yes, therapy helps!
Music and personality: what link do they have?

Music and personality: what link do they have?

May 8, 2024

All urban tribe or juvenile ideological movement are established based on certain characteristic signs: aesthetics, some ethical principles more or less sketched, but mainly some well-defined musical tastes .

The beat generation danced to jazz rhythm, the hippie movement listened to folk and rock sixties at festivals like Woodstock, the yuppies with Love Over Gold of Dire Straits. Goths and emos shudder with dark songs. And these are just a few examples. Music that marked a generation, or music that a youth social movement made its own.

Music and personality: a real binomial?

Despite what we usually believe, music does not explain our way of being , we use music to see ourselves identified with the vital and political positions that we consider most valid, but there is no close link between that identification and our actions.


Dismantling clichés

Let's take an example: the hard aesthetics and the violence that surrounds heavy metal does not correspond to the personality of its followers: many of them are kind, peaceful people and even with a tendency toward introversion, as pointed out by a study carried out at the University of Heriot-Watt, by means of a survey that was answered by 37,000 people throughout the world through the Internet (North, A.C. & Hargreaves, D.J., 2005).

This is what he tells Christopher Drösser in his book The seduction of music :

The respondents defined their preferences regarding more than 100 musical styles (from classical music to soul) that were in theory a reflection of their personality traits. These traits were, for example: low or high self-esteem, creative / non-creative, introverted / extroverted, docile / aggressive, hardworking or lazy.

Give more or less credibility to the study, the truth is that by linking musical style with personality we fall into generalizations and inaccuracies. If this is the case, we would be playing in a field of cheap demagoguery and we would use the prejudices imposed by the media and the juvenile television series.


Curious coincidences: 'heavies' and 'classics' are similar

From the survey designed by North and Hargreaves, it could be highlighted thatThe personality of heavy metal fans is very similar to classical music fans , although their study does clarify that the latter have a higher self-esteem than the former, on average. So, although the musical styles differ in a great degree, not to mention the clothes that each musical style proposes, the classics and the hairy ones could be categorized within the same psychological profile.

Other research carried out at the University of Queensland, Australia, led by F. Baker and W. Bor (2008), support the previous conclusions , discarding in this way that music or musical style plays a causal role in antisocial behavior, for example. They do suggest, however, that identification with a musical style is an indicator of emotional vulnerability.


Preference for musical styles and personality

The study by North and Hargreaves yielded the following data:

  • Music lovers Blues They have high self-esteem, they are creative, kind and extroverted
  • Those who prefer music Jazz and the Soul they get the same adjectives as Blues lovers
  • They obtain results similar to the previous ones that prefer the Rap and the Opera
  • The subjects that prefer the classical music They are the same as the previous ones, with the exception that they are introverted
  • The lovers of Country they are workers and extroverts
  • Those who enjoy the Reggae they were reported as vague, and also creative, kind, extroverted and with high self-esteem
  • Those who like to listen to music Dance They are creative and extroverted, but not too friendly
  • The crazy music Indie they have low self-esteem, they are creative, unkind and little workers
  • The followers of music Rock Y Heavy Metal They have low self-esteem, they are creative, not very hardworking, introverted and kind

It should be remembered that these data were obtained by crossing data from personality tests and musical preferences, and they only indicate statistically significant trends ; correlations Obviously, this does not mean that listening to certain musical styles "transforms" our personality. "

Personality: a complex and multi-causal concept

Therefore, the psychic state is a priori, and from this each individual is allowed to conquer by that music that fits with his personality.Sometimes listening to music with melodies or depressing lyrics in the ears of someone does not mean that it is a trigger to depress many of its listeners, but, on the contrary, sometimes this type of music helps to overcome low moments of mood .

Most people remain faithful to the musical styles they listened to between 14 and 26 years of age , and this happens because young people mark our identities, which will no longer be so plastic for the rest of our lives.

We recommend you read: "What music do intelligent people listen to?"

What Music Says About Your Personality | ft. peaceofelise (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Musique et personnalité: quel lien ont-ils?

Musique et personnalité: quel lien ont-ils?

Mai 25, 2022

Toutes les tribus urbaines ou mouvements idéologiques juvéniles sont établis sur la base de certains signes caractéristiques: esthétique, certains principes éthiques plus ou moins esquissés, mais principalement certains. goûts musicaux bien définis .

La génération des rythmes a dansé au rythme du jazz, le mouvement hippie a écouté du rock et du rock sixties dans des festivals comme Woodstock, les yuppies avec L'amour sur l'or des détroits de Dire. Goths et emos frémissent de chansons sombres. Et ce ne sont que quelques exemples. Une musique qui a marqué une génération, ou la musique qu’un mouvement social de jeunes a fait sien.

Musique et personnalité: un vrai binôme?

Malgré ce que nous croyons habituellement, la musique n'explique pas notre façon d'être , nous utilisons la musique pour nous identifier aux positions vitales et politiques que nous considérons comme les plus valables, mais il n’existe aucun lien étroit entre cette identification et nos actions.


Démantèlement des clichés

Prenons un exemple: l’esthétique dure et la violence qui entoure le heavy metal ne correspondent pas à la personnalité de ses adeptes: beaucoup d’entre eux sont gentils, pacifiques et ont même tendance à l'introversion, comme le souligne une étude réalisée à l'Université de Heriot-Watt, au moyen d'une enquête à laquelle 37 000 personnes dans le monde ont répondu par le biais d'Internet (North, A.C. & Hargreaves, D.J., 2005).

C'est ce qu'il raconte Christopher Drösser dans son livre La séduction de la musique :

Les répondants ont défini leurs préférences pour plus de 100 styles musicaux (de la musique classique à la soul) qui étaient en théorie le reflet de leurs traits de personnalité. Ces traits étaient, par exemple: faible estime ou forte estime de soi, créatif / non créatif, introverti / extraverti, docile / agressif, travailleur ou paresseux.

Donner plus ou moins de crédibilité à l’étude, la vérité est que, en liant le style musical à la personnalité, nous tombons dans des généralisations et des inexactitudes. Si tel est le cas, nous jouerions dans un domaine de démagogie bon marché et nous utiliserions les préjugés imposés par les médias et la série télévisée pour mineurs.


Curieuses coïncidences: les "heavy" et les "classiques" sont similaires

L’enquête conçue par North et Hargreaves permet de souligner queLa personnalité des fans de heavy metal est très similaire à celle des fans de musique classique , bien que leur étude précise que les derniers ont en moyenne une meilleure estime de soi que les premiers. Ainsi, bien que les styles musicaux diffèrent dans une large mesure, sans parler des vêtements que chaque style musical propose, les classiques et les poilus pourraient être classés dans le même profil psychologique.

Autres recherches menées à l'Université du Queensland, en Australie, dirigées par F. Baker et W. Bor (2008), soutenez les conclusions précédentes , en écartant ainsi que la musique ou le style musical joue un rôle causal dans le comportement antisocial, par exemple. Ils suggèrent cependant que l'identification à un style musical est un indicateur de vulnérabilité émotionnelle.


Préférence pour les styles musicaux et la personnalité

L'étude de North et Hargreaves a fourni les données suivantes:

  • Mélomanes Blues Ils ont une haute estime de soi, ils sont créatifs, gentils et extravertis
  • Ceux qui préfèrent la musique Jazz et le Âme ils ont les mêmes adjectifs que les amateurs de blues
  • Ils obtiennent des résultats similaires aux précédents qui préfèrent la Rap et la Opéra
  • Les sujets qui préfèrent la musique classique Ce sont les mêmes que les précédents, sauf qu’ils sont introvertis.
  • Les amoureux de Pays ce sont des ouvriers et des extravertis
  • Ceux qui aiment le Reggae ils ont été signalés comme étant vagues, mais aussi créatifs, gentils, extravertis et dotés d'une grande estime de soi
  • Ceux qui aiment écouter de la musique La danse Ils sont créatifs et extravertis, mais pas trop amicaux
  • La musique folle Indie ils ont une faible estime de soi, ils sont créatifs, méchants et peu travailleurs
  • Les adeptes de la musique Rock et Heavy Metal Ils ont une faible estime de soi, ils sont créatifs, pas très travailleurs, introvertis et gentils

Il convient de rappeler que ces données ont été obtenues en croisant des données provenant de tests de personnalité et de préférences musicales. ils indiquent uniquement les tendances statistiquement significatives ; corrélations Évidemment, cela ne signifie pas qu'écouter certains styles de musique "transforme" notre personnalité. "

Personnalité: un concept complexe et multi-causal

Par conséquent, l'état psychique est a priori, et à partir de là, chaque individu est autorisé à vaincre par la musique qui correspond à sa personnalité.Parfois, écouter de la musique avec des mélodies ou des paroles déprimantes dans les oreilles de quelqu'un ne veut pas dire que c'est un déclencheur qui déprime beaucoup de ses auditeurs, mais au contraire, parfois, ce type de musique aide à surmonter les moments de mauvaise humeur. .

La plupart des gens restent fidèles aux styles musicaux qu'ils ont écoutés entre 14 et 26 ans et cela se produit parce que les jeunes marquent notre identité, qui ne sera plus aussi plastique pour le reste de nos vies.

Nous vous recommandons de lire: "Quelle musique les gens intelligents écoutent-ils?"

Ce Que Révèle Ton Groupe Sanguin de ta Personnalité (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes