yes, therapy helps!
Types of Bipolar Disorder and its characteristics

Types of Bipolar Disorder and its characteristics

May 9, 2021

Bipolar disorder is a serious and complex disorder that presents a wide variety of symptoms. There are different types of this disorder and its symptoms can also be presented along with other psychopathologies like schizophrenia.

In today's article we are going to review the different types of bipolar disorder and their characteristics, since the diagnosis of this mental illness can be complicated for mental health professionals.

A disorder that has been unduly diagnosed

Some experts have long been warning that bipolar disorder is being overdiagnosed. Therefore, the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Brown, in the state of Rhode Island, decided to study this phenomenon, that of the overdiagnosis . His conclusions were clear: About 50% of cases diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder could be wrong .


The investigation was carried out with the analysis of the data provided by interviews with 800 psychiatric patients using a comprehensive diagnostic test. Structured Clinical Interview for DSM Disorders. But what are the causes of this overdiagnosis? Researchers think that there is a greater propensity for specialists to diagnose bipolar disorder versus other more stigmatizing disorders and for which there is no clear treatment.

On the other hand, there is another hypothesis that states that the fault lies in the aggressive advertising by pharmaceutical companies, since they have a great interest in the commercialization of the drugs used in the treatment of this pathology. Something that also happens with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).


Well, to know more about this study in our article: "Researchers point to an excessive diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder"

Symptoms of Bipolar Disorder

The primary symptoms of bipolar disorder are unpredictable changes in mood , and the most characteristic are the symptoms of the state of mania and the depressive state.

Symptoms of the mania phase

Symptoms of mania include Excessive excitement, perception of greatness, irritability, lack of sleep, noticeable increase in energy, high sexual drive and verbiage . During the mania phase individuals can abuse drugs, carry out risky behaviors and make harmful and negative decisions for them, such as quitting work.

Symptoms of the depressive phase

Symptoms of the depressive phase include sadness, anxiety, irritability, loss of energy, uncontrollable crying, changes in appetite that lead to weight loss or gain, excessive need to sleep, difficulty making decisions and suicidal thoughts.


In addition, manic and depressive symptoms may appear together. When this happens it receives the name of "mixed episode".

Types of Bipolar Disorder

There are different types of bipolar disorder characterized by different degrees of depressive or manic symptoms. The five types of bipolar disorder are: cyclothymia, bipolar disorder type I, bipolar disorder type II, bipolar disorder not specified and bipolar disorder rapid cycling.

Cyclothimia

The cyclothymia it is a variant of bipolar disorder but its symptoms are less severe , that is, that people suffering from this disorder have mild phases of depression and hypomania. Individuals are diagnosed after persisting symptoms for at least two years.

Learn more about cyclothymia in our post: "Cyclothymia: the mild version of Bipolar Disorder"

Type I Bipolar Disorder

A person affected by the Type I bipolar disorder has had at least one episode of mania during his life , because this type of bipolar disorder is characterized by the presence of episodes of mania or, in some cases, mixed, and not necessarily the subject has suffered a depressive phase. Now, approximately 90% of the cases the patient attends both phases (mania and depression).

Type II Bipolar Disorder

The bipolar disorder type II it is diagnosed when the subject has suffered one or more episodes of major depression and at least one episode of hypomania . Occasionally, bipolar disorder type II can be confused with major depression, so it is essential to make a correct diagnosis for a better recovery of the patient.

Bipolar disorder not specified

It may be that bipolar disorder can not be classified within the three previous ones (cyclothymia, type I and type II) for different reasons. For example, when episodes of hypomania are recurrent.There are situations in which the psychologist or psychiatrist has come to the conclusion that there is a bipolar disorder, but is unable to determine whether it is primary, due to a medical illness or because it was induced by a substance.

The most frequent subtypes of bipolar disorder are the following:

  • Very rapid alternation (in days) between manic symptoms and depressive symptoms that do not meet the criterion of minimum duration for a manic episode or major depressive episode.
  • Recurrent hypomanic episodes without intercurrent depressive symptoms.
  • A manic or mixed episode superimposed on a delusional disorder , a residual schizophrenia or a psychotic disorder not specified.

Rapid Cycle Bipolar Disorder

Individuals with rapid cycle bipolar disorder experience four or more episodes of mania or depression in the one year period. About 10% to 20% of patients with this disorder suffer the "fast cycling" type .

Erroneous beliefs about Bipolar Disorder

Although bipolar disorder is well known to the population, at least as far as the name is concerned, There is a great disinformation about this psychopathology . Many people think that this disorder is characterized by sudden mood swings in the same day or by emotional ups and downs.

In fact, bipolar disorder is a serious disorder that, like schizophrenia or paranoid disorder, requires the administration of drugs and vigilance in the life habits of patients to prevent relapse. Therefore, if you want to know more about bipolar disorder and be well informed, we invite you to read our article:

"Bipolar disorder: 10 characteristics and curiosities you did not know"

Types of Bipolar Disorders (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de trouble bipolaire et ses caractéristiques

Types de trouble bipolaire et ses caractéristiques

Février 18, 2019

Le trouble bipolaire est un trouble grave et complexe qui présente une grande variété de symptômes. Il existe différents types de ce trouble et ses symptômes peuvent également être présentés avec d'autres psychopathologies comme la schizophrénie.

Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous allons passer en revue les différents types de trouble bipolaire et leurs caractéristiques, car le diagnostic de cette maladie mentale peut être compliqué pour les professionnels de la santé mentale.

Un trouble indûment diagnostiqué

Certains experts avertissent depuis longtemps que le trouble bipolaire est sur-diagnostiqué. Par conséquent, la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Brown, dans l’État de Rhode Island, a décidé d’étudier ce phénomène, celui de la surdiagnostic . Ses conclusions étaient claires: Environ 50% des cas diagnostiqués avec un trouble bipolaire pourraient être faux .


L'enquête a été réalisée avec l'analyse des données fournies lors d'entretiens avec 800 patients psychiatriques au moyen d'un test de diagnostic complet. Entretien clinique structuré pour les troubles du DSM. Mais quelles sont les causes de ce surdiagnostic? Les chercheurs pensent que les spécialistes sont plus enclins à diagnostiquer le trouble bipolaire que d’autres troubles plus stigmatisants et pour lesquels il n’existe pas de traitement clair.

D’autre part, une autre hypothèse veut que ce soit la publicité agressive des sociétés pharmaceutiques qui soit à l’origine du problème, car elles ont un grand intérêt pour la commercialisation des médicaments utilisés dans le traitement de cette pathologie. Quelque chose qui arrive aussi avec le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH).


Eh bien, pour en savoir plus sur cette étude dans notre article: "Les chercheurs soulignent un diagnostic excessif de trouble bipolaire"

Symptômes du désordre bipolaire

Les principaux symptômes du trouble bipolaire sont des changements imprévisibles de l'humeur et les plus caractéristiques sont les symptômes de l’état de manie et de l’état dépressif.

Symptômes de la phase maniaque

Les symptômes de la manie incluent Excitation excessive, perception de la grandeur, irritabilité, manque de sommeil, augmentation notable de l'énergie, pulsion sexuelle élevée et verbiage . Au cours de la phase maniaque, les individus peuvent consommer de la drogue, adopter des comportements à risque et prendre des décisions néfastes et négatives à leur égard, telles qu’arrêter de travailler.

Symptômes de la phase dépressive

Les symptômes de la phase dépressive comprennent tristesse, anxiété, irritabilité, perte d'énergie, pleurs incontrôlables, modifications de l'appétit entraînant une perte ou un gain de poids, un besoin excessif de sommeil, des difficultés à prendre des décisions et des pensées suicidaires


De plus, les symptômes maniaques et dépressifs peuvent apparaître ensemble. Lorsque cela se produit, il reçoit le nom "d'épisode mixte".

Types de trouble bipolaire

Il existe différents types de troubles bipolaires caractérisé par différents degrés de symptômes dépressifs ou maniaques. Les cinq types de trouble bipolaire sont: la cyclothymie, le trouble bipolaire de type I, le trouble bipolaire de type II, le trouble bipolaire non spécifié et le trouble bipolaire à cycle rapide.

Cyclothimia

Le cyclothymie c'est une variante du trouble bipolaire mais ses symptômes sont moins graves c’est-à-dire que les personnes souffrant de ce trouble ont de légères phases de dépression et d’hypomanie. Les individus sont diagnostiqués après des symptômes persistants pendant au moins deux ans.

En savoir plus sur la cyclothymie dans notre post: "Cyclothymie: la version bénigne du trouble bipolaire"

Trouble bipolaire de type I

Une personne touchée par le Trouble bipolaire de type I a eu au moins un épisode de manie au cours de sa vie , parce que ce type de trouble bipolaire est caractérisé par la présence d’épisodes de manie ou, dans certains cas, mixtes et que le sujet n’a pas nécessairement subi une phase dépressive. Maintenant, dans environ 90% des cas, le patient assiste aux deux phases (manie et dépression).

Trouble bipolaire de type II

Le trouble bipolaire de type II il est diagnostiqué lorsque le sujet a subi un ou plusieurs épisodes de dépression majeure et au moins un épisode d'hypomanie . Parfois, le trouble bipolaire de type II peut être confondu avec une dépression majeure. Il est donc essentiel de poser un diagnostic correct pour une meilleure récupération du patient.

Trouble bipolaire non spécifié

Il se peut que le trouble bipolaire ne puisse pas être classé dans les trois précédents (cyclothymie, type I et type II) pour différentes raisons. Par exemple, lorsque les épisodes d'hypomanie sont récurrents.Il existe des situations dans lesquelles le psychologue ou le psychiatre est parvenu à la conclusion qu'il existe un trouble bipolaire, mais est incapable de déterminer s'il s'agit d'un trouble primaire, dû à une maladie ou au fait qu'il a été provoqué par une substance.

Les sous-types les plus fréquents de trouble bipolaire sont les suivants:

  • Alternance très rapide (en jours) entre symptômes maniaques et symptômes dépressifs qui ne répondent pas au critère de durée minimale pour un épisode maniaque ou un épisode dépressif majeur.
  • Épisodes hypomaniaques récurrents sans symptômes dépressifs intercurrents.
  • Episode maniaque ou mixte se superposant à un trouble délirant , une schizophrénie résiduelle ou un trouble psychotique non spécifié.

Trouble bipolaire à cycle rapide

Les personnes atteintes d'un trouble bipolaire à cycle rapide présentent au moins quatre épisodes de manie ou de dépression au cours d'une année. Environ 10% à 20% des patients atteints de ce trouble souffrent du type "cycle rapide" .

Croyances erronées sur le trouble bipolaire

Bien que le trouble bipolaire soit bien connu de la population, du moins en ce qui concerne son nom, Il y a une grande désinformation à propos de cette psychopathologie . Beaucoup de gens pensent que ce trouble est caractérisé par des sautes d'humeur soudaines dans la même journée ou par des hauts et des bas émotionnels.

En fait, le trouble bipolaire est un trouble grave qui, comme la schizophrénie ou le trouble paranoïde, nécessite l'administration de médicaments et une vigilance accrue dans les habitudes de vie des patients pour prévenir les rechutes. Par conséquent, si vous voulez en savoir plus sur le trouble bipolaire et être bien informé, nous vous invitons à lire notre article:

"Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas"

Bipolarité: 10 symptômes des troubles bipolaires à ne jamais ignorer (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes