yes, therapy helps!
Barthel Index: what it is, how it is used and what it evaluates

Barthel Index: what it is, how it is used and what it evaluates

January 11, 2023

Let's think for a moment about what a great majority of people do day by day since they wake up. We get up, shower and groom, dress, have breakfast, go to work / study, eat ... are seemingly simple activities that we have automated and in which we do not usually stop to think.

But these are basic activities that we all have to do simply to stay healthy and have a certain autonomy, and that we have been learning and developing throughout life.

However, in some cases (accidents, dementias and other neurological diseases, disability ...) It is possible that a person loses the ability to do them himself or that does not get to develop them. Taking into account that these are basic skills, this implies that in order to achieve an adaptive daily functioning the subject will need help to be able to carry them out: it will have a certain level of dependence, either temporarily or permanently.


Assessing when a person is dependent and the degree to which specific help is needed is not as simple as it may seem at first sight, but fortunately there are different assessment instruments that allow us to make such an assessment. One of them is the scale or Barthel Index , of which we are going to talk throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

The Barthel Index

It is known as the Barthel Index or the Barthel Scale, which is sometimes also called the Maryland Disability Index, to an assessment instrument in the form of a scale widely used by various professionals in the socio-health branch in order to evaluate or assess the level of independence that a person has when carrying out basic activities.


This measure allows assessing the existence of a physical or neurological disability that supposes a difficulty for the performance and realization of fundamental tasks in our day to day.

Specifically this index value the so-called basic activities of daily life , which are understood as the set of actions and activities that a person needs to do in order to maintain proper self-care and stay healthy and active. That is, unlike other activities that are linked rather to the relationship of the subject with the environment that surrounds it, the basic focuses on how the subject maintains itself.

Not being able to carry out these activities supposes a clear damage to the physical and mental integrity of the subject and could even lead to his death if he is not helped.

The application of the Barthel index, which began to be used in hospitals after 1955, seeks to evaluate how the performance is in a total of ten of these basic activities in such a way that it is observed if the individual can perform them without any problem , need help in a timely manner or is totally dependent on external help.


Your total score (maximum 100 and minimum 0) gives us a general idea of ​​the need for external support, although each of the available items can give us relevant information on what areas or types of activities there are problems or if a specific type of support or another can be provided.

It must be taken into account that this index must be passed at the initial moment in order to assess whether the subject does not present problems in his daily life, but also during and after any rehabilitative intervention that is used. This will allow us to see if this intervention has been successful or not and at what level, as well as adjust the type and level of help provided to the needs of the patient. It is also important to keep in mind that it evaluates what the subject does, not what he could do .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychometrics: studying the human mind through data"

Basic activities that evaluates

The Barthel Index or Scale evaluates, as we have said, a total of ten basic activities of daily life, which can be divided mainly into food, hygiene, displacement and toilet training. The concrete activities that are observed are the following.

1. Food

This item assesses whether the subject is able to eat by itself. It involves being able to put food in your mouth, chew and swallow . In addition to this, it is also valued if you are able to perform actions such as cutting food or serving water, although if you can not do these last actions you can eat on your own you will also have a non-zero score (10 if you can do it) all independently, 5 if you need help to cut, use cutlery, etc.). If you need full help to eat, the score is 0.

It is important to keep in mind that what is valued is the act of eating itself: it does not matter for this assessment if the person has cooked the food or someone else has prepared and served it.

2. Washing / personal hygiene

This activity implies being able to maintain body hygiene on its own, so that it can shower and clean itself autonomously.

It also takes into account if you can enter and exit the bathroom. It is assessed if you need help or supervision (0) or if you can do it independently (10) .

3. Dressing

Another of the basic activities is dressing. Here it is valued if the subject can put on and take off his clothes autonomously and without help (10 points), it has to be helped in some moments but most things can do it by himself (5 points) or he needs someone to help him at all times (0 points).

3. Arrange

This activity implies in part personal grooming, and includes actions such as combing hair, washing face or hands, shaving or putting on makeup . It is assessed whether the subject can do it himself (10) or needs help for it (0).

4. Continence / fecal incontinence

This time we are talking about a basic activity in which the subject eliminates waste from digestion by faecal route. It is assessed if the subject is able to contain feces (10 points), if he has an episode of occasional incontinence or needs help from time to time (5) or if he is unable to control the sphincters by himself, having incontinence as usual (0)

This evaluation is done taking into account the action taken during the week prior to the valuation .

5. Continence / urinary incontinence

In the same way that fecal incontinence is evaluated, the urinary is also assessed.

In this sense, taking into account also the performance in the week prior to the evaluation, it will be observed if the subject can contain the urine and / or take care of the operation of a possible probe (10 points), if it has episodes (maximum 1 daily) of incontinence (5) or if you can not hold urine regularly (0 points).

6. Use of the toilet

Linked to the two previous points, in this case it is valued if the subject is able to use the toilets by himself . If you can go to the bathroom, take off your clothes, perform your needs and clean yourself up with 15 points.

If you need help but can clean yourself, 5 points are valued and if you need help for both aspects, the item will be valued with 0 points.

7. Move to chair or bed

This activity would enter among those that value the capacity of displacement of the subject, specifically if he is able to sit or stand up by himself or enter and leave the bed.

The subject can be totally independent (15 points), need little help (10 points), need someone specialized and with great strength (something that implies that much of the effort he does thanks to such help) to help him although he can remain seated by himself (5 points) or need a total help in which either a crane or several people move him and can not be seated (0 points).

8. Wandering

Another of the basic activities that are evaluated in the Barthel Index or Scale is the ability to wander and travel in short distances . It is valued if the subject is able to walk 50 meters without the help of another person or walkers (although you can use crutches or canes). If he is able to independently he scores with 15 points, if he needs help or a walker 10 and if he depends on the help to move he scores with 0.

In the case of people in wheelchairs that can move independently with said chair, it is scored with 5 points.

10. Use stairs

In many of our developments and houses we can find stairs, steps and changes in height, so that being able to use them is considered a basic activity of daily life when traveling.

A subject that can climb or descend stairs autonomously is scored with 10 points on this item, if he needs someone to help or supervise 5 and if he is not able to use the stairs, the item is scored with 0 points.

Score and significance

The Barthel Index or Scale is easy to apply and score . Mainly we must bear in mind that the maximum score is 100 (90 in the case of those who are wheelchair bound) and that each item can be scored with 0, 5 or 10 points. The ten points are awarded when the subject is totally independent for the action referred to in the item, the five when it needs help for specific aspects or when it occasionally has difficulties and the zero points are given when the subject is dependent on said activity.

It should also be borne in mind that some items such as washing or grooming only consist of scores of 5 (independent) or 0 (dependent), and in cases of moving or wandering a score of 15 is added that reflects that the subject can move without help (10 would imply minimal help or supervision).

The score obtained from this scale allows us to obtain an idea of ​​the degree of dependence of the evaluated subject .

Scores of 100 imply total independence, and lower scores would reflect an increasing dependency for activities of daily living.Scores between 100 and 60 indicate the existence of a slight dependence or need for help, between 55 and 40 a moderate dependence, from 35 to 20 we would speak of serious dependence and scores lower than 20 points would indicate that the subject has a total dependence.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cid-Ruzafa, J. and Damián-Moreno, J. (1997). Assessment of physical disability: the Barthel index. Spanish Journal of Public Health, 71 (2). Madrid Spain.
  • Barrero Solís, C.L., García Arrioja, S. and Ojeda Manzano, A. (2005). Barthel Index (IB): An essential instrument for functional evaluation and rehabilitation. Plasticity and Neurological Restoration, 4 (1-2). International Association for the Advancement of Cerebrality, A.C.

OT Adult ADL Assessments // AMPS Kleinbell FIM Barthel CPT RTI (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Indice Barthel: qu'est-ce que c'est, comment il est utilisé et ce qu'il évalue

Indice Barthel: qu'est-ce que c'est, comment il est utilisé et ce qu'il évalue

Avril 1, 2020

Réfléchissons un instant à ce qu'une grande majorité de gens fait jour après jour depuis leur réveil. Nous nous levons, nous douchons et nous toilettons, nous nous habillons, nous déjeunons, nous allons au travail / étudier, nous mangeons ... sommes apparemment des activités simples que nous avons automatisées et dans lesquelles nous ne nous arrêtons généralement pas pour réfléchir.

Mais ce sont des activités de base que nous devons tous faire simplement pour rester en bonne santé et avoir une certaine autonomie, et que nous avons apprises et développées tout au long de notre vie.

Cependant, dans certains cas (accidents, démences et autres maladies neurologiques, handicap ...) Il est possible qu'une personne perde la capacité de le faire elle-même ou qui ne parvient pas à les développer. Étant donné que ce sont des compétences de base, cela implique que, pour pouvoir fonctionner au quotidien de manière adaptative, le sujet aura besoin d'aide pour pouvoir les mettre en œuvre: il aura un certain niveau de dépendance, de manière temporaire ou permanente.


Évaluer quand une personne est dépendante et dans quelle mesure une aide spécifique est nécessaire n’est pas aussi simple que cela puisse paraître à première vue, mais heureusement, il existe différents instruments d’évaluation qui nous permettent de procéder à une telle évaluation. L’un d’eux est l’échelle ou Barthel Index , dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests psychologiques: fonctions et caractéristiques"

L'indice Barthel

Il est connu sous le nom d’indice de Barthel ou échelle de Barthel, parfois aussi appelé indice d’invalidité du Maryland, dans un instrument d’évaluation sous la forme d’une échelle largement utilisée par divers professionnels de la branche de la socio-santé afin d’évaluer niveau d'indépendance dont une personne dispose lors de la réalisation d'activités de base.


Cette mesure permet d'évaluer l'existence d'un handicap physique ou neurologique cela suppose une difficulté pour l'exécution et la réalisation des tâches fondamentales de notre quotidien.

Plus précisément cet index valoriser les activités dites de base de la vie quotidienne , qui sont compris comme l’ensemble des actions et des activités qu’une personne doit faire pour maintenir ses propres soins et rester en bonne santé et active. C'est-à-dire que, contrairement aux autres activités liées plutôt à la relation du sujet avec l'environnement qui l'entoure, la base est centrée sur la façon dont le sujet se maintient.

Ne pas être en mesure de mener à bien ces activités suppose une atteinte manifeste à l'intégrité physique et mentale du sujet et pourrait même conduire à sa mort si on ne l'aide pas.

L’application de l’indice de Barthel, qui a commencé à être utilisée dans les hôpitaux après 1955, a pour objectif d’évaluer la performance de dix de ces activités de base de manière à: on observe si l'individu peut les exécuter sans problème , ont besoin d’aide rapidement ou dépendent totalement de l’aide extérieure.


Votre score total (maximum 100 et minimum 0) nous donne une idée générale de la nécessité d'un soutien externe, bien que chacun des éléments disponibles puisse nous fournir des informations pertinentes sur les domaines ou types d'activités présentant des problèmes. ou si un type spécifique de soutien ou un autre peut être fourni.

Il faut garder à l'esprit que cet indice doit être passé au moment initial afin de déterminer si le sujet ne présente pas de problèmes dans sa vie quotidienne, mais également pendant et après toute intervention de rééducation utilisée. Cela nous permettra de voir si cette intervention a réussi ou non et à quel niveau, et d'adapter le type et le niveau de l'aide fournie aux besoins du patient. Il est également important de garder à l'esprit que il évalue ce que le sujet fait, pas ce qu'il pourrait faire .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychométrie: étudier l'esprit humain à l'aide de données"

Activités de base qui évalue

Comme nous l'avons dit, l'indice ou l'échelle de Barthel évalue au total dix activités de base de la vie quotidienne, qui peuvent être divisées principalement en nourriture, hygiène, déplacement et formation à la propreté. Les activités concrètes observées sont les suivantes.

1. nourriture

Cet article évalue si le sujet est capable de manger tout seul. Cela implique de pouvoir mettre de la nourriture dans la bouche, de mâcher et d'avaler . En plus de cela, il est également important que vous puissiez effectuer des actions telles que couper de la nourriture ou servir de l'eau, bien que si vous ne pouvez pas faire ces dernières actions que vous pouvez manger vous-même, vous aurez également un score non nul (10 si vous pouvez le faire). tous indépendamment 5, si vous avez besoin d’aide pour couper, utiliser des couverts, etc.). Si vous avez besoin d'une aide complète pour manger, le score est de 0.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que l'acte de manger lui-même est important: cette évaluation n'a pas d'importance si la personne a cuisiné ou si quelqu'un d'autre l'a préparée et servie.

2. Lavage / hygiène personnelle

Cette activité implique de pouvoir maintenir seule l'hygiène corporelle, de manière à ce qu'il puisse se doucher et se nettoyer de manière autonome.

Il prend également en compte si vous pouvez entrer et sortir de la salle de bain. Il est évalué si vous avez besoin d’aide ou de supervision (0) ou si vous pouvez le faire de manière autonome (10). .

3. s'habiller

Une autre des activités de base est s'habiller. Ici, il est utile de savoir si le sujet peut se mettre et se déshabiller de façon autonome et sans aide (10 points), il doit être aidé à certains moments mais la plupart des choses peuvent le faire tout seul (5 points) ou s'il a besoin de quelqu'un pour l'aider. en tout temps (0 points).

3. Organiser

Cette activité implique en partie un toilettage personnel, et comprend des actions telles que se peigner les cheveux, se laver le visage ou les mains, se raser ou se maquiller . Il est évalué si le sujet peut le faire lui-même (10) ou s'il a besoin d'aide pour cela (0).

4. Continence / incontinence fécale

Il s’agit cette fois d’une activité de base dans laquelle le sujet élimine les déchets provenant de la digestion par voie fécale. On évalue si le sujet est capable de contenir des matières fécales (10 points), s'il a un épisode d'incontinence occasionnelle ou s'il a besoin d'aide de temps en temps (5) ou s'il est incapable de contrôler les sphincters lui-même, ayant une incontinence habituelle. (0)

Cette évaluation est terminée en tenant compte des mesures prises au cours de la semaine précédant l'évaluation .

5. Continence / Incontinence urinaire

De la même manière que l’incontinence fécale est évaluée, l’urinaire est également évalué.

En ce sens, en prenant également en compte les performances de la semaine précédant l'évaluation, il sera observé si le sujet peut contenir l'urine et / ou prendre en charge le fonctionnement d'une sonde possible (10 points), s'il présente des épisodes (maximum 1 par jour). d'incontinence (5) ou si vous ne pouvez pas retenir l'urine régulièrement (0 point).

6. Utilisation des toilettes

Lié aux deux points précédents, dans ce cas, il est valorisé si le sujet est capable d'utiliser les toilettes tout seul . Si vous pouvez aller aux toilettes, enlevez vos vêtements, remplissez vos besoins et nettoyez-vous avec 15 points.

Si vous avez besoin d’aide mais pouvez vous nettoyer vous-même, 5 points sont valorisés et si vous avez besoin d’aide pour les deux aspects, l’élément sera évalué à 0 point.

7. Déplacer au fauteuil ou au lit

Cette activité entrerait parmi ceux qui attachent de l'importance à la capacité de déplacement du sujet, notamment s'il est capable de s'asseoir ou de se lever tout seul, ou d'entrer et de sortir du lit.

Le sujet peut être totalement indépendant (15 points), avoir besoin de peu d’aide (10 points), avoir besoin de quelqu'un de spécialisé et avec beaucoup de force (ce qui implique une grande partie des efforts qu’il déploie grâce à cette aide) pour l’aider bien qu’il puisse rester assis. lui-même (5 points) ou nécessite une aide totale dans laquelle une grue ou plusieurs personnes le déplacent et ne peut pas être assis (0 point).

8. errant

Une autre des activités de base évaluées dans l’indice ou l’échelle de Barthel est la capacité de se promener et de voyager sur de courtes distances . Il est recommandé que le sujet puisse marcher 50 mètres sans l'aide d'une autre personne ou de marcheurs (bien que vous puissiez utiliser des béquilles ou des cannes). S'il est capable de manière indépendante, il marque avec 15 points, s'il a besoin d'aide ou d'un marcheur 10 et s'il dépend de l'aide pour se déplacer, il marque avec 0.

Dans le cas de personnes en fauteuil roulant qui peuvent se déplacer indépendamment avec cette chaise, il est marqué avec 5 points.

10. Utilisez les escaliers

Dans bon nombre de nos projets et de nos maisons, nous pouvons trouver des escaliers, des marches et des changements de hauteur, de sorte que pouvoir les utiliser est considéré comme une activité de base de la vie quotidienne lors de voyages.

Un sujet capable de monter ou de descendre des escaliers de manière autonome se voit attribuer 10 points sur cet élément, s'il a besoin d'aide ou de surveillance pour 5 personnes et s'il ne peut pas utiliser les escaliers, l'élément est marqué de 0 point.

Score et signification

L'indice ou l'échelle de Barthel est facile à appliquer et à marquer . Nous devons principalement garder à l'esprit que le score maximum est de 100 (90 dans le cas des personnes en fauteuil roulant) et que chaque élément peut être marqué avec 0, 5 ou 10 points. Les dix points sont attribués lorsque le sujet est totalement indépendant pour l'action mentionnée dans le point, les cinq points lorsqu'il a besoin d'aide pour des aspects spécifiques ou lorsqu'il rencontre parfois des difficultés et les points nuls sont attribués lorsque le sujet dépend de ladite activité.

Il faut également garder à l’esprit que certains articles, tels que le lavage ou le toilettage, ne comportent que des scores de 5 (indépendant) ou 0 (dépendant), et en cas de déplacement ou d’errance, un score de 15 est ajouté, ce qui indique que le sujet peut déménager sans aide (10 impliquerait une aide ou une supervision minimale).

Le score obtenu à partir de cette échelle nous permet d’obtenir une idée du degré de dépendance du sujet évalué .

Des scores de 100 impliquent une indépendance totale, et des scores inférieurs refléteraient une dépendance croissante pour les activités de la vie quotidienne.Les scores entre 100 et 60 indiquent l’existence d’une légère dépendance ou d’un besoin d’aide, entre 55 et 40, d’une dépendance modérée, de 35 à 20 on parle de dépendance grave et les scores inférieurs à 20 points indiquent que le sujet a une dépendance totale.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cid-Ruzafa, J. et Damián-Moreno, J. (1997). Evaluation du handicap physique: indice de Barthel. Revue espagnole de santé publique, 71 (2). Madrid Espagne.
  • Barrero Solís, C.L., García Arrioja, S. et Ojeda Manzano, A. (2005). Indice de Barthel (IB): un instrument essentiel pour l'évaluation fonctionnelle et la réadaptation. Plasticité et restauration neurologique, 4 (1-2). Association internationale pour l'avancement de la cérébralité, A.C.

Jenifer - Notre idylle (Clip officiel) (Avril 2020).


Articles Connexes