yes, therapy helps!
What is

What is "the Self" in Psychology?

April 28, 2024

In psychology concepts like "I", "Ego" or "Self" are often used to designate the self-referential dimension of human experience . The perception of continuity and coherence, and therefore the development of the sense of identity, depends on our conceiving a part of ourselves as the subject that leads our lives.

Since the end of the 19th century William James (1842-1910) distinguished between the "I" as an observer and the "Me" as the object of experience, a large number of theories that try to define what is the I . Next we will describe the most relevant ones through a brief historical tour.

  • Maybe you are interested: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

The ego in psychoanalysis

In the theory of Sigmund Freud (1856-1939) the I is understood as the conscious part of the mind , which must satisfy the instinctive and unconscious impulses of the It taking into account the demands of the external world and of one's own consciousness - the superego, constituted by internalized social norms.


The self or identity would therefore be an intermediate instance between the biology of an individual and the world around him. According to Freud, his functions include perception, information management, reasoning and control of defense mechanisms.

His disciple Carl Gustav Jung (1875-1961) defined the I as the nucleus of consciousness ; every psychic phenomenon or vital experience that is detected by the Self becomes conscious. Thus, the sense of the I is understood as a complex structure with a double component: somatic and psychic.

In addition to Jung the I, center of the identity, is immersed in the Self ("Self"), which constitutes the core of the personality in general; The Self includes the unconscious, as well as the conscious part of the experience. However, we are unable to experience the Self completely because we are anchored to the Self and consciousness.


  • Related article: "The id, the self and the superego, according to Sigmund Freud"

The social roles of the self

In the social sciences of the first half of the twentieth century symbolic interactionism enjoyed a remarkable popularity, a theoretical current that stated that people interpret the world and its elements from the meanings given to them socially. The Self is built from face-to-face interaction and of the social structure.

If we speak of the I and the identity, within the symbolic interactionism it is worth highlighting the dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman (1922-1982). This author believed that people, as if we were actors, try to appear consistent with others by adopting roles. For Goffman the Yo it is nothing more than the set of roles that we represent .

Later the social psychologist Mark Snyder (1947-) developed his theory of self-observation or self-monitoring. This model affirms that people high in self-observation adapt their roles, and therefore their identity, to the situation in which they find themselves; on the contrary, those who self-monitor little show more the "I" with which they identify themselves.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The dramaturgical model of Erving Goffman"

Multiplicity and complexity of identity

Among recent developments in the conception of the self from social psychology, two particular theories stand out: Patricia Linville's model of self-complexity and the theory of self-disagreement by E. Tory Higgins. The central aspect of both models is that the Self is understood as the mental representations that we make of ourselves .

The model of self-complexity proposes that identity depends on our social roles, interpersonal relationships, nuclear personality traits and the activities we perform, such as professional career. The concept of "autocomplexity" refers to the number of representations that make up the ego, as well as its degree of differentiation.

According to Linville, people with high self-complexity are more resistant to negative life events , since even if a part of their identity is questioned or weakened by the experiences there will always be other parts of the Self that they can use as a psychological anchor.

The Higgins Self-Discrepancy Theory

In his theory of self-disagreement, Higgins also states that the Self is not a unitary concept, although it defines the different components of identity based on two parameters: the domains of the Self and the views of the Self . In this last criterion we find the perspective of the person about herself, as well as the one she believes that significant persons have.

In the domains of the self, which can be associated with one's own perspective or that of others, we find the real I (how I am), the ideal I (how I would like to be), the I that should be, the potential I (how could I reach be) and the future I, which is the identity we hope to be.

Higgins believes that the real I, both from the point of view of oneself and from which we suppose that significant persons have, is the basis of our self-concept. On the other hand, the rest of aspects are the guides of the self, which they serve as model and reference for us to act and to evaluate our behavior.

Post-rationalist cognitive theories

Vittorio Guidano (1944-1999) is considered the main pioneer of post-rationalist psychology. This theoretical orientation arises as a reaction to the predominance of positivist and rationalist philosophies, which affirm that there is an objective reality that can be perceived and understood in an accurate way through the senses and logic.

From the cognitive-constructivist psychological theories, the fundamental relevance of language is defended in the way in which we interpret the world that surrounds us and we share these perspectives. Through language we organize our experiences in the form of narrations , from which emerge the memory and identity.

Thus, the I is not conceived as a defined entity, but as the constant process of construction of a coherent autobiographical narrative that allows us to give meaning to our experiences. From the post-nationalist perspective, the problem of identity becomes a linguistic-narrative issue.

Guidano also distinguished between the Self and Me. While defined the Self as the body-emotional dimension of experience, predominantly unconscious, for this author the Self is the part of the Self that observes and generates meanings through language. The union of the I and the Me results from the creation of coherent narratives that claim to be explanatory.


Measuring Personality: Crash Course Psychology #22 (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que

Qu'est-ce que "le Soi" en psychologie?

Mai 20, 2022

En psychologie, des concepts tels que "je", "ego" ou "soi" sont souvent utilisés pour désigner le dimension auto-référentielle de l'expérience humaine . La perception de la continuité et de la cohérence, et donc du développement du sens de l'identité, dépend de notre conception d'une partie de nous-mêmes en tant que sujet de notre vie.

Depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, William James (1842-1910) distinguait le "moi" en tant qu'observateur et le "moi" en tant qu'objet d'expérience, un grand nombre de théories qui essaient de définir quel est le je . Ensuite, nous décrirons les plus pertinents à travers une brève visite historique.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Le moi en psychanalyse

Dans la théorie de Sigmund Freud (1856-1939) le je est compris comme la partie consciente de l'esprit , qui doit satisfaire les impulsions instinctives et inconscientes de l'informatique en tenant compte des exigences du monde extérieur et de sa propre conscience - le surmoi, constitué de normes sociales intériorisées.


Le moi ou l'identité serait donc un exemple intermédiaire entre la biologie d'un individu et le monde qui l'entoure. Selon Freud, ses fonctions incluent la perception, la gestion de l'information, le raisonnement et le contrôle des mécanismes de défense.

Son disciple Carl Gustav Jung (1875-1961) définit le moi en tant que noyau de la conscience ; chaque phénomène psychique ou expérience vitale détecté par le Soi devient conscient. Ainsi, le sens du je est compris comme une structure complexe à double composante: somatique et psychique.

En plus de Jung, le I, centre de l'identité, est immergé dans le Soi ("Soi"), qui constitue le noyau de la personnalité en général; Le Soi comprend l'inconscient, ainsi que la partie consciente de l'expérience. Cependant, nous sommes incapables de faire l'expérience du Soi complètement parce que nous sommes ancrés au Soi et à la conscience.


  • Article connexe: "Le ça, le moi et le surmoi, selon Sigmund Freud"

Les rôles sociaux du soi

Dans les sciences sociales de la première moitié du vingtième siècle, l'interactionnisme symbolique jouissait d'une popularité remarquable, un courant théorique affirmant que les gens interprètent le monde et ses éléments à partir des significations qui leur sont données par la société. Le Soi est construit à partir d'une interaction face à face et de la structure sociale.

Si nous parlons de moi et d’identité, il convient de souligner le modèle dramaturgique d’Erving Goffman (1922-1982) au sein de l’interactionnisme symbolique. Cet auteur croyait que les gens, comme si nous étions des acteurs, essayaient de paraître cohérents avec les autres en adoptant des rôles. Pour Goffman le Yo ce n'est rien de plus que l'ensemble des rôles que nous représentons .

Plus tard, le psychologue social Mark Snyder (1947-) développa sa théorie de l'observation de soi ou de l'autosurveillance. Ce modèle affirme que les personnes élevées en auto-observation adaptent leurs rôles, et donc leur identité, à la situation dans laquelle elles se trouvent; au contraire, ceux qui s'auto-surveillent peu montrent plus le "je" avec lequel ils s'identifient.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le modèle dramaturgique d'Erving Goffman"

Multiplicité et complexité de l'identité

Parmi les récents développements de la psychologie sociale sur la conception du soi, deux théories particulières se dégagent: le modèle de complexité de Patricia Linville et la théorie du désaccord sur soi de E. Tory Higgins. L’aspect central des deux modèles est que le Soi est compris comme le représentations mentales que nous faisons de nous-mêmes .

Le modèle de complexité de soi suggère que l'identité dépend de nos rôles sociaux, de nos relations interpersonnelles, des traits de notre personnalité nucléaire et des activités que nous réalisons, telles que la carrière professionnelle. Le concept d '"autocomplexité" fait référence au nombre de représentations constituant le moi, ainsi qu'à son degré de différenciation.

Selon Linville, les personnes très complexes sont plus résistants aux événements négatifs de la vie Même si une partie de leur identité est remise en question ou affaiblie par les expériences, il y aura toujours d’autres parties du Soi qu’ils pourront utiliser comme ancre psychologique.

La théorie de Higgins sur l'auto-discordance

Dans sa théorie du désaccord sur soi, Higgins affirme également que le Soi n'est pas un concept unitaire, bien qu'il définisse les différentes composantes de l'identité en fonction de deux paramètres: les domaines du moi et les vues du soi . Dans ce dernier critère, nous trouvons le point de vue de la personne sur elle-même, ainsi que celui qu'elle pense avoir avec les personnes significatives.

Dans les domaines du soi, que l’on peut associer à sa propre perspective ou à celle des autres, on trouve le vrai moi (comment je suis), le moi idéal (comment je voudrais être), le je qui devrait être, le potentiel be) et le futur I, qui est l'identité que nous espérons être.

Higgins pense que le vrai moi, à la fois du point de vue de soi et du point de vue des personnes significatives, est à la base de notre concept de soi. D'autre part, le reste des aspects sont les guides du moi, qui ils servent de modèle et de référence pour nous d'agir et d'évaluer notre comportement.

Théories cognitives post-rationalistes

Vittorio Guidano (1944-1999) est considéré comme le principal pionnier de la psychologie post-rationaliste. Cette orientation théorique découle d'une réaction à la prédominance des philosophies positivistes et rationalistes, qui affirment qu'il existe une réalité objective pouvant être perçue et comprise de manière précise à travers les sens et la logique.

A partir des théories psychologiques cognitivo-constructivistes, la pertinence fondamentale du langage est défendue dans la manière dont nous interprétons le monde qui nous entoure et partageons ces perspectives. À travers le langage, nous organisons nos expériences sous forme de narrations , d'où émergent la mémoire et l'identité.

Ainsi, le je n'est pas conçu comme une entité définie, mais comme le processus constant de construction d'un récit autobiographique cohérent qui nous permet de donner un sens à nos expériences. Dans la perspective postnationaliste, le problème de l’identité devient un problème narratif et linguistique.

Guidano a également distingué entre le moi et moi. Tandis que défini le Soi comme dimension corporelle-émotionnelle de l'expérience, principalement inconscient, pour cet auteur, le Soi est la partie du Soi qui observe et génère des significations à travers le langage. L'union du Moi et du Moi résulte de la création de récits cohérents qui prétendent être explicatifs.


Le modèle du « soi » (partie 1/2) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes