yes, therapy helps!
14 study habits that help you pass

14 study habits that help you pass

July 22, 2022

Summer is coming, and that means that we are entering the exam period again. That stage in which stress arises and in which uncertainty can undermine our morale.

And it is that the exam period can wear us down, especially if we have not planned the study well and if we have not worked hard enough during the year and intend to do all the work of 3 months in a weekend. In this situation, the workload can become too heavy, and it can become too great a challenge. The best thing is to plan well the learning and Take advantage of effective study habits .

  • Related article: "School failure: some causes and determining factors"

The best study habits

To avoid falling prey to anxiety and not learning anything, it is best to make good use of the study time available, which means follow good study habits that allow you to consolidate learning and avoid that you are the last day before the exam trying to memorize the whole agenda.


Luckily, the good thing about these study habits is based on their simplicity; They can be acquired and developed quickly. Below you can find a list with the best.

  • Maybe you're interested: "15 ideal English books to learn the language"

1. Get organized

Unfortunately, when you find an ideal place to study, sometimes you may not have at hand what you will use during the study.

The study area should have everything you need, so you will not waste time looking for the things that you lack. Thus, the first step to achieve success in exams is to be well organized. And it is that if from the beginning you have a chaos and do not know neither the tasks nor the practices that you have done during the course until there are three days left for the exam, then it will cost you to be up to date .


It is important that you have everything well organized and that you know what you are doing, because otherwise you may be looking for notes the same week of the exam. And that is not beneficial for you at all.

Sort your notes ; Although it seems that no, the time you spend on it will be more than compensated with the one that you will save yourself by not having to waste minutes looking for books or documents.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Procrastination or the syndrome of" I'll do it tomorrow ": what it is and how to prevent it"

2. Have a study area

Studying in the cafeteria may seem like an excellent idea, but if you want to retain the maximum amount of information and be fully concentrated, it is better to look for a place of study in which there are no distractions, in which you are 100% the study, without interruptions. The ideal environment for the study should be: orderly, silent, well lit, spacious and it must be comfortable .


3. Avoid distractions

Also, avoid having distractions nearby, since they can deconcentrate you. It is important that during the time of study you limit yourself to study, for example, computers can be very useful to search for information, but they can distract you if you have Facebook open.

On the other hand, you should also avoid studying in a group until you have started to make progress on your own. That will make that when you meet with other people, instead of distracting them talking, you will be aware that you have unresolved doubts and dedicate time to share knowledge related to the notes.

4. Plan the study

Good planning is a basic step for the study to be useful. To do this, you can use a document (or paper) to write the topics you will study, the days allocated to each topic and the approximate time you will need for each section.

Obviously, the planning can vary and there should always be a margin for change, but it is important that you visualize the study process and know what you are doing at all times. Do not forget that you must know when you will have the exam, since this will allow you to plan all the subjects and you will know what the priority is.

So that, Make yourself a study calendar that details what you are going to do each day . In this way you can control your progress and adapt to the time you have.

To anticipate problems, save yourself a few "points" in advance, each of which you will spend each time you spend a certain number of hours without having studied. This will prevent you from breaking your schedule and forgetting about it at the first change.

5. Be consistent and distribute learning over time

Planning is fine, but you need to be consistent and distribute the learning over time. This is key to avoid having to keep it all the last days and actually not learn anything or consolidate this learning, but only memorize.

You may study a lot the last few days before the exam helps you pass, but the information will not last long in memory . That is to say, this is a good option if what you want is to really learn.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

6. Take several tests

Test or mock exams not only prepares you to know what types of questions may appear in the exam, but can give you a very valuable feedback on whether or not you master the agenda you are studying. Research published in the Psychological Science in the Public Interest found that this is the most effective study technique.

7. Study without hunger

The physiological needs make our concentration decrease and, therefore, it is interesting to cover them to continue performing in the study. For example, if you need to go to the service, your ability to concentrate will decrease . Undoubtedly, a need that must be covered is food, since it is necessary to have high energy levels to be able to study effectively. This is one of the study habits that usually go unnoticed.

8. Take some supplement

There are supplements that can help you improve your ability to study. For example, Royal Jelly. Royal jelly, which is the food with which bees feed at birth and the queen bee throughout its life, has a great capacity for vitalizing both body and mind. Another supplement that can help you perform better during the study is the gingko biloba . That yes, dispenses with energy drinks, because they are not good for health.

9. Take breaks

Studying for hours can be exhausting, and after a time without breaks your brain can get tired, which is why the ideal is to take breaks as you study. It is advisable to take at least 10 minutes of rest for every 50 minutes of study. After the break, you will see how you are again available to continue learning .

10. Varies the tasks

Varying tasks can favor learning. For example, you can do 30 minutes of theoretical study and then another 20 minutes of practical tasks. Then use 10 minutes to check what you had previously memorized and take the 10 minute break to avoid mental fatigue.

11. Change the place of study

As I said, it's good to have a place to study, a place where you can be focused and without distractions; however, you can also change places at certain times to favor the retention of learning. For example, if you usually study in a room in your house, you can go to the library one day a week. This will positively influence the study, because it will act as a way to take a break and Do not fall into the monotony , that can demotivate you.

12. Disconnect the day before the exam

Although we believe that studying the day before the test for long hours is the best option, if you study in advance, scientific research says it is better to unplug the day before exam. That does not mean that you can not do a review to have everything fresh, but instead of studying all day, it is better to relax and not become saturated . For example, you can go to the movies the night before.

  • Related article: "6 easy relaxation techniques to combat stress"

13. The study begins in class

If you want to get the most out of the study, it's good that you go to class with the best attitude . This includes attending and taking quality notes, but also paying attention to the teacher. It is easier to retain some concepts in this way, and you can also ask your questions at that time. Otherwise, you may be asking all your colleagues what you do not understand just a few days before the exam, which may even confuse you.

14. Pass the notes

A good way to retain more information is to get home and pass notes. This will help you refresh what you have studied in class, and it will help you memorize much better what you have learned. It will also help you organize yourself better so you can study more efficiently.


The 9 BEST Scientific Study Tips (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
14 habitudes d'étude qui vous aident à réussir

14 habitudes d'étude qui vous aident à réussir

Juillet 23, 2022

L'été arrive et cela signifie que nous entrons à nouveau dans la période des examens. Cette étape dans laquelle le stress survient et dans laquelle l'incertitude peut miner notre moral.

Et c’est que la période d’examen peut nous fatiguer, surtout si nous n’avons pas bien planifié l’étude et si nous n’avons pas assez travaillé pendant l’année et avons l’intention de faire tout le travail de 3 mois le week-end. Dans cette situation, la charge de travail peut devenir trop lourde et devenir un défi de taille. La meilleure chose à faire est de bien planifier l’apprentissage et Profiter des habitudes d'étude efficaces .

  • Article connexe: "Echec scolaire: causes et facteurs déterminants"

Les meilleures habitudes d'étude

Pour éviter de devenir la proie de l’anxiété et de ne rien apprendre, il est préférable de faire bon usage du temps d’étude disponible, ce qui signifie suivre de bonnes habitudes d'étude vous permettant de consolider vos connaissances et évitez que vous soyez le dernier jour avant l’examen pour essayer de mémoriser tout l’ordre du jour.


Heureusement, l’avantage de ces habitudes d’étude repose sur leur simplicité; Ils peuvent être acquis et développés rapidement. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste avec les meilleurs.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "15 livres en anglais idéals pour apprendre la langue"

1. Organisez-vous

Malheureusement, lorsque vous trouvez un endroit idéal pour étudier, vous pouvez parfois ne pas avoir sous la main ce que vous utiliserez pendant l'étude.

La zone d'étude doit avoir tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour ne pas perdre de temps à chercher ce qui vous manque. Ainsi, la première étape pour réussir aux examens consiste à être bien organisé. Et c’est que si depuis le début vous êtes chaotique et que vous ne connaissez ni les tâches ni les pratiques que vous avez suivies pendant le cours jusqu’à trois jours avant l’examen, alors il vous en coûtera pour être à jour .


Il est important que tout soit bien organisé et que vous sachiez ce que vous faites, car sinon, vous pourriez avoir besoin de notes la même semaine que l’examen. Et ce n'est pas bénéfique pour vous du tout.

Triez vos notes ; Bien qu'il semble que non, le temps que vous y consacrerez sera largement compensé par celui que vous économiserez en ne perdant pas de minutes à chercher des livres ou des documents.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La procrastination ou le syndrome de" Je le ferai demain ": qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le prévenir"

2. Avoir une zone d'étude

Étudier à la cafétéria peut sembler une excellente idée, mais si vous voulez conserver le maximum d’informations et être pleinement concentré, il est préférable de chercher un lieu d’étude sans distractions, dans lequel vous êtes à 100%. l'étude, sans interruption. L’environnement idéal pour l’étude devrait être: ordonné, silencieux, bien éclairé, spacieux et ça doit être confortable .


3. éviter les distractions

Aussi, évitez les distractions à proximité, car elles peuvent vous déconcentrer. Il est important que, pendant le temps que vous étudiez, vous limitiez à l'étude. Par exemple, les ordinateurs peuvent être très utiles pour rechercher des informations, mais ils peuvent vous distraire si Facebook est ouvert.

D'autre part, vous devriez aussi Évitez d’étudier en groupe tant que vous n’avez pas commencé à progresser par toi-même Cela fera en sorte que lorsque vous rencontrerez d'autres personnes, au lieu de les distraire en discutant, vous vous rendrez compte que vous avez des doutes non résolus et que vous consacrez du temps à partager les connaissances liées aux notes.

4. Planifiez l'étude

Une bonne planification est une étape fondamentale pour que l’étude soit utile. Pour ce faire, vous pouvez utiliser un document (ou papier) pour écrire les sujets que vous allez étudier, les jours alloués à chaque sujet et le temps approximatif dont vous aurez besoin pour chaque section.

De toute évidence, la planification peut varier et il devrait toujours y avoir une marge de changement, mais il est important de visualiser le processus d'étude et de savoir ce que vous faites à tout moment. N'oubliez pas que vous devez savoir quand vous aurez l'examen, car cela vous permettra de planifier toutes les matières et de savoir quelle est la priorité.

Donc, Faites-vous un calendrier d'étude qui détaille ce que vous allez faire chaque jour . De cette façon, vous pouvez contrôler vos progrès et vous adapter au temps dont vous disposez.

Pour anticiper les problèmes, épargnez-vous quelques «points» à l'avance, que vous dépenserez chacun à chaque fois que vous passerez un certain nombre d'heures sans avoir étudié. Cela vous évitera d'enfreindre votre emploi du temps et de l'oublier dès le premier changement.

5. Soyez cohérent et distribuez l'apprentissage dans le temps

La planification est bonne, mais vous devez être cohérent et répartir les apprentissages dans le temps. Ceci est essentiel pour éviter de devoir garder tous les derniers jours et pour ne rien apprendre ou consolider cet apprentissage, mais seulement pour le mémoriser.

Vous pouvez étudier beaucoup les derniers jours avant l’examen pour vous aider à réussir, mais l'information ne durera pas longtemps en mémoire . C’est-à-dire que c’est une bonne option si vous voulez vraiment apprendre.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

6. faire plusieurs tests

Tests ou simulations d'examens non seulement vous prépare à savoir quel type de questions peut apparaître à l'examen, mais peut également vous donner un feedback très utile pour savoir si vous maîtrisez ou non l'agenda que vous étudiez. Les recherches publiées dans Psychological Science in the Public Interest ont montré que c’était la technique d’étude la plus efficace.

7. Étudier sans faim

Les besoins physiologiques font baisser notre concentration et il est donc intéressant de les couvrir pour continuer à effectuer l'étude. Par exemple, si vous devez vous rendre au service, votre capacité de concentration diminuera . Sans aucun doute, un besoin à couvrir est la nourriture, car il est nécessaire d'avoir des niveaux d'énergie élevés pour pouvoir étudier efficacement. C'est l'une des habitudes d'étude qui passent généralement inaperçue.

8. prendre un supplément

Il existe des suppléments qui peuvent vous aider à améliorer votre capacité à étudier. Par exemple, la gelée royale. La gelée royale, qui est la nourriture avec laquelle les abeilles se nourrissent à la naissance et la reine des abeilles tout au long de sa vie, a une grande capacité à revitaliser le corps et l'esprit. Un autre supplément qui peut vous aider à mieux performer pendant l'étude est le gingko biloba . Ça oui, pas de boissons énergisantes, car elles ne sont pas bonnes pour la santé.

9. Prenez des pauses

Etudier pendant des heures peut être épuisant, et après un temps sans pause, votre cerveau peut être fatigué. C'est pourquoi l'idéal est de prendre des pauses pendant vos études. Il est conseillé de prendre au moins 10 minutes de repos toutes les 50 minutes d'étude. Après la pause, vous verrez comment vous êtes à nouveau disponible pour continuer à apprendre .

10. Varie les tâches

Des tâches variables peuvent favoriser l'apprentissage. Par exemple, vous pouvez effectuer 30 minutes d’études théoriques, puis 20 autres minutes de tâches pratiques. Utilisez ensuite 10 minutes pour vérifier ce que vous aviez précédemment mémorisé et prenez une pause de 10 minutes pour éviter la fatigue mentale.

11. Changer le lieu d'étude

Comme je l’ai dit, c’est bien d’avoir un lieu d’étude, un lieu où l’on peut être concentré et sans distraction; Cependant, vous pouvez également changer de lieu à certains moments pour favoriser la rétention de l'apprentissage. Par exemple, si vous étudiez habituellement dans une pièce de votre maison, vous pouvez vous rendre à la bibliothèque un jour par semaine. Cela aura une influence positive sur l’étude, car elle servira de moyen de faire une pause et de Ne tombez pas dans la monotonie , cela peut vous démotiver.

12. Déconnectez la veille de l'examen

Bien que nous estimions qu’étudier la veille avant le test pendant de longues heures est la meilleure option, des études scientifiques indiquent qu’il vaut mieux débrancher la veille de l’examen. Cela ne signifie pas que vous ne pouvez pas faire une revue pour avoir tout frais, mais au lieu d'étudier toute la journée, il vaut mieux se détendre et ne pas devenir saturé . Par exemple, vous pouvez aller au cinéma la nuit précédente.

  • Article connexe: "6 techniques de relaxation faciles pour combattre le stress"

13. L'étude commence en classe

Si vous voulez tirer le meilleur parti de l'étude, c'est bien que tu ailles en classe avec la meilleure attitude . Cela inclut d'assister et de prendre des notes de qualité, mais aussi de prêter attention à l'enseignant. Il est plus facile de conserver certains concepts de cette manière et vous pouvez également poser vos questions à ce moment-là. Sinon, vous demanderez peut-être à tous vos collègues ce que vous ne comprenez pas quelques jours avant l’examen, ce qui peut même vous dérouter.

14. Passer les notes

Un bon moyen de conserver plus d'informations est de rentrer à la maison et de passer des notes. Cela vous aidera à actualiser ce que vous avez étudié en classe, et cela vous aidera à mémoriser beaucoup mieux ce que vous avez appris. Cela vous aidera également à mieux vous organiser pour que vous puissiez étudier plus efficacement.


5 qualités qui font échouer à l'école mais réussir dans la vie: Faysal Hafidi at TEDxCasablanca (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes