Juillet 16, 2024

Une émotion est un processus par lequel des informations cognitives et sensorielles sont transmises via un stimulus externe, des voies du corps à la moelle épinière, en formant des synapses et en stimulant à la fois la sécrétion hormonale et l'activité des glandes, des muscles et des tissus.

Si nous ne prenons en compte que la définition précédente, nous pouvons penser qu'il s'agit d'un processus ou d'une expérience totalement individuelle; néanmoins, les émotions sont aussi des phénomènes relationnels, dans la mesure où elles sont chargées de significations culturelles qui nous permettent d’agir et d’interagir de certaines manières.

Par rapport à cela et en élaborant un voyage qui va de l’expression du visage aux fonctions sociales en passant par les fonctions cognitives; dans cet article nous verrons 10 clés scientifiques sur le pouvoir des émotions .


  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types d'émotions (classification et description)"

Le pouvoir des émotions en 10 clés scientifiques

Voici quelques idées clés qui aident à comprendre l’importance des émotions.

1. Postures corporelles et reconnaissance faciale

Les émotions façonnent nos postures corporelles, se reflètent dans nos gestes dans notre façon de parler, d'être assis, de marcher et de s'adresser aux autres. Nous pouvons facilement distinguer si quelqu'un se sent nerveux, triste, en colère, heureux, etc.

Une des théories les plus influentes et récentes sur les émotions par rapport à l'expression du visage , a été celle de Paul Ekman, qui a non seulement apporté diverses contributions sur les émotions de base, mais aussi perfectionné le système de codage facial développé en Suède, qui permettait de reconnaître différentes émotions par le biais de mouvements involontaires des muscles du visage, des yeux et de la tête.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Paul Ekman et l'étude des microexpressions"

2. Caractère adaptatif et évolutif

Entre autres choses, la théorie des émotions de base a suggéré qu’il existe un certain nombre d’émotions que nous éprouvons afin de répondre de manière adéquate ou adaptative à certains stimuli. Dans cette perspective, les émotions sont comprises en tant que phénomènes neuropsychologiques qui motivent ou facilitent les comportements adaptatifs .

3. Conduite et prise de décision

De ce qui précède, une perspective comportementale des émotions est également déduite, à partir de laquelle nous comprenons que l’émotion elle-même fonctionne comme une conséquence, positive ou négative, qui nous permet de distinguer entre quels comportements reproduire et dans quelles circonstances.

En d'autres termes, vivre certaines émotions à certains moments cela nous permet de modifier nos comportements à moyen et long terme ; selon que l’émotion ressentie soit agréable ou désagréable.


4. Schémas de raisonnement et de pensée

Les émotions nous permettent également d’élaborer des schémas de traitement et de réflexion qui, à leur tour, présentent un ensemble de possibilités d’action. En d'autres termes, les émotions nous prédisposent à l'action et nous permettent de générer des attitudes, des conclusions, des projets, des plans et des décisions. Ils facilitent également le processus de consolidation de la mémoire et de l'attention et jouent donc un rôle important dans la cognition.

5. Conduire des processus d'enseignement-apprentissage

Par rapport à ce qui précède, l’une des fonctions centrales des émotions, qui a été spécialement étudiée et diffusée ces dernières années, est la possibilité de faciliter les processus d’enseignement et d’apprentissage grâce à des expériences de charge émotionnelle.

Par exemple, dit le neuroscientifique Francisco Mora, le cerveau apprend par l'émotion . En d'autres termes, sans la présence d'émotions, il n'y a pas d'éléments de base du processus d'apprentissage, tels que la curiosité, l'attention et la mémoire. Le même chercheur a invité à explorer et à stimuler ce qui précède dès le début de l’école.

6. Processus cognitifs émotionnels et somatisation

L’étude des émotions a mis en évidence quelque chose la relation entre l'humeur et l'activité somatique . En ce sens, le sujet de la somatisation (comment les émotions peuvent générer des gênes organiques importantes) a été largement étudié. La neurophysiologie a notamment proposé que la somatisation clinique soit directement liée à une activité spécifique du système nerveux central; en particulier l'amygdale, le cortex du cingulum et les zones préfrontales.

7. Régulateurs des relations sociales

Une partie de la sociologie propose depuis plusieurs décennies que les émotions fonctionnent aussi comme des régulateurs sociaux. Par exemple, il a été étudié comment l'irritation, la culpabilité, la honte, la sympathie permettent une certaine interaction.

Ils nous permettent, entre autres, négocier et réfléchir sur les comportements que l'on peut répéter ou non dans chaque situation sociale.Dans le même sens, nous générons à travers les émotions des cadres d’identification cognitive et affective qui nous permettent d’interagir avec les autres,

8. Normes sociales et subjectivités

Dans le domaine psychosocial, nous pouvons voir que les émotions marquent l’agence (possibilités d’action dans certains contextes), ainsi que les modes de désirs et de subjectivités.

A travers les émotions, nous déployons des mécanismes de contrôle et de surveillance de nous-mêmes et des autres, qui nous permettent de nous sentir et de nous comporter de manière socialement reconnue, le cas échéant . Les sociétés à notre époque définissent les individus en fonction des émotions qu'ils éprouvent ou manifestent.

9. Reproduction et changement social

Généralement, les émotions correspondent aux valeurs dominantes d’une société et à un moment précis. Par exemple, nous pouvons reconnaître des sujets plus ou moins émotionnels, et certaines émotions sont autorisées dans selon qu'il s'agisse de femmes, d'hommes, de garçons ou de filles .

Cependant, bien que par le biais des émotions, nous reproduisions les normes sociales et les relations de pouvoir, l'appropriation émotionnelle ne se fait pas de manière passive, mais plutôt par réflexe: elle aide à résoudre les contradictions et à agir en fonction de ce que l'on attend de chacun. Pour cette raison, les émotions peuvent être à la fois des re-producteurs sociaux et des processus de changement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Castaingts, J. (2017). Anthropologie symbolique des émotions et des neurosciences. Alterities, 27 (53): 23-33.
  • Maneiro, E. (2017). Neurosciences et émotions: nouvelles possibilités pour l’étude du comportement politique. RIPS, 16 (1): 169-188.
  • López, J. (2013). Francisco Mora "Apprendre et mémoriser façonne notre cerveau". Le culturel Récupéré le 20 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.elcultural.com/revista/ciencia/Francisco-Mora/32693.
  • Sánchez-García, M. (2013). Processus psychologiques en somatisation: l'émotion en tant que processus. Journal international de psychologie et de thérapie psychologique, 13 (2): 255-270.
  • Gil Juárez, A. (2002). Approche d'une théorie de l'affectivité. Athenea Digital, 1. Récupéré le 20 juillet 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //atheneadigital.net/article/view/n1-gil/44-html-es.
  • Bericat, E. (2000). La sociologie de l'émotion et l'émotion de la sociologie. Papers 62: 145-176.

La puissance de l'Intention (Documentaire) (Juillet 2024).


Articles Connexes