yes, therapy helps!
This is the body language of each personality type

This is the body language of each personality type

September 14, 2022

Communicating is essential for the human being, being necessary to live in society and be able to understand and make us understand. Fortunately, we have a very useful tool for this: language. But there is no single language, but in our interactions with others we can get to apply different types of language.

In particular, body language is one of the most powerful communication tools we have. In addition, there is a link between our personality and the style of body language what do we use.

However, to understand this we must first bear in mind that language is capable of taking many forms and that our way of being is not only reflected in what we say literally through words.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism"

Much more than words

Although usually when we talk about language we usually think of speech and verbal communication, we understand by language all that system used by one or more individuals to transmit information through a series of symbolic elements or signs whose meaning is shared by both interlocutors, which may be said voluntary or involuntary information emission.

This communication is established with a specific objective, the act may have different functions such as informing, persuading, organizing their own behavior or socially linked.


The types of body language

The language can also be classified according to what type of elements are used in the communicative exchange.

As far as body language is concerned, it can be classified in this way:

Gestual or kinésico

The kinesthetic refers to the use of gestures and movements in order to transmit information , being especially useful to express the emotionality of the issuing individual.

Proxemic

It is about what our general position communicates and the separation between the different components of the communicative situation . In other words, it is about the meaning of distances.

The separation or proximity between people indicates different degrees of confidence and / or positions of power existing between individuals, as well as the relationship between what we say and what we intend with it (we get closer when we want to involve the other in what we say, for example). They distinguish between intimate, personal, social or public distances.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 types of language (and their characteristics)"

The relationship between personality and body language

As we have seen, body language includes the gestures we make and the way we approach or distance ourselves of certain elements or people.

Taking into account this, we can talk about the style of gestural language associated with the main personality types:

1. Shy personality

In social situations, shy people are more likely to keep their arms and legs close to the vertical axis of their thorax. At the same time, show a tendency to look little in the eye of the people who relate to them.

On the other hand, they often keep their arms crossed in front of the chest or join hands below the navel . They tend to keep a prudent distance to people who do not know much and are anxious to be touched by them, although this does not happen in some cultures.

2. Open personality

This personality style is characterized by an openness to experience and the search for new stimuli. As regards the non-verbal language associated with this class of people, it is characterized by expansive expressiveness, which means that separate the arms and legs from the vertical axis of the trunk very easily and that, in general, your posture denotes the relaxation of your muscles. For example, when sitting, they can stretch and separate their legs a lot, unless they are in a very formal context.

Another characteristic of these people is that they show no qualms when it comes to looking in the eyes of other people, although they only do so to capture more data about them, not to communicate about themselves.

3. Dominant personality

Dominant people express their power through their gestures and postures. Frequently they perform fast and powerful movements , with the muscles tense, although it is not something that they do constantly, since in that case these actions would lose their impact. They also tend to get close to other people, and use their eyes in a calculated way to show determination and intimidate: they look into the eyes of intense and prolonged so that it must be the other person who sets it apart.

4. Friendly personality

The kind personality is typical of individuals who try to constantly express that their intentions are good and that it is not necessary to maintain high defenses. They tend to do this by expressing subordination , which can be real or apparent, such as tipping the trunk slightly to where the other person is and making slow and smooth gestures that go from the interlocutor to some point external to it, which denotes that they take the perspective of the other.

5. Neurotic personality

People with a neurotic personality style They express their emotions in a disorganized and almost "unfiltered" way . This means that they can mix several gestural and proxemic styles over a few hours, and also in a very marked and not very subtle way.

6. Emotionally stable personality

These people keep a body language that tends towards neutrality , which means that the style they use to express how they feel is as stable as their state of mind.

  • Related article: "The 8 personality types according to Carl Gustav Jung"

16 Personality Types - Body Language-Examples (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
C'est le langage corporel de chaque type de personnalité

C'est le langage corporel de chaque type de personnalité

Février 24, 2021

La communication est essentielle pour l'être humain, car elle est nécessaire pour vivre en société et pouvoir comprendre et nous faire comprendre. Heureusement, nous avons un outil très utile pour cela: le langage. Mais il n'y a pas de langage unique, mais dans nos interactions avec les autres, nous pouvons appliquer différents types de langage.

Le langage du corps est l’un des outils de communication les plus puissants dont nous disposons. De plus, il y a un lien entre notre personnalité et le style du langage corporel ce que nous utilisons

Cependant, pour comprendre cela, nous devons d’abord garder à l’esprit que le langage est capable de prendre de nombreuses formes et que notre façon d’être ne se reflète pas seulement dans ce que nous disons littéralement à travers des mots.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et névrotisme"

Beaucoup plus que des mots

Bien que, généralement, lorsque nous parlons de langage, nous pensons à la parole et à la communication verbale, nous comprenons par langage tout ce système utilisé par un ou plusieurs individus pour transmettre des informations par le biais d'une série d'éléments symboliques ou de signes dont la signification est partagée par les deux. interlocuteurs, ce qui peut être dit émission d'information volontaire ou involontaire.

Cette communication est établie avec un objectif spécifique, l'acte peut avoir différentes fonctions telles qu'informer, persuader, organiser son propre comportement ou être socialement lié.


Les types de langage corporel

La langue peut également être classée en fonction du type d’éléments utilisé dans l’échange de communication.

En ce qui concerne le langage corporel, il peut être classé de cette façon:

Gestuel ou kinésico

Le kinesthésique fait référence à l'utilisation de gestes et de mouvements afin de transmettre des informations , étant particulièrement utile pour exprimer l'émotivité de l'individu émetteur.

Proxémique

Il s'agit de ce que notre position générale communique et la séparation entre les différentes composantes de la situation de communication . En d'autres termes, il s'agit de la signification des distances.

La séparation ou la proximité entre les personnes indique différents degrés de confiance et / ou de pouvoir existant entre les individus, ainsi que la relation entre ce que nous disons et ce que nous entendons avec elle (nous nous rapprochons lorsque nous voulons impliquer l’autre dans ce que nous disons. par exemple). Ils distinguent les distances intimes, personnelles, sociales ou publiques.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 12 types de langage (et leurs caractéristiques)"

La relation entre la personnalité et le langage corporel

Comme nous l'avons vu, le langage corporel comprend les gestes que nous faisons et la façon dont nous nous approchons ou nous éloignons de certains éléments ou des personnes.

Compte tenu de cela, nous pouvons parler du style de langage gestuel associé aux principaux types de personnalité:

1. personnalité timide

Dans les situations sociales, les personnes timides sont plus susceptibles de garder leurs bras et leurs jambes proches de l'axe vertical de leur thorax. À son tour, montrer une tendance à regarder peu dans les yeux des personnes qui les concernent.

Par contre, ils gardent souvent les bras croisés devant la poitrine ou joindre les mains sous le nombril . Ils ont tendance à garder une distance prudente avec des personnes qui ne savent pas grand-chose et qui ont hâte d’être touchées par elles, bien que cela ne se produise pas dans certaines cultures.

2. Personnalité ouverte

Ce style de personnalité se caractérise par une ouverture à l'expérience et la recherche de nouveaux stimuli. Quant au langage non verbal associé à cette classe de personnes, il se caractérise par une expressivité expansive, ce qui signifie que séparer les bras et les jambes de l'axe vertical du tronc très facilement et que, en général, votre posture dénote la relaxation de vos muscles. Par exemple, lorsqu'ils sont assis, ils peuvent s'étirer et se séparer beaucoup, à moins de se trouver dans un contexte très formel.

Une autre caractéristique de ces personnes est qu’elles ne montrent aucun scrupule à regarder dans les yeux d’autres personnes, bien qu’elles ne le fassent que pour collecter plus de données à leur sujet, pas pour communiquer sur elles-mêmes.

3. Personnalité dominante

Les personnes dominantes expriment leur pouvoir à travers leurs gestes et leurs postures. Souvent ils effectuent des mouvements rapides et puissants , avec les muscles tendus, bien que ce ne soit pas quelque chose qu'ils font constamment, car dans ce cas, ces actions perdraient leur impact. Ils ont également tendance à se rapprocher des autres et à utiliser leurs yeux de manière calculée pour montrer leur détermination et à les intimider: ils regardent dans les yeux d'intenses et prolongés, de sorte que ce doit être l'autre personne qui le distingue.

4. personnalité amicale

La gentille personnalité est typique des personnes qui essaient d'exprimer constamment que leurs intentions sont bonnes et qu'il n'est pas nécessaire de maintenir des défenses élevées. Ils ont tendance à le faire en exprimant leur subordination , ce qui peut être réel ou apparent, comme basculer légèrement le tronc à l'endroit où se trouve l'autre personne et faire des gestes lents et fluides qui vont de l'interlocuteur à un point externe à celui-ci, indiquant qu'ils prennent la perspective de l'autre.

5. personnalité névrotique

Personnes ayant un style de personnalité névrotique Ils expriment leurs émotions de manière désorganisée et presque "non filtrée" . Cela signifie qu'ils peuvent mélanger plusieurs styles gestuels et proxémiques en quelques heures, mais aussi de manière très marquée et pas très subtile.

6. Personnalité émotionnellement stable

Ces gens gardent un langage corporel qui tend vers la neutralité , ce qui signifie que le style utilisé pour exprimer ce qu’ils ressentent est aussi stable que leur état d’esprit.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de personnalité selon Carl Gustav Jung"

Le Langage Corporel Qui Dira Toute la Vérité Sur ta Relation (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes