yes, therapy helps!
Anna Freud: biography and work of the successor of Sigmund Freud

Anna Freud: biography and work of the successor of Sigmund Freud

May 9, 2021

When talking about psychoanalysis it is almost inevitable to think specifically about Sigmund Freud, a historical character who, beyond supposing the beginning of a current of thought, has become one of the most popular and recognizable icons.

However, the psychodynamic current, which is the branch of non-scientific psychology that Freud founded, had already since the early twentieth century many other representatives who defended a view of the psyche significantly different from that of the father of psychoanalysis. For example, this is the case Anna Freud . Today we explain his life, his work and his most relevant theories.

Psychoanalysis: Freud, Jung and Adler


Alfred Adler and Carl Gustav Jung are two of these examples. They were exceptional thinkers who soon moved away from the proposals of their mentor and came to found different currents within psychodynamics (individual psychology and deep psychology, respectively).

However, part of the successors of Sigmund Freud claimed the works of his master and worked embracing most of the expositions of this, to expand and qualify ideas related to "classical" psychoanalysis. Anna Freud , the daughter of Sigmund Freud, was one of these people.

The first years of Anna Freud

Anna Freud was born in Vienna in 1895, and was the last daughter of the marriage formed between Sigmund Freud and Martha Bernays . At that stage his father was developing the theoretical foundations of psychoanalysis, so from a very young age he came into contact with the world of psychodynamics. In fact, during the course of the First World War he used to attend meetings of the Vienna Psychoanalytic Circle. Shortly after, between 1918 and 1920, he began to psychoanalyze with his father.


It is at this time when Anna Freud stops working as a governess and decides to devote herself to psychoanalysis. Specific, he dedicated himself to psychoanalysis with boys and girls . Between 1925 and 1930, Anna Freud began to give seminars and lectures to train psychoanalysts and educators, convinced that the practice and psychoanalytic theory created by her father could be very important during the first years of life of the people, which is when social norms are internalized and determining traumas can be fixed. He also publishes his book Introduction to Psychoanalysis for Educators.

It is also at this time that one of the most important train collisions of the first years of psychoanalysis arises: the theoretical battle waged by Anna Freud and Melanie Klein , another of the few European psychoanalytic women of the beginning of the century. Both held totally opposite ideas in many aspects related to the evolution of the psyche with age and the procedures that should be followed to deal with children and adolescents, and both received a lot of media coverage. Anna Freud, in addition, received the support of her father.


Taking psychoanalysis further

In the 1930s, Anna Freud began to revise the Freudian theory of the psychic structures of the id, the ego and the superego. Unlike Sigmund Freud, very interested in the id, the unconscious and the hidden and mysterious mechanisms that according to him govern behavior, Anna Freud was much more pragmatic and preferred to focus on what makes us adapt to real contexts and everyday situations .

This type of motivation made him focus his studies on the self, which according to Sigmund Freud and herself is the structure of the psyche directly connected with the environment, reality. In other words, if Sigmund Freud proposed explanations about how the self and the superego had the role of preventing the id from imposing their interests, Anna Freud understood the self as the most important part of the psyche, as the party acting as arbitrator between the superego and the id. From this approach arose shortly after the so-called ego psychology, whose most important representatives were Erik Erikson and Heinz Hartmann.

But let's go back to Anna Freud and her ideas about the self.

Anna Freud, the self and the defense mechanisms

In the mid-1930s, Anna Freud published one of her most important books: The Self and defense mechanisms.

In this work he tried to describe in a more detailed way the functioning of the ego structures of which his father had spoken years before: the self, the id and the superego. The it, according to these ideas, is governed by the pleasure principle and seeks the immediate satisfaction of their needs and drives , Meanwhile he superego value if we approach or move away from an ideal image of ourselves that only acts nobly and adjusting perfectly to social norms, while the I is between the other two and tries that the conflict between them does not harm us.

Anna Freud emphasizes the importance of the self as an escape valve that makes the tension accumulated by an it that has to be constantly repressed not put us in danger. The self, which is the only one of the three psychic structures that has a realistic vision of things, tries to entertain the id so that its demands are delayed until the moment in which satisfying them does not put us at risk, at the same time that negotiates with the superego so that our self-image is not seriously damaged while we do this.

The defense mechanisms are, for Anna Freud, the tricks that the self uses to deceive the id and offer small symbolic victories, since it can not satisfy their needs in the real world. A) Yes, the defense mechanism of denial consists in making us believe that the problem that makes us feel bad, simply does not exist ; the displacement defense mechanism causes us to redirect an impulse towards a person or object with which we can "retaliate", while rationalization consists in replacing an explanation about what has happened with another that makes us feel better (you can see more defense mechanisms in this article).

Setting the foundations of Freudian theory

Anna Freud did not stand out as being particularly groundbreaking, quite the opposite: accepted the bulk of Sigmund Freud's ideas and extended them as regards the functioning of the id, the ego and the superego.

However, his explanations served to give him a more pragmatic and not so obscure approach to psychoanalysis. That their clinical and educational approaches are really useful or not is a totally different topic.


Personality: Carl Jung and Karen Horney (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Anna Freud: biographie et travaux du successeur de Sigmund Freud

Anna Freud: biographie et travaux du successeur de Sigmund Freud

Février 18, 2019

Quand on parle de psychanalyse, il est presque inévitable de penser spécifiquement à Sigmund Freud, un personnage historique qui, au-delà de supposer le début d'un courant de pensée, est devenu l'une des icônes les plus populaires et les plus reconnaissables.

Cependant, le courant psychodynamique, qui est la branche de la psychologie non scientifique fondée par Freud, avait déjà, depuis le début du XXe siècle, de nombreux autres représentants qui défendaient une vision de la psyché très différente de celle du père de la psychanalyse. Par exemple, c'est le cas Anna Freud . Aujourd'hui, nous expliquons sa vie, son travail et ses théories les plus pertinentes.

Psychanalyse: Freud, Jung et Adler


Alfred Adler et Carl Gustav Jung sont deux de ces exemples. Ils étaient des penseurs exceptionnels qui se sont rapidement éloignés des propositions de leur mentor pour en arriver à fonder différents courants au sein de la psychodynamique (psychologie individuelle et psychologie profonde, respectivement).

Cependant, une partie des successeurs de Sigmund Freud a revendiqué les travaux de son maître et travaillé dans la plupart des expositions, afin d'élargir et de nuancer les idées relatives à la psychanalyse "classique". Anna Freud , fille de Sigmund Freud, était l’une de ces personnes.

Les premières années d'Anna Freud

Anna Freud est née à Vienne en 1895 et était la dernière fille du mariage formé entre Sigmund Freud et Martha Bernays . À ce stade, son père développait les fondements théoriques de la psychanalyse et, dès son plus jeune âge, il entra en contact avec le monde de la psychodynamique. En fait, durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il assistait aux réunions du Cercle psychanalytique de Vienne. Peu de temps après, entre 1918 et 1920, il a commencé à psychanalyser avec son père.


C'est à ce moment qu'Anna Freud cesse de travailler comme gouvernante et décide de se consacrer à la psychanalyse. En particulier, il s'est consacré à la psychanalyse avec des garçons et des filles . Entre 1925 et 1930, Anna Freud a commencé à donner des séminaires et des conférences pour former des psychanalystes et des éducateurs, convaincue que la pratique et la théorie psychanalytique créées par son père pourraient être très importantes au cours des premières années de la vie du peuple. les normes sociales sont intériorisées et des traumatismes déterminants peuvent être corrigés. Il publie également son livre Introduction à la psychanalyse pour les éducateurs.

C’est aussi à cette époque que l’une des collisions ferroviaires les plus importantes des premières années de la psychanalyse se pose: la bataille théorique menée par Anna Freud et Mélanie Klein , une autre des rares femmes psychanalytiques européennes du début du siècle. Tous deux avaient des idées totalement opposées sur de nombreux aspects liés à l'évolution de la psyché avec l'âge et aux procédures à suivre pour traiter les enfants et les adolescents. Ils ont tous deux fait l'objet d'une large couverture médiatique. Anna Freud a en outre reçu le soutien de son père.


Approfondir la psychanalyse

Dans les années 1930, Anna Freud a commencé à réviser la théorie freudienne des structures psychiques du ça, du moi et du surmoi. Contrairement à Sigmund Freud, très intéressé par le ça, l'inconscient et les mécanismes cachés et mystérieux qui régissent selon lui le comportement, Anna Freud était beaucoup plus pragmatique et préférait se concentrer sur ce qui nous permettait de nous adapter à des contextes réels et à des situations de la vie quotidienne. .

Ce type de motivation lui a valu de concentrer ses études sur le soi, qui, selon Sigmund Freud et elle-même, est la structure de la psyché directement liée à l'environnement, à la réalité. En d'autres termes, si Sigmund Freud proposait des explications sur la manière dont le soi et le surmoi empêchaient les id d'imposer leurs intérêts, Anna Freud comprenait le soi comme la partie la plus importante de la psyché, en tant que partie jouant le rôle d'arbitre entre le surmoi et le ça. De cette approche est née peu de temps après la soi-disant psychologie du moi, dont les représentants les plus importants étaient Erik Erikson et Heinz Hartmann.

Mais revenons à Anna Freud et à ses idées sur le soi.

Anna Freud, le moi et les mécanismes de défense

Au milieu des années 1930, Anna Freud publia l'un de ses livres les plus importants: The Self and Defence Mechanism.

Dans ce travail, il a essayé de décrire de manière plus détaillée le fonctionnement des structures du moi dont son père avait parlé des années auparavant: le moi, le ça et le surmoi. Le il, selon ces idées, est régie par le principe de plaisir et cherche la satisfaction immédiate de leurs besoins et pousse , tandis que le surmoi valeur si nous nous approchons ou nous éloignons d'une image idéale de nous-mêmes qui n'agit que noblement et s'adapte parfaitement aux normes sociales, tandis que le Je est entre les deux autres et essaie que le conflit entre eux ne nous nuit pas.

Anna Freud souligne l'importance du soi en tant que soupape d'échappement qui permet à la tension accumulée par un système qui doit être constamment refoulé de ne pas nous mettre en danger. Le soi, qui est la seule des trois structures psychiques à avoir une vision réaliste des choses, essaie de divertir le ça pour que ses demandes soient retardées jusqu'au moment où les satisfaire ne nous met pas en danger, en même temps. qui négocie avec le surmoi afin que notre image de soi ne soit pas sérieusement endommagée pendant que nous le faisons.

Les mécanismes de défense sont, pour Anna Freud, les astuces que le soi utilise pour tromper le ça et offrir de petites victoires symboliques, car il ne peut pas satisfaire leurs besoins dans le monde réel. Ainsi, le mécanisme de défense du déni consiste à nous faire croire que le problème qui nous rend mal à l'aise n'existe tout simplement pas ; le mécanisme de défense du déplacement nous force à réorienter une impulsion vers une personne ou un objet avec lequel nous pouvons "riposter", tandis que la rationalisation consiste à remplacer une explication de ce qui est arrivé par un autre qui nous fait nous sentir mieux plus de mécanismes de défense dans cet article).

Jeter les bases de la théorie freudienne

Anna Freud ne s'est pas démarquée comme étant particulièrement novatrice, bien au contraire: accepté l'essentiel des idées de Sigmund Freud et les étendit en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement du ça, du moi et du surmoi.

Cependant, ses explications ont servi à lui donner une approche plus pragmatique et moins obscure de la psychanalyse. Que leurs approches cliniques et éducatives soient vraiment utiles ou non est un sujet totalement différent.


Saison culturelle 18-19 - Le cercle de Whitechapel (17/05/19) (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes