yes, therapy helps!
Bromidrosiphobia (fear of body odor): symptoms, causes and treatment

Bromidrosiphobia (fear of body odor): symptoms, causes and treatment

November 19, 2022

The aromas, smells or body fragrances that each and every one of the people send out are usually something to which the rest of the population tends to feel aversion. Contexts such as changing rooms, gyms or changing rooms can become really unpleasant places due to the effects of body effluvia.

However, when this aversion becomes a real and exacerbated fear or fear, it is very possible that we are facing a case of Bromidrosiphobia, a type of specific phobia which we will discuss throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is bromidrosiphobia?

Bromidrosiphobia is classified as specific anxiety disorders or specific phobias. Like the rest of pathological fears, bromidrosiphobia It has a specific element that causes this fear: body odors .


Considering the etymological roots of the term, we can separate the concept into three words of Greek origin. The first of them "bromos" can be translated literally as stench or pestilence, "hydros" refers to the term sweat, while "phobos" is understood as an expression referring to fear or fear.

Like the rest of specific personality disorders, when people with bromidrosiphobia meet or think they are going to find themselves facing the dreaded stimulus, will experience a series of emotions and physical manifestations typical of very high anxiety states .

Despite the fact that most people experience a certain degree of aversion or disgust before the foreign body odors, this is not enough reason to consider it as a phobia.


  • Maybe you're interested: "What's the use of fear?"

The limits of phobia

To be able to establish a difference between a feeling of habitual aversion and a phobia or pathological fear we must take into account what consequences or direct effects this phobia has on the person's daily life.

In this way, if the person who feels this fear of body odors reaches the point of experiencing strong reactions of anxiety before the perception of these and prevents him from performing normal daily tasks, it is highly recommended that you consult with a professional psychologist .

In addition, we must take into account a series of requirements or qualities of fear disorders , which define phobias and allow their diagnosis. These requirements are the following.

1. It is a disproportionate fear

The first point that has to be examined to differentiate between a rational fear and a habitual sensation of fear or aversion, is that in the bromidrosiphobia the miede must be absolutely disproportionate compared to the real threat that the phobic stimulus , in this case body odor, represents.


2. It is irrational

People with bromidrosiphobia are completely unable to find a reasonable and justified explanation for their fear, to the point that, in many of these cases, the person is perfectly aware of how benign the phobic stimulus is, but still it is inevitable that the anxiety response appears before him .

3. It is uncontrollable

In addition to irrational, the fear that a person with bromidrosiphobia suffers is absolutely uncontrollable for her. This means that the person is unable to prevent the reactions of anxiety and fear from appearing, just as he is unable to control them when he experiences them.

These symptoms originate automatically and suddenly , and only disappear when the person has managed to escape or avoid the phobic stimulus.

What symptoms does it present?

Since bromidrosiphobia is classified within the category of specific phobias, the clinical picture it presents is similar to that of other anxiety disorders of this type. These symptoms of an anxious nature appear each time the person perceives the aroma of body odor of oneself or another, even if this person is not clearly visible.

Therefore, both physical, cognitive and behavioral symptoms will appear in bromidrosiphobia:

1. Physical symptoms

Some of the first symptoms that the patient experiences before the perception of a strong body odor are due to the hyperactivity that this generates in the nervous system of the person . This increase in functioning gives rise to all kinds of transformational changes in the organism.

Throughout the episode of anxiety, the person may experience a lot of physical symptoms. These include:

  • Increase in heart rate .
  • Increase in the respiratory rate.
  • Choking sensation or lack of air.
  • Increase in muscle tension
  • Headaches
  • Stomach pains
  • Increased sweating .
  • Sensation of dizziness.
  • Nausea and / or vomiting

2. Cognitive symptoms

Bromidrosiphobia is associated with a series of beliefs and speculations in relation to the fear or aversion to smells and body aromas.

These distorted thoughts drive the development of this phobia and they are distinguished because the person integrates a series of illogical beliefs about the possible dangers or effects of the corporal odors.

3. Behavioral symptoms

Like the other phobias, bromidrosiphobia is also composed of a series of behavioral symptoms. Said behavioral symptomatology manifested by avoidance behaviors and escape behaviors .

The first type of behavior refers to all those behaviors or acts that the person performs in order to avoid encountering the phobic stimulus. Thanks to them it is possible to avoid the experimentation of feelings of anguish and anxiety that the situation generates.

On the other hand, the escape behaviors appear when the person has not been able to avoid facing the object of his phobia, in this case the perception of body aromas, so he will carry out all kinds of behaviors necessary to escape from the situation in which is involved.

What causes does it have?

Determining the origin of a phobia can become a highly complex task and more so in those that, like bromidrosiphobia, they do not have a component or characteristics that give them special danger .

In any case, there are certain factors that may favor or enhance the development of this. For example, the existence of a genetic predisposition that aggravates the effects of anxiety, together with the experience or experimentation of a highly traumatic situation or with a large emotional content load, will most likely trigger the appearance of this or any other phobia.

Is there a treatment?

In most cases, bromidrosiphobia does not become incapacitating since the number of situations in which a person is faced with the perception of strong body odors is usually relatively low (especially in certain countries, due to climatic reasons), so that psychological consultations for this type of pathology are usually reduced.

However, if the person does experience high levels of anguish because of this excessive fear of body aromas, there are a series of psychological interventions or treatments that can get the person to recover and overcome their phobic fear.

These interventions are based on three principles or psychological actions. The first one consists of a cognitive restructuring that allows to modify all those distorted thoughts that the person possesses with respect to the corporal odors.

Then, can be carried out techniques of live exposure or systematic desensitization , through which the person is exposed gradually to the feared stimulus. Well directly or through exercises with mental images.

Finally, these techniques are accompanied by a training in relaxation skills, which can reduce the levels of nervous system excitement and help the person to face their fears in the best possible way.


my nose hallucinates?? (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Bromidrosiphobia (peur de l'odeur corporelle): symptômes, causes et traitement

Bromidrosiphobia (peur de l'odeur corporelle): symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 21, 2021

Les arômes, les odeurs ou les parfums corporels que chaque personne diffuse sont généralement quelque chose que le reste de la population a tendance à éprouver de l'aversion. Les contextes tels que les vestiaires, les gymnases ou les vestiaires peuvent devenir des endroits vraiment désagréables en raison des effets d'effluves corporels.

Cependant, lorsque cette aversion devient une peur réelle et exacerbée, il est fort possible que nous soyons confrontés à un cas de La bromidrosiphobie, un type de phobie spécifique que nous discuterons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que la bromidrosiphobie?

La bromidrosiphobie est classée comme trouble anxieux spécifique ou phobie spécifique. Comme le reste des peurs pathologiques, la bromidrosiphobie Il a un élément spécifique qui provoque cette peur: les odeurs corporelles .


Considérant les racines étymologiques du terme, nous pouvons séparer le concept en trois mots d'origine grecque. Le premier d'entre eux "bromos" peut être traduit littéralement par puanteur ou peste, "hydros" désigne le terme sueur, tandis que "phobos" est compris comme une expression faisant référence à la peur ou à la peur.

Comme le reste des troubles de la personnalité spécifiques, lorsque les personnes atteintes de bromidrosiphobie se rencontrent ou pensent se trouver confrontées au stimulus redouté, fera l'expérience d'une série d'émotions et de manifestations physiques typiques des états d'anxiété très élevés .

Malgré le fait que la plupart des gens éprouvent un certain degré d'aversion ou de dégoût devant les odeurs corporelles étrangères, ce n'est pas une raison suffisante pour le considérer comme une phobie.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "A quoi sert la peur?"

Les limites de la phobie

Pour pouvoir établir une différence entre un sentiment d'aversion habituelle et une phobie ou une peur pathologique nous devons tenir compte des conséquences ou des effets directs de cette phobie sur la vie quotidienne de la personne.

De cette manière, si la personne qui ressent cette peur des odeurs corporelles parvient à ressentir de fortes réactions d’angoisse avant la perception de celles-ci et l’empêche d’accomplir des tâches quotidiennes, il est vivement recommandé de consulter un psychologue professionnel. .

De plus, il faut prendre en compte une série d'exigences ou de qualités de troubles de la peur , qui définissent les phobies et permettent leur diagnostic. Ces exigences sont les suivantes.

1. C'est une peur disproportionnée

Le premier point à examiner pour différencier une peur rationnelle d’une sensation habituelle de peur ou d’aversion est que, dans la bromidrosiphobie, le miede doit être absolument disproportionné par rapport à la menace réelle que le stimulus phobique , dans ce cas, l’odeur corporelle représente.


2. C'est irrationnel

Les personnes atteintes de bromidrosiphobie sont totalement incapables de trouver une explication raisonnable et justifiée à leur peur, au point que, dans nombre de ces cas, la personne est parfaitement consciente de la bénignité du stimulus phobique il est inévitable que la réponse d'anxiété apparaisse devant lui .

3. C'est incontrôlable

En plus d'être irrationnelle, la peur qu'une personne atteinte de bromidrosiphobie souffre est absolument incontrôlable pour elle. Cela signifie que la personne est incapable d'empêcher les réactions d'anxiété et de peur d'apparaître, tout comme elle est incapable de les contrôler quand il les éprouve.

Ces symptômes apparaissent automatiquement et soudainement et ne disparaissent que lorsque la personne a réussi à s’échapper ou à éviter le stimulus phobique.

Quels symptômes présente-t-il?

La bromidrosiphobie étant classée dans la catégorie des phobies spécifiques, le tableau clinique présenté est similaire à celui d’autres troubles anxieux de ce type. Ces symptômes de nature anxieuse apparaissent chaque fois que la personne perçoit l'odeur de son odeur corporelle ou celle d'une autre personne, même si cette personne n'est pas clairement visible.

Par conséquent, les symptômes physiques, cognitifs et comportementaux apparaîtront dans la bromidrosiphobie:

1. symptômes physiques

Certains des premiers symptômes ressentis par le patient avant la perception d'une forte odeur corporelle sont dues à l'hyperactivité que cela génère dans le système nerveux de la personne . Cette augmentation de fonctionnement donne lieu à toutes sortes de changements transformationnels dans l'organisme.

Au cours de l'épisode d'anxiété, la personne peut ressentir de nombreux symptômes physiques. Ceux-ci incluent:

  • Augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque .
  • Augmentation de la fréquence respiratoire.
  • Sensation d'étouffement ou manque d'air.
  • Augmentation de la tension musculaire
  • Maux de tête
  • Douleurs d'estomac
  • Transpiration accrue .
  • Sensation de vertige.
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements

2. symptômes cognitifs

La bromidrosiphobie est associée à une série de croyances et de spéculations sur la peur ou l'aversion pour les odeurs et les arômes corporels.

Ces pensées déformées conduisent au développement de cette phobie et ils se distinguent parce que la personne intègre une série de croyances illogiques sur les dangers ou effets possibles des odeurs corporelles.

3. symptômes comportementaux

Comme les autres phobies, la bromidrosiphobie se compose également d’une série de symptômes comportementaux. Ladite symptomatologie comportementale se manifeste par des comportements d'évitement et des comportements d'évasion .

Le premier type de comportement fait référence à tous les comportements ou actes que la personne accomplit pour éviter de rencontrer le stimulus phobique. Grâce à eux, il est possible d'éviter l'expérimentation de sentiments d'angoisse et d'anxiété générés par la situation.

Par ailleurs, les comportements d'évasion apparaissent lorsque la personne n'a pas pu éviter de faire face à l'objet de sa phobie, en l'occurrence la perception des arômes corporels, de sorte qu'elle adoptera toutes les sortes de comportements nécessaires pour sortir de la situation. qui est impliqué.

Quelles sont les causes?

Déterminer l’origine d’une phobie peut devenir une tâche très complexe et plus encore chez ceux qui, comme la bromidrosiphobie, ils n'ont pas d'élément ou de caractéristiques qui les rendent particulièrement dangereux .

Dans tous les cas, certains facteurs peuvent favoriser ou renforcer le développement de cette situation. Par exemple, l’existence d’une prédisposition génétique qui aggrave les effets de l’anxiété, ainsi que l’expérience ou l’expérimentation d’une situation très traumatisante ou une charge de contenu émotionnelle importante, va probablement provoquer l’apparition de cette phobie ou de toute autre.

Y a-t-il un traitement?

Dans la plupart des cas, la bromidrosiphobie ne devient pas invalidante car le nombre de situations dans lesquelles une personne est confrontée à la perception de fortes odeurs corporelles est généralement relativement faible (en particulier dans certains pays, pour des raisons climatiques), que les consultations psychologiques pour ce type de pathologie sont généralement réduites.

Cependant, si la personne ressent un niveau d’angoisse élevé en raison de la peur excessive des arômes corporels, il y a une série d'interventions ou de traitements psychologiques cela peut amener la personne à récupérer et à surmonter sa peur phobique.

Ces interventions sont basées sur trois principes ou actions psychologiques. La première consiste en une restructuration cognitive qui permet de modifier toutes les pensées déformées que la personne possède vis-à-vis des odeurs corporelles.

Ensuite, peut être réalisée des techniques d'exposition en direct ou de désensibilisation systématique , à travers lequel la personne est exposée progressivement au stimulus redouté. Bien directement ou par des exercices avec des images mentales.

Enfin, ces techniques sont accompagnées d'un entraînement aux techniques de relaxation, ce qui peut réduire les niveaux d'excitation du système nerveux et aider la personne à faire face à ses peurs de la meilleure façon possible.


B is for Bromidrosiphobia - Figaro Pho (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes