yes, therapy helps!
The truth behind the clichés and myths about videogames

The truth behind the clichés and myths about videogames

May 9, 2021

The videogames and the time that is invested in playing them is a topic of main concern for the parents of children and adolescents nowadays.

There is a real increase in the consumption of video games both in Spain and around the world, which is generating a powerful stressor in parents (and adults in general) because of the stigmatization of society towards this type of leisure offer.

Recommended article: "Do video games make us violent?"

In addition, with the rise of the videogame sector and the great popularity that is being acquired by the branch of electronic sports or "e-Sports", criticisms of this sector are becoming harsher and in some cases, more radical. This produces a strong alarm in parents concerned about the love of their children , which will make them pay more attention to that information that fits well with their prejudices, the result of fear of possible damage to their offspring.


Videogames and addiction

The main alarm factor of these parents is possibly the factor of addiction. Usually, video game fans usually spend a lot of free time with them, which generates a strong feeling of disapproval on the part of parents, in addition to being accused on many occasions, as addicted to video games.

It is true that video games can be an addiction, but in the same way, the hobby of cultivating the body in the gym can also be, for example . The truth is that the human being has the power to be addicted to many types of hobbies and here, the turning point is education, the way they regulate the desire to play.


Know more: "Eight important psychological aspects of video games"

Data and analysis

To shed light on the issue of videogames and try to fend off fears, we would like to cite the results of an interesting study carried out by Estalló, Masferrer and Aguirre in 2001 in which they conducted a thorough investigation with 321 subjects aged between 13 years and 33. In this study, personality characteristics, behaviors in daily life and some cognitive variables were compared between two samples, of which one presented a continuous, habitual and abundant use of video games, while the another sample showed total absence in use of video games.

Despite being widely used arguments to disapprove the use of video games, the results of this study clearly showed that the continued and regular use of video games does not imply any relevant change with respect to those who do not use them, in aspects such as school adaptation, academic performance, climate and family adaptation, the consumption of toxic substances, physical problems such as obesity or headaches, children's psychological background or social activities.


Also, in clinical variables such as personality patterns, aggression, assertiveness or clinical symptoms and syndromes, there were no significant differences in relation to the non-player group either (It exploded, Masferrer & Aguirre, 2001).

The benefits of playing video game consoles

Video games are not only the villains that sometimes sell us the media, but also provide cognitive benefits

As we have seen in one of many examples, the empirical evidence shows that the continued and habitual use of video games does not represent a real threat against young people.

Besides not reaching alarming conclusions, research in health and videogames show that these are a powerful modern tool that can produce benefits in aspects such as cognition, emotions, motivation and social behavior.

In 2014, Granic, Lobel and Rutger carried out an important revision for the APA (American Psychologist Association), on the existing bibliography in reference to studies that demonstrate the benefits of videogames in young people, especially in the areas previously mentioned. Since performing an analysis of each of the areas goes beyond the objectives of this article, we will name only some benefits of each one, leaving these analyzes for later publications .

1. Cognition

In terms of cognition, the benefits are very broad since they promote a wide range of cognitive abilities . In this area, thematic videogames have special relevance shooter since they require a high level of attention and concentration, considerably enhancing the spatial resolution in visual processing, the rotation of mental abilities and attention (Green & Babelier, 2012).

2. Motivation

In the field of motivation, video games play an important role since many of these, they maintain a very precise adjustment in terms of "effort-reward" which allows young people to be able to develop their skills through effort and be rewarded in a fair and appetizing manner, thus generating behaviors in favor of a malleable and potent intelligence and not as stable and predefined intelligence (Blackwell, Trzesniewski, & Dweck, 2007 ).

3. Emotion management

Regarding the emotional benefits, there are studies that suggest that some of the most intensely positive emotional experiences are associated with the context of video games (McGonigal, 2011) and given the great importance of experiencing positive emotions on a daily basis, the benefits generated from this premise are very important.

4. Cooperation

Finally, due to the strong social component of videogames today, which reward cooperation, support and help behaviors, substantial improvements in the behaviors and prosocial skills of the players are evidenced (Ewoldsen et al., 2012).

Video games are not enemies, but allies

The conclusion of all this review on videogames dedicated to fathers and mothers should be the acceptance by them, of video games as a powerful ally in the education and growth of their children , combining them with the discipline and responsibility that we demand of them but that depends on their promotion.

In this way we could see the benefits that video games can generate or, at least, warn that all those theories that accuse them are unfounded and the result of misinformation. Video games are not to blame for the problems associated with youth.

Bibliographic references:

  • Blackwell, L. S., Trzesniewski, K. H., & Dweck, C. S. (2007). Implicit theories of intelligence predict achievement across adolescent transition: A longitudinal study and an intervention. Child Development, 78, 246-263.
  • Estalló, J., Masferrer, M., & Aguirre, C. (2001). Long-term effects of the use of video games. Notes of Psychology. Apuntes de Psicología, 19, 161-174.
  • Ewoldsen, D.R., Eno, C.A., Okdie, B.M., Velez, J.A., Guadagno, R.E., & DeCoster, J. (2012). Effect of violent playing video games cooper- atively or competitively on subsequent cooperative behavior. Cyber-psychology, Behavior, and Social Networking, 15, 277-280.
  • Granic, I., Lobel, A., & Engels, R. C. M. E. (2014). The benefits of playing video games. The American Psychologist, 69 (1), 66-78.
  • Green, C. S., & Bavelier, D. (2012). Learning, attentional control, and action video games. Current Biology, 22, 197-206.
  • McGonigal, J. (2011). Reality is broken: Why games make better and how can they change the world. New York, NY: Penguin Press.

Top 10 Video Game Clichés (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La vérité derrière les clichés et les mythes sur les jeux vidéo

La vérité derrière les clichés et les mythes sur les jeux vidéo

Février 21, 2019

Les jeux vidéo et le temps passé à les jouer sont un sujet de préoccupation majeur pour les parents d’enfants et d’adolescents Actuellement.

Il existe une réelle augmentation de la consommation de jeux vidéo en Espagne et dans le monde, générant un puissant facteur de stress chez les parents (et les adultes en général) en raison de la stigmatisation de la société envers ce type d’offre de loisirs.

Article recommandé: "Les jeux vidéo nous rendent-ils violents?"

En outre, avec l'essor du secteur des jeux vidéo et la grande popularité acquise par la branche du sport électronique ou "e-Sports", les critiques de ce secteur deviennent de plus en plus critiques et, dans certains cas, de plus en plus radicales. Cela déclenche une vive alerte chez les parents préoccupés par l'amour de leurs enfants , ce qui les incitera à prêter plus d'attention à cette information qui correspond bien à leurs préjugés, le résultat de la crainte d'éventuels dommages à leur progéniture.


Jeux vidéo et addiction

Le principal facteur d'alarme de ces parents est peut-être le facteur de dépendance. Habituellement, les fans de jeux vidéo passent généralement beaucoup de temps libre avec eux, ce qui génère un fort sentiment de désapprobation de la part des parents, en plus d’être accusé à de nombreuses reprises, d’être accro aux jeux vidéo.

Il est vrai que les jeux vidéo peuvent être une dépendance, mais de la même manière, le loisir de cultiver le corps dans le gymnase peut aussi être, par exemple . La vérité, c’est que l’être humain a le pouvoir d’être dépendant de nombreux types de passe-temps et qu’ici, le point tournant est l’éducation, sa façon de réguler son envie de jouer.


En savoir plus: "Huit aspects psychologiques importants des jeux vidéo"

Données et analyses

Pour éclairer la question des jeux vidéo et tenter de dissiper les craintes, citons les résultats d’une étude intéressante menée par Estalló, Masferrer et Aguirre en 2001, dans laquelle ils ont mené une enquête approfondie auprès de 321 sujets âgés de 13 ans et 33. Dans cette étude, les caractéristiques de la personnalité, les comportements dans la vie quotidienne et certaines variables cognitives ont été comparés entre deux échantillons, dont l'un présentait une utilisation continue, habituelle et abondante des jeux vidéo, tandis que un autre échantillon a montré une absence totale d'utilisation de jeux vidéo.

Bien que les arguments largement utilisés pour désapprouver l'utilisation des jeux vidéo, les résultats de cette étude montrent clairement que l'utilisation continue et régulière des jeux vidéo n'implique aucun changement pertinent par rapport à ceux qui ne l'utilisent pas, dans des domaines tels que l'adaptation scolaire, performances scolaires, adaptation au climat et à la famille, consommation de substances toxiques, problèmes physiques tels que l'obésité ou des maux de tête, antécédents psychologiques des enfants ou activités sociales.


En outre, dans les variables cliniques telles que les schémas de personnalité, l’agressivité, l’affirmation de soi ou les symptômes et syndromes cliniques, il n'y avait pas de différences significatives par rapport au groupe des non-joueurs, soit (Il a explosé, Masferrer et Aguirre, 2001).

Les avantages de jouer à des consoles de jeux vidéo

Les jeux vidéo ne sont pas seulement les méchants qui nous vendent parfois les médias, mais apportent également des avantages cognitifs

Comme nous l'avons vu dans l'un des nombreux exemples, les preuves empiriques montrent que l'utilisation continue et habituelle des jeux vidéo ne représente pas une menace réelle pour les jeunes.

En plus de ne pas aboutir à des conclusions alarmantes, les recherches sur la santé et les jeux vidéo montrent qu’il s’agit d’un puissant outil moderne pouvant générer des avantages dans des domaines tels que la cognition, les émotions, la motivation et le comportement social.

En 2014, Granic, Lobel et Rutger ont effectué une importante révision de la bibliographie existante pour l'APA (American Psychologist Association), faisant référence à des études démontrant les avantages des jeux vidéo pour les jeunes, en particulier dans les domaines susmentionnés. L'analyse de chacun des domaines allant au-delà des objectifs de cet article, nous ne nommerons que quelques avantages de chacun, laissant ces analyses pour des publications ultérieures .

1. cognition

En termes de cognition, les avantages sont très larges car ils favorisent un large éventail de capacités cognitives . Dans ce domaine, les jeux vidéo thématiques revêtent une importance particulière tireur puisqu'ils nécessitent un niveau élevé d'attention et de concentration, améliorant considérablement la résolution spatiale dans le traitement visuel, la rotation des capacités mentales et de l'attention (Green & Babelier, 2012).

2. Motivation

Dans le domaine de la motivation, les jeux vidéo jouent un rôle important car nombre d’entre eux, ils maintiennent un ajustement très précis en termes "d'effort-récompense" qui permet aux jeunes de développer leurs compétences par l'effort et d'être récompensés d'une manière juste et appétissante, générant ainsi des comportements en faveur d'une intelligence malléable et puissante et non d'une intelligence aussi stable et prédéfinie (Blackwell, Trzesniewski, & Dweck, 2007). ).

3. Gestion des émotions

En ce qui concerne les avantages émotionnels, certaines études suggèrent que certaines des expériences émotionnelles les plus intensément positives sont associées au contexte des jeux vidéo (McGonigal, 2011) et étant donné la grande importance de vivre des émotions positives au quotidien, les avantages générés par ce principe sont très importants.

4. coopération

Enfin, en raison de la forte composante sociale des jeux vidéo actuels, qui récompense la coopération, le soutien et l’aide aux comportements, des améliorations substantielles des comportements et des compétences prosociales des joueurs sont mises en évidence (Ewoldsen et al., 2012).

Les jeux vidéo ne sont pas des ennemis, mais des alliés

La conclusion de toute cette revue sur les jeux vidéo dédiés aux pères et aux mères devrait être leur acceptation, leur les jeux vidéo en tant qu'allié puissant dans l'éducation et la croissance de leurs enfants , en les combinant avec la discipline et la responsabilité que nous leur demandons mais cela dépend de leur promotion.

De cette manière, nous pourrions voir les avantages que les jeux vidéo peuvent générer ou, au moins, avertir que toutes les théories qui les accusent sont sans fondement et résultent de la désinformation. Les jeux vidéo ne sont pas à blâmer pour les problèmes liés à la jeunesse.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Blackwell, L.S., Trzesniewski, K.H. et Dweck, C.S. (2007). Les théories implicites de l'intelligence permettent de prédire la réussite au cours de la transition adolescente: une étude longitudinale et une intervention. Child Development, 78, 246-263.
  • Estalló, J., Masferrer, M. et Aguirre, C. (2001). Effets à long terme de l'utilisation des jeux vidéo. Notes de psychologie. Apuntes de Psicología, 19, 161-174.
  • Ewoldsen, D.R., Eno, C.A., Okdie, B.M., Velez, J.A., Guadagno, R.E., et DeCoster, J. (2012). Effet des jeux vidéo violents en coopération ou en compétition sur le comportement coopératif ultérieur. Cyber-psychologie, comportement et réseaux sociaux, 15, 277-280.
  • Granic, I., Lobel, A. et Engels, R.C.M.E. (2014). Les avantages de jouer à des jeux vidéo. The American Psychologist, 69 (1), 66-78.
  • Green, C.S. et Bavelier, D. (2012). Apprentissage, contrôle de l'attention et jeux vidéo d'action. Current Biology, 22, 197-206.
  • McGonigal, J. (2011). La réalité est brisée: pourquoi les jeux font mieux et comment peuvent-ils changer le monde. New York, NY: Penguin Press.

5 MENSONGES sur le FOOTBALL (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes