yes, therapy helps!
Amnestic syndrome: causes, symptoms and main types

Amnestic syndrome: causes, symptoms and main types

January 17, 2022

Lesions in the medial temporal lobe cause deficits in the antegrade memory, and frequently also in retrograde memory.

In this article we will analyze what the amnestic syndrome consists of and what its main causes are, including the most common and characteristic: the Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, which is due to malnutrition and alcohol abuse.

What is amnestic syndrome?

The concept "amnestic syndrome" has a relatively generic character . It is used to refer to any permanent alteration of memory that occurs as a result of damage to the brain, so that it may include disorders due to very different causes; however, the Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome is the most representative.


In general, the term "amnestic syndrome" is used to talk about disorders that specifically affect memory, without other cognitive deficits being present (for example in intelligence or language). If they are, the memory problems usually have a clinical significance much higher than the rest.

In consecuense, the causes of the amnestic syndrome tend to consist of focal lesions of the medial areas of the temporal lobe , specifically in the structures of the limbic system involved in the consolidation and recovery of memories, such as the hippocampus and amygdala, fundamental in spatial and emotional memory respectively.


Types of amnesia: retrograde and antegrade

This type of damage causes the affected person to have severe problems to learn new information; This phenomenon is known as antegrade amnesia, and is sometimes, but not necessarily, accompanied by retrograde amnesia, consisting of forgetting memories that were coded before the brain injury.

At a clinical level, patients with amnestic syndrome can manifest an apparently normal functioning, since their operative memory is not affected, nor is their capacity to perform new procedural learning. But nevertheless, deficits in declarative memory greatly interfere in the lives of these people .

In general, retrograde amnesia is more evident for recent memories than for distant memories, although its severity depends on the injury. As for antegrade amnesia, it is now known that it is not usually as extreme as it was thought years ago, since the maintenance of other memory functions compensates for declarative deficits.


Main causes of this disorder

Any factor liable to damage the medial temporal regions of the brain has the potential to cause an amnestic syndrome. The most common causes are Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, which is associated with excessive alcohol consumption, herpetic encephalitis and anoxia, as well as heart attacks, hemorrhages and tumors in the brain.

Retrograde amnesia is also one of the most characteristic side effects of electroconvulsive therapy, which is occasionally applied in cases of major depression and bipolar disorder, among other psychological alterations. However, many authors would not consider these effects a true amnestic syndrome because of its transience.

1. Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome

Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome is due to deficits of vitamin B1, which is also called thiamin . The most frequent cause is malnutrition, especially when it is related to alcohol abuse over a long period of time. This disease consists of two phases: Wernicke encephalopathy and Korsakoff syndrome.

During the acute phase, symptoms and signs appear as attention problems, confusion, temporary, spatial and personal disorientation, apathy, neuropathic pain, ataxia (lack of motor coordination in general), nystagmus (involuntary movements of the pupils) and ophthalmoplegia (paralysis of the muscles of the eyes).

The term "Korsakoff syndrome" refers to the chronic phase of this process, in which there are severe alterations in the antegrade and retrograde memory; in the latter case, forgetfulness usually affects memories coded up to two decades before Wernicke's encephalopathy occurred.

2. Cerebrovascular accidents

Heart attacks and hemorrhages are two very common causes of amnestic syndrome, particularly when they occur in the anterior communicating artery, in the anterior cerebral artery, or in the Heubner artery. Fabulation or involuntary invention of memories, a characteristic sign of amnestic syndrome , it is very common in these cases.

Another similar phenomenon that is also associated with amnesia is cerebral anoxia, which consists of interrupting the oxygen supply to this organ as a consequence of cardiac arrest; This can cause cells in the hippocampus and other regions of the temporal lobe to be destroyed, which explains the appearance of memory problems.

3. Tumors in the ventricles

The development of tumors in areas near the limbic system often causes the amnestic syndrome . A particularly noteworthy case is that of tumors in the third ventricle, which usually damage the fornix, the main connection between the thalamus and the structures involved in memory.

4. Herpetic encephalitis

Herpetic encephalitis is a disease of the central nervous system that occurs because of an infection of the herpes simplex virus , and that can cause permanent symptoms such as amnesia, confusion and epileptic seizures due to lesions in the hippocampus, amygdala, uncus and other areas of the limbic system.


Amnesia - causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, pathology (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome amnésique: causes, symptômes et principaux types

Syndrome amnésique: causes, symptômes et principaux types

Septembre 26, 2022

Les lésions dans le lobe temporal interne provoquent des déficits dans la mémoire antérograde, et fréquemment aussi dans la mémoire rétrograde.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons en quoi consiste le syndrome amnésique et quelles sont ses causes principales, y compris la plus commune et la plus caractéristique: le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, qui est dû à la malnutrition et à l'abus d'alcool.

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome amnésique?

Le concept "syndrome amné" a un caractère relativement générique . Il est utilisé pour désigner toute altération permanente de la mémoire résultant d'une lésion du cerveau, de sorte qu'elle peut inclure des troubles de causes très différentes. Cependant, le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff est le plus représentatif.


En général, le terme "syndrome amnésique" est utilisé pour parler de troubles affectant spécifiquement la mémoire, en l'absence d'autres déficits cognitifs (par exemple dans l'intelligence ou le langage). S'ils le sont, les problèmes de mémoire ont généralement une signification clinique beaucoup plus grande que les autres.

En conséquence, les causes du syndrome amnésique consistent généralement en des lésions focales des régions médiales du lobe temporal , spécifiquement dans les structures du système limbique impliquées dans la consolidation et la récupération de mémoires, telles que l’hippocampe et l’amygdale, fondamentales dans la mémoire spatiale et émotionnelle respectivement.


Types d'amnésie: rétrograde et antérograde

Ce type de dommage amène la personne affectée à avoir de graves problèmes pour apprendre de nouvelles informations Ce phénomène est connu sous le nom d'amnésie antérograde et s'accompagne parfois, mais pas nécessairement, d'amnésie rétrograde, consistant à oublier des souvenirs codés avant la lésion cérébrale.

Au niveau clinique, les patients atteints du syndrome amnésique peuvent manifester un fonctionnement apparemment normal, car leur mémoire opératoire n'est pas affectée, ni leur capacité à effectuer un nouvel apprentissage procédural. Cependant, les déficits de la mémoire déclarative interfèrent grandement dans la vie de ces personnes .

En général, l'amnésie rétrograde est plus évidente pour les souvenirs récents que pour les souvenirs lointains, bien que sa gravité dépend de la blessure. En ce qui concerne l’amnésie antérieure, on sait maintenant qu’elle n’est généralement pas aussi extrême qu’on le pensait il ya des années, car le maintien d’autres fonctions de la mémoire compense les déficits déclaratifs.


Principales causes de ce trouble

Tout facteur susceptible d’endommager les régions temporales médiales du cerveau est susceptible de provoquer un syndrome amnésique. Les causes les plus courantes sont le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, associé à une consommation excessive d'alcool, à une encéphalite herpétique et à l'anoxie, ainsi qu'à des crises cardiaques, des hémorragies et des tumeurs au cerveau.

L'amnésie rétrograde est également l'un des effets secondaires les plus caractéristiques du traitement par électrochocs, qui est parfois appliqué dans les cas de dépression majeure et de trouble bipolaire, entre autres altérations psychologiques. Cependant, de nombreux auteurs ne considéreraient pas ces effets comme un véritable syndrome amnésique en raison de son caractère transitoire.

1. Syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff

Le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff est dû à un déficit en vitamine B1, également appelée thiamine . La cause la plus fréquente est la malnutrition, en particulier lorsqu'elle est liée à l'abus d'alcool sur une longue période. Cette maladie comprend deux phases: l'encéphalopathie de Wernicke et le syndrome de Korsakoff.

Durant la phase aiguë, les symptômes et les signes apparaissent sous forme de problèmes d’attention, de confusion, de désorientation temporaire, spatiale et personnelle, d’apathie, de douleurs neuropathiques, d’ataxie (manque de coordination motrice en général), de nystagmus (mouvements involontaires des pupilles) et muscles des yeux).

Le terme "syndrome de Korsakoff" désigne la phase chronique de ce processus, caractérisée par de graves altérations de la mémoire antérograde et rétrograde; Dans ce dernier cas, l'oubli affecte généralement les souvenirs codés jusqu'à deux décennies avant que l'encéphalopathie de Wernicke ne se produise.

2. Accidents cérébrovasculaires

Les crises cardiaques et les hémorragies sont deux causes très courantes du syndrome amnésique, en particulier lorsqu'elles se produisent dans l'artère communicante antérieure, dans l'artère cérébrale antérieure ou dans l'artère de Heubner. Fabulation ou invention involontaire de souvenirs, signe caractéristique du syndrome amnésique , il est très courant dans ces cas.

L'anoxie cérébrale est un autre phénomène similaire, associé à l'amnésie. Elle consiste à interrompre l'apport en oxygène de cet organe à la suite d'un arrêt cardiaque; Cela peut entraîner la destruction de cellules de l'hippocampe et d'autres régions du lobe temporal, ce qui explique l'apparition de problèmes de mémoire.

3. Tumeurs dans les ventricules

Le développement de tumeurs dans les zones proches du système limbique provoque souvent le syndrome amnésique . Un cas particulièrement remarquable est celui des tumeurs du troisième ventricule, qui endommagent généralement le fornix, principal lien entre le thalamus et les structures impliquées dans la mémoire.

4. encéphalite herpétique

Encéphalite herpétique est une maladie du système nerveux central causée par une infection par le virus de l'herpès simplex , et qui peuvent provoquer des symptômes permanents tels que amnésie, confusion et crises d'épilepsie dues à des lésions de l'hippocampe, de l'amygdale, des indous et d'autres régions du système limbique


La mémoire traumatique, "véritable torture" des victimes de violences sexuelles (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes