yes, therapy helps!
What is a General Health Psychologist and how to become one?

What is a General Health Psychologist and how to become one?

January 30, 2023

While there are many other equally interesting and essential areas, the typical image of a psychologist that most people have is that of a professional who deals with problems of adaptation and mental health .

And it is that the scope of the clinic and health is one of the most desired by a large part of the students of Psychology. But working in this sector may not be easy, since there is little supply for so much demand. One of the ways to work as a professional in psychology dedicated to health is to obtain title of General Health Psychologist or PGS .

  • Related article: "The 20 best Masters in Psychology"

A brief preamble: Clinical Psychology

Before delving into what a general health psychologist is, it is necessary as a preamble to refer to what clinical psychology is and how it can be accessed the necessary degree to practice the profession of clinical psychologist or health .


Clinical psychology is the branch of psychology responsible for research, diagnosis, therapeutic approach, treatment and monitoring of mental disorders and other complex maladaptive psychological processes or that suppose psychological distress and an interference in the vital functioning of the subject.

Within this branch we can find a great variety of actions in which your practice can be focused, such as the treatment of adults or children, neuropsychology and neuropsychological rehabilitation, intervention in the family nucleus or psychological treatment or counseling of the difficulties derived from the presence of serious diseases such as, for example, cancer or HIV.


  • Related article: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

The two access roads

At present, to be a psychologist of the clinical branch and of health in Spain there are only two ways : or be trained as a Clinical Psychology Specialist or as a General Health Psychologist.

The first of the access roads involves the passage through the PIR training system (Internal Resident Psychologist), a training period of four years in which the student works in hospitals and rotates through the different psychological services. This path leads to the completion of the formation of the title of Specialist in Clinical Psychology, which allows work in the public network.

The other access route is the completion of the Master's Degree in General Health Psychology, which takes place in a period of between one and a half to two years and in which knowledge of the different disorders, techniques used and skills that a person must have is acquired. professional health psychology. In this case the student obtains the degree of General Health Psychologist , which enables him to work in the clinical and health branches, but without having access to the public network but only in the private one. In addition, for a topic of nominalism, although people with this title are dedicated to the branch of clinical psychology and health, legally can not use the term "clinical psychologist", which is reserved for those who go through the PIR .


Both routes have their advantages and disadvantages and enable the professionals of psychology to practice as clinicians. In this article we are going to focus on the figure of the General Health Psychologist.

  • Related article: "The 10 best academies to prepare the PIR"

General Health Psychologist: what is it?

It is understood as general health psychologist to that professional of psychology whose main professional competences are to carry out investigations, evaluations and psychological interventions referred to those elements of the behavior, functioning and activity of the people that have relation with the improvement and promotion of their health status .

Thus, the General Health Psychologist has competence to investigate, diagnose and treat phenomena such as psychological disorders.

This can lead us to think about what differences there may be between PIR and PGS : broadly speaking, the only perceptible differences with respect to the other degree, that of Specialist in Clinical Psychology, is the scope of action and the name of the category that gives name to the profession, the PIR being able to access the public network in addition to the private, in addition to using the term "clinical psychologist, and the PGS circumscribing the private one (although there may be changes in the future).

How do you get to be it?

Practice as a General Health Psychologist involves the completion of a series of steps that allow in the first place to obtain the qualification and later to exercise as such.

1. Take a university course with a clinical itinerary

First It is an essential requirement to study the Degree in Psychology , university degree that allows the student to acquire the title of psychologist. This title allows access to different branches and jobs, although it does not directly allow the exercise as a clinical psychologist.

It is advisable to try make an itinerary focused on the clinical aspect , since in many universities a minimum of credits linked to clinical psychology is required to be able to access certain master's degrees, such as the one needed to be a General Health Psychologist.

2. Take the master

Second, it is necessary to specialize in the branch of Clinical Psychology through the completion of the Master's Degree in General Health Psychology. It is a master enabler thanks to which obtain the title of General Health Psychologist, which allows the professional to work in the health sector.

3. Become a collegiate

Third, although it can be done from the moment of finishing the Degree in Psychology or even a little earlier, to exercise It is mandatory to register in the Official College of Psychologists . Apart from being essential to be able to exercise legally, this registration allows us to access job boards, to be registered as professionals. Also from there it is possible to hire civil liability insurance, which is also necessary for professional practice.

If we are autonomous and we put our own consultation, we will also need to be registered as such in addition to having sanitary authorization.

Bibliographic references:

  • Head of State (2011). Law 33/2011, of October 4, General of Public Health. BOE, 240

Intro to Psychology - Crash Course Psychology #1 (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce qu'un psychologue généraliste en santé et comment le devenir?

Qu'est-ce qu'un psychologue généraliste en santé et comment le devenir?

Novembre 13, 2022

Bien qu'il existe de nombreux autres domaines tout aussi intéressants et essentiels, la plupart des gens ont généralement l'image d'un psychologue: un professionnel qui traite des problèmes d'adaptation et de santé mentale .

Et c'est que la portée de la clinique et de la santé est l'un des plus souhaités par une grande partie des étudiants en psychologie. Mais travailler dans ce secteur peut ne pas être facile, car il y a peu de ressources pour une telle demande. L’un des moyens de travailler en tant que professionnel en psychologie dédié à la santé est d’obtenir titre de psychologue général de la santé ou PGS .

  • Article connexe: "Les 20 meilleurs Masters en psychologie"

Un préambule bref: psychologie clinique

Avant d'aborder ce qu'est un psychologue de la santé en général, il est nécessaire, en préambule, de se référer à ce qu'est la psychologie clinique et à la manière dont on peut y accéder. le degré nécessaire pour exercer la profession de psychologue clinicien ou de la santé .


La psychologie clinique est la branche de la psychologie responsable de la recherche, du diagnostic, de l’approche thérapeutique, du traitement et de la surveillance des troubles mentaux et d’autres processus psychologiques mésadaptés complexes ou supposant une détresse psychologique et une interférence dans le fonctionnement vital du sujet.

Dans cette branche, vous pouvez trouver une grande variété d’actions dans lesquelles votre pratique peut être focalisée, telles que le traitement des adultes ou des enfants, la neuropsychologie et la rééducation neuropsychologique, l’intervention dans le noyau familial, le traitement psychologique ou le conseil du patient. des difficultés dues à la présence de maladies graves telles que le cancer ou le VIH.


  • Article connexe: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

Les deux voies d'accès

Actuellement, être un psychologue de la branche clinique et de la santé en Espagne il n'y a que deux façons : ou être formé en tant que spécialiste en psychologie clinique ou en tant que psychologue général de la santé.

La première des routes d'accès implique le passage à travers le système de formation PIR (Psychologue résident interne), une période de formation de quatre ans au cours de laquelle l'étudiant travaille dans des hôpitaux et effectue une rotation dans les différents services psychologiques. Cette voie mène à l'achèvement de la formation du titre de spécialiste en psychologie clinique, ce qui permet de travailler dans le réseau public.

L'autre voie d'accès est l'achèvement de la maîtrise en psychologie générale de la santé, qui se déroule sur une période allant d'un an et demi à deux ans et dans laquelle la connaissance des différents troubles, techniques utilisées et compétences qu'une personne doit avoir est acquise. psychologie de la santé professionnelle. Dans ce cas l'étudiant obtient le diplôme de psychologue généraliste en santé , ce qui lui permet de travailler dans les branches clinique et santé, mais sans avoir accès au réseau public mais uniquement au réseau privé. En outre, pour un sujet de nominalisme, bien que les personnes portant ce titre se consacrent à la branche de la psychologie clinique et de la santé, ne peuvent légalement pas utiliser le terme "psychologue clinicien", qui est réservé à ceux qui passent par le PIR .


Les deux voies ont leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients et permettent aux professionnels de la psychologie de pratiquer en tant que cliniciens. Dans cet article, nous allons nous concentrer sur la figure du psychologue généraliste.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 meilleures académies pour préparer le PIR"

Psychologue généraliste en santé: de quoi s'agit-il?

Il est entendu en tant que psychologue général de la santé pour ce professionnel de la psychologie dont les compétences professionnelles principales consistent à mener des enquêtes, des évaluations et des interventions psychologiques se rapportant aux éléments du comportement, du fonctionnement et de l’activité des personnes en relation avec: l'amélioration et la promotion de leur état de santé .

Ainsi, le psychologue général de la santé a compétence pour enquêter, diagnostiquer et traiter des phénomènes tels que les troubles psychologiques.

Cela peut nous amener à penser à quelles différences il peut y avoir entre PIR et PGS : de manière générale, les seules différences perceptibles par rapport à l’autre degré, celui de spécialiste en psychologie clinique, sont le champ d’action et le nom de la catégorie qui donne le nom à la profession, le PIR pouvant accéder au réseau public en plus de le privé, en plus d'utiliser le terme "psychologue clinicien, et le PGS circonscrivant le privé (bien qu'il puisse y avoir des changements dans le futur).

Comment en êtes-vous arrivé?

Pratique en tant que psychologue généraliste en santé implique l'achèvement d'une série d'étapes qui permettent en premier lieu d'obtenir la qualification et ensuite d'exercer en tant que tel.

1. Suivre un cours universitaire avec un itinéraire clinique

En premier lieu C'est une condition essentielle pour étudier le degré en psychologie , diplôme universitaire qui permet à l’étudiant d’acquérir le titre de psychologue. Ce titre permet d'accéder à différentes branches et emplois, même s'il ne permet pas directement l'exercice en tant que psychologue clinicien.

Il est conseillé d'essayer faire un itinéraire axé sur l'aspect clinique , étant donné que dans de nombreuses universités, un minimum de crédits liés à la psychologie clinique est requis pour pouvoir accéder à certains diplômes de maîtrise, tels que celui requis pour être un psychologue généraliste.

2. Prenez le maître

Deuxièmement, il est nécessaire de se spécialiser dans le domaine de la psychologie clinique à travers l’achèvement de la maîtrise en psychologie générale de la santé. C'est un maître facilitateur grâce à quoi obtenir le titre de psychologue généraliste en santé, ce qui permet au professionnel de travailler dans le secteur de la santé.

3. Devenir une collégiale

Troisièmement, bien que cela puisse être fait dès le moment de terminer le diplôme en psychologie ou même un peu plus tôt, pour exercer Il est obligatoire de s'inscrire au Collège officiel des psychologues. . En plus d’être indispensable pour pouvoir exercer légalement, cette inscription nous permet d’avoir accès à des offres d’emploi, de nous inscrire en tant que professionnels. Également à partir de là, il est possible de souscrire une assurance de responsabilité civile, qui est également nécessaire pour la pratique professionnelle.

Si nous sommes autonomes et que nous menons notre propre consultation, nous devrons également être enregistrés en tant que tels, en plus d'avoir une autorisation sanitaire.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chef d'État (2011). Loi 33/2011 du 4 octobre, générale de la santé publique. BOE, 240

Mon métier c'est: Psychologue (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes