yes, therapy helps!
What is the use of crying for?

What is the use of crying for?

June 12, 2024

All human beings who have normal psychophysiological functioning (within the average) will have cried and will do so many times throughout their lives. In fact, when a baby is born, it is the first thing that is expected of him and the first sign that his body is functioning correctly.

We all know that Crying is natural and happens when our eyes itch or when we are sad , but then we are going to ask what mechanisms and what is the use behind this.

Types of tears ...

First of all there will be differentiate physiological tears from emotional or psychological tears .

Physiological tears

The physiological tears are those that serve to protect our visual system (the eyes), there are reflexes Y lubricants.


The lubricant tears are those that originate in the cornea, clean and protect the eye from external environmental agents (dust, batteries, etc.). On a daily basis, a quantity of lubricating tears of approximately 1 ml is produced. The reflex tears are those that protect from external attacks such as gases or irritating chemicals, are those that appear when peeling an onion for example, these contain a large amount of antibodies that will protect the eye from bacterial aggressions.

Emotional tears

Finally we have the emotional tears , on which we are going to focus.

These appear before a strong emotion, the hypothalamus intervenes in the emotional interpretation and is the one who sends the orders to the ocular organs for the production of tears. According to a study (Walter & Chip, 2006) with a sample of more than three hundred people, on average men cry emotional tears shed once a month, and women cry at least five times each month , the difference between both sexes is explained by the hormonal variations during menstruation.


Why do we cry when something excites us?

And what is the use of producing tears in a situation of emotional intensity? Usually they are faced with a painful situation, in this case segregate tears seems to have an analgesic and palliative function of pain .

As demonstrated by William H. Frey, a biochemist at the St. Paul-Ramsey Medical Center in Minnesota, the emotional tears we shed in the face of a dramatic situation of his or her own involve a good dose of potassium and manganese chloride, endorphins, prolactin. , adenocorticotropin and leucine-enkephalin (a natural analgesic).

The brain when we cry

Also, when crying the brain wears a lot of glucose and finishing doing it we feel tired and more relaxed as if we had done sports, which can favor body rest in stressful situations. In addition, the mere fact of crying, will make us pick ourselves up, introspect and allow us to cover the need to listen and take care of ourselves for a few moments, leaving aside the other external things that concern us on a daily basis.


The social function of crying

Of course, shedding tears has an adaptive social function very important, when we see others crying we know that they may need help or a different treatment than usual.

Thus, if we add the biological function with the intrapersonal and the relational, shedding tears after a loss, for example, will help us navigate the emotion in a better way.

And why do we sometimes cry when we are happy?

When we experience an emotion of extreme joy, our body sometimes interprets it as "excessive" and our emotional system as a loss of control , in these circumstances, crying helps restore emotional balance.

What if I can not cry when I'm sad?

Some people suffer from an autoimmune disease, the Sjören Syndrome, in which there is a permanent dryness in the lacrimal .

But leaving aside the possible physiological problems for the production of tears, some people have problems crying when they have a loss or a strong emotion, usually this is accompanied by the inability to feel sadness. This can be the result of multiple causes and often has to do with a bad emotional management experience at a certain moment (for example having suffered a severe depression or having a close person who suffers it), through which an irrational fear of crying is triggered.

Social norms also influence certain cultures where crying is "frowned upon", in many cultures, something as natural and innate as crying is "repressed" and it is important to relearn to cry when it is necessary, as it has been commented a few lines above, it has multiple advantages for our emotional health.

Bibliographic references:

  • Díez Baths, March Pujol. Ocular pharmacology. Univ. Politèc. of Catalunya; 2004
  • Walter, Chip. Why do we cry ?. Scientific American Mind. 2006 Dec; 17 (6): 44.
  • William H. Frey, Muriel Langseth. Crying: The Mystery of Tears. Minneapolis: Winston Press; 1985

BW Use Common Sense before Crying for Protection (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
A quoi sert de pleurer?

A quoi sert de pleurer?

Avril 14, 2021

Tous les êtres humains qui ont un fonctionnement psychophysiologique normal (dans la moyenne) auront pleuré et le feront plusieurs fois au cours de leur vie. En fait, quand un bébé naît, c'est la première chose qu'on attend de lui et le premier signe que son corps fonctionne correctement.

Nous savons tous que Les pleurs sont naturels et se produisent lorsque nos yeux piquent ou lorsque nous sommes tristes , mais ensuite nous allons demander quels mécanismes et quelle est l’utilisation derrière tout cela.

Types de larmes ...

Tout d'abord il y aura différencier les larmes physiologiques des larmes émotionnelles ou psychologiques .

Larmes physiologiques

Le larmes physiologiques sont ceux qui servent à protéger notre système visuel (les yeux), il y a réflexes et lubrifiants.


Le larmes de lubrifiant sont ceux qui proviennent de la cornée, nettoient et protègent les yeux des agents environnementaux externes (poussière, piles, etc.). Chaque jour, une quantité de larmes lubrifiantes d'environ 1 ml est produite. Le larmes réflexes sont ceux qui protègent contre les agressions extérieures telles que les gaz ou les produits chimiques irritants, ceux qui apparaissent lors du pelage d'un oignon, par exemple, ils contiennent une grande quantité d'anticorps qui protégeront l'œil des agressions bactériennes.

Larmes émotionnelles

Enfin nous avons le larmes émotionnelles , sur lequel nous allons nous concentrer.

Ceux-ci apparaissent avant une émotion forte, l'hypothalamus intervient dans l'interprétation émotionnelle et est celui qui envoie les ordres aux organes oculaires pour la production de larmes. Selon une étude (Walter & Chip, 2006) avec un échantillon de plus de trois cent personnes, en moyenne les hommes pleurent des larmes émotionnelles une fois par mois et les femmes pleurent au moins cinq fois par mois , la différence entre les deux sexes s’explique par les variations hormonales au cours de la menstruation.


Pourquoi pleurons-nous quand quelque chose nous excite?

Et à quoi sert-il de produire des larmes dans une situation d'intensité émotionnelle? Habituellement, ils sont confrontés à une situation douloureuse, dans ce cas les larmes séparées semblent avoir une fonction analgésique et palliative de la douleur .

Comme l'a démontré William H. Frey, biochimiste au centre médical St. Paul-Ramsey du Minnesota, les larmes émotionnelles que nous versons devant une situation dramatique comprennent une bonne dose de chlorure de potassium et de manganèse, d'endorphines, de prolactine. , adénocorticotropine et leucine-enképhaline (un analgésique naturel).

Le cerveau quand on pleure

Aussi, en pleurant le cerveau porte beaucoup de glucose et en fin de travail nous nous sentons fatigués et plus détendus comme si nous avions fait du sport, ce qui peut favoriser le repos du corps dans des situations stressantes. De plus, le simple fait de pleurer nous fera nous relever nous-mêmes, nous permettra de couvrir le besoin d’écouter et de prendre soin de nous-mêmes pendant quelques instants, en laissant de côté les autres problèmes extérieurs qui nous concernent quotidiennement.


La fonction sociale de pleurer

Bien sur verser des larmes a une fonction sociale adaptative très important, lorsque nous voyons les autres pleurer, nous savons qu’ils peuvent avoir besoin d’aide ou d’un traitement différent de celui qui est habituel.

Ainsi, si nous ajoutons la fonction biologique aux fonctions intrapersonnelle et relationnelle, verser des larmes après une perte, par exemple, nous aidera à mieux gérer l'émotion.

Et pourquoi pleurons-nous parfois quand nous sommes heureux?

Lorsque nous éprouvons une émotion de joie extrême, notre corps l'interprète parfois comme "excessif" et notre système émotionnel comme une perte de contrôle , dans ces circonstances, les pleurs aident à rétablir l'équilibre émotionnel.

Et si je ne peux pas pleurer quand je suis triste?

Certaines personnes souffrent d’une maladie auto-immune, le syndrome de Sjören, dans laquelle il y a une sécheresse permanente dans le lacrymal .

Mais en laissant de côté les problèmes physiologiques possibles pour la production de larmes, certaines personnes ont des problèmes de pleurs lorsqu'elles ont une perte ou une émotion forte, ce qui est généralement accompagné de l'incapacité de ressentir de la tristesse. Cela peut être le résultat de multiples causes et est souvent lié à une mauvaise expérience de gestion émotionnelle à un moment donné (par exemple, avoir subi une dépression grave ou avoir une personne proche qui en souffre), ce qui déclenche une peur irrationnelle de pleurer.

Les normes sociales influencent également certaines cultures où les pleurs sont "mal vus", dans de nombreuses cultures, une chose aussi naturelle et innée que de pleurer est "réprimée" et il est important de réapprendre à pleurer quand cela est nécessaire, comme cela a été commenté quelques lignes ci-dessus, il présente de multiples avantages pour notre santé émotionnelle.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Díez Baths, March Pujol. Pharmacologie oculaire. Univ. Politèc. de la Catalogne; 2004
  • Walter, Chip. Pourquoi pleurons-nous? Esprit américain scientifique. 2006 déc; 17 (6): 44.
  • William H. Frey et Muriel Langseth. Pleurer: le mystère des larmes. Minneapolis: Winston Press; 1985

POURQUOI ON PLEURE ? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes